Reviews For Passages
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 4:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ow! So much ow! I'm going onto Learning Home for some comfort (I hope!)

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ow! So much ow! I'm going onto Learning Home for some comfort (I hope!)

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2010 10:39 PM Title: Chapter 1

ran did not walk to LH

Reviewer: Suiris Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2010 8:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

4,5/5

Reviewer: sethnakht Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2009 4:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

Only I few days ago, I made up a wish-list of aspects of the K/S relationship I would love to see handled in a story. At the recommendation of a friend, I was made aware of Passages - and have found my wish-list nearly completed. Much like your Kirk, I have longed to see resolution of the differences between Kirk and Spock in ST VI. And what a resolution this was!: insightful, gorgeously written, and yet with room left for further development of the relationship between two men who have lived under quasi military conditions for over twenty-five years. When Kirk realized how little he knew about Spock - I nearly cried with joy. I am deeply excited to read Learning Home...



Author's Response:

What wonderful comments! I'm really excited that you found this piece to be fulfilling. I really, really loved writing the two of them in this timeframe; they've been through so much together (and apart) and they almost burst with ripeness for a relationship to bring it all together. I just had to write it. There was (originally) going to be a distracting woman for Kirk, a slight mystery/adventure he gets involved with and other B and C plotty things leading up to the obvious K/S...alas. They went by the wayside because of time, and so these two original chapters stand as a prologue for the much-tightened story in Learning Home. I did try to include all of my "wish list" in these stories, despite the brevity. The idea that Kirk takes a second, closer look at his friend is definitely a theme I love to explore. Thank you for taking time out to write comments...they make my day!

Reviewer: bandriv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2009 3:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow! "Learning Home" is one of my all time favorite zine stories, so I was absolutely thrilled to find this prequel on the archive. I just loved it! Too few stories explore why Kirk retired so early, In TOS we saw many older admirals, so why Kirk would choose to completely retire is something that has always intrigued me, and you explored this so well here. Loved Kirk and Spock's last conversation and I laughed out loud at Spock's comment alluding to Kirk retiring to masturbate! And loved the hand holding and pre slash hints for what is to come in Learning Home. Excellent story. I'm sorry you never wrote your novel, but you did leave us with these 2 fantastic stories.



Author's Response:

Wow, Linda, what an honor it is to have LH singled out in that way, especially by someone who's read as much as I know you have! I seem to have a fascination with the movie era Kirk & Spock...maybe because I'm middle-aged too, LOL. In any event, I've always had a real affinity for Kirk during the movies...as much as he was strong and invincible during the series, bouncing back from anything, the movie era showed us a much more emotionally vulnerable and needy individual. Still strong, oh yes, but much more unable to hide this other, more personal side of himself. Whereas Spock *really* integrated himself after V'ger, Kirk seemed to...relax in some ways, but in others, remain obviously unfulfilled. We see that in Generations, where he says no to Picard, and attempts to make it a priority to have a relationship with Antonia. Of course, the way that movie ended was less than fulfilling for him or me :-D So...this was my attempt to create a scenario recognizing the evolution he'd undergone in the movie era, and yet bring some sense of fulfillment to him (AND ME! LOL) I am so excited and happy you liked what I did...that means the world to me. Thank you.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2009 3:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

OMGOMGOMGOMG!!! Ican't believe that you had Spock basically telling Jim he was leaving so Jim could retire to his room and masturbate in peace!!!! :-DDDDD iIthink only one other time I saw Spock saying something of that nature (that would be a story in Star Trek the new Voyages 2, when he not-so-subtly let Jim know he could and always had heard the noises coming out of his suite at night) and I was equally shocked and thrilled :-DDD 

I love how this story seems to fall into place perfectly after the movies storylines, Kirk and Spock,s attitudes and concerns and all. The pre-slash was greatly hinted at by the hand-holding, face-holding, and Spock showing a new aspect of himself to Jim. And don't you love how Jim feels resentful and afraid of the idea of his friend acquiring a family of his own, away from him?

Damn, I knew it was a mistake to start this tonight. Now I won't be able to sleep unless I read the sequel and I,m going to be a mess when I wake at 5 to go to work. I blame you. :-p



Author's Response:

LOL I haven't read New Yoy 2 in *years*...I'll have to go back and revisit it! I am so excited that you enjoyed this piece. It's two chapters of a long novel I wish I'd had time to write...but I did condense it into the story Learning Home, so...the major ideas are all there, just the B and C plots are missing :-)  I hope you got enough sleep! LOL And I thank you very very much for your enthusiastic comments....they truly warm my heart.

Reviewer: Sahviere Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/27/2009 1:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thanks so much for posting this. A really beautiful treatment of events after Khitomer, left me with a great sense of satisfaction.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm always so glad when someone likes this piece...I still am disappointed I didn't get to write the whole, huge novel I had outlined that this was the start of (that story ended up being Learning Home.) I love Kirk and Spock during this time period...they'd relaxed into who they were, without a lot angst in the way :-)

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2009 12:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

As good and mature as writing gets. Outstanding characterization. Wonderful dialogue. Thank you very much for sharing.



Author's Response:

As amazing as a review gets! Thanks very much!! You've made my day.

You must login (register) to review.