Reviews For Learning Home
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: conundrum1 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2016 8:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

very beautiful story

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2015 2:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

A tale of beauty and reflection thank you.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2014 7:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was lovely!  I really enjoyed the ways in which you extended Vulcan culture, and I liked your portrayal of a civilized, welcoming Vulcan society.  (So many fan stories make Vulcan an evil place full of prejudice, and that seems very illogical to me, so your Vulcan feels far more probable.) 

I also enjoyed your portrayal of their love and especially of how Kirk feels when he joins with Spock's mind.  I've always thought that Spock's mind must be quite a fabulous place, and one of the things I enjoy in fanfics is their portrayal of how a meld or a bond feels to humans.

I did wonder, though, how/why Spock would let Jim participate without knowing that they were getting married; Spock seems to me to be far too ethical to formalize this bond with Jim without clear prior consent.

 

Reviewer: DarkenedProngs Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/2012 3:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was awesome. I love how Kirk finally realizes that Spock is his home, regardless of their location.

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

So much love! Lol at Kirk not knowing he was participating in another vulcan marriage ritual - his own! And sadness at all the wasted time and misunderstandings..

Reviewer: ImperiousTiberius Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2011 9:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for this beautifully constructed story and its companion piece, Passages. The voices of the aging Kirk and Spock are written exactly as I’ve always imagined them, and the character of R’Kal is a revelation - she’s a refreshing change from the stereotypical haughty, austere Vulcan female I'm so used to seeing.

A TOS story of this quality is a rarity these days and I hope you’ll be posting new fiction in the near future.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2011 1:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

(exhaling a deep and very long)
That's encouraging to discover that towards the end of life can find great joy.
that Jim and Spock Meant For Each Other, kind of cosmic law, and will be united, if not now then later, but it will happen.

It gives hope, even real people among us (laughs) never too late - as long as we're curious

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2010 10:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

Utterly wonderful!

Reviewer: Damej Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2010 5:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely

Reviewer: Insane94 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2010 12:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

Absolutely fantastic! I loved every minute of it! Your use of detail really helped me feel in the story, which is growing rarer for me as I age. Thanks for writing something so wonderful!

Reviewer: GypsyHeart Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2010 5:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a beautiful story! Reading about their love for eachother created such a warm feeling inside of me, and I love you so much for writing it. You are amazing! <3



Author's Response:

Thank you! I love *love*...and recreating it should create a warm feeling in those who share it :-)  Glad you enjoyed the feeling...that was my goal. Thanks again.

Reviewer: necessarily_anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2009 3:42 PM Title: Chapter 1

i loved this. really. the fact that they're both older and more mature, matches with the pace and mood of the story. they deserve happiness and this made my day. thank you for writing this.

Author's Response:

I LOVE older Kirk and Spock (hmm...could it be because *I* am older??) and adore writing about their very *different* dynamic (as opposed to younger, series-era K & S.) And yes...they DO deserve happiness! I'm so glad to give it to them! And so very happy you enjoyed reading it. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Starry_up Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2009 6:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

So beautiful.  I adored this.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad!! And so happy you took time to tell me. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: freemountin Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2009 11:58 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this is wonderful. Jim Kirk once again going boldly into the unknown, only prevented from stumbling and falling by his quick mind, his determination, and the steadfast loyalty of his companion and partner in crime. It rings so true; Kirk's, Spock's and Sarek's voices; the Vulcan culture, always understated and ritualistic, but somehow presented as good and necessary through the character R'Kahl (I love a good oc). To place this story in time after the decomission of the Enterprise is a stroke of genious. The older, more difficult, more damaged James Kirk from the Final Frontier needed this relief, this new path in his life. For me, who've always liked Kirk, this feels like a gift. This could be canon - I wish it was - and to me, privately, it will be.

Thank you so much.



Author's Response:

What a gift---it's wonderful when someone 'gets' your writing in total and really likes it. I too feel that, at heart, Kirk and Spock didn't really 'get together' until sometime in the movie timeline. There are some *fabulous* stories out there on that time frame; two of my absolute favorites: Killa's heart-wrenching Bitter Glass, M.E.Carter's Reminisence--in T'hy'la#20, I think, but soon to be translated into the archive, I believe. Those stories are the ones that gave *me* that satisfied feeling, so I know exactly what you mean!

I'm very honored LH inspires you to adopt it as your personal canon. I love James Kirk and Spock so much during the movies...it's as if they reversed their roles, at least personally, with Jim unsure of himself and struggling personally much of the time, and Spock having finally integrated two halves into one glorious whole and so obviously comfortable with who he decided he is. I've always liked and loved Kirk, too...and I liked him even more to see him struggle so unabashedly with his personal issues, and still rise to the occasion and become the hero when necessary. This was my gift to him (and me!)...a sense of completion and joy, not without its little struggles and surprises, but even those things contribute to what James Kirk needs to stay stimulated and happy. I'm so glad you see the story through similar eyes...thanks so much for writing to tell me!

Reviewer: sethnakht Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2009 4:19 PM Title: Chapter 1

Things just don't get any better than this. I believe my wish-list is now fulfilled. Beneath the surface, this story is driven by a poetics of love - that is, the representation of love is so near to being love that they are not to be distinguished. The underlying deep structure of a journey, a harrowing trial during which the lovers are separated until the end - well, it reminds me of Mozarts Magic Flute of course, but it also works. Kirk is wonderfully insecure, painted full of longings he does not even understand - Spock is astonishing, the embodiment of goodness and self-sacrifice and humor and light - bringing them together, and then bringing a second, equally deserving and wonderfully pair together - well, it boggles the mind. Thank you!



Author's Response:

I'm so happy this works for you! I love the story I told herein...the entire Vulcan culture is alive to me and I so enjoy telling tales about some aspect of it, where it intersects with our two guys :-) I'm fascinated with stories where Spock is alien, from an alien culture...not sure if I captured that alien sense here, but...at least I think I captured the essence of the relationship between Kirk and Spock...the years together which deeply built their immutable bond (Vulcan or human) and the love that two beings can hold for each other. It gave me a great sense of completion to write it...and I'm so excited that you feel fulfilled by it also! That 'dying alone' thing just never worked for me, no matter how many times they tried it in the movies. So very very unsatisfying!! :-) Thanks you for the feedback!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2009 12:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, your reply was even longer than my review! Lol :). Sorry, I realize there were a few bits missing from my review- I had almost finished writing it when I clicked something and the box went blank again, so I hurried to write down again everything I could remember. Looks like I forgot to come back and complete a few sentences :).

No, the 1st person POV wasn't awful, don't worry :). It's never going to be a favorite of mine, no matter what, but I can honestly  tell you you wrote it better than what I've seen in some published works. I can understand what you say about characters speaking in a certain voice and not having the choice :-DD

And you argue a good case in favor of your decision to leave Kirk unaware of the true nature of the challenge until he was already neck deep into it :-D See, I had completely not paid attention to that line of Sarek when he asked Kirk if he'd told Spock about it, and yeah, Sarek totally would interpret that as "everything's ok" andnot ask any more questions. I can't remember if Spock gave an explanation as to why HE didn't tell Jim about it...it was a risk because Jim could have been mad at him about the whole thing and feel coerced. I was tired enough when I read the last half that I might have missed somethng about that too. I'll have to check :-D

Oh, and the part where I talked about Kirk's slow discoevery of the bond and its strenght and everything was supposed to end with " was beautifully done". :-DDD

Thanks again for writing this story!!!



Author's Response:

Oh geez, I missed this reply! Don't you hate when you lose a window and have to recreate everything you've typed for a second time?? Grrr. Thanks for redoing it tho. As for Spock not telling Kirk: One of my alltime favorite K/S novels is a zine from way back, "Icefire". In it, Spock is portrayed as much more alien than we normally see...and I love that. I think it's all too easy for us to forget he's *ALIEN*...all Vulcans are. Their very life perspective and ways of thinking about and looking at things may not have much in common with ours; their culture is in many ways, nothing like cultures here on earth. I like to imagine that communications, many times, between Vulcans and humans have all these gaps that neither realizes: assumptions and misunderstandings that no one realizes are happening until life unfolding kind of shows where they were :-) I think that happened here...to Spock, the presence of that nacent bond was so *obvious* he never questioned that Kirk didn't feel its presence, and, more importantly, *understand its significance*. Meanwhiile, he was just waiting until Kirk got on board with the whole thing...and assumed that discussing the kaunshaya with Sarek was Kirk finally saying "I'm ready."  Whoops, not quite, at least not consciously :-) Thanks for writing, I'm so glad you enjoyed it, truly!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2009 3:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

In the end I was unable to read this in a single sitting the other night, it was just too late. *sigh*

Ok, I'll amdit right away that I don't like 1st person POV as a rule and cursed whenever I see it; I also had trouble believing that Kirk could have done enough research on the challenge to decide he absolutely wanted to do it, and yet not know about its real, very serious significance., Same for the fact no one told him or questionned him either. 

However, aside from that, I need to say the story was absolutely lovely. My heart was warmed at the open welcome Jim received everywhere on Vulcan, and at Kirk,s own easy acceptance of the bond that had formed between him and Spock without his knowledge. He could have freaked out when he learned of it, but he didn't. Of course, the fact that his feelings for his friend already ran very deep indubitably helped :-D. His discovery of the bond, his slow exploraiton of it power and his delight at the growing closeness that developped between him and Spock. The journey through the desert was also fascinating; details like the plant he can barely see that he has to find for a chance to get water, were a nice touch. I really like R'Kal too. Strong, soft, logical yet much warmer than the Vulcan women in canon. All in all, a great job. And who knows, perhaps you will find time to write this into a full book someday :-D



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting! I tend to hear, literally, the characters speak in my head, and Jim loves to talk. Long after the fact, I realized that the first person intervals was me creating a Captain's/Personal Log effect/sound in my head. So much of TOS fic uses that device, since it mimics the episodes, and it was a rhythm I was unconsciously used to. Similiar to you, I tend to not enjoy second person very much...however, usually it's because the writer isn't skilled enough to handle it, and it comes across as melodramatic. Hopefully my first person parts weren't too awful for you! 

As for research...oh my dear! Think on it... the entire Federation knew nothing about pon farr at Spock's first Time. There is NO one who can keep their cultural secrets like the Vulcans do, for no reason other than it's just no one else's business.  So where in the Federation could Jim have learned of this secret of kaunshaya? And he certainly didn't have any avenue for searching in Vulcan databases for it. And Spock's family, his father, is well known for their brevity of discussion, of not going any further than necessary. Sarek did ask Kirk if he'd talked with Spock about it...and Kirk said yes. To Sarek, that meant that they'd discussed it all, seriously and in depth as would be logical. TOS shows us a tendency with Spock and his family to have such misunderstandings...could be cultural differences in perspectives that effect communication between humans and Vulcans. 

In any event, I admit I was stretching these points to the farthest of their tensile strength. A story device, alas, one you either can buy or not. I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of the story. I do love exploring and writing about Vulcan culture, and am happy when readers enjoy that! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: FaithSummers80 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2009 1:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Also very well written! I really enjoy your use of Vulcan words and concepts.



Author's Response:

Thank you!! I love expanding on the Vulcan culture!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2009 10:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hi, i don't know why it says 2 and half stars i gave you 5. Just so that you know...loved it..peace and long life in your writing endeavors.

Author's Response:

Thanks for letting me know...the system seems to hiccup every so often!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2009 9:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for this wonderful story of love.  I always thought that we got cheated after star trek 7 when Kirk died(the Nexus), i felt that there was no closure between these two friends.  Atleast in this beautiful story they found each other and that is how i want to remember them both.  No ending here but an exciting beginning awaits.  Thanks so very much.

Author's Response:

Thank you! I agree with you about Generations, although he supposedly had "died" on Enterprise-B and gotten swept into the Nexus long before that actual moment. However...that whole "I know I'll die alone" idea wasn't necessary, IMO. Yeah, I agree, it cheated us out of so much. But hey! That's what fanfic is for!! YAY. Thanks again!

You must login (register) to review.