Reviews For Turning Point
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: fandomlucky Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2017 5:12 AM Title: Complete Story

I know I have already commented on this story, but I recently attended the 2017 KisCon and I have been going back and reading favorite stories. I wanted to let you know how much this story means to me. I have not been active in any fandom, including K/S fandom, for about a year, due to some fairly significant health issues. KisCon has inspired me to revist Kirk and Spock, and Turning Point was the first story I turned to, as I remembered it being incredibly gorgeous and very in character. I was not disappointed in the least.

You have such a gift for language; your writing is beautiful - almost poetic in nature. I felt like I was in New Orleans with Kirk and Spock. I can understand why this story is so important in K/S fandom, and why it helped revitalized K/S in the 90s.

I have several head canons about how Kirk and Spock got together, including one where Spock never goes to Gol. This story fits perfectly into the movie-verse, and I completely accept it as canon. I can see Kirk and Spock behaving and reacting this way (even though it's like, seriously dudes, TALK TO EACH OTHER!).

I rarely read stories that have unhappy endings, but Turning Point is the exception. Thank you so much for this story. Know that it means a lot to me, and inspires many feelings for my favorite couple.

Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2017 9:34 PM Title: Complete Story

I don't know why I hadn't read this before! Great story - sensual and bleak, at the end. Rather fittingly, I read it in the hours before dawn (courtesy of jet-lag), which added an eerie immediacy to Kirk and Spock's final conversation, as the sun rose in New Orleans, and here. I'm glad to know there's a sequel, which I will be reading promptly! On a lighter note, Kirk in the bath was hot :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, that's very kind. I appreciate you taking the time to read it, and to comment!

Reviewer: ShiKahr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2017 11:24 AM Title: Complete Story

I read this story years ago the first time. And now I rediscovered it with a little help from a new friend. I loved it then and I loved it now. I never got the end where Kirk dumped Spock for ... actually nothing. Intensive, erotic and fascinating. :-)



Author's Response:

Ahaha, the reason Kirk dumped Spock is simple: this was my first-ever fanfic story, and I hadn't even read any fanfic to speak of when I wrote it. I thought it should end unhappily, and therefore it did, even though it makes little emotional sense! Sorry about that. I tried to fix it in the sequel. :)

Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to comment!

Reviewer: deerstop Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2015 10:28 AM Title: Complete Story

This  treasure deserves moar positive  reviews! The fic is awesome! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked it!

Reviewer: fandomlucky Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/04/2015 4:35 AM Title: Complete Story

I have been in Star Trek K/S fandom for about 5 years. I know that this story is considered one of the biggest influences in K/S fandom, but I was unable to read it, as I knew it ended with Spock going to Gol. I finally worked up the courage to read Full Circle several months ago. After KisCon, I decided that I would be brave enough to experience the angst of both Spock and Kirk.

I was not disappointed. The language of this story is absolutely gorgeous; you have an exceptional gift with words and phrasing. It's almost as if the story were a visual piece of art; the language seems so tangible.

Kirk's and Spock's personal griefs struck me to the core, especially Spock's. I found myself wanting to shout at Kirk for taking advantage of Spock - he knew what intimacy meant to a Vulcan. But at the same time, I can see how Kirk would behave in this way; he is not knowingly cruel, but is not at a point in his life where he can commit to Spock's satisfaction. Both men clearly are in love, but they are both so stubborn.

I now can understand and appreciate how your work has affected K/S fandom. Thank you for this beautiful story and for everything you have done for K/S fandom.



Author's Response:

Your comments mean so much to me. I started writing this 20 years ago almost to the day. That people are still reading it and finding something worthwhile there means more than I can say.

I think that for me, this story was really about two people who still have so much to learn about love and life. Despite the way that they excel in so many arenas, neither Kirk nor Spock has much experience with real love, or what it takes to make a life with an intimate partner. And I understand how you feel about the sad ending of the first one. It still makes me sad that Gol and that separation happened, and I guess I needed to try and work out what went wrong, and then try to fix it.

Thank you so much for reading, and for commenting.

Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/28/2015 3:59 PM Title: Complete Story

Today I am thinking of Leonard and going back and re-reading my favorite stories.   I in my opinion TP/FC was a game changer.  I remember reading these in print zines many years ago and I still read them online every once in a while. 

Your work stands the test of time and is no less powerful than it ever was. 

For me, your writing is the gold standard.

Just wanted to say thanks.

Dee



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I really appreciate the kind words.

Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/28/2015 3:55 PM Title: Complete Story

Today I am thinking of Leonard and going back and re-reading my favorite stories.   I in my opinion TP/FC was a game changer.  I remember reading these in print zines many years ago and I still read them online every once in a while. 

Your work stands the test of time and is no less powerful than it ever was. 

For me, your writing is the gold standard.

Just wanted to say thanks.

Dee

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2014 1:06 AM Title: Complete Story

I can totally see how this fic and your writing in general has inspired many of the best writers on this Archive. Your style is incredible, you capture so well the subtle attraction we all felt when watching the TOS episodes, that undercurrent of unexpressed longing. It is wonderful how you allow it to take shape and to blossom, the atmosphere so intensely loaded with heat that goes beyond physical need and emotional yearning, that tells of a rightness of this joining that reaches for eternity. To see them crumbling apart in the last section is so painful, it makes me want to yell at them.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading this. You are very kind! I'm sorry about the ending. There was a time when I really loved angst. That time has passed! At least there's a sequel?

I'm in New Orleans right now, actually, so it's sweet to be reminded of this story. :)

Reviewer: BadBoysAreBest Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2013 2:42 AM Title: Complete Story

Utter foolishness, to let himself believe that there could be anything more than that.

God that was intense

thyank you :)



Author's Response:

Thank you again for reading!

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2013 10:06 PM Title: Complete Story

This story is utterly awesome.  BUT, I feel like someone took one of those pointy Klingon weapons and slowly, efficiently disembowelled me with it.  I was reading the most popular authors trying to find people who want to write with us, and I couldn't put this down.  The intensity of emotion that this evoked was like a pressure in my brain, and had my stomach in knots.  If I were a more emotional person I would have yelled at them or sobbed or cheered!

Now I want to beat the boys over their heads with the blunt end of a lirpa then lock them up together until they come to their senses.  God.

This is just sooooo good.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading it, and... I'm sorry about all the angst! I was very young when I wrote this, and thrived on angst. These days, I seem to be much wimpier. :) But I'm grateful for your kind words.

Reviewer: Werewolvesarereal Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2013 1:48 AM Title: Complete Story

This just tore out my heart. And I sort of want to smack them both, dammit, because isn't it obvious they're perfect for another? Arrrgh! This is why I avoid fics between the 'lost years'. Tears me up everytime. This is by far one of the best, though - not just plain angst, because it really sells their connection, the intimacy, the trust and immediate, instinctual understanding they possess... I'll stop before this comment turns to rambling.

Off to cry now.



Author's Response:

I'm so sorry about the angst quotient—I was very young when I wrote this! Is that a good excuse? Thank you so much for reading it, and for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2013 3:27 AM Title: Complete Story

Oh, dear God...

*deep, shuddering breath*

~AKO



Author's Response:

The melodrama is high with this one—sorry about that! But I'm glad you liked it. One could never say that I didn't put a lot of passion into this one, haha.

Thank you for reading. :)

Reviewer: CountryDoctor Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2013 11:54 PM Title: Complete Story

I just finished "Turning Point" and this story alone now influences the way I write fiction.  I am a new writer and the way you describe intimacy is beyond phenominal.  In fact, I was so engrossed in your story that I missed my bus stop on the way home.  That rarely happens, so I must say that you're a pure genius.  I hope to be at your level.  Thank you for sharing this and I look forward to reading the sequal.  

 



Author's Response:

What a lovely and generous comment! Thank you. I really appreciate your kind words. Sorry about the bus stop, though!

Reviewer: fohatic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/16/2013 8:12 PM Title: Complete Story

Jesus. This was incredible. By the last fourth of your story I was so captivated that I couldn't pull myself away for anything, not even to relieve my bladder! Instead I sat here glued to the screen, sweating and scrolling furiously, completely immersed in this sensational tale. The imagery! The raw, perfectly articulated emotion! A fanfiction high like none I've ever experienced before. My imagination was on fire with sensory detail! I especially loved your use of water to hint at the developing themes. These images are going to stick with me for awhile. Guh. This was really something quite special. Much, much respect!



Author's Response:

*laughing!* I think that's the first time someone ever told me that they liked something I wrote so much they gave up peeing. :) A high compliment indeed! Thank you. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2012 3:19 PM Title: Complete Story

I came across this story several weeks ago and have returned to it several times because of its power and pain.  I've been a ST fan since the series was originally on in the 60s and have read fan fiction (general and K/S) since the 70s so I feel I have a good handle on what's out there.


This is one of the best K/S stories I have ever read.  It is articulate, clear in its images, explicit in its content.  It is one of the most heartbreaking Trek stories I have ever read.  There is sometime a tendency to miss the character of these two men, but I don't think I've ever seen it better captured than in this story.  Spock is loyal. He is supportive of his friend, but he is vulnerable to Kirk's charms.  He knows his heart, even if Kirk doesn't.  Kirk will always want to be the captain, will always want to be in charge.  It's who he is, and even though he would never hurt Spock he is not beyond using him for his comfort.  Neither of them are at fault, and both of them are.  It's just who they are, and my heart breaks for them.

My congratulations to you on this fine piece of writing.  I will continue to return to this story for a long time.

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2011 3:30 AM Title: Complete Story

Ah, this story!  It brought me into K/S.  So lovely.

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2011 10:47 AM Title: Complete Story

Oh, Killa, why didn't I discover your work years ago? The haunting, poignant beauty of 'Bitter Glass' (can't shake that one out of my system, BTW - I think I feel a fanvid coming on...) and now 'Turning Point'. I'm new to K/S fandom but the one thing I see over and over again in the forums is that 'Turning Point' is a must-read, it's the story that revitalized K/S, it's unforgettable. And it turns out that all of the wonderful things I've read about this story are true - and more! And not only that, but even as a piece of stand-alone fiction this is outstanding. The universality of that experience of gradually realizing that, Oh my God, these feelings I have for him are reciprocated; the way it sucks all logical, rational thought out of your mind; the way it makes you go giddy inside... It's all there. These characters are so beautifully drawn, they are mesmerizing. And I wanted to smack them both around the heads at the end! In my mind I was yelling, "You idiots! Don't let it get away!" But of course, I knew it had to, for TMP to happen. I need to go read 'Full Circle' now...



Author's Response: You are so kind to take the time to comment on these stories. I would love to see a fanvid connected to Bitter Glass! I made one years ago, and keep meaning to remaster it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this one. I feel so fortunate that people still read and respond to these stories. The one thing I can say about them is that I certainly wrote them from the heart! These were the stories that came out of me when I first discovered there were other K/Sers in the world, after I'd been shipping them in my head for most of my life. I learned so much, particularly while writing Full Circle, and made some wonderful friends, and for that I'll always be fond of them. Thank you again.

Reviewer: sola Katerina Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2011 1:50 AM Title: Complete Story

Oh, and to follow that comment I left on one of your other stories... you also write the best sex scenes (yes, I could not contain a giggle).

All seriousness put to play, your work is absolutely captivating. Thank you for all of it.



Author's Response: You're so welcome, and thank you for your wonderful comments! I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: titC Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2010 12:00 PM Title: Complete Story

This has always been one of my most beloved stories, written by one of the best K/S writers in my eyes - and what happened to make Kirk desk-bound and Spock retreat to Gol is a favourite plot of mine, too ;-)

It's so heartbreaking, and their pain - over losing themselves, losing each other, losing the Enterprise... - feels so real...

*rushes to Full Circle to make me feel better*



Author's Response:

Ohh, I did like the depressing stuff back then. I think I'm getting soft -- I always want happy endings, now! Thank you so much for your comments.

Reviewer: AddictedReader13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2010 7:52 PM Title: Complete Story

:( well that was depressing . great writing though, i could feel the story

You must login (register) to review.