You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2013 8:57 PM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

I wish there were more stories like this.

What a great idea to show the POV of other Vulcans serving onboard a 'mixed' starship.  It is fascinating to see how they each interact (or don't interact) with humans; they cling together as one group and hardly venture outside of it - a self-imposed segregation.  These Vulcans may as well be on the Intrepid or some other all-Vulcan ship.  How brave of Steyvill to be the one who branches out and seeks humans and embraces that part of life. 

And so nice to see Spock, secured and loved by his Jim, and so full of compassion and understanding for a being so lonely and isolated. He understands her envy and empathizes to the point of helping her even though she didn't know she NEEDED help.

Kudos.  This story is a perfect 10 in my book. 

 

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2013 12:13 AM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

Aww!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/20/2013 10:56 AM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

It's hard for me to say what I really love about this story.It's really amazing how you have managed to write this from a Vulcan woman's POV, keep it in character..A vulcan character! and it's a wonderful journey as we get to be in her mind from when she hates Spock to when she comes to find what she has been searching for in his mind.It was beautiful. A place that Spock has always deserved.Thank you for sharing.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/06/2012 5:35 AM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

One attraction of KS is that it's exploration can lead us to new possibilities. For example the idea expressed in its purest form as a soulmate connection, that it is possible to be accepted for who you are as you are. And that the search for that connection is worth the effort. I love this piece, and will keep it to remind myself when the journey seems unproductive. Could also be a piece for those struggling with mismatched feelings in a relationship. 



Author's Response:

A very belated thank you for your feedback.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and I am honored that you say it could be useful to people in their lives.

Reviewer: Ayesakara Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2011 4:50 PM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

Very touching story. There are times when we are spending our lives amongst those whom we think are strangers to us. But all we need is a little give. You made me feel for this character.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your feedback.  :-)  I like writing original characters.  Doing one who was so much in denial was quite the challenge.  I'm glad it worked.

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2010 4:08 AM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

The authors main character was so full of ill will toward everyone around her. Oh how long Steyvil must have waited. Had he given up hope that the vows they said would ever be fulfilled?
'Never and always touching'
Condemned for his imperfections before the ceremony even ended. What has it been, nearly 20 years by earth standard, with only her ire? And yet she is jealous of all 'lesser' beings that have what she does not.
Lucky for her she finally got the big hint and her husbands patience had not waned.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your feedback - and apologies for my tardy response. 

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/2010 11:37 PM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

Excellent job... I enjoyed how she understands what love is.  Beautiful.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback.  :-)  It's difficult to make original characters "real".  I find I like writing 3rd party stories from the POV of characters who are initially unsympathetic; it makes for quite the contrast between them and K&S.

Reviewer: bandriv Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2009 6:19 AM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

This is a brilliant story. I don't have the words to express how wonderfully written and powerful this story is. The first person POV was written so well. It was amazing to read this story - I started out disliking T'Prayd, and as the story progressed felt sorrow, compassion and finally hope. Spock's kindness, concern and compassion were so well written. Just an amazing story!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  The main challenge in writing 3rd person POV stories in keeping the story focused on K&S while keeping the original character "original" - i.e., motivated by her own concerns and challenges and unaware of her blindspots.  T'Prayd was an interesting character to write - she had quite a journey to make.

Reviewer: sundara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2009 9:12 PM Title: Like A Tear Cast In Stone

That is quite a powerful piece. You've drawn T'Prayd so well, with all her emotional blindness and jealousies and passions--almost unsettling in her intensity and unawareness. I am so glad she "broke" and that Spock could help her! I ached for her.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback.  :-)  I really enjoy writing 3rd party POV stories, particularly from the POV of a flawed character.  T'Prayd was a challenging character to write, because she had so little self-awareness.  So much emotion, concealed (poorly) beneath that Vulcan facade.

You must login (register) to review.