Reviews For All in the Family
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2020 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 8: Aftermath

Your dialogue is always so good. In this chapter I especially like the dialogue between Jim and Nyota. "He has the emotional instinct of a paper airplane" - great line!

Reviewer: MMGGV Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2020 1:17 AM Title: Chapter 1: Homegrown Chaos

Another amazing Chapter! A real heartbreaker. I feel for everyone so much here. Such a difficult situation and I love how you Really show the tension!!! Such a great fic I cant talk about.it enough

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2020 1:06 PM Title: Chapter 7: The Other Foot

I didn't suddenly get sick of your writing and stop commenting - the archive neglected to notify me of updates. So when I discovered there were two new chapters, I absolutely squealed with delight!

Chapter 6 felt endless, in a good way, and it was an absolute comedy of errors. Hilarious!!

I stopped laughing fairly quickly in chapter 7 though. I'd actually forgotten about Sarek & Winona, what with the drama of the previous few chapters!  I knew it was going to happen, but it doesn't make it any easier to witness Jim's reaction.  I know they'll work it out, and the wedding will go ahead, and it will all end happily - but I don't quite trust you. When it happens, I'll breathe a sigh of relief.

Thanks for a wonderful read!!



Author's Response: Someday I am going to totally betray your trust. I've become conscious of how often I write this break-up-and-make-up trope, and I don't think anyone who has read much of my writing believes for a minute that it's ever going to work out any other way. I think I need to do something about my reputation...

Reviewer: einahpets Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2020 7:12 AM Title: Chapter 7: The Other Foot

Honestly, it’s so much fun reading a lighthearted, “mundane” family drama fic. There’s something relatable to families coming together in a culture clash because of a wedding. These culture clashes being amplified due to literal alien differences makes for an entertaining and dramatic story! Very much enjoying how you write the various conflicts. Also the Sarek/Winona storyline is quite delightful. Also, a big thank you for writing a positive Winona story. Too often I read a flat, one dimensional AOS Winona who is only there to be a terrible person who abused her kids. Love that Jim and Winona have a positive relationship in this fic (minus manipulation tears of course!). Anyway, very much enjoying this story. Thank you for sharing, and I look forward to more!



Author's Response: I've enjoyed writing a positive Winona. I decided it just didn't make sense that Jim would grow up to be Starfleet material without having a positive influence in his life and she seemed like the most likely source. Thanks for coming along for the story!

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2020 5:56 PM Title: Chapter 7: The Other Foot

Oh dear, oh dear. The s**t has really hit the fan now, in the process exposing some real lingering emotional immaturity in Jim. I like Sam's role here; he's clearly not the jerk that Jim was making him out to be. And what a difficult spot for Sarek, caught between his innate logic and the raging emotions of everyone else. I am waiting with bated breath and fingers crossed to see how this all turns out!



Author's Response: I figured Sam would know exactly how to push all Jim's buttons, but that he's definitely a good guy who's got his baby brother's back. Glad you're enjoying. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: MMGGV Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2020 8:52 AM Title: Chapter 6: A Little Bit of a Big Deal

You write action so well! Even a jumble of emotionally wrought snake wrangling!!! Just 20 some hours indeed! While I'm sure there will  be more shenanigans before we see them finally have the ceremony this is a real joy to read! I'm not super familiar with how KS archives works but I've gotta see if I can get email alerts when you post! Fantastic work cant wait for the next chapter!!!



Author's Response: Thank you for commenting! I'm glad you're enjoying. Hope the next chapter is worth the wait.

Reviewer: MMGGV Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2020 1:56 AM Title: Chapter 5: This Much Fun Should Be Illegal

This is one of my favorite Sprik fics in recent memory! So.sweet and I love the two plots. I would never have considered Sarek Winona but you definitely made it work for me! I love the messy family drama and the love and life running through this. I've never been to a farm house before but I really feel like I have from your descriptions! Cant wait to read the rest of this. 



Author's Response: Thank you! I can't actually take credit for the idea of Sarek and Winona because I picked it up in the challenge, but I decided Winona needed a little redemption. She doesn't get much respect in fandom. As for the farmhouse... confession: I've actually never been in one either. Or maybe I have and just expect there to be something that stands out and makes it a 'farmhouse'. I've mostly rearranged rooms from my aunt's mid-century rancher on the outskirts of town. Not a farmhouse by any stretch of the imagination, but it had a rural quality to it (even though it was within the limits of a large town/small city) and it was where we always had family get-togethers. So it's more likely you feel like you've been to a weekend barbecue at my aunt's house than an actual farmhouse :-)

Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2020 12:07 AM Title: Chapter 5: This Much Fun Should Be Illegal

The entire aircar scene is so skillfully written, the way it moves from erotic to very funny (tissues - OMG), and then suddenly turns embarassing and almost dangerous. But now I'm worried about Spock; I hope Jim gets his act together and they can work things out.

I love Winona's classic "mom" reaction when they finally show up, and also Sarek's realization that conforming to Vulcan non-emotion must have altered Amanda's basic personality. Nice insight.



Author's Response: Thank you! I went back and forth over whether or not to include the aircar scene. I'm never sure if embarrassment will go over well. But I thought it contributed to the overall chaos and was just one more thing to strain their relationship. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2020 7:48 PM Title: Chapter 4: Love and War

Another lovely chapter, with such natural dialogue that I feel as though I'm right there with the characters. Jim may be worried about meeting members of Amanda's family, but I can't wait to see how they interact with Spock and with Jim and his family. (I realize that this uncle likely will be a different character, but the communication from Spock's Uncle Andrew in "Intimate Knowledge" always strikes me as so intriguing.)



Author's Response: I had completely forgotten there was an Uncle Andrew in Intimate Knowledge. So yes, this is a different character with a different name and after careful consideration, I decided to obey my own rule about not rewriting unimportant characters in this story anymore.

Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2020 4:30 AM Title: Chapter 4: Love and War

God, families. Nothing pushes your buttons faster. 
That was fast work, even for Sarek!

Thanks for another great update 😊



Author's Response: I figured that if they're not relying on pesky details like falling in love, Vulcans can get down to business faster :-)

Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2020 7:16 PM Title: Chapter 3: Pancakes and Other Mishaps

The entire pancake episode was wickedly funny. Just priceless. A little while ago I was baking and had to crack an egg, which started me laughing all over again!



Author's Response: I trust the shells dissolved properly for you? ;) Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2020 11:54 PM Title: Chapter 3: Pancakes and Other Mishaps

OMG, that was hilarious!! I don't know which was funnier, Sarek melting the butter or Spock not knowing how to crack eggs!

Out of interest, what was the, "mysterious item with loops of metal joined at the handle"?  I couldn't figure that one out.

Such a treat to be reading your work again, thank you!



Author's Response: Umm, that was a whisk. I thought I got everything peeled out that they didn't actually end up using. I fun writing this chapter, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2020 5:57 PM Title: Chapter 2: Unfamiliar Customs

I'm enjoying your depiction of Winona. She is such a tragic mess in so many Reboot stories, many of which are moving and believable, but I also like your depiction of a strong woman with apparently healthy relationships with her son and their extended (!) family. And I always enjoy your version of Sarek; his and Winona's mutual attraction seems very natural in this situation. Can't wait to see how their sons react when they learn what's going on!



Author's Response: Thank you! Lord knows I love me some good angst, but I also get a little tired of stories depicting women as the walking wounded. I felt like Jim had to have learned his leadership style from somewhere, and she seemed like the most likely source. And I'm having fun writing Jim as a bit of a mama's boy. As for the extended family-- my only defense is that most of it is first-hand experience coming from a big extended family myself. I modeled them after my own, just moved a few people around a little and took a branch from one side and grafted it onto the other. I've included conversations so far that are verbatim transcriptions of scenes in various aunts' kitchens, and there is more of that in the pipeline.

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2020 2:55 PM Title: Chapter 1: Homegrown Chaos

I smile the whole Time during reading. it's so nice to read something from you again. too many of my favorite authors hardly write anymore and this is such a wonderful moment of relaxation and reverie during this time. thank you

Author's Response: Thank you so much for commenting! I'm glad you're enjoying :)

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2020 5:47 PM Title: Chapter 1: Homegrown Chaos

OMG - a new story from you! Happy, happy, happy day! So far I love the premise and your always spot-on characterizations and humor; I did the old LOL more than once. More, please!



Author's Response: More to come! I?ve got a decent buffer waiting for finals editing, so hopefully I won?t be drawing this one out too long. Thanks for commenting! I was wondering if any of my old chums would still be around!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2020 4:36 PM Title: Chapter 1: Homegrown Chaos

OMG you posted a new work and the archive didn't notify me 😱

I knew those washcloths were going to be trouble as soon as Jim threw them in 😂

i love this, and it has chapters!!  Thank you so much!



Author's Response: I was wondering if you were still around! It?s great to see a friendly... name I think it?s shaping up for 8-10 chapters, but it?s still a little early

Reviewer: MMGGV Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2020 8:31 AM Title: Chapter 1: Homegrown Chaos

Hahaha I loved this. Relatable, sweet and the end?? I laughed out loud! Very good fix!



Author's Response: Thank you! I?m glad you?re enjoying!

You must login (register) to review.