You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2020 10:21 PM Title: Emotional Necessity

Thanks for a lovely story; you've done this very well!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2020 10:17 PM Title: What We Have Wrought

Oooh, so you're giving Spock a "Life without emotions is sterile" long before V'ger.  Good on you!

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/22/2020 11:32 PM Title: Emotional Necessity

I hate to see this end, Cate, as each chapter has made my day when posted.  However, I hope to see you back here again soon for more lovely, lush stories.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/20/2020 5:27 PM Title: Once More Into Those Depths

Well, that's an unexpected development!  Is Ocampo in there, or since he's just a redshirt, is it Jim's plant baby? :-)

I'm really glad that you had Jim tell McCoy why he was assigning personnel the way he was and that it made excellent sense.  There's a tendency -- both in fan fiction and in the movies -- to have Kelvin-universe Kirk succeed mostly through luck, but TOS Kirk -- though he DID have phenomenal luck -- succeeded through a combination of intelligence, determination, and charm.  Kirk's ability 1) to think outside the box and 2) to continue striving when defeat looks certain are his hallmarks; thank you for remembering Kirk's intelligence, when so many people overlook it.

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2020 9:50 PM Title: Against All Odds

I am still loving this story and am looking forward to more, especially the conversation between McCoy and Kirk.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Hi PaintedBird!  Thank you so much for reading!  I'm happy that you enjoyed the dialogue-it is always a journey to write this kind of intimate conversation.  -Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2020 5:07 AM Title: Clarity

That last line was gorgeous!

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  -Cate

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2020 6:32 PM Title: The Bargain

This is a lovely piece of writing, Cate.  It flows quickly and yet doesn't seem to miss a single detail of what needs to be said.  The emotional tone is also appropriate to the action in it.  It looks like the end of this piece is near, and I have enjoyed every word.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Hi!  Thank you so much for your kind words!  We are closer to the end than the beginning, but there are a few more twists to come.  There is, of course, a happy ending to look forward to.  Thanks for reading!  - Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2020 11:27 PM Title: The Bargain

Ah, those transferable Vulcan katras!  So handy. :-)

 



Author's Response:

Haha! Yes, so handy!  Thanks for reading!  - Cate

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2020 3:22 PM Title: And Into The Deepest Places

I have to admit that it never occurred to me that the dead and buried Ocampo might make another appearance.  You need to post the next chapter quickly as you really have my curiosity up!!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2020 3:28 AM Title: And Into The Deepest Places

Well, THAT'S quite the cliffhanger!  Did the aliens somehow manage to "repair" Ocampo the way they did the shuttle, or are they using his dead body to talk through?

*munches popcorn, waits for the next thrilling installment*

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2020 6:59 PM Title: Through The Darkest Night

I love this story, and I love science fiction in general, because it allows us to have situations where lines like THIS make sense:

“So, we’re going to follow the alien telepathic vines into the dark forest?”

Gee, when you put it like that, it almost sounds like a bad idea. :-)

 



Author's Response:

I love writing lines like that!  Thanks for reading!  - Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2020 3:36 AM Title: Closer

This reminds me a little bit of "The Lights of Zetar."  Too bad they don't have a pressure chamber handy. :-)

(This is not a criticism; nearly everything reminds me of some TOS episode or another.)

 



Author's Response:

I do find a lot of inspiration from TOS episodes, but I hadn't thought of that one for this story!  I'll have to watch it again... .  Thanks for reading!  - Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2020 10:00 PM Title: Divide

I love how in character you're keeping these two, with Kirk's intuition and willingness to try stuff and see what happens, and Spock's knowledge and determination to do the right thing.

Every time I read a good story that keeps Spock in character, I fall in love with him all over again.  Thanks for letting me love him yet again. :-)

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2020 12:18 AM Title: Our Shared Darkness

Sounds like Spock has been learning a lot from Kirk, like how to try improbable things and hope they'll save the day. :-)

 



Author's Response:

I do find it interesting to explore a bit the circumstances under which Spock would admit to hope, and, of course, I love it when they use each other's experience.  Thanks for reading!  - Cate

Reviewer: emcapi Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2020 9:41 PM Title: Our Shared Darkness

Love the poetry - what's the name of it? I didn't have any luck Googling.

Looking forward to the continuation of this!



Author's Response:

Hi!  Thanks for reading!  The poem is actually something I wrote.  I'll post it in its entirety at the end of the story.  - Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2020 3:43 AM Title: The Beginning of Truth

I rarely read Kelvin-universe stories, but you're doing this so well that you've got me hooked. :)

 



Author's Response:

Hi!  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm happy that you're enjoying it!  I'd been posting TOS more recently, but this story kept insisting to be written and I realized how much I missed writing these incarnations of our boys.  - Cate

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2020 3:34 AM Title: This Unfamiliar Place

Take the hypo, Jim.  If you let Spock exhaust himself caring for you, you might end up with a dead first officer.  They like to pretend that they're not, but Vulcans ARE mortal. :)

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2020 3:23 AM Title: After The Crash

Wow, you sure can write!

I do so love Spock's using his Vulcan mental powers to be an incredible badass.  We're lucky Vulcans are restrained pacifists, or they would rule the galaxy. :)

 

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2020 5:53 PM Title: After The Crash

Sorry, I have to come back to this, as it’s clear to me that I previously left a completely inadequate review that falls far short of doing these wonderful opening chapters justice. 

You are clearly a very talented writer, with a solid grasp of the craft.  There is such a wonderful economy in the writing.  No info dumps, no extraneous description or exposition to drag the reader out of the story or slow the pace.  Just a master class of showing not telling. With a few deft sentences, you convey so much.

Superbly written action scenes and dialogue drag the reader right into the world you are building. You give just enough detail that I can see the scenes play out in my mind’s eye, whilst leaving me enough space to fill in the gaps myself, which is part of the fun for the reader. 

There are a lot of questions raised, which are, of course, mostly not answered at this early stage. But, they leave me with a keen desire to read on and find out the answers.  A few clues have already tantalisingly been dropped. The Orion's comment by L, for instance.  How much does she know? Is she trustworthy? Was she leading them into a trap? Are the Orions involved in their crash landing on the planet? If not, in what way are they involved? 

Jim clearly heard the comment but was, of course, quickly distracted by other more pressing matters.  I wonder if he’ll remember and come back to her comment. It’s more likely, considering his grave injuries, it’s already slipped his mind. Which could lead to more problems further down the line.  It’s actually more likely he’ll remember and be distracted by the fact that S is in his head now.

I love the entire premise, love the dialogue, the pacing, the character portrayal etc. I could go on. I love all of it. I can’t wait to read more of this intriguing story and to delight in your wonderful writing.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading, and for your gracious review!  I'm so happy that you are enjoying the story and am humbled by your praise.  Please continue to enjoy.  - Cate

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2020 3:54 PM Title: This Unfamiliar Place

Cate, it is always good to see your name on anything that you post here.  I wasn't sure about that first chapter, but as I moved into the second and third I  became more engrossed in the story.  Now I look forward to future chapters.  Thanks for posting again!  You have been missed.



Author's Response:

Hi PaintedBird!  Thank you so much for reading!  I know I threw a lot out there in the first chapter; thank you for hanging in there.  :)  - Cate

You must login (register) to review.