Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2019 5:59 PM Title: Chapter 62

Lol, for the third time I saw a new chapter and the expression "Oh, goodie!" popped into my head.  Where that came from I do not know!  But it shows me that I am enjoying this story on a different level than I usually do.  This is a real juggling act.  You are using so many characters in so many different settings that this work is a lot more sophisticated than some fanfic I read.  Sometimes the Vulcan thrown in makes me stop and figure it out for a moment, but having a story which uses Vulcan in more than a line or two is also unusual.  Keep going!  I hope this goes on for a good while yet b/c you work is as interesting as anything I have seen in a while.



Author's Response:

That's one hell of a compliment. Thank you!

When, after years of this idea floating around in the back of my head, I finally decided to write it down, I figured that I'd go big or go home. I've never written much fanfic, just a short story here or there, but I've read a ton of it over years and thought that I might give a novel-length project a shot. I decided to write it in the style of my original fiction, which my readers seem to enjoy (according to feedback) for the same reasons this seems to be resonating with the readers here.

And yes, there's still a ways to go before this crazy ride ends.

Thank you for continuing to read. I can't express how much I appreciate it.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2019 4:08 AM Title: Chapter 60

This is the Crazy universe what kind of an idiot ex does this!   



Author's Response:

Idiot exes are a dime a dozen, however there are some real doozies out there. In my line of work, I've unfortunately encountered the aftereffects of jealous/obsessive exes that ended in the worst way possible. Some people are incredibly dangerous when another person they see as their posession expresses agency and tries to move on. Zadie is one of them.

Again, thank you for sticking this out with me and continuing to read this. Your support is astounding.

 

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2019 9:05 PM Title: Chapter 59

Noooooooooooo! I'm all caught up now and biting my nails for the next chapter. I like that this has stayed different in a good way. I like that this has stayed an ensemble story (unlike a certain TV show that's ruined Spock) and how all of these characters are interwoven and have to depend on one another to beat the big bad.

Thanks for keeping me on the edge of my seat.



Author's Response:

We won't discuss that program that passes itself off as our beloved Star Trek, but I will say a few things about it in how it shaped this piece of writing. I'd been thinking about the idea for the fic for years when someone pointed out to me that there was a new show out there, first season complete, and I should go watch it. I'll just say that it left a bitter taste in my mouth and it became the impetus of putting The Mair-rigolauya on paper. As a response to that show, I purposely put this out as a large ensemble story that can't move forward without all of the characters in place. I have an over-the-top antagonist who's more than a just a moustache-twirling caricature of the evil dude who ties people to railroad tracks. My main characters, plural, all have their strenghts and weaknesses, and none of them have to denigrate and cut down the others to make themselves appear "strong" or "intelligent". I've made sure that I've taken as much care as possible to respect the universe I'm playing in to the point I even ordered an old copy of the Okudas' Star Trek Encylopedia since Memory Alpha has become so confusing and corrupted by this AU show that's prentending its not so I can keep my facts straight.

I'm glad I can keep you on the edge of your seat. I try to make sure the pacing keeps people engaged, though there are some slow parts, but that's storytelling for you.

Thank you for reading and sticking around for more.   

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2019 2:22 AM Title: Chapter 54

Two intense, serious chapters in a row, and this one ends with a lol moment that probably got my neighbors thinking I'm batshit.



Author's Response:

Your neighbors don't know what they're missing out on.

Thanks for the comment. It put a smile on my face.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2019 12:48 AM Title: Chapter 52

Perfect chapter for valentine's day.



Author's Response:

I didn't plan it that way, it just happened.

Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2019 3:43 AM Title: Chapter 49

Another great chapter.

I've been thinking this for a while now, but I really like your use of languages in this. It comes out at appropriate places and doesn't bog down the pacing.



Author's Response:

Thanks. I'm not much of a linguist, but I feel that these details add some authenticity to the experiences of the characters and the richness of the world they inhabit.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2019 12:25 PM Title: Chapter 32

I had to come back and read this chapter gain. It makes me want to know more about Sarek and T'Lal's adventures. It also offers more insight on what made Spock take off for Starfleet. I'm dying to know whats in that suitcase too.

Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2019 5:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

Just letting you know that I'm continuing to enjoy this, and only sad that I've nearly caught up with you, despite trying to 'ration' my enjoyment!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you're still reading and still liking what I've written. Don't worry, there's plenty more to come. As another reviewer said, this is a bit of a slow burn, and I hope to keep everyone intrigued until the end. Thank you.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2019 7:13 PM Title: Chapter 45

Ambassador Scary Uncle! I love it.



Author's Response:

I thought it an appropriate nickname coming from someone like Joe.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2019 9:23 AM Title: Chapter 40

Another nice use of humor in this chapter especially with Jim's idiocy and the Laura/Veddah stuff going on in the previous one. I hope, with the last line of this chapter, that Jim is finally goingto pull his head out of his ass.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2019 6:33 AM Title: Chapter 33

I had to read this chapter twice just to let the details sink in. it was pretty mind blowing. I would not want to be a psion like this.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the compliment. I don't think I could handle being Tralnor (or having his abilities) either. I work with death on a regular basis and can't imagine getting much more "in-depth" than I already do.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2019 12:50 PM Title: Chapter 31

I don't know what I as expecting, but this wasn't it. What the security people did is so disturbing I feel like Sha'leyen went easy on them.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2019 2:26 AM Title: Chapter 22

Whoa, what the heck? Talk about a dark turn. I'm more excited to see where this is going.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/23/2019 10:14 PM Title: Chapter 15

I just about died when I read this line.


“It’s probably time to start wearing lily of the valley perfume again.” Tralnor mentioned an old tactic from his undergraduate days. “People don’t want to fuck someone who smells like their grandmother.”

I like how you put a little humor into this because it has a lot of really serious themes going on.



Author's Response:

I feel like there should be a bit of comic relief because that's very true of the show, so I make sure there's an undercurrent.

Thanks for reading.

 

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2019 8:25 AM Title: Chapter 11

A unique origin story for Spock. Wasn't expecting that.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2019 11:29 PM Title: Chapter 2

I'm only two chapters in and I'm so excited to keep reading.

Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2019 9:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm only about 1/3 of the way through what you've written but just I wanted to say how much I'm enjoying the story and being immersed in the rich and indeed unusual world you've created! Thank you!!!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you're enjoying this. Thank you for reading and have a happy new year!

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/24/2018 9:34 AM Title: Chapter 10

I think I'm right when I say this story is a bit different, but in a really good way? I like the way you have each person with their own distinct voice, so that way you know the point of view and aren't guessing. This Laura is a creep! 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliments.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2018 12:06 AM Title: Chapter 35

Mysterious, puzzling and compelling and deserving of review and most unpredictable! 



Author's Response:

I like to keep readers on their toes. It makes for more interesting reading, or at least I think so. Thank you once again for sticking with me.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2018 7:45 AM Title: Chapter 1

We are lazy. The archive with new iPhone updates seems to delete remembered passwords and busy as we are good Five are worth reviews as well as reading, only polite. 

I am enjoying the weaving of plot lines and scenes in fact that probably warrants going back and analysing. I am also enjoying your exploration of a non-virgin Spock. i think that you cover the learning curve fear and ineptitude of early sexual encounters through Spock‘s lens very well. Jim however without psionic skills is an inept twat, that is the truth for all our emotions we are hopeless at reading each other and so much room for misunderstanding. Only value is that this makes for good tic plots.

The last chapter was ace, I really though the telling off a tad unfair unti you revealed the security detail as grave robbers. It is attention to detail that makes this fic  special. I also like the steady slow burn . I wait in anticipation of who is in Mollie’S flat 

 

 

 

Spock 

You must login (register) to review.