Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2020 3:44 PM Title: Chapter 125

Thank you for the new chapter!  i'm going to consider it a birthday gift just for me even though I know it's not, lol.  

I was touched by that section where Tralnor reflects on what should have been Spock's marriage choices.  Marriage is always a bit consideration in many lives, and to have had a mate selected for political reasons may have been useful for T'Pau but was disastrous for Spock.  Of course, it there had not been that disaster, we would not be here, would we?

I also found that last section where Billy the Sixth points out that Laura has whipped Starfleet's ass twice already very disconcerting.  Although I was aware of it, having someone point it out makes it more ominous.

Thanks for the chapter!  I look forward to next Friday.



Author's Response:

Happy Birthday, Panted Bird! I'm glad I could do a little something to help make it a good one. Enjoy the rest of your special day and I'll see you next week.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2020 1:40 AM Title: Chapter 124

It amused me that everyone got weirded out by Joe's portrayal of Sarek.  Of course, they do call Sarek Scary Uncle, don't they, lol?  And a Sarek in person would be pretty formidable.  At least Mark Lenard was a little scary when I encountered him years ago.

It appears that they are drawing nigh to a confrontation of some sort.  I am looking forward to seeing who all the players are and how this resolves.  It sounds like this will be a major deal.

BTW please don't do away with Tralnor  I have become quite fond of him.



Author's Response:

I've worked long and hard over the years to create characters that are layered, nuanced, and interesting. Any time I hear someone say they like one of them it still comes as something of a shock. Then I have to remind myself if I've gotten a comment like yours that I've been successful at designing that particular element of my overall story or you wouldn't say you were fond of Tralnor. Thank you.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2020 8:41 PM Title: Chapter 123

That conversation between Sarek and T'Lal has me wondering just what the heck they're going to find down at that planet? I like that in your writing you show how strong characters have weaknesses and flaws, but they aren't trivial and they aren't the identity of that person.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2020 11:52 PM Title: Chapter 123

Grrrrr! Lots of new information and yet I don't now a whole lot more than I did  You're teasing us!  No fair!



Author's Response:

*whistles and twiddles thumbs*

Teasing, yes. Guilty as charged. I've got to keep readers hooked somehow and I don't think bribing them with cupcakes is going to work. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2020 6:24 AM Title: Chapter 122

I don't know how you keep digging deeper and find more insight into your characters, what makes them tick, and how they work in the grand scheme of the universe. It's like the could walk off the screen and meet you for lunch thats how realistic they are. I already can't wait for next week.



Author's Response:

I'm terminally allergic to cardboard characters and cookie-cutter drone people. They don't resound with many readers. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/12/2020 10:16 PM Title: Chapter 121

Aargh!  The tension is killing me.  Each discussion sets up the potential for more conflict.  More please!



Author's Response:

I've got more on order and appreciate the feedback that the sort-of slow-build I've got going is a success. Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2020 3:46 AM Title: Chapter 119

When the searching for something and you find another thing entirely. . . How incredibly sad.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2020 12:24 AM Title: Chapter 118

There are some big chickens who've come home to roost in this chapter. Laura is in fine form to start out and then to see her continue to crumble is hard, especially when Veddah said what he did, it made me want to give him a hug. Between this and the last scene there was a pile of heartache. You know how to get a reader caught up in the mood. Can't wait for next week!



Author's Response:

Sorry I'm late with a response, but thank you. And these are some big chickens indeed.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/22/2020 11:35 PM Title: Chapter 118

As you get closer and closer to the problem on Pezis's Gate, I anticipate more and more how this is going to turn out.  Usually I have some idea of how a piece is going to resolve, but this time you have me clueless!  Thanks.  I like not knowing how something is going to end before it does end, lol.



Author's Response:

Glad to keep you guessing. I'd intended, from the beginning, to make this novel a little different than the standard Trek fare. I'm chuffed that it seems to be working.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2020 9:57 PM Title: Chapter 117

My favorite part of this chapter was the discussion between Joe and Kirk.  Now Jim knows for certain that Spock had feelings for him in the past, but he may have screwed that up.  Will be waiting for your appearance next Friday.  Have a good week!



Author's Response:

The pieces are finally starting to come together for Jim. He's forcing himself beyond his self-sabotaging perception of the world. I hope you have a good week as well. Thank you so much for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:26 AM Title: Chapter 117

A well deserved comeuppance (Silvio needed that months ago) and a load of bombshells (T'Pau is obviously way out of touch), and im left turning inside out wanting the next chapter. You put out all kinds of teeny treasures that add into a more complete backstory for this universe and that's on top of great storytelling. CBS could learn a thing or three from you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the compliments and praise. You're right, T'Pau is out of touch. As far as good storytelling, it's my belief there is less and less of it because people aren't being taught to develop critical thinking skills as part of the writing process. In the US, a creative story doesn't do as well on a standardized test than a boilerplate tale because the bland, uninspired one ticks all the boxes in the scoring rubric. Have a good week and thank you for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 5:08 AM Title: Chapter 115

Supremely bad idea Jim! Bad, bad idea!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:44 AM Title: Chapter 113

Holy moly, what a series of revelations. Spooks and peaches and "alterations" and guns and--I can't wait to click next chapter!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2020 1:05 AM Title: Chapter 110

I'm so happy to have some time to catch up on my reading. Christine is the worst! She can't stop screwing herself, too many real people are just like that. It's pretty sad actually. Next chapter!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2020 3:33 PM Title: Chapter 116

Jim Kirk - boo!  I am disappointed in him for skulking around and invading Spock's privacy.  He should be more mature even though I understand he is desperate.

Veddah is doing a good job taking care of Laura, too, but I have to wonder if Vulcans in a relationship with a human will always be doing the caregiving and not the humans.  if so humanity is going to have to work to make the relationship more two-sided!

And all that loot in the cave!  Now we're getting down to the nitty gritty.  Am looking forward to your next chapter.



Author's Response:

Kirk is certainly being a boob right now and he's dragged McCoy in even deeper. I wrote his finding of the toybox in the closet as a knee to the gut because sometimes you go looking for answers and get the smack you deserve.

Veddah is a good kid and Laura knows just how lucky she is to have him.

I'll see you on Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2020 12:15 PM Title: Chapter 115

OK, you've completely lost me with the cabbage soup mix!



Author's Response:

It's what's holding all of the toys/lubes/condoms that Tralnor gave Spock back in Chapter 30:

“It’s no wonder shore leave is synonymous with Mardi Gras-level depravity.” Tralnor entered, cardinal colored t-shirt tight across his chest, and a box marked CABBAGE SOUP MIX, tucked under his arm. “Even people who don’t think they’re stir-crazy get goofy when the gangplank goes down.”

Since this is a *very* long novel that's being read in a serialized form, I understand how something you read six months ago went bye-bye. I'm always glad to refresh memories and answer questions.

Thank you for your comments and continued support. I couldn't do this without you.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2020 1:05 AM Title: Chapter 114

Getting a new chapter each week is the highlight of my week.  I am enjoying what you are doing and hope that you will continue to write other Trek work when you finish this one.

I was surprised by this chapter and was surprised to realize that I had never considered a reaon for Sarek' distancing in any other framework but rejection.  Your take on the situation was illuminating.  

I look forward to next week!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

It was always my thought that Amanda would not have stayed married to a man who rejected their child, that there had to be an explanation as to why her relationship with her husband remained close even though Sarek and Spock had a falling out. That falling out was exactly what it was, a father thought his son could do better and a teenager who didn't agree with his Old Man. As a child, Spock saw his father's distance as disapproval and rejection of his human side as straight out rejection. That is the conclusion a young child would come to, especially if this stand-offish parent doesn't offer up a reason why. That chasm is real, something that obviously never smoothed over completely, so things were never going to be sunshine and rainbows. There was too much damage. In Star Trek III, even though Sarek's appearances aren't long, the audience is granted a short look into the ambassador's regard for his child. So, that's where I'm coming from.

Once I finish this and Home for the Holidays, I've got an idea or two kicking around for another trip through the Celluloid Vokaya universe. I've had to set Home to the side for the moment because I'm on a roll with trying to finish The Mair-rigolauya. I'm on the home stretch.

It's uplifting to hear that my writing in the highlight of someone's week. When you connect with readers in that way you know you're doing something right. It makes me happy that you want to finish this journey with me. Thank you so much and I'll see you next Friday.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2020 10:55 PM Title: Chapter 112

Another great chapter, thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/2020 10:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Glad to see you posting again this week.  It looks like things are coming to a head in this piece.  I've become so accustomed to your posting on Friday that I will miss it.  I check eachc Friday until it's up.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

We're finally heading into the closing stretch on this one. I won't know what to do with myself when it's finished either. As always, it's been great to have you along on this adventure.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 4:14 AM Title: Chapter 108

Dr. Okuda, that's awesome.



Author's Response:

As I was writing that scene, I was trying to think of a name for the creator of this new warp tech and looked over at the bookshelf. The Star Trek Encyclopedia was right there and I thought having a Dr. Okuda was rather appropriate.

You must login (register) to review.