Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2020 4:14 AM Title: Chapter 108

Dr. Okuda, that's awesome.



Author's Response:

As I was writing that scene, I was trying to think of a name for the creator of this new warp tech and looked over at the bookshelf. The Star Trek Encyclopedia was right there and I thought having a Dr. Okuda was rather appropriate.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2020 9:46 PM Title: Chapter 108

This is getting so convoluted, I'm beginning to have trouble keeping track!

Always happy to see an update from you, this one was excellent, thank you..



Author's Response:

When I started on this, I had no idea I was heading into a project that shares a lot of its structure with Joan D. Vinge's The Summer Queen (950 pages in the mass market paperback and a word count the author has put at about 400k) which is simply a huge sci-fi epic. When that book is read straight through instead of in parcels, the fuzziness and confusion fades, and details/characters/plotlines solidify, making much more sense overall. The people who've re-read The Mair-rigolauya from the beginning have told me the same thing. It can be tough to read something like this in the serialized fashion in which its put up on the Archive, but I don't want to leave people hanging and this method gives me time to do the best possible job editing/proofreading that I possibly can. When this is done, I'll have a Dramatis Personae and a couple of other supplements that you often see with novels of this kind. So, that's kind of where we are on that for now. I'm not trying to make your head spin, I just want to do the best job possible. . . 

The Mair-rigolauya is definitely teaching me that "epic" length projects are of a different sub-species of novel. Most of my book-length work clocks in between 100k-150k words, so I've never faced some of the challenges that I'm dealing with on this, a true learning experience.

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. Your time is valuable and I'm so appreciative that you leave feedback as that's the thing that allows authors to improve on their craft. Happy reading and I'll be seeing you around!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2020 9:03 AM Title: Chapter 106

I like Joe's explanation of t'hy'la even if he thinks its not very good. Points on a line, not a triangle, makes sense here. Then you toss more intrigue in at the end to keep the readers on their toes, nice.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2020 4:51 AM Title: Chapter 104

Lol, it has taken me a couple of weeks to find a very circuitious means of being able to make a comment so just let me say that I'm glad you're continuing to post on both stories.  It looks like you're getting to the nitty gritty of this tale, and I look forward to seeing what you do with it.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

I've not got any plans of leaving either of these hanging. I'm almost done with Home for the Holidays and The Mair-rigolauya is shifting into the home stretch (which given how this doorstopper keeps going) won't see "The End" for a while yet. Thank you for reading and I hope all is well and that your hand injury has healed nicely.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2020 1:47 PM Title: Chapter 104

Just when you think there can't be another layer of mystery, bam! You hit us with some more. I hope this means that Jim is finally back on track. Good stuff.



Author's Response:

Good to see you made it back to the Archive. Thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/05/2020 3:41 AM Title: Chapter 102

Squeeeeeee! I'm so happy-happy-joy-joy that this story is going to be updated. I was going into total withdrawals. Oh, and Jim is being such a dick to Joe. Don't be a dick, Jim!



Author's Response:

I'm glad to be back. I've got several more chapters written and ready to go. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2020 12:39 AM Title: Chapter 98

Yes, I saw your comment.  The site seems to be partially up - it's possible to read, to make comments, and there is a read count continuing, but the capacity to add additional chapters is still out.  I'm glad you're still writing.  That will mean more chapters later.  i'm using the time to write as well.

Let's both hope this situation is fixed soon.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2020 5:26 PM Title: Chapter 98

I don't know whether this will actually post given the condition of the website at the moment, but I wanted you to know that I just finished re-reading the entire piece from beginning to here and thoroughly enjoyed it.  Re-reading helped me pick up some details I missed first time around.  Well done!



Author's Response:

I was drifting through to see how things were going over here as I'm sitting on several more chapters of this work that I'd love to share with everyone and was delighted to get your review. Thanks for taking the time to re-read and thank you for the compliments. Now, here's to hoping things will get back to normal around here. We'll see if this response makes it to you.

Reviewer: Jaylen0827 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2019 8:40 PM Title: Chapter 98

Oh, poor Jim. What a self-revalation! 



Author's Response:

Sometimes, the face in the mirror is the hardest one to recognize as a problem. Unfortunately coming to that realization tends to have some collateral damage along the way.

Thank you for reading and sticking this one out.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2019 5:20 PM Title: Chapter 97

I am really going to have to re-read this entire work when you finish it, lol.  There are so many chapters, so many characters, and so much going on!  I love it.  However, in ths particular chapter, the thing that really got my attention was the last paragraph.  The shit is really going to hit the fan, isnt it, when Kirk realizes the danger that Spock isn't it?  I am looking forward to seeing how he responds to that when he completely realizes the situation.  Thanks for the story which I continue to enjoy.



Author's Response:

This thing has taken on a life of its own. I never imagined it would get this long and chose to write shorter chapters to keep the flow going. I'm so glad you're still liking things because I'm still having a great time working on it.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2019 8:58 PM Title: Chapter 97

Somehow I get the feeling that this Casey is based on someone you know out there in the real world. She's not on stage for very long, but the reader gets a thorough idea of what she's like. Again, I'm wrapped up in this and wanting the next chapter.



Author's Response:

You may just sort-of possibly be right on the money about Casey. Thanks for keeping with me on this.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2019 4:49 AM Title: Chapter 96

Ooooooh, T'Pring is a bad, bad girl. I'd totally root for Laura in a smackdown between those two.



Author's Response:

GirlBoss! fight for the ages.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2019 6:32 AM Title: Chapter 94

This little C plot with the junior officers has started to take on a life of its own that grows more sinister as time passes. I like that the sub-sub plots are still worthy of interest.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2019 8:54 PM Title: Chapter 92

The Wenie Roast was hillarious and now we can see why Scotty said what he did about T'Lal. And the kid screamed some more. Can't wait for next week. I'm interested in the outcome of Spock's outburst at the dinner table last chepter. 

 

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2019 6:35 PM Title: Chapter 91

Scotty's got all the bad luck right now. Veddah, he's so sweet, even to Laura. They show how good you are at developoing characters and their relationships. Are we getting hints of K/S at the beginning of TMP with the long-distance contact?

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2019 5:47 PM Title: Chapter 90

Another collection of bombshells has got me wanting to read the next chapter, the whole rest of the book, right now. I don't want to wait until next week because I've got to know howall of this is coming together. 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2019 11:02 PM Title: Chapter 89

I keep reading each chapter trying to figure out how you are going to pull all these folks together at the same time, and I haven't figured it out yet.  Usually I am pretty good about anticipating plot lines but you have me beat, lol.  Looking forward to seeing how you manage it!



Author's Response:

Thank you for staying with me on this.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/16/2019 4:58 PM Title: Chapter 87

Poor Scotty. Enterprise is his pride and joy and now there are strangers coming to mess things up. I liked the scenes at the California house too with the continued evolution of Joe from obnoxious screwoffto something more. 



Author's Response:

Glad that you're still enjoying my story. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2019 8:17 PM Title: Chapter 85

I was sad when the weekend came and went withoug an update, then this popped up. Thank you! 

Last chapter was powerful and this one is too, nice how 85 is a good payoff for 84. And Kirk's last line to Spock gives me some hope for our wayward captain.



Author's Response:

I had a kind of crazy forensic case going on that gobbled up my life, so I couldn't get that chapter out at my usual time. I'm glad you're still with me. Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: ilii_expugnans Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2019 8:13 AM Title: Chapter 84

This was a powerful chapter, very moving.



Author's Response:

Thank you! So glad to see you're still reading.

You must login (register) to review.