Reviews For The Mair-rigolauya
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2020 11:01 PM Title: Chapter 135

I don't think you realize how unusual this story is.  Since the 70s, I've read Trek fan fiction of various kinds and quality and yours is unique in a number of ways.  You have multiple characters each of whom has a perspective represented at some point.  Just the number of characters you have used is more than most of the fiction I have read as the numbers uually come down to the Big Three - Kirk, Spock, and McCoy.  You show more of the Vulcan perspective than is usual.  And this is a much, much longer story with a much broader perspective on Trek than is usual.  That is why I check every Friday until it shows up, lol.



Author's Response:

Wow, I'm bowled over. . . I've not had a chance to read a great deal of fanfic. I'm too young to have been around for the heyday of the zines, was not aware of the message boards when I finally got internet, read a few things in the early, horrifying days of fan fiction dot net and walked away in frustration, until about ten years ago when I was finally done with graduate school and had a sliver of leisure reading time, I stumbled across this particular site, read a few things I liked in fits and startles. . . blah, blah, blah. Anywhoo, I assumed that by the time I decided to throw my hat into the ring, that due to the sheer quantity of stories out there, I'd have a very, very similar product to other things out there.

The actual writing, I approached it like I do my original fiction. I was going to give it my best, run with an ensemble cast, have multiple complimentary storylines, and just try to tell the best story I can. I didn't expect to have it come out at mega-epic fantasy length, that's just how it happened here.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading and commenting. 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/18/2020 11:08 PM Title: Chapter 135

I re-read the previous chapter while waiting at the repair shop this morning, and the end hit me much differently than the first time I read it.  That is the first time I have seen brain injury as a reason that Sarek will not meld with Spock and makes a lot of sense.  No reason for Sarek's telepathic distance I have read makes Sarek more vulnerable or honorable than this.

When I read this chapter, I grinned when you managed to use that plus what we know of Sarek's death together in a coherent concept.  Well done!  I am already looking forward to the next chapter to see how thing are going to turn out.



Author's Response:

I'm almost at a loss for words at reading your comment. When I finally decided to write this story, I figured I'd just be retreading the same well-loved ground and hoping that what I put out there wasn't too derivrative. I always figured there was a damned good reason Sarek didn't meld with his son and it wasn't because he was a bigoted old bastard. If that was the truth, the man we meet in STIII would have been an entirely different person, not to mention what we see of him in TNG. I felt that a TBI, something that isn't readily visible and not an artifact of a shitty personality, was a realistic way to approach this issue. Thank you so much for reading.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2020 7:15 PM Title: Chapter 134

That last scene is touching and heartbreaking. I can't help but feel sorrow for the ambassador.

I thought the references to Ray Bradbury's book were pretty interestings especially since the points you bring up are a sorta strange parallels to what is going on with these characters. Now I might just have to read Something Wicked This Way Comes while waiting for next week's post.



Author's Response:

Something Wicked still scares me to this day and it felt like a good fit because of the themes and characters in that story. I think Bradbury might have even been one of the scifi writers that the Star Trek production team would call up and get his ideas on things. Happy reading on whatever you pick between now and Friday. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2020 5:29 PM Title: Chapter 134

Somehow I managed to miss your post last week so if someone online says a person has been looking for you it would be me, lol.  I'm glad to see that I was in error and that you are still plugging along.  It's good to see the plot line as it moves along, and I am looking forward to the resolution in the future.  Just don't kill off Spock or Tralnor, ok?  Thanks!



Author's Response:

So you wound up with a 2 for 1 special! I'm finding that notifications aren't very timely these days, if they go out at all. I try to get the week's chapter up by 7:00pm Pacific Time every Friday. Your request that I not bump off certain characters is quite the compliment because if people want them to stick around, they like said characters. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2020 2:12 PM Title: Chapter 131

You are such a tease!  Each week I think "Now we'll get moving into the gory details!" and each week you draw out the suspense a little more.  Frustrating but I like it.  When the end comes, I think it's going to be dynamite.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Early in my writing career, I had a distinct problem with transitions and pacing where I lost and/or fatigued my readers with a cycle of lack of or too much information. I learned to weave in that tease to keep things interesting and keep the story moving, and that's more engaging to readers. Thanks for being willing to put up with a bit of frustration.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2020 3:34 PM Title: Chapter 130

Leech repellant, that's got me shaking my head. Bones is a funny one. So Silvio a bigger prick than ever. The way he talked about Veddah has me wanting to smack Silvio upside his racist head. I liked this chapter and Friday needs to get here.



Author's Response:

Silvio is a piece of work. I sort-of modeled him on these two bullying idiot jocks I went to high school with. They managed to be co-valedictorians and everyone knew they lied and cheated their way there. They weren't handled then, but once they got away from our hometown and had to be big boys out in the real world, things didn't stay so nice for them. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2020 3:39 PM Title: Chapter 129

Oh, I needed this! I think the hardest hitting part of this is that esnsign dead body diddler couldn't have caused so much damage on his own. He had to have help and we don't know who it is yet. If there's active saboteurs still on board how much more trouble are they going to make?



Author's Response:

Glad to be of service. We all know that Kevin treacherous, but it's looking like they've only found the tip of an iceberg. Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2020 1:13 AM Title: Chapter 129

Looks like we are getting down to the nitty gritty, and I am looking forward to the resolution of this tale!



Author's Response:

I'm always saying thanks for staying with this story and I know it doesn't seem like much, it means a lot. Thank you.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2020 3:56 AM Title: Chapter 128

Who knew an exploding coffee maker would be so revealing? Now we know why Pezigs doesn't want NX ships parking up around their planet.



Author's Response:

Even innocent food service items aren't always what they seem, right? Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2020 9:42 PM Title: Chapter 127

Interesting discussion between McCoy and T'Lal. She gives some good points to think about for people who are of mixed backgrounds.



Author's Response:

Good to see you and thanks for all the comments. It's good for someone like McCoy to get an alternate viewpoint from someone he doesn't verbally horse-fight all the time. I'm thrilled that you and other readers like these characters, that they resonate. Catch you next time.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2020 9:27 PM Title: Chapter 125

More Laura revelations, gives me the chills. Veddah is worth his weight in gold, I hope he comes out of all of this in one piece.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2020 9:20 PM Title: Chapter 124

Here to catch up, finally. I like the little geology lesson.  You sneek in neat stuff because I had no idea that some rocks glow. Tralor and Sha'leyen are really precious. I don't know who creeps me out more, the doctor or Silvio. Creeeeeeepy.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2020 11:49 PM Title: Chapter 127

I was beginning to think you weren't going to make your Friday post and am glad you seemed to slip it under the wire.  Things are certainly moving along now and I am looking forward to learning what comes next.  See you next Friday!

 



Author's Response:

Yeah, Friday was kind of crazy around here. My friends and I had gotten sucked up into the shit-show that was this year's SDCC. It wasn't until one of them asked if I'd gotten any new comments on Mair-rigolauya that I realized I hadn't posted my chapter yet. I gave it one super-fast final proof and hoped for the best that there weren't too many typos. Thanks for stopping by.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/16/2020 2:52 AM Title: Chapter 125

God, they've found it already, just waiting for them to realise . . . 
I would love to see more of Chris Chapel before this ends, or rather, see just how far over the edge she goes.

And I might've said this before, but there better be a damn good sex scene between Kirk & Spock coming up!

Great story, really enjoying it. 



Author's Response:

It always makes me happy when I hear that my writing is bringing some joy into people's lives. Chapel is a shit-show. I remember seeing her when I was a little kid and wondering why she was even there because it was obvious that she was deeply disturbed. Don't fret about our boys. They'll be seen to *wink-wink*. Great big thanks for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2020 3:44 PM Title: Chapter 125

Thank you for the new chapter!  i'm going to consider it a birthday gift just for me even though I know it's not, lol.  

I was touched by that section where Tralnor reflects on what should have been Spock's marriage choices.  Marriage is always a bit consideration in many lives, and to have had a mate selected for political reasons may have been useful for T'Pau but was disastrous for Spock.  Of course, it there had not been that disaster, we would not be here, would we?

I also found that last section where Billy the Sixth points out that Laura has whipped Starfleet's ass twice already very disconcerting.  Although I was aware of it, having someone point it out makes it more ominous.

Thanks for the chapter!  I look forward to next Friday.



Author's Response:

Happy Birthday, Panted Bird! I'm glad I could do a little something to help make it a good one. Enjoy the rest of your special day and I'll see you next week.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2020 1:40 AM Title: Chapter 124

It amused me that everyone got weirded out by Joe's portrayal of Sarek.  Of course, they do call Sarek Scary Uncle, don't they, lol?  And a Sarek in person would be pretty formidable.  At least Mark Lenard was a little scary when I encountered him years ago.

It appears that they are drawing nigh to a confrontation of some sort.  I am looking forward to seeing who all the players are and how this resolves.  It sounds like this will be a major deal.

BTW please don't do away with Tralnor  I have become quite fond of him.



Author's Response:

I've worked long and hard over the years to create characters that are layered, nuanced, and interesting. Any time I hear someone say they like one of them it still comes as something of a shock. Then I have to remind myself if I've gotten a comment like yours that I've been successful at designing that particular element of my overall story or you wouldn't say you were fond of Tralnor. Thank you.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2020 8:41 PM Title: Chapter 123

That conversation between Sarek and T'Lal has me wondering just what the heck they're going to find down at that planet? I like that in your writing you show how strong characters have weaknesses and flaws, but they aren't trivial and they aren't the identity of that person.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2020 11:52 PM Title: Chapter 123

Grrrrr! Lots of new information and yet I don't now a whole lot more than I did  You're teasing us!  No fair!



Author's Response:

*whistles and twiddles thumbs*

Teasing, yes. Guilty as charged. I've got to keep readers hooked somehow and I don't think bribing them with cupcakes is going to work. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: HeyaShasta Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2020 6:24 AM Title: Chapter 122

I don't know how you keep digging deeper and find more insight into your characters, what makes them tick, and how they work in the grand scheme of the universe. It's like the could walk off the screen and meet you for lunch thats how realistic they are. I already can't wait for next week.



Author's Response:

I'm terminally allergic to cardboard characters and cookie-cutter drone people. They don't resound with many readers. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/12/2020 10:16 PM Title: Chapter 121

Aargh!  The tension is killing me.  Each discussion sets up the potential for more conflict.  More please!



Author's Response:

I've got more on order and appreciate the feedback that the sort-of slow-build I've got going is a success. Thank you so much for reading.

You must login (register) to review.