Reviews For Diamonds and Rust
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2017 6:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have mixed feelings about this story.   I liked that Kirk came to appreciate what it had cost Spock that he was not faithful.  However, I did find that he was making a lot of excuses for his bad bahaviour - even towards the end he seemed to be deciding if he should pursue his guide who turned him down.  What if she hadn't?   Anyway, glad in the end it seemed he had kept his pants zipped and they had worked it out.

Also thank you for your large body of work which I have enjoyed overall tremendously. 



Author's Response:

My apologies for not responding sooner.  I no longer get notices of comments in my regular email feed and tend to miss them when they occur.

It seems to me that the Kirk character is established in the original series as someone who will do anything with a pulse, and my take on him is that this would make it hard for him to enter a truly monogamous relationship.  That isn't making excuses for him.  I just see that as a character flaw of sorts.

So thank you for your comment, and also thank you for your nice words about my work in general.  I hope soon to be able to getting back to producing fiction as I previously have done, but various issues have been in my way.  Hope to see you soon back on these pages.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2016 4:52 AM Title: Chapter 16

Who is the father of Althea's daughter?...



Author's Response:

I assume you are asking if Kirk is the father of Althea's daughter.  That was never my intention.  I saw Althea as an individual who passed between the traditional Native world and the world of her century, comfortable in both but not tied to either except by ties of family.  Thanks for your comment.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2016 4:04 PM Title: Chapter 16

If that is your last story then it is an amazing finish. Thank you for an enjoyable read. 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I will return if I can.  When will we see more of your writing?

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2016 11:39 AM Title: Chapter 16

I am sorry to hear that you're giving up writing, or at least, writing in this fandom. I've always looked forward to your contributions, and I love your work.

I hope that whatever happens in this perilous world you'll still be able to find light and peace and inspiration to create in whatever form that creation might take.

Ashaya



Author's Response:

Ashaya, I am not leaving this fandom or writing involuntarily.  Writing has currently left me.  Since early in the year, I have struggled to write anything more engaging than a shopping list and finally decided to quit fighting it.  When something is no longer fun, why continue?  I have loved writing fan fiction and have done it periodically since the 70s, originally in paper zines and more recently online,  so perhaps I just need a break to recharge my batteries.  If that is the case, I'll be back sometime.  

In the meantime, I will enjoy reading and commenting on your work and others.  Who knows?  I might get inspired to write again by something you write.

I do appreciate your comments and hope to continue reading your work for the foreseeable future.

 

Reviewer: hortababy Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2016 9:25 AM Title: Chapter 16

I am very sorry to hear that you are leaving. You are one of the best writers that we have. I have enjoyed all of your stories over the years and I hope you do return. K/S fanfic needs you!

Author's Response:

Don't count me out just yet, hortababy.  I will be back if I find something interesting to write or can resolve how to finish any of the half dozen WIPs  I have sitting in my computer .  However, I have struggled since the first of the year to write anything and am hoping that a nice long break may revitalize my creative juices.  I love writing and don't relish not doing it, but I just don't want to continue struggling.  Thank you for your comment.  It is always good to know that one's work is appreciated.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2016 5:43 AM Title: Chapter 16

I like the way you have wrapped this up.in this changing world it was apt and fitting.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2016 11:05 AM Title: Chapter 12

Great chapter! I love what you're doing with this story. And thank you for putting something up on the Archive; it IS terribly quiet.



Author's Response:

I am glad you like this.  We're getting toward the end, I think, but there is still more to come.  I'm not sure what is going on with the archive.  Not as many people reading and certainly not as many people posting.  However, I will be around as long as this story is incomplete so I'll see you again soon. Thanks.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2016 4:53 PM Title: Chapter 10

I am enjoying this on many levels. I can see why some readers do not like this Kirk, however I think that ruthless, driven streak is believable. I love the way you are portraying a fragile post Gol Spock. Once I started reading I was hooked and look forward to more.



Author's Response:

I do not ordinarily see Kirk as this ruthless and driven, but in The Motion Picture he insists on taking command from Decker who is captain, is willing to sacrifice about anything to resolve the situation, and even doubts Spock in the process.  He steps over the bodies of those lost in the transporter accident and keeps going.  Most really successful men I have ever known have been driven and ruthless to a point so why not Kirk?  Spock, in my opinion, would have had an adjustment period from being at Gol and then renouncing that entire mind set with "this simple feeling".  Most people require a period of adjustment.  Why not Spock? I am glad that you are enjoying the story and hope you will continue to do so.  When do we hear something from you?  It's been a while.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/19/2016 10:39 PM Title: Chapter 10

Thank you for this! Really enjoying this story.



Author's Response:

Thank you for pointing out the problem.  Somehow I had an incomplete and complete copy of the same chapter.  Haven't quite figured out how that happened, but it is posted properly now.  I hope that folks who have not read the complete chapter will come back and read it again.  Thanks for your interest and help.  More soon.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2016 7:10 PM Title: Chapter 9

"Looking back, Kirk regretted his actions as he had never regretted anything else."

That's a very ambiguous statement, given its context. :)

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2016 1:29 AM Title: Chapter 7

i like this; it's a slippery fish. more please.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  More to come soon.

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2016 2:46 AM Title: Chapter 5

Well now SPOCK'S being a dick. SIGH.



Author's Response:

It's angst.  Usually someone has to be a dick in angst, right?

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/07/2016 10:22 PM Title: Chapter 5

this jim seems quite self absorbed and reminds me a lot/more of shatner than jim per se 

admit it; you've written a shatner/spock cross-over :D

more please!

is this new genre called "shock" or "shatock"?  ;) <3 



Author's Response:

As I said previously, this characterization of Kirk could be reflective of my recent experience of Shatner who was as full of himself as usual.  However, I make absolutely no claim to a new genre of any kind.  Not going to open that door.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/07/2016 7:55 PM Title: Chapter 5

This is amazing. Kirk is Spock's t'hy'la, but that doesn't mean he deserved him. I like seeing Kirk eat crow for a while. Keep up the excellent work!

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/07/2016 8:20 AM Title: Chapter 5

This is wonderful. So exquisitely angsty... I want Jim to suffer, want his soul to be bared to Spock and Spock's for the taking. Seems to me nothing other than that can possibly atone for what Jim did... 



Author's Response:

I can't make any promises about where this is going as I only have a general idea when I start, but I can promise you several more chapters at a minimum with conflict and plenty of angst.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2016 7:45 PM Title: Chapter 4

I like this tale because much as I want to believe in happy ever after the canonical image of K/S seems more true to the image you portray. Given that actors utilise known experience this probably reflects the confusions and instabilities of the relationship between the two actors drawing on the behaviour of Shatner and an unwillingness to create hurt and confusion as a response to Bill's brashness and bluster. I think you pick up in this fic many of the undercurrents of the movie era. In many ways I see Gol not as a running away necessarily but a vital tool in coping with Kirk and the possibility of an open relationship. That is surviving Pon Farr Without a bond



Author's Response:

I suspect that some of the Kirk in this fic comes from seeing Shatner last month.  He is as full of himself as ever.  That said, no relationship is ever perfect b/c we are all imperfect beings, even the boys.  Kirk tends to think that the universe is his for the picking, and Spock will follow him anywhere which is sometimes to his detriment.  Given that the two individuals are almost polar opposites, my interpretation is that there is plenty that could go wrong in this relationship as much as I'd like to think it would be perfect.  

As far as Gol is concerned, I can see it as either of two things - a retreat from emotions and experiences that Spock has been overwhelmed with or as a last try for him to be that perfect Vulcan that he has never quite managed to be.  Personally, I like the result.  In the movies, he is still Spock but a more serene, put together Spock than we see in the TOS episodes.  He has finally found his balance, and it suits him well.

I appreciate your comments.  It is alwaya a pleasure for me to see that people are actually thinking about my fics.  Thanks.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2016 11:44 AM Title: Chapter 4

very much enjoying a non-standard kirk and a bit of twisted psychology; keep it up! :D



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2016 8:02 PM Title: Chapter 4

Jim is really trying hard to get back into Spock's life. He's not pushing too hard, he's finally being honest and telling Spock the truth, even though it's difficult to listen to his confessions. 

It seems that he's managed to convince Nogura about getting the Enterprise back. I'm very curious to find out how he'll get Spock back as well. 

We all makes mistakes in life, Jim is no exception. He's finally accepted he's made some and is taking responsibility for once.

Great chapter. Looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comments!

Reviewer: WriterPam4 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2016 10:53 AM Title: Chapter 2

NOT A LETTER, A COMM MESSAGE:

"Spock had sent him a comm message that he was going to Gol to break the bond, and at the moment Kirk sat there at his desk reading it he hadn't cared."

This is what I am reading. Excuse the petite erreur; English is not my first language. A note. A message. A "letter" by any other name.



Author's Response:

OK, I can see how you would interpret that as a letter.  I read the chapters again wondering if I had forgotten something in my own story, lol.  As I said, this is not TOS Kirk to me.  This is a lost Kirk who has made mistakes and lost his way.  My hope is that I can help him find his way back to where he was - or even better. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2016 12:29 AM Title: Chapter 3

Finally, Jim understands the pain he caused Spock and that he was the cause of it.  Now, let's see what he'll do to make Spock trust him again. I just love how protective McCoy is towards Spock. Jim better watch out. McCoy has spoken.

Spock just can't help being pulled in by Jim's charm. But, he's holding his own. Great chapter, looking forward to more.

You must login (register) to review.