You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: k1of7a Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2018 9:59 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

At Kismet2018 I was reminded of this story. My heart is full.



Author's Response:

I am honoured.  is has been a favourite of mine for a long time.  many thanks!!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2016 9:53 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

A real gift of a story. I recently read an interesting article about the effects on health and mental state of long term imprisonment. Your story captures exactly the pattern and response over the years oc inmates. 

I also appreciate the very masculine Kirk and Spock you capture  in this fic. 



Author's Response:

I firmly believe we put way too many people in prison for way too many years.  only just now did the courts finally rule against using solitary confinement on juveniles.  glad you liked this one, tis near to my heart, though I never spent longer in the can than a day or two for drunk and disorderly many many moons ago.  when the going gets rough, you just *keep going*.  show must go on is another variant.  all good ways to handle hardship, nies?  *bows*

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/22/2015 6:17 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

This story was PAINFUL to read, it really hurts to see what circumstances made out of Spock, how carelessly he was discarded. Luckily the end soothes the pained reader's heart, the constant in any universe being that Jim and Spock will find peace in one another.

Great concept in this fic, tracing the possible changes that would be the consequence of Spock not being present in the years after the trial.



Author's Response:

thanks, luv!!  I've always loved "what if..." stories, and this ep just cried out for it.  glad it works for ye!!  *doffs his hat*

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2015 8:09 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

I love how you capture the gruff masculinity of these men. Also the need for connection and friendship and meaning that Spock experienced that brought he and Michael together. The experiences Spock describes have the non emotional factual element that I've noted in the writings of those who have experienced hardship. Not sensationalised but all the more brutal and realistic because  the writing is factual.  it's a fic style that has the Greywolf unique stamp  all over it.

Just brilliant



Author's Response:

the dry and factual manner is an extremely useful tool to maintain equanimity in the face of horror and loss.  we use it in medicine.  the military use it.  historians and antrhopologists often need to use it.  *doffs his hat*  the one is honoured.  we come to serve...

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2013 9:51 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

Wow.

I wish I could write more, but you left me speechless.

~AKO



Author's Response:

*bows*  and I am honoured!!

Reviewer: The_Physicist Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 7:29 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

So they will become outlaws in the Fringeworlds? I was kind of hoping for that ending, to give Spock back the freedome to travel the stars, but I wasn't sure until the very end.

Great story!

Author's Response:

thankee, sai!!  dunno why I never answered this before, but belated reply es mejor que nada, no?  and yeah, after this, I figured they'd pretty much have to head out of the main Federation area.  *nods*  glad it works for thee!

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2011 1:25 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

How strange: I could swear I had read this story before!
"My Michael" left no doubt in me
But I always leave a review in return ... How strange
I'm such a fool
I feel the need to apologize ... I'm very sorry

It was all so painful to read it
So much time wasted
What could have happened and not happened
I'm sorry .. so sorry for them

I finished reading with dripping eyes and a sad smile but broad



Author's Response:

ahhh... thankee sai!  sorry to bum thee out *hands a tissue* but glad it worked for ye, aye.  as for not reviewing the first time, hey, I'z done it meself, sometimes we forget -- no offense is ever given!  and thanx for da sugar!!  :)

Reviewer: Lorelei21 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2010 11:57 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

Amazing story. Reading it made me cry. The cruelty of the world... Spock did nothing wrong in a human way. But disobeying the orders must have its punishment.  

Sorry, but even the relative happy end could not bring peace to my stormy soul :( You did a wonderful job. Thanks for sharing it.



Author's Response:

I am honoured... And dinna feel bad about your reaction either -- I was in a pretty dark headplace when I was writing that one.  'Tis a writerish thing to do, take misfortune and dump it into a story, but a lot of us do it I reckon.

Anyways, thankee for comment!  Comments iz love...

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/08/2009 9:46 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

Wow....i'm am so happy that people are writing K/S stories.  I am so envious of you all, that you can make a reader like me lose oneself in a different world.  What a wonderful story you wrote... i enjoyed reading it from beginning to end.  It's so amazing how a character like Spock can change when you strip everything that he's become accustomed to.  One becomes desperate, lonely, suicidal, even kills but in the end finds love a fitting end.  Merci beaucoup...

Author's Response:

Thank you kindly!  Thee is most welcome indeed.  This story got into my head and just wouldn't stop.  I'd always wondered, what if the Fleet *hadn't* relented?  Hence, this tale...

Reviewer: bluesky Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2009 6:45 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

Dear God, that was beautiful...

I think that this has been my favorite K/S story. Like ever.

It took me so much longer to read this because I kept getting distracted by either an utterly remarkable turn of phrase or simply by Spock's amazing character. Your story is such an alteration of canon, I didn't know if I'd like it...But every other scene I found myself lost wondering about your characters and their lives. You write superbly and brought me into your universe quite happily.

And, I absolutely adored your first-person Spock. You wrote him so well...He's different, damaged but still essentially the same wonderfully strong and sensitive man that we know and love. Your character has a very strong and unique vioce. It was beautiful.

Your whole story felt like one of those warm, summer thunderstorms we get here in the south. Dark, pressing and hot...But they always clear with the dusk. The fresh happiness of your story's conculsion more then made up for the dark, angsty tone. The sweet theme of your story complemented it's bitter tone very, very nicely.

Okay, so I'll stop rambling now and just leave you with a "job well done"! : )

Thank you so much for such a lovely piece of fiction!



Author's Response:

I am greatly honoured indeed!!  Wow.  See, now *this*, my friends, is what it's all about.  Paraborg can obsess over product all they like, and cash.  I get *this* instead, and reckon I'm by far the richer for it.  (does the happy happy joy joy dance ;-)>

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2009 2:28 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

A sad and disturbing story, which is ultimately deeply moving and not at all sentimental. It kept me riveted from beginning to end. Emotionally powerful and very satisfying tale...thank you.

Author's Response: Molto grazie... you've written some kickass stories, so I am honoured muchly.

Reviewer: SlenderSail Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2009 3:00 PM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

I wonder how you came up with the name Vortex Hole for the café... the music is better there, indeed. :)

Author's Response:

'S a name I've had in my head for years; me and some friends ran a funky coffeehouse once.  Seemed to fit...

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2008 4:23 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

This story haunts me. I have read countless K/S stories over the years but very few have touched me as much as this one. I LOVE Spock in this story. Stripped of his clan, posessions and even Jim, he is so wonderfully vulnerable and yet, he is still very much Spock. One of the best scenes for me was when Spock was actually considering suicide after his meeting with Jim. That scene was so realistic and poignant that I find myself thinking of it very often. Thank you for this precious gift and I hope that you will post more of your stories to the archive.

Author's Response: Thanks much!! It pleases me to know it works the way it did in my head. One's never entirely certain...

Reviewer: UKJess Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/30/2007 1:51 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

I'd not seen this one before and it blew me away. Spare, dignified and utterly plausible - way to go Greywolf. Mind you, I wonder how Earth is going to manage when V'ger arrives - serve's 'em right! Seriously, I really liked this one, emotional intelligence is far too rare in K/S and you managed to endow both of them with it.

Author's Response: Meant to answer this before -- thanks luv, comin' from thee 'tis high praise indeed. I just always wondered about this ep, "what if..."

Reviewer: JSS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2007 3:26 AM Title: Folsom Prison Blues

Wow! This one blew me away. Until you mentioned it, it didn't even occur to me that the outcomes of many of the situations on the Enterprise must be completely different than in canon Trek, so it surprised me when I read that part, but still my mind went "Yes! Of course! That is exactly what would have happened!" It was brilliant. I love the descriptions about Spock's situation and what it did to him... very strong. I couldn't help but feel a strong empathy for Spock all the way through, and I am not usually a very empathic or emotional person, so well done, you. Thank you very very much for this wonderful story.

Author's Response: I am honoured. Many thanks

You must login (register) to review.