You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2018 1:44 AM Title: Complete Essay

Not sure where start.  First, let me say I don't need any convincing, but still it is wonderful to read something that just reaffirms everything you know deep down in your heart.

The one item I really enjoyed above was your discussion of the corbomite episode, where Spock starts to say "I'm sor...". He never gets it quite out. I have not seen others focus on that BUT I agree that is huge. It makes Spock question everything.  He never wants to let JTK down again, like he did in that moment.  Beautiful.

My experience with Trek is a little similar to yours.  I started watching the show in reruns every day after school in the early 70s.  5 days a week at 5pm on CTV in Canada.  Plus weekends on US TV out of Buffalo.  I was probably about 10 or 11.  We memorized the lines.  My brother and I shouted out names of episodes like we were playing "Name that tune".  I can name this episode in 2 seconds...   I had a Spock's Galileo 7 poster on my door (replacing Donny Osmand and David Cassidy).  When I moved out, it came with me.  I bought a replacement recently because it was too worn.

At that time, I just thought of them as the closest friends.  I started buying pro novels.  When I look back I realize the ones that became my favourites were written by k/s writers (but I had no idea). Somehow they were closer in those books and it seemed fine to me - melding / dieing for one another. 

The big moment for me was when I got the novelization of Star Trek: The Motion Picture. I read the definition of t'hy'la.  Then JTK's non-denial denial and I thought, they are in love, for sure, 100%.  The whole book is a love story to me.  Spock trying to deny his love and then learning to accept that this is what is important in life.  Kirk trying to get over Spock but being unable to do so.   The magic moment when they acknowledge that. The movie to me, as you noted as lumberingly slow, but does capture some of this, but it is the book, that actually gives us the word t'hy'la that really sold me.  

Even still I never found slash.  I never went to a convention.  I just knew it in my heart.  I only finally found slash on the internet and I have been buying up fanzines since then to get to the artwork.

Couple of questions for you.  1) The link above does not work for your vid.  Do you have an active link where I can see it.

2) Do you think Leonard Nimoy was aware of how slashy "The Search for Spock" was when he made and chose to deliberately do it that way.  I mean we spent 3 seasons hearing how "nothing" was more important than the Enterprise to JTK and then he directs a movie where JTK destroys his ship to save Spock (and a son).  I recall an interview where he discussed how upset he was that the adverstisers gave that away in the poster - how he thought that was a pivotal moment.  

P.S.  Sorry for the long-winded comment.



Author's Response:

Your comment is lovely! Thank you for sharing your experience of discovering Star Trek. It's been so long since I wrote this essay, I had forgotten about it. :) In answer to your second question, yes, I think Nimoy was fully aware. A behind the scenes story from Shatner reveals that when they were filming the through-the-glass scene from Wrath of Khan, they were having trouble getting it right. They went away to one of their trailers and rehearsed it as lovers. (I believe Shatner said this was his idea, but I wouldn't swear to that—it might have been Nicholas Meyer or Nimoy himself who suggested it.) Then they got what we saw on film in one take. Nimoy was surely aware. As was Roddenberry, of course—and he's credited as one of the two writers (along with Harve Bennett).

As for the vid, it's here: https://vimeo.com/120827324

The password is "jim"

Thanks again for sharing your story!

Reviewer: Another sky Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2014 2:07 PM Title: Complete Essay

All so true, well-written and humorous. Great summary of why we recognize K/S at all and the compulsion to take it farthur. I, too, came into StarTrek through books before TV 



Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2013 5:50 PM Title: Complete Essay

A wonderfully logical analysis that was both fascinating and hilarious.

And absolutely spot-on!

Bravo!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/25/2013 9:56 PM Title: Complete Essay

Reading this made me so happy! I loved this list of episodes and agree wholeheartedly. "The Tholian Web" made me cry, it was so romantic. I called it "Star Trek: The Search for Kirk." 



Author's Response:

That's perfect! And thank you. I'm glad it made you happy. :)

Reviewer: WiseDraco Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2012 10:52 PM Title: Complete Essay

Thank you for this. Really. I'm a long time slasher but K/S (for some mad reason) is still pretty new to me.

I've written plenty of my own fics from other fandoms and now I find I have to try my hand at this. But ...I find I'm a little terrified.

With many of the fandoms I have written in there was no bases of friendship. Much less an all consuming friendship. So getting Kirk and Spock's relationship right is very important to me.

So ...having this available to me ...to see the actual episodes that seemed to have started the wonderful world of slash is a great ...for lack of a better term ...blessing.

Many thanks to you my friend.
WiseD

Reviewer: eimeo Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2011 6:20 PM Title: Complete Essay

Ohhh yeah I wanna download it.... Thanks! And also watched your 'Closer' vid too and laughed my ass off! Wonderfully sinister, disturbing, and hysterically funny all at the same time. You've inspired me to create my own fan vid!

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2011 8:53 PM Title: Complete Essay

Love this essay! I'm new to K/S and reading voraciously every bit of fanfic and non-fiction that I can find about it, and this essay really struck a chord. Really wanted to watch the vid so found it on Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=svJepUkrZFA for anyone who wants to watch it) and it's stunning - I cried my eyes out! Great stuff, thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! If you ever want to download a better version of this vid, or a couple of our other Trek vids, I have a post here with links:

http://killabeez.dreamwidth.org/10838.html

Reviewer: titC Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/19/2010 8:43 AM Title: Complete Essay

I had read that essay years ago, and found it spot-on - apart from all the reasons that make Star Trek on general one of my favourite things in the world, the K/S relationship, slash or no slash, is one of the most powerful, compelling, all-consuming I've ever had the pleasure of watching or reading about. So I read it again.

And then I rewatched that Dante video, and as always happens, I end up all teary-eyed...



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: got-fanfiction Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2010 11:52 PM Title: Complete Essay

yeah. this was great. but i can't see the video TT.TT

and that story up there somewhere? i read that a while ago. XD it was awesome.

signed,

got-fanfiction :3

Reviewer: Spooky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2008 4:07 PM Title: Complete Essay

This was my first thing I read on this site and it is absolutely amazing. You pointed out so precisely what I feel when I think of K/S. It really scares me sometimes when I see how similar our thoughts are when we K/S fans think of K/S...

Reviewer: Iowagirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2008 8:15 AM Title: Complete Essay

I'm new to this group, and I'd like to say how much I enjoyed your essay. Killa, that was beautiful! Your character insight is intriguing and your quotes are spot-on. For me, the Kirk-Spock relationship (with and without the sexual component) is the most important key element to TOS (wonderfully completed by McCoy) and it's what makes TOS so special. It always makes me happy to learn that there are so many like-minded people who perceive the depth of their friendship in the same manner, and who do care about it as much as I do.

Reviewer: Kareema Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2007 7:39 PM Title: Complete Essay

I read that one some time ago, now I reread it... hey, great work! Thanks...

You must login (register) to review.