You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Werewolvesarereal Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2016 7:30 PM Title: Life Wouldn't Be the Same Without Trials

This is an excellent story - their friendship really resonates and all the characters are just perfect. Love the Vulcan characters, too. Thanks for sharing



Author's Response:

Thanks! I pulled out the outline for the sequel. Really hope to get more time to write everyday again. Maybe in the new year.

Reviewer: conundrum1 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2016 8:20 PM Title: Life Wouldn't Be the Same Without Trials

Congratulations for finishing a great story! Thank you...

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2016 2:52 AM Title: Small Victories in Small Skirmishes

Thanks for another enjoyable update. the water is now even more muddy Which of course is what makes this the doc to watch at the moment

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2016 7:41 PM Title: You're Going to Need a Good Lawyer

I've had trouble w/my Nooks and I usually keep tabs open until I write a review on the ones I want to comment on so that's partially why this one is late. I started reading the one from today but wanted to comment here before I read where you go b/c my reaction to this chapter was visceral - after that wonderful chapter where the two of them clear the air and without any melodrama show what they are to each other you do this! Where there's that break of trust and right after Jim's righteous indignation and complete belief in Spock. I read something eons ago when I was in teens about how "friendship is like china once broken can be repaired but the crack is always there" (I was a hypersensitive kid so things like this resonate even when I was waaaaay too young). Trust is also one of my pet peeves, it's importance in our lives and our most important relationships. And more so for an epic one like K&S. It shows here and for Spock to have no defense b/c it probably won't matter to Jim.

I'm glad Jim realizes he has to get past it, and in the next chapter begins to bring Spock in again even being honest w/him that he's more willing now to drag him through the mud - it's the only way a wound like that wouldn't fester. I am surprised he didn't want the details, I would've - although I guess right now he's thinking the action is more important than the cause. And I'm worried what will happen w/Bones re both Jim and Spock.

Anyhow, this was really a one-two punch - really keeping us on our toes!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2016 12:39 AM Title: You're Going to Need a Good Lawyer

Oh dear. Now I am wondering who the Admiral is really after Jim or Spock. I'm also wondering if the Admiral realises what the fleet are up to and is one step ahead. After all his survival depends on churning up some real evidence that Starfleet cannot ignore. I don't think naive Jim realises the fire he is playing with. 

Still you continue with the most awaited update prize. 

Reviewer: ShayAlyce Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2016 5:33 PM Title: Small Victories in Small Skirmishes

As others have said, you have written Kirk's and Spock's characters spot on. I love this story so much just for that, alone, and there are many other reasons to love it, too. Love the plotline, love how Sulu rallies the crew around their captain, love how Jim's self-examination grows him as a Captain and as Spock's friend. Spock's interaction with Jim is wonderful and his actions with his father are both satisfying and humorous. I can't wait to find out what happens at the hearing, and its aftermath! Wow. Great writing!

Reviewer: Jaylen0827 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/21/2016 3:19 PM Title: Set Free to Fail on Your Own Merits

Ha!  Loving this story (and your other one). I can't wait to see Admiral Diamond eat crow.  Maybe Jim will help the other Admirals put Diamond in his place after all. LOL

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2016 8:39 PM Title: Small Victories in Small Skirmishes

Ah the joy of scrolling down and finding another new chapter has been added. I love how Jim's get out of it plan has failed. I worry can the lie detector tell the difference between I have and I want to? 

Don't you hate this kind of set up situation in real life. When management let you get screwed in the head so they can sort out an issue by setting someone up rat than deal with issue directly. You capture the frustration and confusion so well.



Author's Response:

>tell the difference between I have and I want to?

Heh. In this story, that's not a worry. Kirk is quite heterosexual. Not my normal style, but sometimes I go there.

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/14/2016 7:33 PM Title: Not Without These Fellow Travellers

Für mich ich das die beste,
Die schönste Geschichte von dir!
Ich liebe es wie du die beiden agieren lässt und der Bogen dieser Erzählung, einfach wunderschön.
Danke

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2016 2:28 AM Title: Not Without These Fellow Travellers

I like what you are doing here. It is easy to create interest when there is a lot of danger or threat, but it is more difficult to create tension when the threat is less obvious.  You use what we see in the original series - Kirk's smiles, casual touchs, and their mutual chemistry - to great advantage.  I am enjoying this story.



Author's Response:

It's true. What's at stake at the opening is a fairly simple thing and one we expect Kirk to overcome because he doesn't lack for personal discipline or will power. But his identity is being eroded so he's reached his limit. He gets one piece of information and thinks he's back in his best element, strategizing, charming to get his way. But he doesn't see the whole board. 

I tried to use a classic rising action with this one, so it's about to get intense. 

Thanks for the nice feedback. I'm really glad I'm capturing the essence of the original.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2016 7:53 PM Title: Not Without These Fellow Travellers

Kirk and Spock better connect the dots or this will get into a real mess. As will we waiting on tenterhooks for the denouement!

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2016 9:25 AM Title: It's an Ancient Vulcan Custom

Jim is enjoying this waaaay too much :)

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2016 10:06 PM Title: It's an Ancient Vulcan Custom

Love that description of the feeling of suspense this story is giving us. It's a fun ride 

Reviewer: conundrum1 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2016 7:59 PM Title: A Diamond in the Rough

I really like it when you get sidetracked from the wars. Again, you are giving us, what the other story is missing at them moment, both of our heros being grounded for the moment.

the topic you chose for An Admirable Mistake is one of my favorite - and for me  the heart of the dynamic that brought forward the magic of this relationship.

LOL for the accusations of Diamond regarding fraternization. Probably he was sleeping with that girl kirk had an eye on first...and now he is accusing Kirk for what he was doing himself  (as it always is the case). I just hope the two can still get together regardless - although maybe that is not the intention of this story. 



Author's Response:

I've been working on the sequel in my head. And I think I found a home for a very very old story idea, from, like, high school days when my imagination was totally off the wall. I am really stoked to get this to work. I have to let the idea stew for a bit, but I think I may have it. Trick will be keeping it humorous. That will be almost twisted. But, twisted humor is good.

The story's intent is to get them together in all ways except sexual. In that way, it forces a pure canonical discipline on the writing. I like to dip occassionally into what is honestly a more challenging to arrange, and more narrowly intimate kind of relationship.

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2016 6:26 PM Title: Few Things Can't be Solved by Neck Pinch

Ich liebe die Dialoge zwischen meinen beiden lieblingen!
ICh liebe jedes kapitel deiner Geschichte und bin fast atemlos vor freude weiter lesen zu dürfen!
Danke

Author's Response:

Ich leibe deine Kommentare

Reviewer: Jaylen0827 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2016 4:31 AM Title: A Thousand Paper Cuts Treated by Alcohol

Great story!  I am really enjoying your characterizations, they are spot on.  Can you please clarify one thing for me?  Who makes that last statement "You are in charge," Jim or the admiral?



Author's Response:

Jim says that. I'll make it clearer. Thanks!

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2016 3:16 PM Title: Vulcan Martial Arts as Analogy for Life

Die Szene im Trainingstaunen ist wirklich richtig, richtig gut. Die Interaktion der beiden habe ich sehr genossen. Freue mich auf mehr.
Danke!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/26/2016 1:08 AM Title: Vulcan Martial Arts as Analogy for Life

I just wished we had seen them spar in the series. Especially the scene you just wrote. What a workout they just had. I was sweating along with them. Well, with Jim anyway. Again, love the dialogue, the humor. 

Why do Admirals have to be a pain in the rear end? One must do, what one must. Damn drills.  More please, love the chapter.



Author's Response:

This scene is pretty tropish, if that's a word. I tried to add some original ideas like Spock subtley insulting Kirk to get him to fight and Spock trying to make it fair. No matter how many times a standard scene's been done, I'm always game to give it a go. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2016 5:16 AM Title: Small Victories in Small Skirmishes

geeat start and very interesting background to the ultimate computer. Love idea that Vulcans are actually really good a deciphering emotion. Het ands to reason if they meditate and analyse emotion they end p being really good diplomats and better at emotion assessment than humans.



Author's Response:

Spock just pretends to not understand (at least in this story). Given that he's really good at measuring inputs and outcomes and can remember every instance, he couldn't help but build a predictive model for human behavior that would trump anything a human would have from instinct. Especially as you say, since he lacks emotional bias.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2016 4:34 AM Title: Small Victories in Small Skirmishes

I think I read this chapter in five minutes.  There are not many authors who understand how to write Jim and Spock. The dialogue just bounces off each other with such ease. Plus, you can hear them, and see them interact. It's a beautiful thing to witness in our imagination. It's like I'm watching an episode. Thanks for this chapter, I'm around chapter 35 (Colony War) and it's amazing so far. Lots to read, and I look forward to that story, it's sequels and this one.  Great job.



Author's Response:

My goal of writing is to pretend I get to watch additional episodes where really cool dramatic stuff of my choice happens. So glad it works for others! I can't get enough.

You must login (register) to review.