You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2019 12:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Well, figures Kirk turned out to be a hormonal jerk!  So much for trusting him alone, with a woman....in the past...!  What about the crew stuck on the other planet?  Poor Spock!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2019 9:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is painful to read Ndmit makes me cry. But I also see a well constructed short story example a true what if story 

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2017 1:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

At KiScon I knew I had read your stories but I could not recall explicitly one.  When I got back I looked on my list and this one leapt off the page as I had given it a 10 (and that is quite rare for me).  Despite the saddness, I have read it multiple times as it is so beautifully written.  I do keep wondering whether Kirk regrets his decision.  Thanks for this treasure.



Author's Response:

I didn't know very meny people at KiScon so I didn't connect with a lot of people.  In the past, I had more contacts in southern and east coast fandom.  I really appreciate your remarks about my work.  It is so helpful to re-read positive comments when the writing gets rough.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2017 6:58 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this story although it breaks my heart to think of Spock wondering heart broken through the city and periodically watching Kirk make a life for himself.  

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2016 5:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

As this finely crafted story slides inexorably into darkness, Spock is lost and heartbroken and Jim doesn't seem to care. Your wonderful OC waitress helps him a little, but not enough. I loved the last line. No difference? Really?
What happens to Spock? World War II? This story wants a sequel. Please!

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2016 4:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

i absolutely love this. i think it is the best thing you have ever written and i want to know what happens next. more of june, please! 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2016 8:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

What an interesting perspective. I enjoyed reading this through the eyes of June. She saw something in Spock, and wanted to help. Love can sometimes blind you, and you see nothing else but your happiness. To hell with everyone else.  Jim was in love with her. I'm upset how it has caused a rift between Jim and Spock. They were so close. 

Now, I keep wondering where McCoy and Spock could be.  

A very good story my friend. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for your comments.  There is not a lot of Trek fiction from a perspective other than the crew's so I thought this would be a more challenging project.  I am glad that you agree.  I appreciate your frequent comments.  Thanks so much.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/02/2016 6:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

The last sentence brings things to a point: it made all the difference for a future that is no more. This story is incredibly sad, but I adore Spock's quiet dignity. 



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I think that regardless of the situation in which he finds himself Spock will always be Spock.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Jane Herrell Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/2016 1:41 AM Title: Chapter 1

PLS send kleenix ASAP. K'thx. bye!



Author's Response:

Virtual kleenex sent.  Take some pictures tonight and send them to me!  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Annieo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/01/2016 10:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, this was so well written that it was upsetting.  Since reading it, I've been trying to come up with a scenario wherein Spock would survive.  Given Kirk's betrayal, the cold, the isolation, his inability to return home,  I don't know how he could or if he'd even want to. You put our boy in an impossible situation. Smh at that cold hearted Kirk.  I could wring his neck! Do you really see him as that selfish?  I wish you'd write another chapter and save Spock, even if it's the horrid deus ex machina.  However, I can't see how you can possibly redeem Kirk.  I repeat, so well written but a heartbreaker.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your comments.  As I stated in another comment, just because Spock has disappeared from the perspective of the narrator does not necessarily mean that he has died.  As for your question about Kirk, I will say this:  He was clearly in love with Edith Keeler in the TOS episode, wasn't he?  Could he not have decided to take her instead of the lonely life that he had led? Would Spock not have insisted that the timeline be restored?  Couldn't they have quarreled over that?  Or it Spock had feelings for Jim could that have not loomed large in their parting?  There are many interpretations of what could have occurred as you have already realized, and I hope this little story keeps you thinking.  Thanks again!

Reviewer: Cate Adams Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/01/2016 2:46 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hi PaintedBird!  What a wonderfully-written and extremely compelling story!  It broke my heart, of course-shattered it into tiny pieces!  I would love to continue in this AU, and find out more about Jim's motivations. Does he believe that his relationship with Edith and his influence on her will be enough to change her predicted role in history? Could this have been the quarrel, and the price of allowing her to live? Surely, though, if history was resolved, then the boys would have returned (right?). And, does the fact that they haven't imply that Spock might have gone on to try to reconcile history by another means?  Ah!  Please don't feel as if you have to answer any of this-I just wanted to let you know how much I *felt* with this story, and, despite its tragedy (impending tragedy?) very much enjoyed it.  So well done!  Thank you! -Cate



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words.  I am a little surprised at the response to this little story as I had left it sitting in my computer for almost a year, uncertain that I even wanted to post it.  I was interested in getting outside the perspective of Spock or Kirk or even McCoy whose perspective is generally used for this genre, and I wanted to write something that was very much up to the perspective of each reader.  That said, I'm not sure that I can add anything to thi piece because adding to it would detract from the questions that it generates for the reader  Why did Kirk and Spock part company?  There could be many reasons.  Likewise, just because the narrator no longer sees Spock does not necessarily mean that he has died.  He is simply gone from her perspective.  I understand that people want resolution, but I think some of the appeal of this piece may be that it is so open to interpretation.  At any rate, thanks again.  I am also enjoying your Hiraeth very much and look for it each time I come to this site.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2016 10:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh this is so painful so left in the air. Like Gol but with no resolution 



Author's Response:

When I started the project, I wanted to see if I could write something that would be left to the reader's interpretation.  Each reader can find his/her own reasoning in what happened to come to this, I hope.  I'm sorry you found the story so distressing, but thanks for the comments.

You must login (register) to review.