Reviews For Sex and Sexuality
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Shirekat Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2016 7:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awwww!  This is adorable! I love it!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2016 10:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

very well written.
I totally agree with Sarek. ;-)

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 5:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed reading this story. Your writing is very clear and yet has life to it. Both Jim and Spock are very in character and what a interesting plot you’ve here. I wished Jim would have backed off earlier though but I love that this story tackled a very important topic. I like that your Spock – as a gay man – does not magically desire Jim. I’m also not attracted to women – if my partner would turn suddenly female – I would still love him of course – but I wouldn’t be sexually attracted to him. There’s a big difference between sexual attraction and love. Thank you for writing this fanfic.

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 2:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hi, Nejasna...

 

Homosexuality and Bisexuality are different. I agree there. Yet, what is my attraction to my wife if not a homosexual leaning? How am I to categorise myself to please everyone. I call myself Bi, so that when I say something about finding a man attractive, at least on some level, I don't get people jumping on me saying ' you're in denial about fancying women' or 'you're a slapper who'll go with anything' or 'you can't be truly gay, you're just playing at it'... I don't do it to cause further misunderstandings or offensiveness. In actuality, now, having been with a woman, I realise that the reason it works far better for me is because it is what I was born for. My experience with men, at the heart of it, always held my fascination with their genitalia not because I wanted it in me, but because I want to have what they've got - even if I realise it is fun to do stuff woman to woman with womanly bits!

Reviewer: Nejasna Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 2:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hi, VL, your writing shows nicely where our misunderstanfing is coming from.

You call yourself a bi woman in one post and a gay woman in another post, you do not seem to understand that bisexuality and homosexuality are two different sexual orientations. And that Spock, as any gay man, would not be able to feel sexual attraction to the female sex, because he is not written as bisexual male.

Being female is not a state of disability, gay men being able to be sexually into men with disabilities does not mean they have to be attracted to female bodies too.

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 1:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is my 4th bit of feedback, trying to explain myself after Nejasna's words, which, if some readers (and before anyone else is tempted to make a joke, I realise that I don't have many, because I'm, at best, mediocre as a writer, compared to my fav fanfic authors here!) may put them off reading my stuff, esp. if they don’t check here for my replies - I have covered the fact that I'm gay, and NOT in the closet or anguished. I have covered the fact that I'm very happily married, and attracted, to a woman. I have covered the fact that I like this story because it handles issues of love that faces physical limitations; something I identify with. I have mentioned prominently that I DO NOT believe gay people can change what, and, therefore, who they are attracted to. I was simply trying to suggest ideas for a second chapter to this great story, because - imagine this - someone is happily in love with their partner, but their partner's body changes, is flooded with different hormones or something, and their genitalia has to be removed from illness or injury, removed and reconstructed, or removed forever... It would be horrendous. Some people have to go through this in life. In all honesty, the couple are still in love, but also in all honesty, one's body has changed from the genderific preferences of the other. They decide to remain together. Would they be content to remain sexless when sex has always been important to both. They consider the one letting the other go off now and again to get his or her rocks off with a same gender partner - but they can't bring themselves to accept that as a way of life, and they cannot split up to allow it either. Ok, so it's a bit fairytale, but their love really is that strong, and they both are truly that good as people. If the one whose body was still normal, still loved his or her partner, who'd had 'normality' forcibly changed for them - Then, wouldn't the uninjured, normal partner, still want to deeply touch, love, move, comfort, cherish, and fulfil, their partner sexually? Wouldn't they, at least, eventually, still want communicate their love, and try and overcome the barriers, find a way so that neither of them had to go without sex?? Or, would they go without, and make their partner go without, knowing that it upset them both terribly, whilst still claiming to be in love? In an ideal world, in a fanfiction world, esp. a Star Trek fan fic world, because Star Trek has always laid many problems bare and open to question, the former rather than the latter, would pan out...

I'd also like to say to the author of this story, I do hope that all this 'discussion' and misunderstood feedback, all of this quick to assume in the name of defending a point that I will at least agree with Nejasna, does need defending still, sadly, has NOT put you off writing & posting more, to this story or anything else

 

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 12:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Continued from my previous feedback, answering Nejasna’s words about me; I wish I was just one or the other – because then, people who should understand what it’s like to be wrongly judged, would not hold suspicions about my strength of my backbone – I would, of course, wish to be ‘just’ Homosexual, since being that has brought me together with my wife..! I am extremely sexually attracted to her, and she to me - though, technically, we both fit in the category of Bi.

I was simply trying to review a very clever story that sparked my interest because it talked of the blurred lines in which I live. My body is what it is. Also re. that fact, I liked the story because it talked of physical difficulties - I would like to think that, if my body changed form, or became even more awkward tomorrow (my wife and I are both disabled, and, no WE HAVE NOT JUST SETTLED FOR ONE ANOTHER) ; my wife would still love me and be able to love me. She may have not noticed me if I'd been male from the start, because the men she takes a shine to are few and far between, but with all the sexual prosthetics and such out there today, I'd like to think that those & love, would keep us together.

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 11:44 AM Title: Chapter 1

 Re. Nejasna's assumptions, born of more assumptions that I am attacking a way of life (and it's more than just a way of life choice, I know, before I get yelled at again) I am very openly gay. Bi, actually, and genuinely so. Not in denial. My family and friends have known for years - I am also exceedingly happily married to a bi woman. I did not say that people can overcome their sexuality. Do you think I choose to call myself Bi, and that I choose to put myself in the ring for people who take a bash at me, and say that calling yourself Bi is a cop-out?? The blurred lines are not as fun to live in as threesome sex story works of fiction make them seem - and, yet, the blurred lines being a part of this story, that's what drew me to it - because I can identify with the fact that lfe is not that simple, and lines cannot always be drawn in the sand, because life, and your own body'spush and pull, throws you for a total loop. Re. the theme of the story, about love not dying, despite physical difficulties, I simply would like to believe that, if my body changed tomorrow, my wife would still love me. She may not have paid me any attention if I'd been like that when we met, but love, and what is available in the way of sex aiding paraphenalia these days, I pray, would help us stay together. This is important to me because phsical difficulties in every aspect of our lives, not just but not least sexual, is a relevant and prevalent thing that my wife and I both have to cope with, individually, and together. Back to the clever story that I was simply trying to review, because it sparked my interest, I also suggest that, perhaps, Kirk might, at least a little, worry that if his male form was changed by injury, or his body and face were scarred, would Spock, in the light of discovering that form of the body is important to him, truly still fancy Jim?? We know he would, but writing it out, might be a good second chapter or adendum.

Reviewer: Nejasna Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2016 9:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

If you wrote Spock as a gay male do not, and I repeat,  do not Ever do what Vulcan Lover suggests you try. 

This idea that gay people can overcome their homosexuality if only they were willing to try hard enough and find the right person of the opposite sex who will turn them with the power of their love is deeply homophobic and the core tenet of every gay conversion therapy. Hello 1950s? Gay conversion therapy does not actually work and only harms gay people psychologically.

That being said, I am glad Jim backed off, I only wish he did so before pressuring a gay man into heterosexual sexual relations to attempt to prove a point. 

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2016 11:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

I don't usually like present narrative, but given the title and the blurring of gender lines as a subject, I had to read it. Loved it, though maybe they should find out, he has to stay that way, and Spock learns to love kirk in this form - and then, thank God, there's a way to return Jim's body to normal, and they go at it again gratefully,and Spock is, admittedly, quite emotional, still feeling both guilty for his first reaction, and relieved for himself and Jim now. Jim assures him, and says it is all OK, that he knows Spock's wonderfully growing confidence with jim in female form, was born of this great love, but he is as relieved as Spock is, and yet, still confident that they'd find their way through no matter what, even if it meant having to use prosthetics and their imagination.

You must login (register) to review.