Reviews For Unexpected
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2015 6:57 PM Title: Date Nights and Sleepovers

Very hot ;-)
but poor boys.... no time to take a breath... a little boy needs them.
I wonder what they think where this relationship goes on... what form it gets...

Author's Response:

Well, at the rate we're leading, it's very possible that our boys will be taking on the challenge of a long distance relationship. And your english is pretty good for not being your native language! I'm just glad you make the effort to comment on my updates! Thank you Sera. =]

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2015 3:25 PM Title: Collisions

Oh I'm sorry, I couldn't read the last days but I'm very happy for the three chapters now.
This one: fine, they talked together and Jim want the relationship. goooood. ;-)

Author's Response:

Yup! Next stop, Thanksgiving!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2015 6:37 AM Title: Date Nights and Sleepovers

Expected response of David to sleepover! Suddenly realised how much I am looking forward to the Bones finds out chapter. 



Author's Response:

Don't we all have that one time as kids that we called our parents to come get us from a friend's house? I have... Idk why, but when I was little I started freaking out and just wanted to go home. My dad came and got me, it was embarrassing. But as a little, little kid; David doesn't have that embarrassment. Hopefully you won't have to wait long! Another update will come alone in the next few days, for sure. =] Thanks for the read and review!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2015 2:45 PM Title: New Memories

The ultimate feel good story would love to see this as a movie script maybe you couldn't sell it as K/S but the idea would be brilliant as a modern day parenting story. Tough marine quits navy seals to look after kid best friend visits...........

worth exploring as a commercial sale.



Author's Response:

Oh my God, you said it though. I would love for this to be a movie, even if it wasn't with Kirk and Spock. Pass that along SORAL179! Maybe a big shot film producer will see this too some day (I can always dream). Even as a low budget film, I would love to see some of these scenes acted out. <3

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2015 6:59 AM Title: Collisions

The last line just said it all for me. Two people who care for David but one who places dad as important and supports him in his child care skills and abilities. A good co-parent I think. 



Author's Response:

Exactly, and Spock is a good co-parent figure. =] Thanks for the supportive comment!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2015 5:34 AM Title: Departures and Promotions

Author's Response:

"At least he isn't too much of an adrenaline junkie, and the accident wasn't on purpose. =P The Enterprise has it's dangers too."

That's true - but very much accidents are at home... ;-) It's everywhere "dangerous"... of course, if you are a redshirt the danger is greater. ;-)))))

Author's Response:

Hahahaha! Thank God Jim is not a redshirt then!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2015 11:58 PM Title: A Different Kind of Housewife

Thanks for the rapid update and a great chapter. Why do deer and other objects  appear in front of cars when you are confused and emotionally compromised?



Author's Response:

Oh, you are more than welcome. I know right, stupid deer. =P Auto-pilot driving cars come in handy when you have a lot on your mind though, too bad Jim can't afford one.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2015 9:54 PM Title: A Different Kind of Housewife

Jim, Jim, he can't live without danger.
It doesn't matter if he is in space or in a car.
I hope he realise that and go with Spock and David back to the Enterprise. ;-)

Author's Response:

At least he isn't too much of an adrenaline junkie, and the accident wasn't on purpose. =P The Enterprise has it's dangers too.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2015 4:18 PM Title: Small Goodbyes

I really hope, that Jim and Spock can make their relationship clear.
David (and Jim) suffers only because of 3 days... how would he (they) suffers, when Spock returns for the next years to the Enterprise....

Author's Response:

We shall be finding out in the next few chapters! Thanks for sticking around, Sera, I love getting your comments. =]

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2015 7:50 AM Title: Small Goodbyes

I love the Way you have approached the relationship issue and feel you have hit the jackpot. The idea of a logical aproach to feelings and a question of howe to respond to them seems so obviously Spock that it just fits. 

Carol's words regarding David being in her world suddenly take on a much more selfish picture. Keeping David was about her desire not to share a world with Jim. It wasn't selflessness at not tying Jim down. It all fits with the reaction of older David who knew his father only through his mother 's tales of a nameless non commited  dad. 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you SORAL179, it means a lot to me that you like it. =] How could it not be logical with Spock when approaching the realm of emotion? We are dealing with a being who prides himself in the logical, but love is not a logical emotion, of which Spock is sure to find out soon enough.

I didn't exactly mean for Carol to come out looking like the bad guy, but with you're a single parent and it feels like the world has it's cards stacked against you, it's easy to turn and blame the missing figure in the parenthood relationship. Also, I may have put in a little too much of my own opinions, haha! In a way, her keeping David from Jim was a bit selfish. She never even considered that Jim may show interest in the life of his son, and so Jim missed out on those truly formative years that can deepen a bond between parent and child. Their relationship may be stunted for it, but David is a good child and Jim is a likable person. After all, a lot of four/five year-olds are still easily swayed by harmless bribery (candy, toys). Haha!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/05/2015 1:16 PM Title: Lights in Our Eyes

I like it very much. Spock is very careful and see the needs from Jim. It's very kind.

Author's Response:

A kind Vulcan is a good Vulcan. =] Thank you for the R&R.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/2015 6:56 AM Title: Lights in Our Eyes

I love the anticipation of your fic the skating around and the undercurrent of gentle waves of love.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I was hoping I was not being too cruel by drawing out Jim and Spock's moments. Plus, lets face it, kids interrupt everything important, haha.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2015 8:02 PM Title: Your Blood and My Fears

I'm eager to see Jims reaktion when he hear that Bones knows about David.

Author's Response:

That will, indeed, cause him some issue. =P

Reviewer: DDM Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2015 2:05 AM Title: Departures and Promotions

I love this story! I love the rural setting and the slow build of their relationship. I'm so excited to see what's next. I do hope Spock will be the hero and he'll pull some strings to get Jim either a nice pension either some kind of computer related job he could do from home. I do like your portrayal of Spock, he's not too stiff, he seems to have accommodated to the humans around him. "Franksgiving" made me laugh.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you are enjoying my little holiday fic.
I'm definitely going to try and figure out something in order to get Jim out of that bartending job. It might have been a good idea for him when he was young and had nothing to lose. But now that he's responsible for another life, it doesn't fit his personality any longer. He is far less reckless than he used to be.
I had to mess with Spock a bit in order to have him fit into this fic, otherwise David might have just confused/annoyed him. >.< Children are very tactile, they like to touch and Spock needed to be touchable. =P
I just realized that 'Franksgiving' can also be connected to Jim's step-father's name; 'Frank'. Haha!

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2015 5:00 PM Title: Snow Balls and Snow-Vulcans

Don't let the kitten die!



Author's Response:

I would never kill a kitten in my stories! D:

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2015 9:23 PM Title: Snow Balls and Snow-Vulcans

It's only one to say: Great. ;-)

Author's Response:

Thank you! =]

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2015 12:23 PM Title: Faceless Fears

This is one of my favorite chapters, it so well written, the descriptions so on point I could "see" everything. Esp if you lived in anyway through things - for me right now the lunch box scene was so on point it had me following along to see what Jim puts in the lunchbox (no drink though! does he do juice box? milk? water?! ;>)

Loved this line "nearest safe harbor, which happened to be Spock." and everything w/Spock in this chapter, from making Jim breakfast to his last conversation w/Jim. I'm a Spock girl in any case, but I do love this Spock, again more so in this chapter. In the "parent" setup, I can see how on the Enterprise he's "Father" and Jim is "Mom," but in a family setting I always thought he'd be a great "mom: (regardless of the gender of the other party) - he has rules, and makes you do everything you don't want to do, but in the end he's the one the kids usually come to for comfort - and this played into that - so thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed the update. =]
I'm really taken aback by the fact that you were so interested in something I just sort of breezed through and thought benign, haha. We'll just say David has a drink ticket he gets hole-punched for milk or a juice box in the school cafeteria, or he carries a water bottle in his backpack.

I'm actually a bit relieved that you like my spin on Spock. He can be a difficult character to write for, being that I relate to emotions so much easier than logic. I have to work at suppressing a lot of emotional sentences in his dialogue, especially if something has upset him. (Also, the vocabulary can be a bitch, haha). And you're also right, Spock is definitely falling into a more 'mom' role towards David in this case. With Jim already acting as a father, he's found himself making up the short-comings, even if he isn't fully aware of the change. If there is anything else you would like to see written into this story, do tell! And you're welcome, of course. =]

Reviewer: CMM Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2015 11:27 PM Title: Departures and Promotions

In terms of suggestions, I would suggest tht Spock go to Command and fight to get Jim a pension for all he did to try and stop Nero. It seems odd that Jim wouldn't get somethign from Starfleet, and it would be a good way to show how Spock cares and to give Jim and David more options.



Author's Response:

Hmm, that's a good idea. Originally, I was thinking that Jim did have a pension from Starfleet, but that it wasn't enough to take care of both himself and David. But Spock could always fight to get the pension rate increased, after all Jim was sort of a hero to the planet and all. Jim isn't going to be a bartender for long, he's been trying to find a better job that won't keep him from David during the evenings.
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll see if it will fit into the story. =]

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2015 6:51 PM Title: Ghosts and Groceries

Poor Jim. Despite his willingness to care for David, I don't think he's having much fun.



Author's Response:

It's hard being a single parent, I don't think very many people realize it. He's settling in though, he's only had David in his care for a little over a year and they moved to Iowa, it'll be easier to find a routine and fix some issues with Spock there. =]

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2015 6:50 PM Title: Ghosts and Groceries

This was such a well written chapter - very true to the characters even though they were very much out of their element :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! =] Thought I would also mention, I would take story suggestions into consideration. If there is something you think would be cute to add or you would like to see happening in the future chapters, I might be able to work it in. I always need ways to flesh out my chapters so they aren't so cut and dry. =]

You must login (register) to review.