You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2015 2:33 AM Title: Chapter 7

I so much enjoyed this story, the leisurely pace, Jim's mind voice, so perfectly fitting the character. The crisis, the way out of it, no tragedy, no panic, it's a part of life, it can be overcome. I enjoyed the quiet familiarity of the sexual encounters, Pon Farr not entirely disarmed, but managable and even enjoyable. Great work, keep going.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It was a pleasure to write and I may write a follow up story at some point!  

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2015 2:21 AM Title: Chapter 7

This was so beautiful and bittersweet!



Author's Response:

laustic - thanks for reading and commenting throughout the story!  

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2015 12:56 AM Title: Chapter 7

This was sweet. I was wondering how this was going to end.

haha first comment!!!!



Author's Response:

Ms Moxie - thanks for reading and reviewing! Until next time!  

D

 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2015 4:28 PM Title: Chapter 6

An encroaching Pon Farr. The next chapter should be interesting. The song part was LOVELY!!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I love e.e.cummings' poetry because he emotes so freely and so passionately, something so rare for a man back then - and today for that matter! Final chapter is up - had to get a little porn in before wrapping up this story!  (the little cherry on top).  

 

 

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2015 7:00 PM Title: Chapter 6

I really enjoyed the fifth chapter, especially the way it ended.
It made me curious about the content of their discussion concerning Jim’s issues.
This chapter begins with a wonderful mixture of terran/vulcan holidays! The way you make up these things is magical! I loved this family gathering on occasion of the celebrations. The comments on Spocks new hairstyle and the Romulan ale thing were hilarious. Just imagine Amanda drinking to much… and poor Spock, losing all his dignity at night… Indirectly the reader finds out about their plans for the future that is so well done… The song composed by Spock was moving; no need for heartbreaking goodbyes at the shuttle bay, everything important between them has been said.
I can imagine Jim having a fulfilling job on Starbase EI and feeling happy and full of energy again. Luckily they came up with an emergency plan in case of Pon Farr. Seems like they are going to need it… hope they will be in time without any complications!!
(Sorry for any mistakes I make, my native tongue is Dutch, but I simply want to let you know I appreciate your stories very much)

Author's Response:

Thank for sharing your observations!  I had a lot of fun writing this chapter have writing a series of very serious ones - after all, there have to be moments of joy and levity, rght, to make it all worthwhile? :) 

I'm glad you took the time to review - and your English is perfect! 

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2015 6:43 PM Title: Chapter 6

Wonderful chapter! 



Author's Response:

Thank you! Just one more, I think!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2015 10:08 PM Title: Chapter 5

Thanks for the comments on my reviews. To me, your stories cry out for a close reading because of the authenticity and integrity of your writing. That, and the way the smooth flow of your prose and the way you spin a good yarn draws the reader into the story's hidden depths. 

So, Kirk, as a sort of 23rd-century Updike's Rabbit? I dunno, I think he loved his former job not just because he was good at it, but because it was meaningful work that enabled him to make a difference. Your comment that Kirk has to figure out for himself what he can do now that's he'd be good at and would satisfy him brought me up short. In my RL field, we do a lot of planning for people who need a sort of roadmap for the next phase of their lives -- the processes have names like personal futures planning, essntial life-styles planning, or just person-centered planning, but usually involve a facilitator, and most important, the participation of friends, family and people who care about the person. So I guess I have come to assume that deciding what to do with the rest of one's life is best done in company with other people who are important in one's life. I think Kirk is right that he is facing an existential crisis. I would hope that McCoy sees that and is not tempted to pathologize it or think it can be solved with meds or therapy. Surely, at its core, it is a moral and spiritual crisis. 

Kirk still seems to me as though he is on the outside looking in at Spock's life. I think you are right, Kirk doesn't understand that he is the cornerstone of Spock's existence. I suspect that goes back to Kirk's framing his current life choices as putting Spock first, to make up for the way he hurt him in the past. And Spock's "what's not to like?", while most understandable and certainly not wilfully obtuse, is an incomplete vision, as well. At least that's how it seems to me. But I look forward to seeing what the next chapter will bring!



Author's Response:

The next chapter is now up - not sure if it plays into your train of thought here, or will throw you a curve ball!  I'll wait for you next commentary and see! lol!

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/25/2015 1:51 AM Title: Chapter 5

I'm glad that Jim is discussing this with Spock now.  I can't wait for the next chapter.  :)



Author's Response:

Great! Hope you will enjoy the next one - it's a longer one and took me a while! 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2015 2:33 AM Title: Chapter 4

P.S. to my earlier review. I feel badly because I think I am being too hard on Spock. He cannot be faulted for failing to figure out the cause of Kirk's ennui, when Kirk himself is unable to put a name to it. And, by most standards, they do have a pretty good life.

But it was Spock himself who told Kirk in The Wrath of Khan, "If I may be so bold, it was a mistake for you to accept promotion. Commanding a starship is your first, best destiny; anything else is a waste of material."

So I'm thinking, that must still be true in this A/U, and both men recognize that truth on some level? 



Author's Response:

But it was Spock himself who told Kirk in The Wrath of Khan, "If I may be so bold, it was a mistake for you to accept promotion. Commanding a starship is your first, best destiny; anything else is a waste of material."

 

Yes, but I also think they both recognize that 'that ship has sailed at this point', at least in this time stream.  The fact is, that there are many things that Jim is extremely good at and could love just as passionately as commanding a starship.  It is up to him to make that effort to figure out what those things are.

 

You know - it's kind of like that guy who was the hero star quarterback in high school and now that he's older he's looking back on those good ol' days and grieving that he will never be that good at anything again.  But at some point, that person has to turn their vision to the road ahead of them and stop staring back in the rear view mirror.  Otherwise, they will crash the car.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2015 6:40 PM Title: Chapter 4

When you posted the first chapter, I knew this was going to be a good story, but after the last two chapters, I think it is going to be a great story. As a character study of both men and the dynamics of their relationship, it has an uncanny depth so far.

Here's the thing I keep coming back to. In an early chapter of A Different Corner, Spock expressed the hope that at the end of the five-year mission, Kirk would take a ground assignment and wait for the end of Spock's tour of duty on his own ship. Kirk, on the other hand,  was already thinking about a second five-year mission. Then Kirk was "grounded," and we know how he felt about that. And now ... it seems that Spock has exactly the kind of life that he wanted. Kirk, not so much.  

I wonder if Kirk's assuming all the blame for Spock's stay in the psych ward, and his very intentional effort to put Spock's interest first in their life together, is not in some sense an attempt to justify being "grounded" -- and avoid facing his real feeling about losing his ship. But Kirk can't avoid showing us, the readers, some part of what he feels.

And here's the other thing. Surely Spock cannot be so emotionally obtuse as to be unaware of what Kirk is feeling. Doesn't he see how unhappy Kirk is at his desk job? Either Kirk is really, really good at hiding his emotions, or Spock just doesn't want to see them.  It seems that in this chapter and at the end of the last one, Spock is angry with Kirk for not being completely happy with the life choices that Spock wanted and that Kirk ultimately acquiesced in.  A more appropriate reaction might be to examine whether it is really fair that Spock seems to have gotten the better part of the deal in their relationship.  Yes, I know that Kirk was a total dick for much of A Different Corner, but as I've said before, there is only so much atoning one can do before it comes time to deal with present reality.

The huge, huge dramatic question now that McCoy has arrived is what he will do. Will he simply reinforce Spock's pissed-off state or will he be the one to guide both men toward a deeper insight about themselves and each other, an insight that includes Kirk's need for the stars?

While I await the answer, I want to add how impressed I am by your ability to "show not tell," especially in the last chapter. In the episode that ended with Kirk's failed jump, you showed his unhappiness with his job, the relative superficiality of his friendships, the exhilaration of his old life that he craves. All without didactic passages that tell us what he feels.

 



Author's Response:

Dunyazad

 

I so enjoy reading your in depth comments.  You have keen observations, drawing out concepts and picking up on emotional tones that I was only subconsciously aware of.  Your comments have turned this story from something that was only going to be about 4 or 5 chapters into something that will be a few chapters longer and much more interesting to write, quite frankly. You make me want to dig deep, and I thank you for that! 

So to just address your specific comment about Spock's perceptions. No, he is not trying to be obtuse.  Clearly Jim is distressed but Jim has not addressed it with Spock and in fact won't admit anything is wrong to himself.  I also wanted to imply that Spock has also been walking on eggshells around Jim - but now that Jim's state of mind is causing him to act out in a self-destructive way, Spock now has to address the matter head on. Spock is not angry at Jim for not being happy with their life - he's angry because he feels that Jim does not understand how truly devastating it would be if Jim had died falling off that roof. It terrified the living shit out of Spock to get that call from Pratt that Jim had taken a fall that literally killed him (although he was ultimately revived, of course).   Jim does not understand that he is that keystone in Spock's life.  The keystone falls out of the arch, and all the other stones fall out too. 

I will say that what Spock feels about Jim's malcontent is bewilderment.  In his book, what is there to not be happy about? Life is wonderful in Spock's eyes. Intellually, he does not "get" Jim's mood and Jim hasn't addressed and Spock's been afraid to bring it up.    And as Spock did in ADC, when he gets caught up in an emotional quagmire about what to do about Jim and his more complex darker feelings, he calls in the good doctor to lend a hand. McCoy to the rescue!

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2015 9:00 PM Title: Chapter 4

This was a fantastic chapter!  I just love the way you're writing these characters.  :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you are enjoying and thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2015 8:25 PM Title: Chapter 4

The subtlety in the characterizations is great! Jim is definitely going to midlife crises. boredom, impulsive,immature behaviour, feelings of nostalgia, unhappiness with his lifestyle, he is showing all the signs! When confronted with the youthful strenght and energy of David, the ridiculosity of Jim' s actions is even stronger. I love those little actions , telling so much about Spocks personality. "Tap Tap" Yeah, no need to look up the codes, he knows them by heart! Spock is brilliant but how to cope with all this illogical behaviour of his bondmate? I hope Bones can talk some sense into Jim. Just count your blessings....

Author's Response:

Yes, good old Bones to the rescue can always be counted on to talk some sense into Jim!  He's a natural nurturer and caretaker of people in general and Jim in particular.  And he's on Spock's side too, recognizing that Spock doesn't always have the tools he needs to manage Jim's complex and conflicting emotions. 

Thanks for reading and commenting!  

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2015 2:43 AM Title: Chapter 3

This was a wonderful chapter.  I love how Spock comforted Jim like that at the end.  He's always there for him.  I can't wait for the next chapter.  :)



Author's Response:

He's always there for him

Yes, he certainly is and always will be! Thanks for reading and commenting!  D.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/2015 9:11 PM Title: Chapter 3

We all know people that have done this. I like the way you have explored the reality and grittiness of relationships using the k/S dynamic



Author's Response:

We all know people that have done this

Ain't that the truth!  Thanks for reading and commenting!  D.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2015 12:06 AM Title: Chapter 2

As always, this chapter is rich in subtlety and nuance. On one level it seems to be a slice of life of the ultimate Power Couple, with their pretigious jobs, lovely home, satisfying relationships with extended family and catacysmic sex. On another level there are hints of potential conflicts to come. 

For starters, Kirk may hide his concern about Spock's relationship with Dohmi from Spock, but not from the reader. The image that appeared in his mind when he and Spock were in bed together seemed to be a subtle clue. I also wonder how Kirk is handling the transition from exploring the wonders of the unknown to managing a construction site. I mean, really -- I know he has the skill set, but can it satisfy his explorer's heart? And the fact that Kirk would choose to read a legal thriller rather than go on to the next challenging project on his plate does make me wonder. I have nothing against legal thrillers and am well acquainted with that particular guilty pleasure, but I know escapism when I see it, and Kirk never struck me as an escapist until now. So he's planning to read all 12 novels in this series? I suppose I can forgive Kirk a little light reading in addition to the works by Milton, Shakespeare and Spinoza that he used to enjoy, but I wonder what else might be going on ... as I said, the hints are very subtle.

You suggest challenges ahead. Will Spock's pon farr arrive while Kirk is away for four months? Will Spock need to turn to someone else? Will Spock be drawn to Sohmi in Kirk's absence, with or without pon farr? Will Kirk's wandering eye reassert itself, or is he past that? Will  Spock and Kirk disagree strongly about how David's teenage rebellion should be managed? So many possibilities. I can't wait to read more.



Author's Response:

As usual, your speculations are very, very very insightful. Your comments make me realize how many potential directions the story could go into... oh, the plot bunnies (shakes head, overwhelmed).  So many possibilities, so little time!  

D.

Reviewer: Vulcanlady Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2015 9:14 PM Title: Chapter 2

So many beautiful details in this chapter. Pillow talk about a delayed ponn far cycle, Russian roulette indeed! I loved the way Jim was observing Spock and Dohmi at lunchtime. Spock is still so vulnerable but strong at the same time when he seeks out Jim' s inner wolf, a dominant and possesive part of Jim' s character. But a wolf is also protective of his pack!

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I love adding those little slices of life like pillow talk.  Just adds some dimension to the character.  And yes, I was always struck in that episode The Enemy Within, that Spock was oddly gleeful and seemed to almost taunt Rand about Kirk near the end of the episode. So for that reason I've made it a kink for Spock - hey, he's gotta have one or two, right? heh heh.

D.

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2015 12:13 AM Title: Chapter 2

Mmmm, wonderful chapter and a hot one at that! 



Author's Response:

Why, thank you!

; )

Reviewer: Sarek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2015 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is an incredible well written and raw story. The prose is perfect as is the characterization. It's like a sad, bittersweet melody - the way you write. Beautiful in its rawness and very real. I am looking forward to read more about Kirk and Spock, and I equally looking forward to get to know more about Spock's psychotic break which lead Kirk to put him first for once.



Author's Response:

Sarek, thank you for the kind words!  The psychotic break occurred in the first story of the series ( I have now linked all three stories together in a series that I have titled "The Road Not Travelled" so everybody can follow the flow of the stories a bit easier.  I probably won't have too much more to say about that incident since I covered it pretty extensively in the first story so you may want to peruse that one if you're curious.

thanks! 

dee

 

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2015 3:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ah that was so gooooood. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I hope you enjoy the following chapters as well.  

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2015 4:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

Dee, yes, in fact, that last sentence made me sit up straight on full alert. So, it seems that Kirk, in addition to being a devoted husband, may also be an Unhappy Admiral. Down deep, perhaps he doesn't think his life is that totally great. But what a recipe for a good story! I know that in your hands, it will be.



Author's Response:

Thanks again for the support!  Hope I do not disappoint!  :)

 

d.

You must login (register) to review.