Reviews For Pattern Deviations
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2015 3:54 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your fic made me think that Gol is training to be totally separate totally alone it is not the peak of Vulcan identity it is the antithesis of mind connection. It's about living safely totally isolated within oneself. 

Reviewer: SoldierGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2015 5:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this! I wonder what it was in Spock's mind that all the rest saw?

Reviewer: SoldierGirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2015 5:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

I love this! I wonder what it was in Spock's mind that all the rest saw?

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 5:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just loved how you described each meld. I was almost going to say something about Sarek's meld with Spock since it was mentioned that they had never done it before but you clearly explained it. Authors that have the ability to describe things so clearly are gifted, and you follow in that category. Such visual descriptions you write that one moment I'm feeling ice cold and of course the last meld where I'm warm all over. Excellent work.



Author's Response:

*facepalm* oh, geeze, that is canon, isn't it? I'm not a big TNG fan, but I'll try to keep that in mind for future fics, so thanks for mentioning it :) I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Especially the melds - I was a little worried about using so many desciptions, especially about such abstract concepts, since I usually prefer more show-and-action over description, which... you can't really do, inside someone's head, heh. So that's good to hear. Thank you very much for reviewing! 

Reviewer: sundara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 1:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is wonderful! I love the unique supposition, very interesting...and given Spock's hybrid, created form, a very possible reality. Love your writing style, spare yet at the same time lush with imagery. Thank you for this.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it! I always think there was more potential in Spock's heritage that the writers didn't use, but maybe I'm just a little Spock-obsessed. :) Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: drarroway Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 12:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is just lovely, the characters superbly drawn.  I am very much looking forward to reading more of your skilled craft.  Thank you for posting this story!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thank you very much for reviewing :)

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 6:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

Einfach zum weinen schön !

danke

Author's Response:

danke! Ich bin froh, dass es Ihnen gefallen hat.

Reviewer: obscurecollective Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 6:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was gorgeous. Not a word wasted. I loved how you painted Spock's insecurities, but also his strengths, and that moment with Kirk (well, all the moments) was beautifully touching. I confess, I didn't know melding wasn't a talent available to all Vulcans. Or...is that something you added as an artistic liberty? I'm not saying that to sound offensive, I really am curious. I like how you utilized it here. 

Thank you so much for sharing!! 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The melding thing depends on whether you consider Star Trek: Enterprise canon consistent with TOS. In Enterprise the melding thing is actually a big plot point, where melders are ostractized from society because they can transfer a serious disease called Pa'nar syndrome through melds. T'Pau was a leader of a movement in this series which among many other things advocated melding, and she used the technique openly, so going by the fanon-theory of her being related to Spock I decided it made sense for the ability to be in his family.

(I know Enterprise isn't hugely popular and the timeline issues are actually... pretty confusing... but I do love the extra culture for Vulcans they throw in there, even if Vulcans are, bizarrely, the enemies for a lot of Enterprise).

Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2015 5:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, that was beautiful.  It hurt my heart to think of Spock being outcast just because his melds are different.  It wasn't for his t'hy'la, true?  You really showed the meaning of true love with Jim's reaction.  Thanks for warming my heart on this cold winter day.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Poor Spock, right - but I think people really see what they expect out of melds, to an extent. The idea of melds tearing through preconceived notions and fixing all issues has never sat with me, or else Vulcans would be able to perfectly understand each other very easily, and they have problems, too ( - just think of Valeris).

But yeah, I can't imagine any universe where Kirk wouldn't fit with him perfectly. :)

Thank you for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.