You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/15/2019 3:50 AM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

Good story over all, but I especially like your ending using the Christmas Cards ideas to pass messages, the Song to get the distress call out. Wish you would have gone another bit further to show the rescue of the other ship.  

Reviewer: Zombiemaven Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/04/2019 9:24 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

I love this story!! It is fun, makes laugh and gives me warm feelings - despite the "cold". I finally decided to add a review - after my 5th or 6th reading!!! Freezing in Santa's Beard in my favorite "new" holiday "classic". 

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/01/2015 11:06 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

Lovely story ! thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: Interrobang Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2015 12:53 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

I really enjoyed this story! It was so sweet and I especially loved your characterization of Bones. It's definitely one of my favorite winter-themed fics of the season. I just wanted to point out one thing, the temperatures you mentioned were on the warm side, whether measured by Celcius or Farenheit. I'm assuming you meant Farenheit, and speaking as someone who lives in a northern climate, 18 degrees sounds positively balmy right now. I feel like in order for the crew to be driven to such lengths it should have dropped to sub-zeroes at least, especially since on the Enterprise there's no risk of wind chill or water exposure.

That being said I still loved this fic and I'm definitely saving it to my bookmarks so I can find it again. Thank you for writing!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your comments, and for your praise. I very much appreciate you taking the time to tell me of your thoughts.

I, too, live in a northern climate. And I am both familiar with and was very careful about the differences between Fahrenheit and Celsius. In researching the temperature choices I made for this story, I looked up the temperatures at which chilblains and other cold-induced consequences occurred in humans and how long it took them to manifest. The sites I took seriously included the Centers for Disease Control, the Mayo Clinic and the National Institute of Health. I was a bit surprised to find that chilblains can occur at temperatures as high as 60 degrees Fahrenheit (15.56 Celsius).

Thank you so much for your comments, and for your praise. I very much appreciate you taking the time to tell me of your thoughts.

I, too, live in a northern climate and am familiar with the differences between Fahrenheit and Celsius. I did make sure to have a Fahrenheit/Celsius converter whilst writing this, though, as I didn't want to rely solely on my memory. ;)

In researching the choices for this story, I looked up the temperatures at which chilblains and other cold-induced consequences occurred in humans and how long it took them to manifest. The sites I took seriously included the Centers for Disease Control, the Mayo Clinic and the National Institute of Health. I was a bit surprised to find that chilblains can occur at temperatures as high as 60 degrees Fahrenheit (15.56 Celsius). I also looked up the minimum legal temperatures at which landlords are required to keep their properties in various major North American cities. Of the cities I sampled, only New York allowed temperatures below 60 F. Here's a good link on hypothermia from the Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hypothermia/basics/symptoms/CON-2002045

As that article states, hypothermia can result from prolonged exposure to any temperature colder than your body if one is inadequately clothed or unable to control the temperature. I've had it twice under very different circumstances, and I am extremely tolerant of cold. (I wear open-toed sandals outdoors in the dead of a northerly winter.) Given that Spock chose to raise the temperature in his quarters to 125 F (51.67 C) in "The Deadly Years", I decided that he'd have a LOT of trouble with 18 C. I find that temperature LOVELY, but I think it would threaten Spock's health badly after days of steady cooling. Even human tolerances differ widely. I'm super comfy at 60 F (15.56 C), but a very healthy friend from Costa Rica shivers at anything below 80 F (26.67 C).

Before I did my research, I was thinking, like you, that only subzero temperatures would cause such hypothermia. However, after adding my lived experience to my reading, I thought making the Enterpirse that cold would be over the top. The first time I got hypothermia was from being stranded outside in a blizzard for 3.5 hours. It took a month for my bones to warm up after that. The second time was after losing power (ergo heat, cooking and hot water) for three days during which we couldn't start a fire to heat a room. We wrapped up in warm clothes and blankets as the temperature fell to about 44 F (6.67 C). I didn't realize that I was in trouble until the electricity came back on and I started to shiver uncontrollably after the heat came back.

I hope this goes some way to explaining my choices for this story. I very much appreciate you challenging me on points you found questionable! It's a rare thing for people to do that, especially so kindly. Many thanks! :-)

Catherine

Reviewer: Logic_and_Reason Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2015 9:48 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

Very nice. This feels like it really could be the plot of a TOS episode. Thanks!

Reviewer: ironland Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2015 9:18 AM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

@Blackbird Song

LOL, I was sure you would understand Chinese. We do not have universal translator ,but we have google translate. God bless nerds.

This piece crossed my mind more than once in past days. I can not help smiling while thought how beautiful the love between them. Their relationship is so natural and easy, "as the leave grow on the tree, as the grass grows on the wire."

Waiting more. 

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2014 3:40 AM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

Ingenius story, thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: Cate Adams Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2014 3:14 AM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

This was great!  I had to read it wrapped in a warm blanket, however, not having a Vulcan to cuddle with.  :)  And I enjoyed the intrigue with the Tellarites, and the non-fraternization rules having skeptical crewmembers lined up outside sickbay.  This story was a lovely holiday present!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2014 11:04 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

What a great science fiction story, and what a sweet, satisfying (I almost said "warm") first time. I loved their candor with each other.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your praise! I'm especially chuffed that you thought it a good science fiction story. I will treasure that comment for life.

I'm glad their candor and first time worked for you. It's a risk writing that before Spock returns from Gol, but then I figured this could be a fix-it moment that might induce him not go there in the first place. ;)

Thank you for reading and commenting,

Catherine

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2014 3:22 PM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

Thank you for this fun romp!



Author's Response:

You're very welcome! Thank you for reading it and commenting. :-)

Catherine

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2014 2:05 AM Title: Freezing in Santa's Beard

这篇故事无疑是节日里的一份惊喜. 一直非常喜欢你的故事 , 它们有时阴郁哀痛 , 有时深情美好. 始终具有非常好的故事性 , 引人入胜 , 让读者想要一口气看完 . 而这篇行文清洌, 人物的行为和语言都很克制,但其中蕴含的感情是如此甜美 , 可谓是“甜得牙都掉了” .

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm afraid I don't understand Chinese, so I ran this through Google Translate. I'm sure Google got much of it wrong, but I do want to thank you very much for reading my story, and for all your very kind words. And even with my failure to understand, thank you so much for commenting in Chinese! :-)

Catherine

You must login (register) to review.