Reviews For Acquisition
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/05/2014 12:21 AM Title: The Chosen Ones

This chapter certainly has me on edge!  I'm so worried about Spock and I hope he'll be able to get back to Jim.  Great chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/05/2014 12:01 AM Title: The Chosen Ones

Creepy!!! No devious admirals this time, but such a devious society! I'm trying to decide what is the scarier aspect of this tale, the seemingly unavoidable control of minds or the fact that humans are so easily controlled. I mean, evil computers really give me the creeps, but a bunch of brainwashed humans is perhaps even worse.



Author's Response:

Yes, I completely agree.  The ease with which the humans are controlled is scary, and, if Jim and Spock can get out of there, will be a significant security concern for the Federation!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C  

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 11:55 PM Title: All I Want

This story keeps me suspended between a feeling of lurking danger and the sweetness of a love that transcends both the dangers that surround them and the physical aspects in general. Jim's strong desire to inhabit Spock's mind, the feeling of haven and calm and light he experiences there, his realisation that physical closeness is limited as opposed to the intimacy of the meld (reminds me of sunshine's bond of purity challenge) --- it seems like the true thing (love, peace. unity) as opposed to the imposed and hypercontrolled "perfect society" in this place.



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness!  I hadn't thought of how I was setting that part up as being so similar to sunshine's challenge, but you're right!  And, that first sentence in your review was so lovely!  I might ask you to write a summary for me eventually.  :)  And what they (Jim and Spock) are to one another will be directly contrasted with the "ideals" of this place in a later chapter.  Thanks so much for reading, and for your truly heart-warming review!  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 11:16 PM Title: All I Want

I have a horrible horrible sense of foreboding - again esp given what was said in the summary. I know you're a happy ending author (& my definition of a happy ending which is j&s together) but I don't know if my heart can handle the means to that end :(   

That said, as usual your writing when it comes to describing their relationship is ... heart-swelling. I love how much more open spock is here & was even before they were in this predicament - that would be a story in its own right. But then I'm reminded of where they are &the greater context and I fear for my poor spock in terms of within, without and his seeming tether of there bond.  This is a scary scary place please don't make him (& us) suffer too much or too long :(



Author's Response:

You might see what's coming with how I've set it up, but there will be a healthy helping of angst in store.  They will be separated, and forcefully.  BUT, a happy ending is in the cards.  You stayed with me through "Darkly", keep hope alive!  (Yeah, I'm listening to The Crystal Method right now).  :)  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 9:40 PM Title: All I Want

Hopefully, Spock will be able to continue to endure all that he is now, but I'm still very concerned about him!  I love that Spock and Jim's relationship is delving deeper even with everything that is happening.  I'm looking forward to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Spock's not one to give up, but he is being pushed to the limit here.  Hold on!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 9:16 PM Title: All I Want

It is agonizing to "watch" as Spock is becoming exhausted by the sheet effort of protecting Kirk and himself from the mind-control exercised by the filaments. It feels as though there is no way out, especially now that Eloida seems to have taken a special interest in Kirk. But the closeness between the two men that is deeloping despite, or because of, the extreme jeopardy, is wonderful to watch.



Author's Response:

They are definitely being pushed into a corner, and the situation with Eloida is not one to underestimate.  And yes, the closeness is something that probably would have happened anyway, but over a longer timeframe; the dire circumstances are forcing Jim to confront his fears, and encouraging Spock to be more open than he might be otherwise.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2014 10:33 AM Title: A Sky Without Stars

This is shaping up to be a humdinger, Cate. And in true trek style.:-) cant wait to see where you take this. 



Author's Response:

Yay-love it when the Trek is coming through!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 10:01 PM Title: A Sky Without Stars

Damn, things are getting intense and doesn't bode well for Spock.  Another great chapter and I'm eager to see what happens next.  :)



Author's Response:

I know-I myself find it hard to imagine standing in that crowd watching as the *only other Vulcan* in the place gets fed to the beasties over the wall.  Spock is in a precarious place, and Jim too, even if not from immediate death.  They're in it, now!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 12:27 PM Title: A Sky Without Stars

Wow! This is the best chapter yet. Very Trekkish, seemingly impossible situation they are trapped in. I love the way you weave Kirk's deepening closeness to Spock throughout this chapter written from Kirk's point of view. The phenomenon of the "scapegoat" was painful to read but illuminated the methods of control in this artificial society.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind comments!  I'm glad the Trek aspects are shining through!  Thanks for reading!  -Cate

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 12:17 PM Title: A Sky Without Stars

Omg amazing chapter!! This community makes me think of that tos episode, "return of the archons" I feel so sorry for that Vulcan and I fear that spock will find himself in a similar situation. Thank you for the speedy updates!!



Author's Response:

Hey-you nailed it!  My thoughts while imagining this story were very much around the "evil computer" theme found in so many TOS episodes.  We'll see if Jim can out-logic this one!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 10:16 AM Title: A Sky Without Stars

Holy shit. This just got real. This place gives me the creeps, and I can only cringe at Spock's future being what happened to the other Vulcan. I don't know why but I picture this place in like a dome that's made to look like some outdoor place...kind of like the hunger games, haha.

Awesome update, and I can't wait to find out more about the day to day life of this community



Author's Response:

You know, I never thought of it that way, but that makes sense, with the "Hunger Games" dome.  I was considering like a "Truman Show" wall, but then again, that's a dome, too, isn't it?  :)  D'oh!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C  

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 12:27 AM Title: A Sky Without Stars

Ahhh, that is a really bad situation you have put them in. It is difficult to decide what is most scary, the fact of being watched and controlled, the feral beasts on the other side of the wall, the vacant obedience of the other prisoners (guards included), or the fact that is all a construct... And in all this threatening evironment the one secure place seems to be their shared mental space - I love it how Jim feels so totally secure and at peace in their meld and would easily slide in deeper.



Author's Response:

They do both find safety and solace within each other's minds, but, as we will see, Eloida has some opinions about that.  I've gotten them into it, for sure.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Spockania20 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 3:12 PM Title: My Heart For Yours

Oh Cate, dear cate...such a stunning chapter. I absolutely adore your Jim and Spock. You capture them so stunningly.



Author's Response:

Thank you, so much, for such a lovely review!  I smiled when I read it, and I'm so glad that Jim and Spock are coming through well!  -Cate  

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 3:04 PM Title: My Heart For Yours

loooved this chapter. the closeness between them? spock's worry and concern? Jim's doubt? it's all so palpable! I'm so anxious to see where this is all leading!! what are these things that have captured them!! Great job!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  We're about to see where they're headed...things can only get more intense from here!  -Cate

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 7:46 AM Title: My Heart For Yours

I lvoe this chapter so much because you can really see how much they both care about one another. Kirk holding Spock in his arms on the wall was just such a touching scene, and I loved imagining it. I'm so anxious to see just what kind of alien's have taken them, and what's in store for them. They literally only have one another to rely on at this point, and even that is not set in stone. I'm so hooked!



Author's Response:

Hey there!  So glad you're enjoying it!  We'll see their relationship deepening even further, despite some obstacles.  Then comes the angst!!  :)  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2014 12:35 AM Title: My Heart For Yours

This is turning out to be a great Star Trek story -- with science fiction, action-adventure and deep, developing love between the two guys -- who could ask for more?



Author's Response:

Yay!  Thank you so much for your kind words!  I take that compliment very seriously, as you know.  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2014 9:33 PM Title: My Heart For Yours

I love the protectiveness these two have for each other.  I'm glad to see that they are putting together the pieces of what this thing that's holding them captive is.  One thing for certain is that Jim and Spock work well together.



Author's Response:

They do work so well together!  Their complementary natures shine in every situation they've been put in (TOS, AOS, etc.).  And they each will give everything for the other.  Ah, true love!  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2014 10:02 AM Title: My Heart For Yours

The title is heart wrenching, that and with what happens/is said in this chapter seem like a set up for something very bad.  At least we got a tender moment at the end. Trying to brace myself, b/c I don't handle that well - but yet I keep coming back :)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for continuing to come back, even though I put our poor boys through the wringer over and over!  This situation will be bad, and there will be some serious angst coming up....BUT, you know I'll get them back!  I can barely read stories with an unhappy ending-definitely won't be writing them any time soon!  Call it my weakness.  :)  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2014 11:44 PM Title: My Heart For Yours

I much hope that Jim is going to remember how "to turn a fatal situation into survival" when Spock will not be at his side, that he will continue not to believe and accept no-win scenarios. You have a unique way of writing the reboot-boys, with an astonishing inner strength that seems to come right from their hurts and struggles - so I hope that whatever they are going to face will in the end leave them stronger and wholer.



Author's Response:

Jim will be faced with yet another potential "no-win scenario", and he will need to remember how Spock helped him out of danger before.  These characters are so deep and strong already, it makes their interactions so passionate, even if they are not immediately romantically involved.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2014 7:45 PM Title: Taken

Goodness, another amazing chapter!  I wonder what exactly these beings want with Spock and Jim and what the tattoos mean as well as what they are doing with a sample of Spock's blood.  This is definitely not going to be easy for these two, especially since they have so much tension going on.  I can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing!  We'll be getting a better picture of the 'powers that be' shortly.  It might not be what you expect!  -Cate

You must login (register) to review.