Reviews For Acquisition
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2014 11:53 AM Title: Comfort And Courage, Healing And Hope

I adore Jim's thoughts toward spock, and how in the face of what happened on that ship he has a hard time feeling safe again



Author's Response:

Yes, the unexpectedness and horror of what they encountered on that ship will remain with Jim for some time, and he'll find comfort with his bondmate, as he did while captured.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2014 2:11 AM Title: Comfort And Courage, Healing And Hope

Beautiful chapter, fathoming the complexities of response to situations that unfolded in crisis situations but finally have to be prosessed once all the threats have passed.

I think you have a big truth in the paragraph of Jim's speech on the departure of the survivors: faith in a higher power has to translate into care for each other. It's true for the survivors, it's true for all of us.

I hope Preshar will make it to Admiral, he would be a good balance against the wicked ones you like to put into your stories. ;)

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I'm glad Jim's take on the faith needed in this situation came through for you.  I've heard someone describe Star Trek as "secular humanist" (and I can't remember who right now!), but there's also, I think, an acknowledgment of more spiritual aspects, and especially if it acts to focus on the importance of each life, human or not, and the need for fulfillment and care of each other.  And, yeah, I needed a good "person-in-charge" for a change!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2014 12:29 AM Title: Comfort And Courage, Healing And Hope

The conversation between Jim and Bones was excellent.  I think it really does show how serious Jim is about Spock when he confessed to Bones how he felt about Spock.  Excellent work.  :)



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm glad you liked it!  Writing conversations like that one are almost the hardest part, because of all the history and deep introspection that ends up coming out, as well as an eye to the particular characterizations.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2014 10:15 AM Title: Not For Nothing

These last two chapters are examples of some of what you do best imo, action with plot, character development with commentary. And for me, as much as I love the suspense, the horrible sense of dread made me read the "meat" (can you tell I'm a carnivore?) with lots of trepidation.

The complete dismissal of the aliens of the suffering they had caused was, again for me, very upsetting. I think it happens all the time where the powers that be are so insular and lacking compassion - be it people in positions of power, layoffs or nations dealing w/other nations or people in need. And the long term consequences of our actions is something I think everyone needs to take into account, of course the ends do not justify the means and finally, one of my favorites that I didn't get till I was older, the road to hell is paved w/good intentions.

Not happy thoughts for a Sunday morning, but I've been stewing on them for a while. Thanks for the chapters and looking forward to the next installment!



Author's Response:

Hi nml!  Yes, the casual dismissal shown by the Fushiri was very hurtful to Jim, too, who was still suffering from his own traumatic experience and was looking for a "why".  I did want that distance and callousness to come across, although perhaps the aliens themselves might have considered it along the lines of thier own Prime Directive, and did not want to interfere further, having discovered their own mistake.  In the end, it was very unsatisfying to Jim, and he continues to struggle with his own experience.  Thanks so much for your comments and for reading!  I look forward to your reviews!  -Cate

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2014 2:08 PM Title: Not For Nothing

that about sums it up; an advanced alien race that can't be bothered with the problems of humans (or vulcans, klingons, ect) IT's kind of funny to think about because we are the same way with races or species we deem lower than us.

Loved this chapter! This one has turned into quite the long story from you :)



Author's Response:

It is turning into a longer one!  I hope that's a good thing!  :)  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2014 12:43 AM Title: Not For Nothing

Such a great chapter and oh, to see them struggle and keeping the will to survive.  I can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Next chapter coming soon!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Spockania20 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2014 12:09 AM Title: Not For Nothing

I loved Spock's perservearance throughout this chapter, how he was holding on despite exhaustion and injuries bringing him down. How it all built to that moment on the bridge when the scanning started. Awesome chapter!!!! 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  One of Spock's defining traits is his willingness to give all he has, no matter what.  I love showcasing his devotion and loyalty in my stories.  Thanks for reading!  -Cate

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2014 8:34 PM Title: Not For Nothing

I kind of want to kick this races ass. "Oh sorry, we forgot about that ship mind control" assholes.

As always though, Kirk and Spock banded together and used both of their strengths to save the bridge (and the ship) They've earned some rest for sure.

Great Chapter!!



Author's Response:

They've definitely earned some rest, and a chance to explore thier new relationship without imminent danger and the threat of death.  Like we talked about, I wanted to put in some condescending aliens, like the kind that seem to pop up every now and then in TOS; they appear, offer some unsatisfactory explanation or apology, and then disappear, leaving damage to be cleaned up and fixed (like Charlie X, and Trelane).  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2014 7:19 PM Title: Not For Nothing

I don't know how you do it, but as the chapter procedes the language reflets the growing exhaustion, the failing of the forces. I love the fact that being one in the bond is the protection Jim needs and that it is him who reaches the alien ship with his NO, drawn from the sheer depths of his dedication to his ship and her crew, to his friends, his family, his home.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words!  Yes, Jim's devotion to his ship, his crew, and his bondmate is a large part of why he is such a wonderful and compelling character.  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2014 4:34 PM Title: Rising

Such a good chapter!  I really got a kick when Bones meantioned about Jim being wrapped around Spock's finger because I think it is so true, but still it doesn't stop Jim from realizing that Spock needs to go back to communicate with the f'ylao'tri.



Author's Response:

I thought that statement was funny, too, because Jim and Spock were holding hands quite obviously.  :)  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Spockania20 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 10:38 PM Title: Rising

this chapter was perfection!!! Loved the interaction between eloida and jim, because I really hated her, and you managed to actually get me to sympathize with her. I love this aftermath after all of this that jim and spock have been through! stunning!! 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your comments-I was hoping to have Eloida's response to Jim be a personal example of how these people have been affected, and also a starting point for Jim to try to process the events on that ship.  Like he said to McCoy, he needs to find a purpose in all that went on.  We'll see what the red alert entails!  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 9:05 AM Title: Rising

I just wanted to say how much I've been enjoying this story. Can't wait for your next update.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!  I'm thrilled that you've been reading!  -C

Reviewer: pointyears Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 8:02 AM Title: Rising

I really liked the seen with Eloida, and how she is sorry for what she did. I think Jim needed to hear that, and I'm glad it was said.

and the spider scene was so cute!!



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm glad you liked the scene with Eloida-I felt that this was right, even though I had considered having her either completely unresponsive or completely violent.  This adventure left Jim with conflicting emotions and he has been forced to really examine himself and his motives through all these trials.  Having Eloida the way she is left Jim in a really gray area.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 1:26 PM Title: Return

oh my goodness! FINALLY the enterprise is back on scene!! Poor Jim in his desperateness to be near his bondmate. The emotions are so palpable, and I can just imagine the crew watching Jim talk to the giant spiders. AMAZING chapter, and I can't wait to see how this all goes!



Author's Response:

The surprise of having intelligent and protective giant spiders would be shocking even in the 23rd century, I would imagine, and even for a starship crewmember!  :)  Jim has come full-circle, from not truly understanding the depth of his relationship with Spock to, now, fully embracing it and actively defending it.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 11:29 AM Title: Ninth Life

They entered the room, “Spock, promise me!”

            The white mist began to surround them, and as Jim felt the strange slippery feeling creep over his body, he heard his bondmate’s quiet reply, “No.”

^^^
this had me in chilling tears. LOVED this chapter, the tension, the need to get spock help, the reactions of the people? It was all so brilliantly written. Thank god I have another chapter right after this because I can't end it here!



Author's Response:

I'm so happy you enjoyed this chapter!  It was intense to write, and Spock's reply to Jim will be a point of conversation for them later on.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 10:05 AM Title: Return

I knew it was Bones!! Thank god for the enterprise, and, I wonder what Eloida's future is. I'm curious as to why she was asking for Jim. Does she realize that she fucked up? Or is she still the bitch she was on the ship? When Jim felt Spock die, my heart broke a little, but I knew you wouldn't kill Spock. I had my fingers crossed. I feel for all the people who were beamed over, and how some of them just don't know what to do. How there lives are in shambles because of the guardian. How do you pick up the pieces from there? I'm so excited to see how this all wraps up, and I loved when Jim was like, "my bondmate" to bones.



Author's Response:

I just posted the next chapter, which will mention Eloida's fate.  I was so happy to finally be able to bring in Bones-I love writing his interactions with Jim and Spock!  Yeah, these people's lives will probably only approach normalcy after a great deal of intervention, and Jim is having trouble dealing with the senselessness of it all.  We'll see if he finally gets some closure!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, as always!  -Cate

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 2:04 AM Title: Return

I got up early this morning to check on updates and was rewarded by this chapter, the relief of finally seeing them cared for.

Jim's reaction to the slipping away of the bond is written so well, it crushes the reader's heart. And again he fights to be present enough to his surroundings to assure the safety of all the beings on that strange spaceship.

The final bit of this chapter is probably the most touching way of Bones' learning about his friends' bond I have ever read, in it's simplicity and the warmth of McCoy's reaction it is simply heartwarming.



Author's Response:

Oh, angelocustode!  Thank you so much for your lovely comments!  You left me with a huge smile!  -Cate

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 12:18 AM Title: Return

I feel a huge sense of relief now that they've been rescued.  Bones seemed to have sense of connection when Spock's heart stopped beating at the same time Jim went into shock and of course having it confirmed by Jim towards the end.  I just loved it when Jim referred to Spock as his bondmate.  Great chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  Yeah, Bones knew something was going on, and Jim isn't going to hide, not after thier previous misunderstanding and after everything that had happened.  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2014 9:03 PM Title: Ninth Life

Sorry for the late review.  when this came out I was in the middle of trying to finish up work stuff, but kept sneaking in a couple of paragraphs at a time - which needless to say wrecked my focus! Very, very intense chapter in terms of plot, relationship development and writing. Spock's devotion, as usual, makes me soar, which his physical situations constricts my heart for him. And I just love Jim's tenderness here - yeah, he's TOS Kirk and Kirk from the STID final speech, but it's love and care of Spock that speak to me here, esp given his trepidation early.

And I'd "arrghhhh" on the cliffhanger, but at least it's a hopeful one and the gut wrenching/greying hair type, so I'll take it :)

looking forward to the next installment!



Author's Response:

Oops!  Sorry to interrupt your work!  Yes, very hopeful ending, and we'll see our boys safe soon.  Of course, I couldn't just leave the story at that, though.  Space battles!  Well, maybe just a surprising confrontation, not to give too much away.  :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2014 1:42 PM Title: Ninth Life

Omg Omg Omg Omg! I am at the edge of my chair!



Author's Response:

Hold on!  Next chapter up now!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

You must login (register) to review.