Reviews For Acquisition
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2014 5:32 AM Title: Taken

Yes, probably the only relationship that could be right for Jim is a Vulcan bond, because it would give him the emotional security he needs, the total sincerity, the haven of inconditional acceptance. I trust you will make him understand in time that there will be now need to hide, no danger in exposure, but only deep joy in completeness. No, you never seem to go easy on the two of them ...



Author's Response:

I couldn't have said it better!  :)  He will find those things, and Spock will find what he needs in his t'hy'la.  But, I had to go and put them in another impossible situation!  They always manage to get themselves out, though.  :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always!  -Cate

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2014 2:54 AM Title: Taken

Argh! My heart-! Oh god oh god I feel it deep for Spock omg that line. Hit me right in the feels. 



Author's Response:

Sorry for the heartache!  These two boys make it easy to bring on the intensity!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2014 12:09 AM Title: Taken

Good to see Spock back in scientific-analytical mode. You do a good job of integrating the ongoing exploration of the possibility of a t'hy'la relationship with an action-adventure plot.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I've been trying to keep that balance, and I'm glad it's coming through.  Spock was thrown for a bit there, but is back-we'll see if he can figure this out completely!  -Cate

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 1:34 PM Title: Slide

INTENSE chapter, which is pretty amazing for a low action one. Loved the interaction here and so proud of Spock for his articulateness and not backing down in discussing relationships and feelings. Admirable for anyone but esp for Spock. I feel sorry for him to know his t’hy’la, so that he's sure, but it's still unattainable. I feel bad for Jim, too. To never have something b/c of the risk of damaging it - that's a very limited response to a no-win scenario.

This is bad enough, but your summary promising a "cruelly damaged" connection is truly worrying. Angst ahead :D or :(  we'll see!



Author's Response:

Spock is strong here, and willing to take a leap that Jim is perhaps not ready for.  As Dunyazad pointed out, their patterns seem to be somewhat reversed!  Jim's limited response is exactly that: limited.  He will experience what he is missing (mental connection) and his eyes will be opened.  And, yes, angst ahead!  But, as you know, I'm required by my own law to have a happy ending!  :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 10:21 AM Title: Slide

I don't know why, but the image of Spock standing out in the cold in the front of the cabin staring at nothing reminded me soooo much of paranormal activity. You know, when the main chick would get out of bed and just stand by the side of it, staring down at her husband for like hours at a time? Loved this chapter. I loved reading Jim trying to warm Spock up, his worry for him so palpable. I'm really curious to see what is affecting Spock like this, what is making him act this way. Great job!



Author's Response:

You know, I never saw that movie, but I remember your love of the genre!  :)  So glad you're enjoying it, and thank you, as always, for your kind words.  -Cate

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 1:50 AM Title: Slide

A complex chapter, with many different dynamics seemingly going on simultaneously: the danger looming in this seemingly idyllic shore leave, the underlying feelings between the two men, and their inability to understand each other. It took me a little while to realize that their usual strengths seemed to be reverse in this chapter: Spock seems to have no ability to analyze the mysterious power that kept him out in the cold, and Kirk seems to have no ability to hear Spock when he tries to explain the emotions he picked up Kirk that evening after chess. Look forward immensely to seeing how this will all play out.



Author's Response:

Yes, there is a lot going on, and looming danger will force some of the issues.  Spock will be able to analyze the presence in the chapter just posted, but you are absolutely correct in that specific strengths do seem to be reversed here.  Spock's willingness to move ahead has been influenced by his experience on Primidius, and his recognition of t'hy'la.  His experience with loss is almost a catalyst, where Jim's is a deterrent, keeping him from leaping.  There are differences with regard to human and Vulcan perceptions and emotions that will be brought up, but a larger-picture theme in this story is dealing with loss, and gain.

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 12:17 AM Title: Slide

This is great so far! :)



Author's Response:

So glad you're enjoying it!!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 12:15 AM Title: Slide

Oh Spock, what's going on with you?!  I do feel bad for Jim since past experiences is what's stopping him from deepening he friendship with Spock.  However, Spock's the one I feel for the most.  He's obviously suffering and not being able to connect to Jim is not helping him.  Such a great chapter and I can't wait for more.



Author's Response:

Spock's character is almost similar to what I showed in "Corolan Prime", but slightly more tentative.  His recognition of t'hy'la and his experience with Primidius is galvanizing his willingness to act.  Of course, this Jim is much less sure of himself when it comes to admitting his love for his friend, and his perceptions of loss are actually slowing him down, so they've got some work to do.  And the trouble is just getting started!  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 12:06 AM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

I'm thrilled to see a new story from you!!  This is a wonderful start and I admit I actually felt a little teary-eyed.  Spock and Jim both want something deeper and yet Jim is too afraid to let it deepen. 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2014 12:03 AM Title: Slide

Great how you work on the dichotomy between hot and cold in this chapter. Knowing that the two friends are about to be hurled into a terrible ordeal I can't help but hope that there will be time for them to at least glimpse at the comfort, the warmth, the sheer security of a shared mindspace, before everything is threatened beyond immagination.



Author's Response:

There will be time, but it will be very short and in the middle of that terrible ordeal.  I guess I can't be easy on them, can I?  :)  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: hungryeyes Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 4:21 PM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

I really, really like this so far. Excellent writing, and I'm eagerly awaiting more! The summary has a lot of promise!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I'm so happy you're enjoying it so far!  Our boys will have to contend with figuring out their relationship in the midst of a larger danger, for sure!  Stay tuned!  -C

Reviewer: studioustrekker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 8:19 AM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

The way you depict Jim and Spock misunderstanding one another is sooooo good! I love your characterizations, and I Im sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for an update!!! Thanks so much for starting this!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm so glad you're excited for the next chapter!  -C

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 3:05 AM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

This is simply the best hand in the air totally heartbreaking description of relationship misunderstanding I have ever read. I can almost imagine this as a pre Gol departure scene. Suddenly the use of the word T'hy'la as Spock's final goodbye in  TMP takes on a different significance. In fact the whole of TOS begins to look like an essay on lust versus love and you have encapsulated this in a single chapter.

 



Author's Response:

Oh my!  I had hoped to spare the readers the deep finality of Gol, and I actually hadn't known that Spock had used t'hy'la as his goodbye before that.  Was that in the novelization?  But, I am very excited to think about TOS as a study between love and lust.  Here, Jim is used to lust, and is familiar with it.  He is comfortable with it and everything it entails.  Love, for him, equals eventual and unavoidable loss, and also absence of control.  He can "love" his ship, because he is captain of her.  He refuses, consciously, to love someone who can be taken away or who can leave.  Of course, that will change, but he will need to see things through new eyes.  Spock, who has experienced horrible loss in his life as well, loves because what is, is.  But his soul was always on the side of selfless.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 12:54 AM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

I can tell this is going to be a wonderful story, with a deep and complex exploration of their relationship. I am hooked already. This is a vision of Kirk's feelings about Spock that needs to be shown in fan fic. After all, if Kirk (in the Reboot-verse) is truly romantic-relationship-phobic and has experienced sex mainly as motivated by lust and pleasure-seeking, then it makes sense that he would place his feelings about Spock on the kind of pedestal we see here. Either that, or reduce Spock to a guy with a hot body whom Kirk lusts after, and we see that in fan fiction, too. I have a feeling you will find a third way. I suspect we will also learn a lot about the difference between Human and Vulcan sexuality. We hear a lot about those differences in fan fic, but I know you will do more than tell us about them -- you will show them, vividly.

But whatever the plan, I am looking forward to the profound characterization of both men and their relationship that is sure to be ahead.



Author's Response:

I was so touched by your words!  We will see some more about the differences between human and Vulcan perception of emotion, and explore both men's experience and fears of loss.  Jim is placing his regard for Spock on a pedestal, but he is currently viewing a possible relationship through purely human eyes, and human experience.  He is missing a profound component of Vulcan joining (mental), and, when he understands this, his views will change.  He realizes that nothing is perfect and untouchable, but some things are worth the risk.  Thanks for reading and reviewing!  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 12:39 AM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

Ahh, great, a new story! I love the measured pacing of this first chapter, the tentative steps towards one another. As always I appreciate the very visual way you have of describing situations, so evocative, leaving distinct pictures in my mind. (One for all: the two of them entering from the cold, taking off their outdoor clothing and putting it neatly next to their bags - for some reason it makes me feel the warmth of the cabin, the smell of heated wood and the smoke of an open fire.)



Author's Response:

Hello my friend!  I've tried a cabin in the summertime, and now we have one in the depths of winter.  Unfortunately our boys won't be able to enjoy it for long... .  Jim and Spock will be facing a terrible threat and their own fears of loss.  Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always!  -Cate

Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2014 6:43 PM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

very nice beginning. I love the flow, and the way you characterize Jim. It is spot on. I'm excited to read this!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing!  I'm glad you're enjoying it!  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2014 6:29 PM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

YAAAAAAAY!!!!! I'm SOOOOO in for this. LOVE your characterizations (no surprise there) and this story, I can tell, is going to be one of the classics. Very, VERY good start. I cannot wait for more!



Author's Response:

Hey there!  So glad you're onboard!  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, and for your support and encouragement!  Love it!  -C

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2014 2:14 PM Title: The Complexity Of Touch

Jim! You emotionally stunted-! Argh!   Poor Spock~ ;_;

Anyway yay new Cate fic! Can't wait for the rest.



Author's Response:

I know, Spock does suffer a bit from Jim's lack of perception.  :)  Don't worry, Jim will get it together, but we'll see if outside circumstances make his fears of loss into reality.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C

You must login (register) to review.