Reviews For In The Zone
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2017 4:36 PM Title: Chapter 50

I'd hope that mob would face justice.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2017 12:45 PM Title: Chapter 40

I'd like to know what pike is doing about those idiot security guard.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2017 3:13 AM Title: Chapter 38

spoc meeting Amanda for the first time 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2017 9:50 PM Title: Chapter 38

spoc meeting Amanda for the first time 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2017 9:28 AM Title: Chapter 30

I'm interested to find out what happened to Sarek and T'Lira. I half expected them to turn up in this chapte.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2017 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 29

So what happened to T'Lira?

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2017 4:26 AM Title: Chapter 28

It's tough seeing Spock in such a bad way 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 6:51 PM Title: Chapter 58

 Maybe, he considered, that was the best part of love. It wasn't the end of the relationship that was their goal. It was the learning and the sharing along the way that was the most desirable part of the experience.

Isn't this so true... Thanks so much for this lovely story my friend. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for ALL of your comments.  It is so kind of you to do this, and I really appreciate it.  Thanks so much for your generosity of spirit and caring.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 6:39 PM Title: Chapter 57

I'm thrilled that Sarek is alive. He's a grandfather now. I was wondering how Sarek would react on seeing Amanda again, or vice versa. Everything seems to work out for the best.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 6:25 PM Title: Chapter 56

I had a feeling that Dighton was testing Spock. Spock was certainly relieved that he passed the test. 

Spock's going to be a daddy!!!!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 6:09 PM Title: Chapter 55

Spock just can't get enough. Who knew...It seems things are going well for Jim and Spock. Financially, Spock doesn't need to worry about the future, T'Lira and the children will be well taken care of.  

Jim caring for a baby, he's going boldly where's he hasn't gone before.  

I wonder what the meeting is about. 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 5:28 AM Title: Chapter 54

Honeymoons are so romantic. Happy sigh... So Spock doesn't care if it was Jim that pulled that prank with his buddies all those years ago. Jim wants to make Spock proud of him. He wants to learn all there is to know about Vulcans. He wishes that the Vulcan people had not been treated like they had been. 

So much emotions in your words..



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2015 5:15 AM Title: Chapter 53

Just finished chapter 53. I'm smiling very much.  They are finally married. Love the humor in this chapter, not to mention the hot sex. Jim is so gentle with Spock. 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you are enjoying this, D.  Thanks.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2015 2:44 AM Title: Chapter 58

Finding out that Sarek was alive was such a pleasant surprise.  It was also great that Amanda and Ray's neighbors gave Jim and Spock such a nice send off.  I know that Spock and Jim will face some intolerance at the Academy, but with their friends and family's love and support, they will be ok.



Author's Response:

I had thought that Sarek would be just another faceless, nameless casualty of war, but I found that I couldn't do that to Spock.  He had lost so much he shouldn't have to lose his father, too, and Sarek's reappearance and subsequent job as a negotiator could shadow a future as an ambassador, couldn't it?  I only wish that other folks suffering from discrimination could have the same support as the boys, don't you?  Thanks for sticking with me through this long one and for your comments.

Reviewer: Alfalfa Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2015 6:57 PM Title: Chapter 58

Apologies for the late review--I read the end in a huge burst and was very pleased with your work, but was too busy to review sooner.  I must say you truly saved the best for last!   Really love the way you portrayed Spock's relationship with T'Lira and infant Amanda and newborn Solkan.  How nice for Pike to marry Jim and Spock in the human style.  Very realistic touch, too, your depiction of Dighton and the challenges Spock is expected to face at the Academy.  You even had a surprise in store, with Sarek turning up--and how fitting that Sarek should negotiate on behalf of the Vulcans and be on hand for the birth of his grandson!   Come to think of it you kind of foreshadowed Sarek's appearance when Amanda and Jim had that talk after she took him away from the delivery room, but I still didn't see it coming!   Probably the most enjoyable thing for me is how you portrayed Spock integrity, his honoring his commitments--very true to TOS, even though he's of course younger in this AU story.    

 

I understand you have other projects in mind, but I've immensely enjoyed this story and would be pleased to have more glimpses from this universe if the mood strikes you.  



Author's Response:

I am glad that you liked the conclusion of this lengthy work.  I hope I was able to draw all the loose threads together.  At some point, I will be back (probably sooner rather than later) with some more work, but fo the moment I have work to do on my house and yard, need to finish some very overdue commitments, and do some reading for myself.  Should I have a good idea to continue this story as a series I will do so, but it would have to be an excellent idea.  Thanks for committing your time to read all these months and for your kind comments.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/27/2015 12:40 AM Title: Chapter 53

I am smiling indeed. What a lovely ceremony and later the honeymoon.  I'm glad they have found a place away from everyone. Just the two of them.  Great chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much, D, foro your continued support.  Just a few more chapters left for you to read.

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2015 6:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

PaintedBird, thank you for posting this terrific story!  Your Kirk and Spock are the honorable men we hope them to be in a world where prejudice and indifference to suffering are the societal default  Reading each update in this fic has been a bright spot in my day.  The idea of Vulcans on Earth being regarded as second class citizens was mindboggling.  It was fascinating reading the makeshift  new life they had cobbled together in a hostile environment.  Many kudos to you for tackling the premise and in the process delivering one of the best fics I've ever read. I became very invested in all of the Vulcans' plight.  Will you be re-visiting them in the future?  I hope so!  It woud be fantastic to see Vulcans rise as an immigrant population above their oppressed beginnings to take their place intellectually, culturally, and economically among Earth's population.  Not to mention the importance of Vulcans' calming influence when Starfleet finally begins to make contact with other neighboring alien civilizations.  As you may guess, I'm not yet ready to give up T'Lira, BabyAmanda, Solkan, and Ray, lol. And I'm sooo relieved Sarek survived!

At any rate :o) I loved this fic.  It's one of those stories that tends to linger in my mind well after I've finished reading a chapter. First-rate job, PaintedBird!  



Author's Response:

JoeAnn, thank you for your generous comments.  I thought the premise might be interesting but have to admit when the story intersected with real life events in Charleston recently I was surprised.  There are still people living that sort of life who are discriminated against because of their color, their nationality, their religion, or their gender, and I am sufficiently optimistic on some days to believe it wll end.  Other days, I am not so sure, especially after the shootings in nearby Chattanooga.  

As for a revisit of this story line, I have no immediate plans to do any additional work at this time but won't completely rule out the possibility as I have grown attached to this fic, too, in the last year I have worked on it.   On the short term, I have other projects I have let slide that now require my atention, most of which need to be done before winter, so I need to clear up my slate before committing to anything, especially such a large project as this.  I do have some shorter fics that I will complete periodicaly and upload, but anything big will have to wait.

Thank you for your kind words.  I don't think most readers understand how reinforcing it is to have comments in order to know what works in a fic and what does not.  When I am posting, I look for new ones every morning and am cheered when I find one.  I appreciate your comments and hope to see you as a reader in future fic.  Take care.

Reviewer: Jane Herrell Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2015 2:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

A wonderous love story, an amazing adventure, an alternate universe elegantly developed.  Well done.



Author's Response:

Thanks, R.

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2015 12:49 AM Title: Chapter 58

I'm so excited!  Hopefully this baby and baby Amanda will grow up with every opportunity available to them.  I know that they will be surrounded with love.



Author's Response:

Thanks for staying with me for so long.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Alfalfa Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/17/2015 4:07 AM Title: Chapter 53

Yes, I am smiling, have been for a while now   :)    However I dare not get too comfortable while reading any story that's in progress.

 

Sorry I haven't had a chance to review more often, but every update gave me a little thrill of anticipation (and nervousness).   Really glad to see T'Lira and baby Amanda at Spock and Jim's bonding / wedding.    Amanda must have been thrilled to learn of her grandbaby's name, lol.  Pike officiating was a nice touch.  

 

In earlier less happy chapters, you came up with a clever solution for Jim to suggest to Pike when Spock was running from the mob, and the solution Pike came up with gave me fond memories of TOS.  

 

When you reach the end of this story it will be a bittersweet moment for fans like me who've waited for each installment.   Hopefully you'll occasionally favor us with an epilogue or 'missing scene', perhaps of Ray and Amanda meeting up with T'Lira and baby Amanda for the first time.   I wonder if Spock was present to do the introductions?    :)

 

Thanks again for all your hard work.



Author's Response:

Hello again!  Always good to hear from you.  I appreciate any comments, but don't feel obligated in any way.  There are just a few more chapters as the story is complete in draft and my goal is to finish this month.  At this time, I have no further plans with this work, but who knows?  My plan for the moment is to work on non-slash projects, but I am certain I will be back at some point.  I have stories I have written and have not posted so I'll be around in some form.  Thanks for sticking with this very long WIP and for making comments.  It's good to know what people are thinking.

You must login (register) to review.