You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/04/2014 3:28 PM Title: Chapter 12

I know I'm way behind on reviewing this, but I will catch up, I promise. I don't kno what the "confidence blow" was that you refer to, but I suspect it was completely undeserved. Your writing is so good -- vivid, concrete and engrossing -- that the idea you might be discouraged from wiritng, even for a moment, is disconcerting to say the east.



Author's Response:

You're fine, it's good to see you! I am pretty easily discouraged, to say the least. I've been going back and obsessing over my mistakes and cursing myself for not having the time or patience to find a beta. It's also been hectic at work, to say the least. Then I get a Bookmark on ArchiveofourOwn labeled "bad writing" and it killed me. I know this is not meant to be a work of Shakespeare, but I am trying to make the best story I can and hearing those words did not help. However, I am much better now. I'm working on this story, as well as an original for NaNoWriMo. Reviews like yours are really uplifting and encourage me to keep going despite obsessing over the little mistakes. I have become much better at focusing on those as opposed to the bad feedback. However, I still can't be pleased with myself without a caffine boost. Thanks for reading! 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/2014 5:59 AM Title: Chapter 16

++++++++this chapter



Author's Response:

So I'm guessing this is a "positive" review. lol. Thanks again for reading!! 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2014 3:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm not sure that cliffhanger was any less cruel, but whoa.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2014 4:39 PM Title: Chapter 15

Oh how sad...
please made a wonder.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2014 5:04 PM Title: Chapter 15

Yeah, and now we are waiting for the rest of the miracle!

Reviewer: Natasha Dalton Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2014 9:56 PM Title: Chapter 12

I was waiting this part of the movie, and it was amazing. Poor Jim, I think he is afraid of that Spock can know all what happened in Tarsus. 

Update soon, please

 

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2014 6:21 PM Title: Chapter 12

Oh my, please continue soon...

Author's Response:

Already on it. :) Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2014 11:48 PM Title: Chapter 11

Yay, good for Spock! I hope this is a turning point and that Spock will find a way.



Author's Response:

He will.......eventually. :-)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2014 5:53 PM Title: Chapter 11

applause to Spock's speech

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2014 5:41 PM Title: Chapter 10

I don't think McCoy is being harsh, just realistic. People need to believe that they are making their own choices, and I think you're not the first author to touch on how problematic this whole 'destiny' narrative can be.



Author's Response:

I'm sure I'm not, but at the time I wrote that it felt like the last five stories I read were like that. I think the "destiny" narrative is a bit disturbing, especially in a secular humanist world like Star Trek. While I do not mind if it plays a role, I feel like too many decisions are made on the basis of a psychic connection, which I see Kirk's character rejecting violently. 

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2014 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 11

oi.
I really hope they can fix that.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2014 12:52 AM Title: Chapter 10

I very much appreciate the concept that t'hy'la are made, not born -- that it is a relationship based on learning about the other, not some mystical destiny. This chapter was agonizing, but powerful.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 2:47 AM Title: Chapter 9

Surprisingly (to me) Komack sounds almost rational in this chapter. I'm glad Spock is being forced to examine his feelings towards Kirk.



Author's Response:

Yeah, I'm not a fan of making authority figures into morons. Although Komack was kind of a moron in TOS, he seems pretty rational in the new movies. While I think that authority figures can be incompetent, petty, etc, I think it's more challenging to write them as being reasonable with good arguments. That's one of the many cliches I can't stand, not just in fan fiction, but in media in general. I'm glad you came in for this story, and I'm glad you're enjoying it so far! 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 12:01 AM Title: Chapter 8

Despite my chagrin at Kirk's out of control behavior in this scene, I have to admit it was satifying to see him get Karidian to admit he is Kodos. More satisfying in many ways than "The Conscience of the King."



Author's Response:

I was definitely unsatisfied with that episode. There is no way Kirk would be so much of a moral paragon that he would not at all react to the presence of Kodos in his midst. I will be going into more detail about what happened to new Kirk later. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:53 PM Title: Chapter 7

This is certsainly a thriller of a plot. I'm impressed with how easily you are weaving together all the different strands around a common underlying theme. 

I imagine that a united Earth would have commissioned a new composition to serve as an anthem so it wouldn't be something tied to the culture of any one nation or region. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind words. I've definitely been obsessing over the mistakes lately, which is killing my motivation to get the next chapter going. It's good to hear the compliments so I can keep going.

That would most likely be the case for the Earth anthem, but I thought it would be fun to think if something kinda current would stand the test of time. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:38 PM Title: Chapter 6

Incredible chapter. I'm almost dreading what llies ahead ...

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:31 PM Title: Chapter 5

In addition to the cliffhanger you packed an enormous amount of character development and emotional dynamics into this chapter.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:18 PM Title: Chapter 4

It's remarkable the way you are tackling the serious theme of how people feel about differences between the various races in Star Trek. This is much more direct and pointed than anything Trek itself actually tackled. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:02 PM Title: Chapter 3

Great writing. The ominous undertone of expectation that Kirk is going to become seriously scary is subtly done and not overdramatized, which is perfect for this story. 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 3:36 AM Title: Chapter 2

The dynamics between the two men are even more interesting than Kirk's new-found power. Well done.

You must login (register) to review.