Reviews For Surfacing
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2020 3:37 PM Title: Chapter 4

Even though I'm safe at home with my partner, I've been feeling sad and anxious since the pandemic began, not so much about the virus itself as about the weaknesses in our social fabric that the virus is revealing and about the lack of competent leadership from the White House.

So I've been re-reading some of my favorite stories, of which this is one.  It's been long enough since I've read it -- and I'm old enough and have a poor enough memory these days -- that I don't remember it very well.  This should be taken as being entirely about my failing memory and not as a sign that your story isn't memorable!  In any case, I remember that I loved this story, and I remember that you showed great insight into the characters, and I remember that it's basically a long conversation between Kirk and Spock, with some plot and McCoy thrown in for flavor.

As I was reading this chapter, I loved all of it but was especially struck by the line, If it were true that tension is necessary for creativity, insight and perspective, Spock had carried it around with him in spades all his life, little wonder his reputation was rightly galactic.  And when I looked up my review from six years ago, I told you how much I loved that line then, too.  It amused me that I'm evidently still the same person I was six years ago, because when presented with the same stimulus (this chapter), I have the same response.

Anyway, thank you so much for writing a story so lovely, so insightful, and so well-written that it can take my mind off of a global pandemic.  

Reviewer: Dean Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2015 10:24 AM Title: Chapter 24

Dear Jane D.,

the final chapter of this story was my nicest easter egg. It shows love and affection in such a descret, silent way. 

I think Leonard Nimoy, always so worried about making clear that Star Trek was more than just ship battles and fights with weird aliens, would have liked this story a lot.

My best wishes, and I look forward to reading more from you. Fortunately, I haven´t read your other stories yet, so I can look forward to these, too.

Dean



Author's Response:

Hi Dean - This is really kind and I'm so sorry it's taken me a while to reply.  I really appreciate what you wrote, in particular re Mr Nimoy, and I am really happy that you liked my piece.  Thank you so much for taking the trouble to tell me.   LLAP - JD

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2015 12:51 AM Title: Chapter 24

Unless I've been following the author, I'm always hesitant to read a WIP and having read this one, I'm sorry I missed it, but I'm truly enjoying the binge reading! Especially in light of Mr. Nimoy's passing, you've done such justice to this truly epic relationship that has allowed it to last decades. When I have to work late at night, I need background noise and it's usually Star Trek b/c I know those episodes and movies by heart. Since LM's death, my choice has been The Voyage Home, so it's been interesting to read this and see "clues" in the movie. Your knowledge of this series and love of the 3 Musketeers and importantly Kirk and Spock is lovely to read :)



Author's Response:

Thank you, that's a lovely review.  I spend quite a lot of long car journeys myself with my kids watching Star Trek on DVDs in the back of the car - normally trying to see how long it takes me to figure out which episode it is from the dialogue alone.   So I know about the background noise bit.  Thanks so much for enjoying the story.  Take care.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2015 7:15 PM Title: Chapter 24

I'm absurdly sad to see this story completed. But you brought it to a good end, an end which is an opening for things to come, a starting point for many years together, many stories. Thank you for a story well conceived and well written, thank you so much for posting!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much.  I was slightly sorry to finish it myself, but it was time.  I so much appreciated all your reviews - thank you for being so kind.

Reviewer: Cate Adams Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2015 2:03 AM Title: Chapter 24

Dear Jane,

Thank you so much for this tremendous story.  This last chapter was so moving, and so perfect that it included a peek into the Spock-Sarek-Jim dynamic and how it must have changed over the years and culminating at Seleya.  Throughout this entire story, the depth and dimension of the relationship between our boys was so delicately and yet so deeply conveyed, and I enjoyed it immensely.  Thank you again for all your hard work and for your wonderful talent.

- Cate 



Author's Response:

Dear Cate, you are a kind and lovely and generous person.  Thank you so much for your company and for being such a wonderful reader - Jane

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2015 11:50 PM Title: Chapter 24

This is so well-written. I have enjoyed this immensely. Thank you.



Author's Response:

You are very kind and generous to say so.  Thank you!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2015 9:09 PM Title: Chapter 24

The only thing wrong with this chapter is that it is the last one.  Thank you for a lovely story once more.  Each time i have seen a new chapter I have been delighted and have poured over each with delight.  I am uncertain when I have seen as thorough an analysis of the Kirk and Spock relationship told in such a genuine fashion.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you for being so kind and for all the times you have made the effort to leave a review - it's  much appreciated.  Look after yourself.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2015 5:02 PM Title: Chapter 24

Wow.  What a lovely ending!  I'll have to read it again before I can do more than splutter and flail about, but yay!

 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for sticking with me all the way.

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2015 8:52 AM Title: Chapter 22

This way of KNOWING, that is so very much KIRK. Call it intuition or gut feeling, it is just a deep way of knowing, the capability to see beneath and beyond the visible, the provable.

I very much hope that you will make them find a way to have all those conversations in due time.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I must admit that when I figured out all the episodes I hadn't covered, I realised it could be a life's work.  Still, there's always Part 2!

Reviewer: Dean Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2015 5:41 PM Title: Chapter 23

This is my absolute favourite story at the moment. Great writing, thank you! And don´t let us wait too long for the next chapter, please!!!

Best

Dean



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you, that's really kind.  You made my day.  I have part written the next chapter, just need a bit of free time to finish.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2015 6:33 AM Title: Chapter 23

Very intriguing development! I enjoyed this chapter.



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2015 9:35 PM Title: Chapter 23

Oh, my.  It must have been very hard to write a chapter where Spock is hanging between life and death in the wake of Mr. Nimoy's sad death.  *hug*  Thank you for writing this, and I hope we'll all adjust to the loss in time.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for hanging on with me yourself.  Next chapter coming along and I will try not to delay too much.

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2015 9:31 PM Title: Chapter 23

Ta-da!  You pulled the katra out of thing air.  Congratulations! I was wondering how you would do it.  I am looking forward to the next chapter very much.  Hope that Leonard's death hasn't been difficult for you.  I miss him very much.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this and for taking the time to write.   I still have to figure out how to get the katra back where it belongs, of course.

 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/08/2015 3:57 AM Title: Chapter 22

Beautiful chapter, all those memories that Kirk had hoped to rekindle in Spock now coming to the conscious surface in himself. And I'm sure Kirk's decision is for the best - though I don't have much of a clue how you are going to resolve the mystery. I'm looking forward VERY MUCH to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Yes, well, I'm working on it!  When I've worked it out, you can have the next chapter.  Thanks so much for the feedback, lovely to hear from you.

Reviewer: Cate Adams Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2015 8:18 PM Title: Chapter 22

I really enjoyed this chapter, and I was so hopefully excited about Kirk's realization that something about this whole situation didn't quite fit.  Your ability to weave in all those subtle moments to this narrative is astonishing-like Jim's awareness of Spock through McCoy in STIII.  And Jim's "dismay and disbelief"-there always seemed to be something missing in what Marillus was trying to spin, but as an emotionally compromised reader, I didn't want to get my hopes up too soon.  :)  I love your journey through the history of Kirk and Spock, even through this nail-biting part of the story.  Here's hoping for a happy ending!  :)  -Cate



Author's Response:

You always write such nice reviews.  Thanks so much.  Ending not so far off, apologies for the delay but hoping to have some more free time next week.  Have a good week!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2015 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 22

P. S. -- I also wanted to mention that I loved this line:  the pretence of ignorance of Standard idiom actually constituted a language all of its own.


Reading between the lines, are you saying that Jim is pretty sure that Marillus DOESN'T have Spock's katra, because McCoy intermittently felt like Spock while he carried it, but Marillus never has?  Kind of cool that Kirk's past experience with katra-carriers is useful. ;-)

 



Author's Response:

Thank you, I was pleased with that line so I love that it was appreciated!  The chapter is intended to be slightly opaque - next chapter will be clearer.  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2015 7:15 PM Title: Chapter 22

I love your chapters that meditate on their past missions and squeeze new juice out of them; it's nice to have one like that again.  This is a nice summary of some important aspects of their relationship.

 

Reviewer: kane41 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2015 7:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really love this story! Seeing an update always makes my day. Thanks!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2015 2:33 PM Title: Chapter 22

I almost clapped my hands with delight when I saw your posting this morning.  Even though it was difficult, I waited until I could sit down and give the chapter my undivided attention, and I am not disappointed.  I don't know when I have seen a finer assessment of the relationship between Kirk and Spock, and I loved each word although my anxiety level was through the roof with the notion that Kirk might leave Spock's body behind as directed.

Yet there was a part of me all along that could not believe that Kirk would leave Spock behind as directed.  Even in these most dire of circumstances, I hope that he would find a way.

Thanks for this chapter.  I had just looked the other day to see if you had posted something I had missed, and I am very happy to have this one.  It is a chapter that goes so close to the heart of K/S that I know I will read it frequently in the future.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much - sorry for the gap, things have got rather busy over here, but half way through next chapter.  So glad you are still following and enjoying

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/17/2015 1:49 AM Title: Chapter 21

I have always regarded you writing as some of the most intelligent on the archives and have enjoyed just about every word you have written. Now I find that you not only write smart fiction but are also perfectly capable of writing jaw dropping action and surprises that make my jaw drop.  I have read this chapter three times, and each time when I get to those last lines "And not it is time.  You have no choice,, Captain.  Say your goodbuys to your old friend.  And then get rid of him, the way my father did." I nearly lose my mind every time.  I know Kirk won't do this (please, please, please say you won't let him), but just the idea that someone would tell him to do so makes me crazy.  As usual, I will be waiting anxiously for your next chapter.  Please be kind!



Author's Response:

Next chapter half written and thank you so much for this.  Can't say anything without giving it away, but promise not to take too long about it.  Thanks so much, again.

You must login (register) to review.