Reviews For Holiday Giving
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LdyJulanna Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/24/2021 7:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

love it!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2016 5:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

And how did he thank him

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2015 11:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

A totally cheating up tale that warrants re reading each christmas



Author's Response:

Somehow I'm missing notices. when people have reviewed, which makes me very sad because I LOVE hearing what people think.  Thansk you for commenting and I am honored you think it worth a reread!

Reviewer: Four-Nostril Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2014 8:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

Good story! I know that's an understatement, but I have to start somewhere. I've read it three times already. There are so many good parts here, let me mention a few:

*The shopkeeper. Believable and likeable. It was easy to visualise him standing in a black apron next to the shelves.

*Kirk stashing the gift he dared to buy, not daring to give it.

*McCoy's gift. He was so thoughtful I want to kiss him!

Can I perhaps, among all this praise, give a little bit of criticism? The part with the lottery rules is boring compared to the rest. Maybe it's not necessary to describe the rules in such detail? I understand that it is something we need to understand, but still.



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much.  I'm so happy you enjoyed it enough to reread!  And I love that you picked out particular parts that you liked, and were honest with your criticism.  Yes, I think that section is a little boring too.  For some reason narrating and summarizing comes a little harder to me than other kinds of writing, (such as dialog) and I do have a tendancy to go overboard on detail that would be better if written more simply.  Reviews and critiques are so fullfilling and I am so happy to hear what you think.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2014 3:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you so much for writing and posting this, it was lovely. Just the right amount of solemnity mixed with tenderness, and all the fun of Christmas.  Thanks again, I look forward to finding what else you've written. 



Author's Response:

Yeah!  A new review (so love those).  Thank you so much for the compliments - I really did enjoy writing a story for the advent and I'm very happy you enjoyed it.  Some of my other pieces (especially the first few) are overdue for some fixup so do please include in any review anything that struck you as off and I'll take that into consideration when I start my tidying.

Reviewer: kitbaker123 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2013 9:34 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a very satisfying read, thank you!  I loved the very original Vulcan traditions ('you have met in the sand?) which gave a unique viewpoint!  Spock's cousin as the storekeeper - classic!  Much fun with the 'Secret Santa', too!  Finally, I really enjoyed the (ahem) more romantic scenes towards the end, too...   ;-)



Author's Response:

Oh - thank you so much for letting me know you enjoyed it - and especially the parts you liked best.  I had a lot of fun with this story and am so glad that it worked for you.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 11:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

My god! Was bones even allowed to do that?*rofl*



Author's Response:

lol.  Well, probably not (grin).... but hey - this is fiction - we can have him do whateveer we want, right?  I'm sure he had some kind of waiver read for Jim to sign (and who reads the fine print - really!)  Glad you enjoyed enough to comment.

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 10:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh where to start? I suppose with I love betaing for you because your KS stories are always unique and the dialogue, for me, always reads so in character. Also, you take my commentary very well lolol. I know I can be a little snarky, and you'll get a kick out of it. You are very receptive to concrit and again, your stories are just always so surprising. My favorite thing about this, which is probably the least awesome bit of it, is that Bones little puzzle is a homemade Jim-porn holovid lololol. And that it was so sweet, the build up to Spock solving it, and then boom--its a clinical nudey bid. Hahahhah. Loved that!! Looking forward to your next one.



Author's Response:

(((Pam))).  Yes I absolutely do love it when you get snarky in an edit.  Makes me giggle and feel loved!  I'm so happy I can write something a little unexpected.  I honestly don't know where the ideas come from, but I have to admit I'm pretty much in awe of our Dr. Bones McCoy's balls in this story, lol.  Wish I knew what Spock has figured out to say to him when they next meet (the muse hasn't told me) - bet it's something subtle and open to multiple interpretations.  

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 9:03 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoy reading a story that flows so well. I love the fact that you also separate your paragraphs often, making me read this in no time flat. What a creative mind you have. When you think you're read all the rituals for bonding and so forth, you surprise us with this little gem. Today, my daughter was just talking about the fact they were going to be doing a Secret Santa, which made me think and giggle of Spock's very blatant chocolate body paint gift to Jim. That McCoy is one sneaky bugger isn't he? Love, love, loved it. Looking forward to next year, but hopefully, you'll be writing something else soon.

Author's Response:

Well thank you!  It bugs the heck out of me if something is formatted a little off, but I didn't realize that it was something other people appreciate too.  I'm glad the extra time was worth it.  I just wish I'd given Bones a little more read-time.  I might have been able to sneak in a hint to what was coming earlier in the story - whet peoples appetites a little.  I'm so happy you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2013 7:52 AM Title: Chapter 1

I hope Jim cooperated on those naked pix, otherwise, hello lack of boundaries.


Thought the kinda sorta forbidden love (or at least kinda naughtiness) was cool. Also the whole mutual masturbation thing is rock. I like how Spock finessed the news to his family. Very diplomatic.



Author's Response:

Yes - I expect Bones had him sign some kind of a waiver, don't you?  'What do you mean, what is it for?  It's for instructional purposes, Jim.  What - you think I'm going to pop the images in a holo and sell it for extra credits?  Just sign the damn thing, and lets get on with these exercises, all right?'  lol.  Seriously thank you SO much for your comments.  I love knowing what people enjoy out of these stories!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 11:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  That was gorgeous, just beautifully done!

When I saw that you'd written a new story, I was happy, because I usually like your stories.  Then I read the summary and thought, "Oh, no!  Not a drunk-on-chocolate Spock.  Those are always so stupid."  And then I read what you had written, and it was GLORIOUS! 

You've created some interesting but plausible Vulcan traditions, had Jim come to some important realizations, had Spock ponder his goals, then had them join together in a way that was sexy while still being emotion- and character-centric. 

Anyway, I love this story, and I take back my disappointed thoughts about Spock on chocolate. 

(Amusingly enough, I posted a story myself last night about Spock and chocolate that's also rather a departure from the norm.  It's not here, though, because it's a gen story, not K/S centric.  But I'm amused that you and I were both posting unusual Spock chocolate stories at the same time! :-D)

One minor correction, to make your story slightly stronger:  "Discrete" means "separate."  The word that means "circumspect" or "unobtrusive" is spelled "discreet."

 

 



Author's Response:

Oh shoot - thanks for that catch - will go fix it.  What a WONDERFUL reviewer you are.  I'll be honest - I don't really mind reading Spock drunk on chocolate stories - some of them are pretty sweet.  But I got to thinking that if it really is an intoxicant to Vulcan's they would never 'indulge' except under very special circumstances... and therein was born my story.  I'm especially happy that you thought I kept them character-centric.  That is always the most important thing to me.  I honestly was just a touch disappointed with how the Muse insisted this story went, because I'd had in mind a truly relentlessly sexy and hot and explicit explosion of passion, and it turned out a little more hmmm mundane, shall I say?  However, I don't mind too much since I still had fun and... especially since I still got some lovely reviews like yours.

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

McCoy's gift, hilarious! XDD



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for commenting.  I sure had a lot of fun thinking about this.  Poor Spock wasn't quite expecting that from our dear doctor, was he? 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 11:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ha ha ha, what a great cheer you up heartwarming tale. McCoy a true slash artist And a new medium moving holosculpture.



Author's Response:

Isn't McCoy clever in this story?  I sure had fun thinking of him creating the little challenge and reward for Spock.

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 5:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

Sweeeeet! Though I would've loved to see our boys do the meeting in the sands ritual! A sequel perhaps?



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm so happy you enjoyed it.  I do want to do a meeting in the sands ritual at some point.  (Originally thought I might do that with Jim's body paint but I was worn out by the time I got to the end of this fic.  Kind of long!)  

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2013 4:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

I can't even tell you how much I enjoyed this story.  I am a sucker for Vulcan tradition and politics and you hit the right notes with the gifts.  Perfect.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you so much!  I love comments like this where I learn what people liked.  I am not sure how close I came to 'canon' with Vulcan tradition and politics but I sure had fun with Spock's cousin.  Glad you enjoyed the gifts too.

You must login (register) to review.