Reviews For Air
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/2019 1:39 AM Title: See, I Stand Before the Door and Knock

I couldn't figure out how to reply to your comment, so I've just added another one.  Read your reply and it made total sense to me.  I've always sort of thought Spock might over compensate based on his experiences when young, but your explanation that family styles might differ make absolute sense to me.  I mean I was raised Cathololic, but we never said grace while my cousins households did.  Just a small observance, but clearly each family / broader community might differ.   I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.  

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2019 12:24 PM Title: See, I Stand Before the Door and Knock

I very much enjoyed this story and look forward to the rest of the series.  In particular, the relationship between Spock and McCoy. I personally can't imagine you could share someone's katra and then have no greater appreciation for what drives them. This story recognizes that wonderfully. I was so glad when Leonard asked Spock for assistance. I also like the developing relationship with T'Kray. 

I admit I am not entirely clear why she is less reticent in expressing her emotions.  I am curious as to whether she was always this way. If you don't mind me asking, are you suggesting that there are different degrees of adherence to Surak's principles on Vulcan.  OR that she is an outlier and has made a personal choice.  I think the former makes a lot of sense, but I was not clear. 

I also liked how you explained the difference between a first arranged marriage and later pairings. The logic worked for me.



Author's Response:

First of all: Thank you very much for the rating and the review!

And secons ... *clears throat* You asked for this.

Generally, any philosophy can be read in different ways. I have two colleagues who remind me of that on a regular basis. They are of same faith but very, very different views. I love listening to them debating and reading completely opposing things in the same text. The same will be true for Vulcans. The truth is, we have no idea what exactly Surak wrote, how precisely he worded his philosophy. Perhaps not all that exactly because to him it was all very logical and he presumed anyone else, who also applied logic, would come to the same conclusion. So my assumption was always that the interpretation of Surak’s teachings varies from family from family with a bit of individual interpretation mixed in.

T’Kray is a bit of a foil to Spock – although not an antagonistic one, as is often the case. Spock seems to try to out-vulcan all the Vulcans, at least until the end of TMP. I never had the impression that any other Vulcan we meet in any of the series is that … Vulcan. It makes sense. He’s ridiculed as a kid and makes up for it tenfold. Then he decides to join Starfleet, has a falling-out with his father, and – in my universe here – runs into T’Kray. He’s in a bit of a recalcitrant mood at that time, which is why he helps with her thesis, spends time around a Vulcan who wouldn’t give a damn if he’s a hybrid or not, and he mellows a bit. That is until he goes off on a starship with a bunch of humans, who have a certain expectation of a Vulcan – and he fulfils that. In Where No Man Has Gone Before he does seem a bit softer than later, his expression more readable. That had other reasons, of course, but that isn’t stopping me from saying he flipped a small switch somewhere between that and Charlie X. Maybe McCoy with his teasing was the cause, since he doesn’t join until then. He’d be horrified by that.

As for T’Kray, I assume her stance – imprinted by her family – was always on the more liberal side. She went to study psychology and the subject of her major thesis would confirm her stance that suppression is not the way to go but control. Also surrounded (mostly) by humans, she didn’t try to fulfil expectations but to function in their society. She would try to seem somewhat more approachable, or she’d have a hard time doing her job. On Dainam, where she landed only a brief time after she left the Academy, this continued. Where Spock became more rigid in a similar social environment (both the crew of the Enterprise and the rebellion are tight-knit groups with a common interest that takes precedence over personal matters), she let herself soften by raising a child with special needs and becoming the right hand of a strongly telepathic priestess with no understanding of personal space.

To answer your question: a little bit of both. She started out on the more open-minded end of the spectrum and her individual experiences and choices reinforced that and made her what she is here. How a bunch of other Vulcans see her and what they think of her comes up in Fire.

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2019 2:29 AM Title: My Heart is Black, My Soul is Bleeding

I know you posted this quite some time ago, but so glad you posted a German translation.  I put the first part through google translate and it told me that there was an English version.  You are reeling me in like a fish on a line.  Enjoying how you are slowly providing more details.  It is keeping me guessing.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it! I had half a mind to just send the German text to a friend and not post it. Now I'm glad I chose otherwise. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I appreciate it a lot - especially six years later.

While translating this, I remember how much I enjoyed writing it and how much I forced myself out of my own comfort zone (for example keeping the rating low in the main story despite the occasional horrible stuff that goes on). Now I force myself to get my head into a mindframe for creative writing in my native language because I haven't done that in a long, long time. It seems this is where I go when I need to exercise.

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2014 12:39 PM Title: See, I Stand Before the Door and Knock

I wrote most of this review and somehow it disappeared - so I'm trying again. 

This story was a pleasure to read. Very creative. Nice to see some science in the science fiction. McCoy especially was beautifully written, as was Spock. And I agree, the  bacteria had to be kept from the outsiders  - too  bad T'Vray couldn't find a way to preserve it for the Vainal. And how are the humans on Dainan to be cured of their genetic defects and thier version of neonazism? Bring on the sequel!



Author's Response:

Thanks a lot!

Given their side-effects, the bacteria couldn't be left to the Vainal. The sequel hasn't got anything to do with Dainam, directly, but in the third or the last part I'll answer all the open questions (about the bacteria and what happened to the humans on Dainam).

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2013 12:36 PM Title: See, I Stand Before the Door and Knock

Another lover of baroque music! And Britten... I'd love to see you weave in some 16th century polyphony!



Author's Response:

I'm in fact a sucker for Thomas Tallis. And I've known him looong before the Tudors. I also appreciate Fux, and not only because he's my compatriot. He's not that much earlier than Bach, but he sounds earlier, I feel.

If you like polyphony I recommend you to check out Ockeghem, if you don't know him. That's 15 ct. and very unique music.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2013 4:17 PM Title: See, I Stand Before the Door and Knock

Okay, my 'ships are all united at the end, I'm happy!


Destroying the bacteria does seem harsh. Don't the Vainal have a right to self-determination?



Author's Response:

Yes, of course it's harsh. The problem is that their ritual somehow (and I intend to be say about that in the series what I never got to say here, but very likely either in the third or the fourth (and obviously last) part) caused people to ... well. They always do this in threes. So you have three Vainal (or whatever) undergo the ritual. And somehow, three people that are supposed to be dead (and have absolutely nothing to do with each other) appear in a (supposedly) random place and are more or less alive. If they do not have the incredible luck to fall into the hands of a telepath they die again, pure and simple. Since they tend to appear (usually) near the place they died, a wife may well find a deceased husband in her living room, unconscious and impossible to save.

Spock explains that in chapter five, although he says they appear in pairs. The reason for that will come as well. This is why T'Kray decides quite soon the ritual cannot continue.

Apart from that, even if the bacteria are gone, with Avrinjù dead and T'Kray done, no-one would be able to do it anyway. Not that she knew that when she burnt that room down.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2013 3:23 AM Title: Are Lightning and Thunder Extinguished in the Clouds

I used my trusty youtube to pull up RV 558. Surely this is a mistake? It seemed a bit laid back for a racist fascist lynch mob scene. In fact, listening to it, the word insipid comes to mind. Perhaps you mean to recommend it as writing inspiration rather than background to reading? I must admit to doing some of my best work with Handel's Dixit Dominus on replay, which... well... just read the text.

‘Choose what you like. Something calm, I would suggest.’

Vivaldi Harp Concerto in D Major. It is shweeeeeet.

 

‘Yeah. I’m sure it was a very well thought-out, entirely logical decision.’ Spock raised an obligatory eyebrow.


Lol.


I love how nerdy your writing is. Please don't stop.



Author's Response:

For the racist lynch mob I have the chapter heading. I thought of the second movement of the concerto as the 'something calm'. I wasn't very precise there. I'll specify, if I remember to! *cough*

 

The fact that I actually like the nerdy writing as a compliment speaks for itself, no? Hehe.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2013 3:55 AM Title: Right Is and Remains Eternally Right

re: Bones, I never thought about that before, all the other times he's been possessed... there was the Teacher in the idiotic Spock's Brain episode, but he did that willingly. I like the way you dealt with the issues from Mirror, Mirror, although I think Bones is being too defeatist about it. Glad that Avrinju put her foot down about this assassination business.



Author's Response:

The teacher ... I suppressed that memory. And Bones is being somewhat more uncooperatove than is necessary.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2013 8:50 AM Title: Not Enough

I feel like with the Enterprise no longer in the picture, Kirk's loyalties are not divided and there is really nothing standing in the way of his bonding with Spock.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2013 4:39 AM Title: Run Ye Souls Whom Care Oppresses

oh noes!



Author's Response:

I know that was an evil place to end a chapter. I'll post the next one in a few minutes, I promise!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2013 4:25 AM Title: Here I Stand, I Can Do No Other

I never knew all of that about transfusions, with the Rh factor. I mean, I know about ABO. Loving the Leonard McCoy/T'Kray ship.



Author's Response:

Ha, that makes me happy!

I had no idea where that would go and changed my mind like five times while writing. But I had a lot of fun writing their interactions, and I'm glad it works for you as well. :)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 7:37 AM Title: Suivez le Guide

I found the introduction of the chromosomal disorders very interesting. Also the impending environmental disaster.



Author's Response:

Thank you! This is part of why I did raise the rating after all.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 3:35 AM Title: May Your Growth be Steady

What are you talking about? Red cabbage juice is awesome! Get outta town!


It's so cool to read a lab scene written by someone who's actually seen the inside of a lab. *dies of the coolness*



Author's Response:

Awesome indeed, but not as precise as he might like :)

Thanks a lot!

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 1:24 AM Title: May Your Growth be Steady

Now this is getting interesting. You are really putting the science back into science fiction, which I welcome.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 6:11 AM Title: Sigmund's Revenge

McCoy's compassion is really a theme of this story, isn't it?



Author's Response:

Indeed :) He did, to a degree, hijack this story. But since this is a larger project, I let him for a while.

Thanks for the review, feedback is always welcome.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 5:58 AM Title: My Heart is Black, My Soul is Bleeding

I liked the stuff about the NFOs, that was really interesting. McCoy and Spock's reaction to the stranger who isn't such a stranger was a good moment.


I like T'Kray as a character. At first she is just a victim of circumstances, but over time we see a strong personality.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2013 9:58 PM Title: Sigmund's Revenge

Oh, this was a pwoerful chapter. Bach's "I stand with one foot in the grave" resonated throughout.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2013 7:13 PM Title: The Soul of Friendship

It's a relief that they made it through the ceremony in one piece. Looking forward to the science and other exposition in the next chapters.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2013 12:43 AM Title: My Heart is Black, My Soul is Bleeding

Your use of the "confront now, explain later" technique was very effective. I wish it were used more often in fan fic; many stories contain too much explaining.



Author's Response:

Good to see that my experiments actally work out! XD

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2013 11:35 PM Title: Follow You to Hell

I like the way you are gradually revealing th secrets of this story, and your comment about how you using the choice of nsrrators shows that real artistry has gone into this.



Author's Response:

Thanks again! Perspective is something I often consider very thoroughly, and here especially so. In this fandom most people seem to stick with last names, and at first that was what I did. But it just sounded wrong. ;)

You must login (register) to review.