You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2017 8:32 PM Title: Gamma Shift

Jim's got a girlfriend huh? Anyway this was good I like the rivalry between Jim and Gary. I actually had a similar trash incident happen to me and I just saw it coming lol I am really enjoying this and look forward to more chapters in the future when you are ready to write light hearted stuff again. Thank you for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Yep, Jim's got a girlfriend here. And Gary is still a jerk, as always. I don't think anyone escapes such a trash incident like the one poor Jim experienced. It happened to me too. It's like a twisted rite of passage, isn't it, to have a garbage bag just tear open and explode onto you right as it's above your head? Thank you for reading this fic of mine, trekkie1701, and for leaving fun and lovely feedback! ~ RK 

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2017 1:16 AM Title: Initiation

Well at least that is one similaritie between the first nu!trek movie and this AU Jim and Spock are tense. Hopefully they will go back to how they were before the "test". Perhaps Jim proves himself in an extraordinary way and gains Spocks respect, dare I say admiration ;)



Author's Response:

Thank you for leaving another comment. The relationship between Spock and Kirk will indeed thaw over time. It may take a while, but their tension will slowly evaporate. ~ RK 

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2017 7:12 PM Title: Starfleet Academy

Ah the good old job orientation training, I agree with Jim 110%. I'm so happy Bones got in this the way he did and it will be interesting how things get since Jim bested Spock.



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed Bones's introduction to this story. Always frustrated and a little gruff wherever he goes. As for Spock, well...he's definitely a little miffed that Kirk beat his score. ~ RK 

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2017 5:30 PM Title: Welcome to Starfleet

I didn't think Pike would be such a hard ass but my gosh this reminds me so much of my first day at my last job lol I love the interaction between Spock and Jim. I laughed out loud over the employee cup. 



Author's Response:

Yes, that employee cup policy. I've experienced it. Hilarious in its absurdity. I'm afraid I did make Pike slightly more neurotic and frantic than we may be used to seeing, but even Pike would lose his calm and cool in the ridiculousness that is a food service managerial position. :) Thank you for commenting and reading! ~ RK 

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2017 5:02 PM Title: Job Hunting

Awesome a coffee shop AU! 



Author's Response:

Thank you! ~ RK 

Reviewer: macywinstar Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2015 2:00 AM Title: Gamma Shift

I just  came across your story.  I like the concept.  It's refreshing to read something that is "outside the box" of regular Star Trek stories.  Looking forward to more chapters.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you are enjoying this lighthearted tale that this one is.  Eventually, when I need to write something a little less dark, this one will probably be the first thing updated.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/30/2014 6:02 PM Title: Gamma Shift

Oooh, a false alarm! I'm glad you do plan to update for real. I know you are working on som darker and more serious stories, and I do hope to read and review those as well, but I am enjoying this one.



Author's Response:

I know!  I'm sorry...I accidentally clicked on the wrong one...Didn't even realize it until it had already registered as an update.  Felt like an idiot.  I do plan to slowly add installments to this story, though, and not on accident, at soem points - probably when I need to write something lighthearted.  Glad you like this one, too!  Next time it will not be a trick update.  ~ RK

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/05/2014 12:15 AM Title: Initiation

You know Spock is actually really sweet even ig Jim hasn't realized it yet. Without asking, Spock took his coffee and supplied him a pen. Then he stood nearby to keep Puri at bay without asking, and then he tried to help assist in Jim's training though it was unneeded. Spock being jealous about Jim beating his score though is cute. Got to love the two of them.



Author's Response:

Spock's a sweetheart, isn't he?  Glad you are enjoying this so far.  Thanks for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2014 11:56 PM Title: Starfleet Academy

Lol, yeah I just got hired at Petsmart and I have to sit through hours upon hours of videos and instructions on the computer complete with book work. Seriously there is 42 hours worth of this crap. Just showing me how its done is so much easier.



Author's Response:

Right?  Aren't these simulations just...tedious?  It's much better training to learn by doing, but I suppose it is less cost effective for the business...maybe.  Hang in there through those!  You can do it! ~ RK

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2014 11:10 PM Title: Job Hunting

LOL A vulcan as a minimum wage employee. I can't even comprehend that with them being so smart and all, but my god is that image funny in my head.



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading.   Having worked in a place like this for a few years, I came to realize that there are some quite intelligent people there that have no other choice but to work there if they want to pay their bills and buy their groceries.  But, eventually, they are able to move on.  (I like to think of myself among them.)  Hope you continue to enjoy this. ~ RK

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2014 11:15 PM Title: Gamma Shift

I missed this back when it was posted, and just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it and that I hope you will keep posting this story, It's hilarious to see the Star Trek characters working at minium wage jobs, but this story is much more than that. In this chapter, I'm impressed with the complexity of operations in a coffee shop. I'll never look at the staff of my local Starbucks the same way again. Keeping all the parts moving in the right direction, managing employees with difficult personalities and doing good public relations with the customers really requires a lot of skill. Maybe it's not so different from the Enterprise as one would think! I suspect you have experience running a shop like this. Hope you do continue to post.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you found this one.  It was a nice way to write about both the stresses and (rare, though) joys of working at a coffee shop.  I have worked at one such place for a few years, and ended up being a variety of different positions there during that time - been Spock's job, Gaila's job, Kirk's job, and Number One's job - so I know many of these characters' perspectives.  I do plan to update this story and to finish it.  Haven't even really gotten to Scotty, Sulu, or Chekov yet.  They're coming, though.  For now, though, my Traitors' Sons story is taking over my life - that and work/school.  Keep a look out for this story eventually.  Thank you for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2014 8:06 PM Title: Gamma Shift

I'm enjoying this fic very much.  I loved how it's mentioned that Spock is a polite, but not a friendly person.  That's so true - he won't bring in any repeat customers!  Great chapter!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you enjoy this.  It's so fun to write these characters experiencing the environment of the retail life.  More eventually...when I need to write something a little more lighthearted.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Dachshund Mom Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/18/2014 5:21 PM Title: Job Hunting

Enjoying this story. Well written. Hope you update soon.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you are enjoying it so far.  More to come.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Everlasting Purple Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2014 5:04 PM Title: Initiation

Love this! Hope you write more!



Author's Response:

Glad you like it!  I just outlined the next chapter, so I hope to start busting it out soon.  Had to figure out how much detail and attention I wanted to give to Kirk's training before we get to all the other fun things I have planned.  Thank you for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2013 12:39 AM Title: Initiation

I really do love how Spock is so by-the-book that it annoyes the other emploees.  I'm looking forward to seeing how Jim and Spock will continue to interact.



Author's Response:

Jim and Spock will interact for a while, and things will be fun.  Filled with the petty drama of the minimum wage employee's life, and the obnoxious customers.  Good times. Glad you like it so far. ~ RK

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 6:47 PM Title: Initiation

I'm so glad to see more of this story. Everyone cotninues to be so in character, and the details of the minimum-wage jobs are fascinating.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  Glad you are still enjoying this one.  It's a fun one to write.  The coffee-shop employee's life is so dramatic...makes for fun storytelling, though! ~ RK

Reviewer: Everlasting Purple Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/05/2013 1:35 PM Title: Starfleet Academy

Awesome! This is so fun. I really hope you keep going with it.



Author's Response:

I definitely will keep going.  Unfortunately, my computer and back-up drive both decided to crash/malfunction within 24 hours of each other.  I lost so many notes, prompts, and the actual stories I had because of this.  Once I get them as rebuild/recompiled/rewritten as acceptable, updates will resume.  It's been a rough week.  Thank you for the review!  ~ RK

Reviewer: Nessi of the lake called Ness Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2013 11:09 PM Title: Starfleet Academy

This is really good! I have not seen the coffie shop AU before. I am looking foreword to the next chapter.

 

Nessi



Author's Response: Thank you! Real life makes for entertaining AUs, right? Glad you are enjoying it so far. ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2013 3:03 AM Title: Starfleet Academy

This was quite the enjoyable chapter and I love Kirk's interaction with Spock.  It's like Spock is perplexed by Kirk and doesn't know what to do about it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Spock is definitely not sure what to think of Kirk yet.  He'll figure it out soon, when they work together.  ~ RK

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2013 2:08 AM Title: Welcome to Starfleet

I love Spock quoting regulations and Pike getting annoyed!  And aww, Kirk seems to have his eye on Spock even as he flirts with Uhura.  This was a really enjoyable chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  Someone I worked with actually did what Spock does - quoted that handbook like it was part of the job duties.  A stupidly massive amount of the events of this story is based on real life.  Next chapter is in progress.  McCoy makes his first appearance. Hope you like the next one, too.  ~ RK

You must login (register) to review.