Reviews For Storm
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Pookie Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2018 8:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow! This was a truly great story! Loved it!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2016 12:19 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a wonderful story, I love the way you describe Spock and T'Pring, that T'Pring wasn't a cold hearted bitch, that they tried to have a normal relationship but the decision was unknowingly made for them.

Thank you for this, I'm off to read your other work.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2015 2:18 AM Title: Chapter 3

This is a truly gorgeous story.  I love the insight into Kirk that you have, especially in that conversation in the dream of them as cadets.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2014 6:31 AM Title: Chapter 3

What a wonderful story!  Thank you for a real journey.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2014 6:05 AM Title: Chapter 2

Love the idea of the training exercise you mentioned.  That's one of the things I love about fan fiction -- that it can show us things that could never have made it into the show.

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/15/2013 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 3

I don't know what to say. When I started reading this...the beginning reminded me of my early childhood, since I also lived on a farm, and still do...the paint sticking to your skin...making yourself fly higher and higher on those swings. I think we all did that at one time. 

Later on we find out that Jim has changed..but no one will tell him, how he's changed. Jim was getting damn frustated and I didn't blame him, so was I. 

Your story truly moved me, that I wish I could convey my thoughts into words..

I was intrigued by the title that you used, and now I do understand why you chosed that title..it comes full circle in the end...

A truly brilliant read. Thanks so much for sharing.

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/15/2013 12:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was a wonderful and very rich story.  I loved how you built the story of what happened to Jim through his own eyes, and made it very believable how he had 'changed'.  I think you did a wonderful job of creating reasonable backgrounds for Jim and Spock - the perspectives they each had to fight against, the conflict between keepin the love and respect for people who were none-the-less wrong and at the same time wanting to live a life where you break above all that.  This is really much more than a Spock/Kirk story.  Reminds me of my own grandmother who lived through the depression and was - like many others of her time - bigoted toward people who were not white, not heterosexual or not Christian. It's not as if she preached it, and she probably didn't even think about it.  It would only come out in a comment about a tv show or actor that would strike me as odd, as offbase.  She was my most favorite person in the world.  Yet she could say things that made me worry what I absorbed unknowingly from her, and also made me wonder what it must have been like to have grown up in her era.  What things did she take for granted, because that is what most others also throught was true?    Thank you for this thought-provoking story.  

Reviewer: kitbaker123 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 4:41 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you!  This was a fantastic read: very absorbing and with that lovely, natural, flow where you can relax and completely lose yourself in the story.  I started reading this before work this morning, had to break off (grrr), then came home and dished up dinner over an hour late because reading a final chapter IS more important than chicken! Your Kirk & Spock are beautifully written and sympathetic.  GREAT idea by the way - I didn't see it coming nor the arch villain that is T'Pau!!  The final paragraphs saw me sniffling a bit: this is a VERY rare event!  I love K/S fanfic but it is a rare treat to read something like your story.  Oh, no!  You have more I haven't read... luckily it's the weekend so I can indulge!! I'm rather excited...

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 3:13 AM Title: Chapter 3

This has been a very good reading and I enjoyed it. I even forgot about that particular suspect! Thanks for throwing this loop in and may all live long and prosper!

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 2:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is a fascinating story, based on intriguing science fiction premise and a look-back to the Eugenics Wars that I've always wanted to read in fan fic, with great characterization. Looking forward to reading the rest of the chapters, but wanted to weigh in now since it may take me a while to read the rest.

Reviewer: Alfalfa Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 2:17 AM Title: Chapter 3

Such a compelling backstory for Kirk, his family situation.  Kirk's Mom in particular moved me.   This piece of dialogue will stay with me--so heartbreaking and vivid.  

“I want to go back. Out there,” she says. “The stars took your father from me, but I still want to go back to them. That’s horrible of me, it’s unforgivable. But I can’t help it. When I close my eyes I should see your father’s face. Instead I see the stars shining—not the way they do here, on Earth, but the way they do out in deep space, like a million sharp, clear eyes.”

Kirk is definitely his mother's son.  You managed to blend the unique background of Gray Gram and Kirk's spacefaring parents with the Tarsus canon and made all these pieces fit Storm's Kirk.   The conversation where Kirk defended his Gray Gram to McCoy was effective and touching.  Perhaps this is a minor point, but I also find it believable that T'Pring at first tried to help Spock, before their relationship degenerated into something rancorous.  

The dream with Kirk and Spock at Academy moved me (yes, I know I keep saying 'moved' over and over... ;)    Spock's praising Kirk's 'supreme arrogance' and pledging his support in Kirk's bid to restore the world to Kirk's vision of how it should be...  just the right amount of intimacy-- it would be so easy to give young Kirk and Spock too much early ardor...  That this dream should be Kirk's creation, because unlike his dreams with Gray Gram this Academy scene couldn't have been real, made it extra poignant to me.  

Kirk's dreams were very effective, particularly in the sequence you chose, culminating in the dream where Kirk figured out how to keep both himself and Spock alive during Spock's plaktow... so powerful.  

The conversation where Spock first called Kirk 't'hy'la'...  I'm tempted to quote the entire thing, but then I'd have no space for my rant about how wonderful your dialogue is--so true to the characters, so insightful... the resolution (of that conv.) is neither too easily reached nor too convoluted, just enough of a tug on the heart to be gratifying, to feel like the characters broke through the impasse.   And the return of humor... 'we do make better better decisions as a team, no matter what the tactical situation.'   After the unrelenting tension of the Shaper then Gol, a welcome respite--very apt handling of the tension and suspense throughout. 

Thank you for this.    Please consider posting even more of your wonderful writing online :)

Reviewer: pintospirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 12:45 AM Title: Chapter 3

Wow. That last paragraph really got me. So good. 

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2013 12:43 AM Title: Chapter 3

" If we have the courage to question the boundaries we’ve drawn around our comfortable lives, to move beyond our prejudices and fears, then we can bring compassion and justice to an uncaring universe."

That is absolutely beautiful!  Thank you so much for sharing!

~AKO

You must login (register) to review.