Reviews For Common Cause
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2018 6:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing! This is brilliantly written, like all your work; I've never seen Kirk & Spock's internal thoughts written the way you write them, and I loved seeing what you did with the various ST storylines/characters. This is the kind of story where one requires a great deal of self-discipline to stop reading and go to work/bed/etc., or just go do something else for a bit, so it's not over too soon. I will be re-reading all your stories (I owe you comments on the others as well), and would of course be delighted to read anything you write in the future. Life is better when reading your stories :)

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2016 6:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

There's a review on the Trek Core site for a published TOS novel that I think is nowhere near as good as this story of yours, so I've left a comment there, telling people to read "Common Cause" instead.  (I left the link to this story on the FanFiction site, though, since I thought that site might be more generally accessible than the K/S Archive.)

Anyway, I thought you'd like to know, and I hope you get a few additional readers because of it!

 



Author's Response:

That was so kind of you.  Sorry for only just picking this up but just wanted to thank you.  I hope you have a lovely Christmas and a happy 2017.

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2013 7:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a well-written story!  I truly appreciate the time you took to think through the plot points.  Unfortunately, those are often muddled through in fan fiction in an effort to quickly get to the "juicy parts".  Speaking of "juicy parts", although this story technically doesn't have any, I have seldom read a better rendition of the internal dialogue and workings of the minds of both Kirk and Spock in relation to themselves and to each other.  This is the way Kirk and Spock are supposed to be in my opinion - strong, very intelligent men who have deep feelings for one another but also for their duty to Starfleet not cartoon characters with teen sensibilities who happen to be wearing the faces of Kirk and Spock (sorry for the tirade here).  I look forward to re-reading this story many times.   Only point of constructive criticism is your handling of McCoy.  He comes through very one-dimentional in this story and I find it difficult to reconcile him being completely uninvolved with handling, researching and otherwise dealing with the epidemic (although to your credit you did try to explain that).  But given that he is truly a minor character in this story, this did little to subtract from its overall effect.  I hope that you will gift us with more of your writing in the very near future. I will be looking out for it.



Author's Response:

I've been abroad for a few days or I would have replied sooner to this - such a kind review and thank you so much for taking the time and being so nice and giving me such detailed feedback.  Entirely agree with you about cartoon teenager Kirk and Spock characterisation so delighted that you think I avoided it.  Also entirely agree with you about McCoy - sorry about that.  I was sort of aware I was doing it, but never quite managed to get him properly into the plot.  Might try to re-write him a bit, as I rather enjoy writing McCoy, more than I originally thought I would.  Any, I'm rambling.   Thank you again!

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2013 9:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Just started reading this story & I'm really enjoying it! Loved the tension in the latest chapter with Kirk's illness, and I also really like your original characters.

 

Looking forward to more!



Author's Response:

You're so kind to take the time to write this, thank you so much.  I'm so glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 9:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have two daughters and they are both fine, thank you!  And to tell you the truth, you've had me too wound up in your story to worry about holes.  As far as I'm concerned, you just keep doing what you're doing.  :)



Author's Response:

Just keep checking your daughters' hands for scaly skin.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 4:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Since not hearing anything, I'm almost surprised Jim wasn't worried that Spock took off with his ship again.  And I'm really surprised that Spock risked melding with the M3 when he suspected it was behaving erratically.  He was damn lucky the thing let him go!  I don't know about Jim and Sam, but speaking from my own point of view, if my daughter caught some kind of fatal virus, I would grasp at any straw including a Vulcan guru if he offered any kind of hope.  I was excited to see an update, thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reviewing and for being so kind.  I am always happy to admit to my failings, and I think I am better at prose than plot, so you'll probably find lots of holes.  I do hope your daughter is enjoying perfect health.  Thank you again, it makes such a difference to hear from people.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2013 2:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Cue dramatic music -- duh, duh, du-u-u-uh. So we add a conflicted Spock to the fall-out from the betrayal of trust from Starbase Eleven -- excellent idea. Love the complexity of the mirror scenario between Eli and Manoriss and the parallel fault-lines. And I for one won't quibble about the detour from canon. On tenterhooks now for next installment. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for being kind, including about my detour..  hope no one gets travel sick.  Next instalment may be slightly delayed by summer holiday but is in production.  

Reviewer: lisbei Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/17/2013 7:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, Sybok. Always causing trouble.



Author's Response:

But Trek writers depend on trouble...  thanks so much for staying with me and for taking the trouble to write.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2013 2:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

Another Jane D story!  Be still my beating heart!  I turned off the TV, turned on the music, and sat enthralled by every word.  Trouble in paradise?  I'm sure you'll make this an interesting ride and am looking forward to further updates.



Author's Response:

Hello again, how nice to hear from you.  I hope you didn't miss anything special on TV.  Thank you so much for this.

Reviewer: lisbei Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2013 7:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just created an account to be able to review this chapter - I really love it!


I love stories in which the characters' voices are so distinct, and so perfectly in character, this was a pleasure to read. Very curious as to where this is going, besides Deneva, the planet of horror, brr. I know it's become fashionable to laugh about the buzzing amoebas, but I know that when I first watched this episode, at age 8, I was terrified. It was the one episode of Star Trek which scared me so much I couldn't sleep.

I know I'm going to love this story, and I'm off to read the rest of your writing!



Author's Response:

How lovely of you to create an account to review this and thank you for such an encouraging and kind review.  It really makes a huge difference to me.

Re Deneva - Star Trek is no laughing matter as far as I am concerned, with the one exception of Deneva, which I'm afraid I've always associated with flying fried eggs.  I know, I know - I manage reverence for almost every other episode, and now you tell me I am being fashionable to laugh at the amoebas; such a shame.  I was always scared of Dr Who as a child, but not Trek.

Also re Deneva - please heed the warning.  I am going to mess up a whole load of TOS storylines in this one.  I am hoping not to annoy too many people, and certainly no one who has been so kind.

Reviewer: Rostnq Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2013 8:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

Great subject matter and really well written..



Author's Response:

Thank you, that's such an encouraging and friendly first review.  Really kind of you to make the effort.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2013 4:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh yes. Another Jane D story and well worth the wait. This is exactly how I think Kirk would react to Talos IV. Bury his betrayal, try to understand with every ounce of his command intelligence, attempt to go back to the former status quo, and of course bury the incandescent fury that anyone, let alone SPOCK, would steal his beloved ship right from under him. And LIE to him. The introduction of a parallel command team is a stroke of genius. This is going to be interesting.

 



Author's Response:

Well, it's your story...  No pressure, but I'll make sure everyone knows to blame you if they don't like it.   Thank you very much for this.

You must login (register) to review.