Reviews For Common Cause
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Varro Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2018 6:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing! This is brilliantly written, like all your work; I've never seen Kirk & Spock's internal thoughts written the way you write them, and I loved seeing what you did with the various ST storylines/characters. This is the kind of story where one requires a great deal of self-discipline to stop reading and go to work/bed/etc., or just go do something else for a bit, so it's not over too soon. I will be re-reading all your stories (I owe you comments on the others as well), and would of course be delighted to read anything you write in the future. Life is better when reading your stories :)

Reviewer: Mythrissa Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/14/2018 5:01 PM Title: Chapter 9

Superb, simply superb. Here are the fully realised, dignified, but flawed men, who are the core of our concept, and fandom, of Star Trek.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2016 6:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

There's a review on the Trek Core site for a published TOS novel that I think is nowhere near as good as this story of yours, so I've left a comment there, telling people to read "Common Cause" instead.  (I left the link to this story on the FanFiction site, though, since I thought that site might be more generally accessible than the K/S Archive.)

Anyway, I thought you'd like to know, and I hope you get a few additional readers because of it!

 



Author's Response:

That was so kind of you.  Sorry for only just picking this up but just wanted to thank you.  I hope you have a lovely Christmas and a happy 2017.

Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2014 2:56 PM Title: Chapter 2

I read Surfacing, and I've searched you out and found this. I had to break off at the start of Chapter 3, just to tell you how wonderful your writing is. Thank you. Now I can get back to chapter 3!



Author's Response:

In return, I am writing Surfacing and breaking away to thank you for being so kind.  It's enormously appreciated.  It makes the difference between writing and stopping writing, to be honest.  Thank you for being so generous.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2013 9:41 PM Title: Chapter 9

Wow, that was WONDERFUL!  You've portrayed them so well and have expertly woven in elements from other episodes.  I love the series of realizations that you bring Kirk and Spock to separately, then once they're ready, you have them acting in synch again.  Truly, this story was masterfully done!

An awful lot of stories around here are given five stars, but this one deserves SIX!

 



Author's Response:

Really sorry not to have replied to this review - I've not been on the site for a while.  This is such a kind message to leave and it's truly appreciated.  I am sure you know this, but it makes such a huge difference to get feedback like this and it's so easy to read and leave nothing.  Thank you!  Going to reply to your other reviews...

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2013 7:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a well-written story!  I truly appreciate the time you took to think through the plot points.  Unfortunately, those are often muddled through in fan fiction in an effort to quickly get to the "juicy parts".  Speaking of "juicy parts", although this story technically doesn't have any, I have seldom read a better rendition of the internal dialogue and workings of the minds of both Kirk and Spock in relation to themselves and to each other.  This is the way Kirk and Spock are supposed to be in my opinion - strong, very intelligent men who have deep feelings for one another but also for their duty to Starfleet not cartoon characters with teen sensibilities who happen to be wearing the faces of Kirk and Spock (sorry for the tirade here).  I look forward to re-reading this story many times.   Only point of constructive criticism is your handling of McCoy.  He comes through very one-dimentional in this story and I find it difficult to reconcile him being completely uninvolved with handling, researching and otherwise dealing with the epidemic (although to your credit you did try to explain that).  But given that he is truly a minor character in this story, this did little to subtract from its overall effect.  I hope that you will gift us with more of your writing in the very near future. I will be looking out for it.



Author's Response:

I've been abroad for a few days or I would have replied sooner to this - such a kind review and thank you so much for taking the time and being so nice and giving me such detailed feedback.  Entirely agree with you about cartoon teenager Kirk and Spock characterisation so delighted that you think I avoided it.  Also entirely agree with you about McCoy - sorry about that.  I was sort of aware I was doing it, but never quite managed to get him properly into the plot.  Might try to re-write him a bit, as I rather enjoy writing McCoy, more than I originally thought I would.  Any, I'm rambling.   Thank you again!

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2013 10:47 AM Title: Chapter 9

I wasn't worried that Spock and Kirk would save the day, but I'm sorry Man had to die when it looked like he and Eli might be able to put a band-aid on their friendship breach.  I'm very glad that Peter survived to shoot hoops with his uncle again and hope that Jim drags Spock along - I'd love to see him make a basket without breaking a sweat.  Enjoyed it and look forward to more of your take on the Trek universe!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much.  I haven't a clue how to write about Vulcans shooting hoops, being neither a Vulcan nor a basketball player, but I guess it's always good to have a challenge.  Sorry about Man, think it's always harder to read about character deaths than to write about them, because the writer has the comfort of being in control, but it was important to me to balance the story and also to show Kirk and Spock what might have happened.  I was fairly sure people would rather I killed off Man than either of the Enterprise duo!

Reviewer: lisbei Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2013 9:51 AM Title: Chapter 9

Love it! I had tears in my eyes during the ship-to-ship communication scenes - finally they're talking about what went wrong (or not)! And I love how they outsmarted M3 this time.


Have you ever thought of cross-posting your work on AO3 (http://archiveofourown.org/)? There's plenty of gen stories on the archive, it isn't only for slash!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, it's really kind of you to write.  I haven't come across archiveofourown and will look it up, thanks.  I also post at fanfiction.com.  Have a good week!

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2013 9:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Just started reading this story & I'm really enjoying it! Loved the tension in the latest chapter with Kirk's illness, and I also really like your original characters.

 

Looking forward to more!



Author's Response:

You're so kind to take the time to write this, thank you so much.  I'm so glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2013 3:12 AM Title: Chapter 8

Captain French with his strict adherence to the letter of the law and not it's spirit reminds me of the M3.  He takes any infraction of the rules as a personal affront - there are always consequences.  It makes me wonder if he's going to court-martial the two men that were knocked out by Jim?  Their quarantine rules must be a little lax as well - asking Jim to beam up from a plaque infested planet?  And sometimes I just want to put a sock in McCoy's mouth - it's a good thing Spock can concentrate on several things at once with the good doctor always yammerin' at him.  I also wish we knew if Sybok cured Peter, but I'm sure it will be coming up.  Thanks for the update!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, you are so kind about leaving reviews and it's lovely to know there is someone out there reading.  Re the quarantine rules - well, I think I am better at prose than plot, but my rather feeble envisaging is that the quarantine is strictly enforced between Deneva and the Endeavour on the one hand, and everyone else on the other.  The Endeavour was exposed to contagion as soon as they took Sybok there from an infected planet.  But I would have thought they would also have minimised contact between the ship and Deneva, to mitigate risk.  At least, that's my line, because it fits the plot!  I am sure there are loads of other holes.  Thanks again and have a lovely weekend.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2013 6:23 PM Title: Chapter 8

Another big smile!  I have been haunting the archives for days looking for this chapter, and like magic it appeared.  I love the way you are revealing and reflecting Kirk and Spock's understanding of the situation and their own issues as this chapter unwinds.  Of course, you really upped the ante with Kirk having the virus now.  I am looking forward to seeing how you manage to resolve this situation without one or both of them getting killed.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

You sound a bit more trusting of me - in an earlier story, I had you convinced I was going to kill one or both of them off, I must be losing my edge!  Thanks so much for the review and the smile.  Have a lovely weekend.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2013 6:35 PM Title: Chapter 7

Big smile.  I have been looking for a new chapter for several days, and your posting made my Friday afternoon.  Spock gets what he did to Kirk, huh?  Do I see a discussion in the future?  Looking forward to the next installment as usual.



Author's Response:

Hey.  You are very kind to keep reading and reviewing and I love that my chapter made your afternoon.  I am working on the next instalment.  I hope you're having a lovely weekend, TV and all.  Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2013 2:39 PM Title: Chapter 7

I'm impressed with how you've taken these differing situations and used them to show Jim and Spock each others motivations and the paths back to each other.  I really like Sybok's character and hope that he will be proven not to be a run-of-the-mill 'snake oil salesman', but will instead be shown as the first explorer on the journey of Vulcan evolution.  I also hope that Peter's return to consciousness means that he's on the mend - Jim needs someone to shoot those hoops with.  Thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

You are a very kind and loyal reviewer; thank you very much.  Expect you realise how much of a difference it makes.  It was a fun chapter to write so it's really great to hear that it's been enjoyed somewhere!  Have a lovely weekend.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2013 1:16 PM Title: Chapter 6

Another chapter up. Yay! Spock gearing himself up for another confrontation with M3 was really fascinating. Kirk weighing nepotism was as well. I'm amazed at how you take these sticky questions and turn them over and over this way and that.



Author's Response:

Hey, thanks for reading and even more for reviewing.  Lovely to hear from you.  I'm happiest with rumination; it's probably a reflection on how I spend my life.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 9:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have two daughters and they are both fine, thank you!  And to tell you the truth, you've had me too wound up in your story to worry about holes.  As far as I'm concerned, you just keep doing what you're doing.  :)



Author's Response:

Just keep checking your daughters' hands for scaly skin.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 4:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Since not hearing anything, I'm almost surprised Jim wasn't worried that Spock took off with his ship again.  And I'm really surprised that Spock risked melding with the M3 when he suspected it was behaving erratically.  He was damn lucky the thing let him go!  I don't know about Jim and Sam, but speaking from my own point of view, if my daughter caught some kind of fatal virus, I would grasp at any straw including a Vulcan guru if he offered any kind of hope.  I was excited to see an update, thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reviewing and for being so kind.  I am always happy to admit to my failings, and I think I am better at prose than plot, so you'll probably find lots of holes.  I do hope your daughter is enjoying perfect health.  Thank you again, it makes such a difference to hear from people.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 12:19 PM Title: Chapter 6

I was pleased to see another chapter posted this morning.  No music this time, but the TV is off and it is quiet and beautiful.  I am finding this to be very intriguing and am still uncertain where you are taking us.  Was concerned about the mind meld (Spock doesn't have a good history of melding with machines after all) but was relieved to see that go well.  When is the next chapter?  Soon?



Author's Response:

Working on it.  Thank you for being so faithful, not to mention no music or TV.  Have a lovely weekend and hope the sun is shining on you.

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2013 10:29 AM Title: Chapter 6

This was great! I have to say that you are a great story teller. Intricate details that move the story along and give insight to whats happening. I am so looking forward to the next chapters to see how this all turns out.

Keep up the great work!



Author's Response:

You are kind and lovely and it's so thoughtful to leave a review - hugely appreciated and thank you very much.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/16/2013 8:39 PM Title: Chapter 5

Another happy dance to see this chapter posted and once again I turned the TV to a soothing music channel and indulged in the slow reading of your chapter.  Your work is intricate and deserves my full attention after all, and this chapter did not fail to please me.  I am still intrigued about where you intend to take this story but am content to wait for yet another chapter when I will again turn on the music and off the noise of the TV and indulge.  Thanks!



Author's Response:

Fascinated (to coin a phrase) by what music you play while you reading the chapters, but thank you so very much for bothering to review - it makes such a difference to have the feedback.  So glad I'm still intruiging you, too (and so much better than exasperating you, as I think I used to).

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/06/2013 7:22 PM Title: Chapter 4

I have to admit that I did a happy dance when I scrolled through the new uploads and saw yours.  In your other stories, I had some sense of where you were going, but I have to confess that i do not with this one.  That's not a complaint but rather an observation of how much this mash up story is intriguing me.  As always, I look forward to future chapters with enthusiasm and anticipation



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, lovely to hear from you.  Not sure whether I am happier about your happy dance or about the fact that you don't know where I'm going; I always worry about being obvious.  "Mash up" is a good description for my ruthless trample over canon timelines.

You must login (register) to review.