Reviews For Krino
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2015 10:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

a second reading and it feels like a ribbon of a story sometimes with knots sometimes going back on itself. But I love tour writing because it's real, it gives us flawed Kirk and Spock not fake Kirk and Spock. 

it was also useful to be reminded that Kirk and Spock were conceived as tso parts of Gene's personality. We tend to forget that, and the tensions that a creator deals when two actors flesh out his characters in a way he had not envisaged. I wonder  whether the TMP book was  a  nod from Gene to the fact his characters had grown beyond him.

 Excellent writing 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the second reading.  I didn't see this review for several days because my notices of reviews are now going to my spam folder and I don't check that every day.  I enjoyed writing this and re-read part of the story myself.  Some of the moments i used are personally significant, and it spurred old memories.  I love these characters.  On the surface, they seem to have absolutely no reason in the world that they would like each other because of their vast differences, but they work together somehow anyway.  I think there are generally conflicts between reason and emotion in most people, but these two really make it work.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/19/2013 12:32 AM Title: Chapter 10

Spock is a great soul.  Yes, he and Jim loved each other deeply, but there's so much more to Spock than just that love.  Spock's curiosity, his passion for science and for exploration, his love of making the world a better place -- all of these give Spock not just activities to fill up his days but real reasons for living.  When talking about Spock, you can't leave that magnificent mind or that sterling character out of the equation, and those things will always draw Spock onwards to new interests and new achievements.  I think Spock would grieve Jim's loss deeply, yes.  But he wouldn't be a broken man afterwards; he is too great a soul for that.

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed the story.  Thanks for all the comments.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/19/2013 12:28 AM Title: Chapter 10

I'm sorry to hear of your personal loss.  I hope your pain has healed in the time since you wrote this story.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for your kind words.  I wish I could say I had recovered, but some people are too essential in one's lives to ever be replaced or forgotten.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2013 11:22 PM Title: Chapter 4

I'm sorry, but Kirk is just not this much of an asshole. 

I know you're trying to make it make sense that Spock went to Gol, but actually, I think it never did make sense that Spock went to Gol, and Roddenberry wrote that for reasons of his own, reasons that had nothing to do with who Spock was or what he'd be likely to do.

 



Author's Response:

I don't recall trying to portray Kirk as an asshole.  One of his and Spock's greatest virtues and flaws is their tendency to self-sacrifice and I believe I had that more in mind.  I can see them falling all over themselves trying not to harm the other or negatively affect the other's life.  

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: MegNicole Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 4:38 PM Title: Chapter 10

I think this was one of the most realistic and touching stories I have read. I was positively heartbroken by the ending, but it was beautiful. 



Author's Response:

This story had a deeply personal base, being born of the loss of my dearest friend many years ago.  Spock's loss of Jim and his grief was like my own.  Fortunately, we find a way to continue, even with permanent holes in our hearts that can never be healed.  Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2013 9:55 PM Title: Chapter 10

The love prevailed.  They are T'hy'la, we can only hope they found each other after death, to be together for Eternity.

~AKO



Author's Response:

There are some niches in one's life that cannot be filled.  Sometimes the best we can do is carry on.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 2:53 AM Title: Chapter 10

Thanks for the ending you gave us. What you said is true..

(Not every story has its happy ending.)  But we did have Spock keep his promise to Jim.  That I'm sure would have pleased Jim immensely. 

Well done.



Author's Response:

Not every story does have a happy ending, but this one was as happy as canon can make it.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 2:20 AM Title: Chapter 9

Love the song quote...and now we are dealing with the Romulans...something else Spock has on his plate..I loved the dialogue between Pardek and Spock...plus you gave us ample time for things to change...2 years here...5 years there...and now Sarek is growing weaker...all of Spock`s friends have gone their ways...only McCoy is left...

Love the fact you are using canon facts as we have seen on The Next Generation...it flows well...

 



Author's Response:

I'm glad that you liked the song quote.  I recently heard it on TV again (it was in the 50s musical Carousel) and was reminded of my mother who sang it so often when her mother was dying.  I was a child and didn't really understand what was happening, but I could tell that that song gave Mom great comfort.  I'd like to think it would do the same for future generations.

Thanks for the comment on the Pardek/Spock dialogue.  I found a conversation between a Vulcan and a Romulan would be pretty straightforward with very little bull.  It was fun to do.

I appreciate the coment about the use of canon, too.  Although I embued the story with some personal qualities like the song, I tried to keep it as close to canon as I could.  Thanks for reading and commenting, D.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 2:01 AM Title: Chapter 8

Very sad...I am so glad McCoy is there by Spock`s side.  Leonard is hurting as well, but having McCoy there is like a lifeline. That is exactly what Spock needs right now.  You owe me a box of tissues...



Author's Response:

Beneath all the bantering, I believe Spock and McCoy were first allies in trying to keep Jim Kirk's ass in one piece and then later friends b/c of all their shared experiences.  I like writing interactions for them.  As for the tissues, here's a virtual box with my thanks and apologies.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 1:39 AM Title: Chapter 7

Spock just has this way of saying Jim's name. This is so very true. 

I can understand Jim being a tad jealous about Spock's longevity, but who is to say Spock won't die before him. We don't know the future, so Jim really should enjoy the time they have now together, and stop worrying about the future.

The death of a child, has no comparison. I am glad that they patched things up. Bones is just dear soul....

 



Author's Response:

I had gotten partially into the "Jim" sequence when I realized what was happening and decided to take it to its logical extreme.  It seems to have worked well.  Thanks.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2013 7:03 PM Title: Chapter 10

It had to end this way, Spock would always outlive Jim,. You handled the scenario so well. It he ending was not happy, but the journey was very enjoyable. Thank you.



Author's Response:

I appreciate your reading and commenting.  Since this story was based on canon, there was very little other way for it to end, unfortunately.  Maybe something a bit happier in the future.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2013 8:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

Just completed reading this fic. it has a beautiful balance of emotion description reflection and plot. But what a occurs to me most is the tie in with Spock's arrival  in the AU having destroyed Jim's last communication. To be suddeny faced with JTK again but in the flesh would be a major shock.



Author's Response:

We're not quite finished so I hope you will come back for the last chapter.  Thank you for your words.  I wish that the Abrams folks had not stranded Spock so far away from everything he ever knew, but I'm sure he was willing to pay the price for more time with any Jim Kirk.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2013 4:27 PM Title: Chapter 9

This is perhaps the best depiction of devastating grief I have ever read. The deft manner in which you summarize the passage of years gives the story an epic quality. Very well done.



Author's Response:

You gave me pause when I read your comment.  My depiction of Spock's grief comes from a deeply personal loss and is a reflection of my own life experience.  As I approach the 25th anniversary of that loss, I am one with Spock who had to spend so long without his JIm.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2013 2:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh god, I cannot bear Spocks pain, but it is impossible not to read. So well written.



Author's Response:

The enduring power of Star Trek is that we care so much about these characters and they have become so much a part of our lives.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2013 2:07 PM Title: Chapter 9

Aww!  Aww!  *sob*  Okay, Spock struggling to survive when he'd rather be with Jim, wherever that is, hurts me.  It pains me to no end, and you did a fantastic job describing it.  I loved that McCoy was there for him no matter what, and at the end to be together again and Spock shake McCoy's hand ... *tears*  This was great.  Thank you so much.  I love this.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading and commenting.  I have always been touched by the tragedy of Spock's living so long without Jim Kirk and wanted to emphasize that in this story.  (And to say that I was devastated when he wound up in a different timeline in the reboot movie would be a great understatement.)  It is so hard to outlive someone that you love dearly, especially when it means decades of doing without that cherished presence.  A little more to go and we will be finished.  Thanks again.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2013 3:10 PM Title: Chapter 8

Sniff. Tissue please. 



Author's Response:

*virtual tissues sent*  Hope you continue to read and enjoy.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2013 2:34 PM Title: Chapter 8

Oh!  Oh!  *tears*  Wow, that was great.  I loved the care and concern Jim and Spock showed each other, and then when it was all over Spock was there with Jim, so in a way Jim wasn't alone, was he?  And McCoy was there for Spock when Jim was gone, away in a way they couldn't possibly imagine.  What a powerful chapter.  Thank you so much, I loved it!



Author's Response:

I wanted this chapter to be dramatic but not overstated.  Did I manage?  I hope so.  Seems that you liked it and "got' what I was trying to do.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2013 6:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

The part with Spock saying Jim's name was the highlight of the whole chapter, if not the entire story.  I could see the different facial expressions that Spock would use when saying the different "versions" of Jim's name in my mind's eye.

Thank you!

~AKO



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the "Jim" part, Vix.  It got started unintentionally, but when I saw what I had done I was intrigued.  I was a little anxious about how it would be perceived but so far so good.  Thanks for reading and for your comments.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2013 4:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

I am looking forward to the next part.



Author's Response:

Thanks.  More to come this week.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2013 4:33 AM Title: Chapter 7

No definitely not. That was a bit angsty there in the middle...but loved the end. Spock's ability to say the word 'Jim ' in such a variety of ways is after all legend!



Author's Response:

You win the prize for recognizing the "Jim" sequence.  I was a little concerned about how people would respond so I am glad that you liked it.  More to come soon.  Thanks for reading and commenting.

You must login (register) to review.