Reviews For Umbras
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/22/2014 4:30 AM Title: Umbras

I've been enjoying this story over the last week. Appreciate the long read. I stopped about a third of the way in because the Umbras were scaring me too much and I like to read before bed! Anyway, I appreciated that Uhura got a romance in this story and it wasn't just tacked on but seriously developped. Although I have to wonder about calling any wolf a pet ... even if it is a pet ... they seem too intelligent to be just a pet! I didn't realize that people make a drink from manzanita, so you learn something new every day. 

I loved that the ultimate solution involved compassion and dialogue, Kirk doing what Kirk does best. Through interaction and exposure, the aliens start to alter their fear-driven ways. That's pretty cool. Dunno where you were going with the fedoras, though. I think Matt Drudge and PUAs when I see a fedora and they are pretty creepy ... ruining a perfectly good hat.

I just really digged how lovingly you portrayed the relationship between Kirk and Spock in this and really all of your stories, so gentle, and creative, and compassionate. I think it really keeps me coming back to K/S in general. 

Big thumbs up from me!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Hypatia Kosh, for such a well expressed review.  I hope that my aliens didn't scare you too much.  While I was writing this story, I must confess, I kept looking over my shoulder, as I gave myself the willies.  LOL  I truly appreciate your taking the time to tell me your thoughts on Umbras.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2013 7:48 AM Title: Umbras

An interesting story, very well written, thank you for posting it online for us.

Please compliment elfqueen for me on her stunning artwork!  So realistic and beautifully drawn, they complement your story perfectly. 



Author's Response:

I am very happy that you enjoyed this story.  I am especially am grateful to you for taking the time to let me know.

And I will most definately tell elfqueen that you enjoyed her art.  You have certainly brightened our day!

 

Reviewer: Unicorn Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2013 8:18 PM Title: Umbras

I liked your story very much, in particular the turn when Kirk felt guilty about what he had done to Spock and decided to take the link to the alien on himself. In the original series, Kirk unfortunately does not develop his character, while here he looked at the darkness within himself and was ready to take responsibility and change. A definitive sign that between him and Spock it must indeed be a case of true love :-) I enjoyed the duality, the fact that the "umbras" were not only these aliens but also the darkness that lies in everyone of us. I also liked Kohe very much, and the parallel between the two love stories; also, the development of Kirk's and Uhura's relationship, who during the original series were not yet friends.

I have only found a few formal errors, but k/s authors must overlook these or I guess they would never get started :-) For instance, I am quite sure that both Kirk and Spock would never start an affair during a mission, they are both too professional for that. Also, I do believe that Kirk would sacrifice his career for Spock's sake, but not his duties to his ship and crew. That the supposedly "horribly evil" alien changed his mind rather quickly and even was capable of recognizing Kirk's intentions were honourable also was a bit exaggerated. But on the whole, this is one of the best stories I have read in months and I am curious as to what you will produce next.



Author's Response:

I am so pleaed that you not only enjoyed my story but took the time to leave such a wonderfuly long and thought out review.

Often times, in fact more often than not, when writing stories the author must squirm in his or her seat because for the necessity of the story it sometimes requires certain things to be blurred that would otherwise never happen.  But for the good of the story we can only make it seem as close to the norm as possible.  The same with any feel of rushing things along.  There is always the fear that if the story drags on too long the reader will lose enthusiasm for it.

Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2013 6:30 AM Title: Umbras

Thanks so much for posting! At first I thought this was a TOS written before 200n... Like in the 90s or something. But then a few things through me out and I started wondering - wait, was this reboot? The scene with Kirk and Uhura... I'm not an expert, but from what I've read, authors kinda forgot about her... And then for Uhura to offer to explain the kiss to Spock I was like wah? Kirk and Spock are BFF, why would she even offer to be the go between? The only time I can remember them talking was the ep she hit on Spock because she was lonely and then had a crush on that faux-African.
Then there was the comment about energy drink and I thought - 'Omg! The author is ahead of her time! If this was written in the 70s-90s...'. So then I went to the story summary, didn't know when Thyla 32 was published.. So a quick google search turned up 2012... After the 2009 reboot.
I'm explaining this not because it was good or bad, but because it was different. And it made me think about how the movie has affected stories.... I started getting all philosophical... Wondering, 'does this mean that there will always be an influence of 2009 even in TOS?' because it exists and it affects things.. I'm not articulating this right, but... Yeah, this story made me think about how the 2009 reboot has affected our understanding of the characters and their relationships with each other. So is it TOS if it is influenced by 2009? Just questions I was thinking about.
You're a great writer, so glad that you continue to write k/s!

Author's Response:

This is most assuredly TOS!  I don't do reboot.  That may sound as if I don't like the "New Trek", but I do. I saw the movie in theaters 6 times.  LOL   I just don't see the K/S in that movie. 

I have always thought of Kirk as being friends with Uhura.  I like to at least think that he could be friends with a woman without trying to bed her. LOL

As for the reboot movie influencing my story, I don't believe so.  I work very hard to keep my stories firmly planted in TOS.  What I believe happens is that the new authors who knew nothing of TOS prior to the movie have gone back and watched those old episodes.  I think that some of these TOS stories are a little shaded by reboot.  Just as I'm sure any story I might write in the reboot universe would be colored by TOS.  Now I don't know if I'm the one making sense, but I have several ideas about this topic and have discussed it with die hard TOS writers.  It will be interesting to see what is to come, story wise, after May 17th.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.  And thank you so much for your compliment on my writing.  I needed it tonight.

Reviewer: Boonadducious Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2013 5:38 PM Title: Umbras

This is now one of my favorite K/S stories! I loved the emotional aspect, and the mystery. The developing relationship was heartbreaking and the bonding twist was brilliant. It caused some lovely angst, and showed just how far Kirk and Spock's love went. The villains were fantastic, and showed creativity. I was genuinely scared for our boys. I can't wait to see more from you!



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you very much for such a heartfelt and thoughtful review!  I am beyond happy that you feel so strongly about this story and enjoyed it so much. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2013 8:57 PM Title: Umbras

A difficult day made good by the knowledge that this tale was there to return to at the end of it. Thank thou for an intriguing alien race and an interesting idea of a data n transport node as a backdrop for a demonstration of love desire and commitment. I loved the unusually slow logic cogs that led Spock to Jim.



Author's Response:

Now you went and made my evening.  I am so pleased that you liked the story, means a lot to me!

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2013 12:40 PM Title: Umbras

Your solution is interesting. GJ.



Author's Response:

I try for interesting and different.  Glad that I succeeded.  LOL  Thank you.

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed starstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2013 4:23 AM Title: Umbras

What a wonderful combination, an excellent, gripping, SF yarn and a fantastic emotional roller coaster ride as these men grapple with their own wants and their existing duties. The planet was brought to life vividly, the writing was extremely compelling. I look forward to reading more of your work.



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much for the lovely review!  You've made my day.

You must login (register) to review.