Reviews For Scroll
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2019 5:51 PM Title: Scroll

Why did you opt to try and mix both Star Trek Universes together? They are 2 separate events, time frames, 2 entirely different sets of Kirk's and Spock's...with private relationship, histories, connections with each other....for Real Star Trek Fans, at least those "around":from the Roddenberry Days, there can never be a merger, or a meshing....that is actually insulting and disrespectful of any Writer to assume.  

I thought, until the second part of this story, Scroll, you had a unique look at why Spock went to GOL, but then you, in my estimation, ruined it.  

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2013 3:32 AM Title: Scroll

This makes me want to watch the movie again - although I never, never could accept Spock having gone to Gol in the first place - but the one thing that I like a lot about Scroll is that somehow the description of what Spock's experience was there makes me feel a little better about it. Favorite phrase 'knows his feet must tread on the flesh of others' - really powerful imagery.



Author's Response:

Hell, *I* wanna watch the movie again!  I think all fans had major problems with Spock going to Gol.  And almost all K/S writers have come forward with their own explanation.

'Cause let's all face it: Gol is a NASTY place!

(It only took me 29 stories to bust it!)

~AKO

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2013 5:37 AM Title: Scroll

I also found that screenplay on-line somewhere...and I do remember those crystals attacking Jim, and Spock saving him...and you did a great job merging the two pieces together. Fits perfectly...Poor Chapel...



Author's Response:

Just slicing select, prime filets from the screenplay to develop into my own version of a classic gourmet dish was excruciating.  I'm so glad to see my efforts appreciated, thanks so much!

~AKO

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2013 4:16 AM Title: Scroll

I didn't mind the merger of TOS and Reboot.  it makes sense that some things would remain the same.  Although the entire fic is great, the last 1/2 is really really good with great lines and imagery.  You are really hitting your stride.



Author's Response:

You flatter me so...and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

Angst is sometimes easier to write than the mushy stuff.

~AKO

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2013 8:57 PM Title: Scroll

Well done again.

Good they are together again.
And what grief and self judge.
Sad.

Author's Response:

I promise, there is some happy coming soon!

I smile when I see your reviews, Sara, thanks for reading!

~AKO

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2013 6:46 PM Title: Scroll

No criticism, just awe.  Loved the ending.

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2013 6:46 PM Title: Scroll

No criticism, just awe.  Loved the ending.



Author's Response:

I had to bend and crush and shred TMP to make it mine.  Thank you for letting me know I had some success at that!

~AKO

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2013 6:28 PM Title: Scroll

Whew!  That was ... powerful.  I had to laugh at the line "McCoy practically grabbed Christine Chapel by the scruff of her neck and pulled her out of the room."   I can see McCoy being that observant of his best friend and his mate.  But the last part you wrote, about what war is, and what command is, ripped my heart out.  Foreshadowing of the movie coming up?  I don't know, but you've got a great way of writing.  Humbly accept my thanks and praise.



Author's Response:

I am grateful for your comments.  Stuff like that feeds me.

I have not allowed myself to be "contaminated" with any previews or spoilers for the upcoming movie.  The views of command, war, and military service are entirely my own.  The older I get, the more entrenched my beliefs that war is incredibly stupid, wasteful, and excruciatingly sad.

~AKO

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2013 2:22 PM Title: Scroll

Awwwe, I think you adapted it nicely. No need to be nervous. Who doesn't love playing with TMP? We all do. I plan to a fice based on the Gol thing at a later time...just haven't decided on the Universe yet...weill probably depend on the next NuMovie. We'll see. I'm glad you went for it. You did well.



Author's Response:

I had the script in one hand, trepidation in the other!

Now...more drama!  More turmoil!  More strife!

~AKO

You must login (register) to review.