You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2016 10:05 PM Title: Chapter 5

Not traditional but you can see it play out as a movie. I enjoyed it a lot 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2016 9:33 PM Title: Chapter 5

This is one of the best fics. It's well constructed and so very Kirk

Reviewer: Carolyn Spencer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2014 8:15 PM Title: Prologue and chapter 1

This was printed in issue #204 of The K/S Press, a free monthly newsletter published by kathleener@aol.com.
I adored this very well written and utterly moving fic. Thank you for writing this. Please tell me you have several more in the works.

Those of you who like some emotional angst in your K/S, have I got a story for you! I’ve been reading eimeo’s WIP Spice for what seems like ages now and very much enjoying her writing style. She posted this excerpt as an intro to a recent chapter:

“Warp and weft. The warp is the thread stretched over the loom, the weft, is the thread that weaves and fills in the holes. He’s not sure which of them is warp, which is weft. But he knows Spock is tightly woven into the fabric of his existence.”
--The Man Who Fell to Earth

Eimeo mentioned how much she loved this fic, so I thought I’d check out what this truly gifted writer considered worthy of her praise. I’m so glad I did!
The story takes place after Spock’s death and before the meeting with the crew in Kirk’s apartment in San Francisco at the beginning of ST III. Kirk has taken his pain over Spock’s loss, and like a wounded animal, run away to hide in a remote cabin in Idaho. And oh, he is hurting so badly.
The author expertly sandwiches this present alongside past memories of the two of them during the second five-year mission of the Enterprise. This works extremely well. The reader is never in doubt as to which time period is being presented.
Now let me get the warnings out of the way. With McCoy not himself, it’s Christine Chapel who seeks out Kirk. Yes, I know. I’m not crazy about Chapel in my K/S either, but she’s the perfect person to comment on Kirk and Spock’s relationship. She’s an intelligent, accomplished woman who has observed our guys from the very beginning. There is also no overt K/S in the story. None of this matters in the least. It only goes to prove once more that love doesn’t need to lead to or include sex to be true, deep, and eternal.
Because of the recent discussion some of us have been having about WIPs, I hasten to stress this is a completed story in five chapters so there are no worries about it being left hanging.
One final comment… I’ve read a great deal of K/S over the decades, and wasn’t sure the genre had anything new to show me. Good stories from fine authors, yes, but entirely new elements? Well, I was wrong. This story has a plot twist that just blew me away. It left me with tears in my eyes, a lump in my throat, an ache in my heart and a need to see ST III immediately.
Put this one on your reading list.

Author's Response:

Wow! Well, that really made my day. I'm very grateful to Eimeo for recommending this story and using a quote at the top of part IV of Spice. I am a huge Eimeo fan too and must have read and re-read her wonderful epic four times while waiting impatiently for updates. It gets better each time. I know nothing of this K/S newsletter of which you speak. So of course I beetled off to try to find it online but with no success. I will contact kathleen in an attempt to subscribe.

Thank you, thank you for this review. As a fellow writer you'll appreciate how it can change the colour of your day to find out something you've written has affected someone and hit home. Particularly appreciate your comments about the end being original -- I'd hoped it was but when it occurred to me (and it seemed suddenly obvious when it did) I wasn't entirely sure. And about the use of Chapel as a foil. I do find her useful for reasons I describe elsewhere on this page.

I wrote this story from a dark place. Trek helped shine a light as I know it has done for many others.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 8:31 PM Title: Chapter 5

I couldn't say I enjoyed that story, since it was so very sad, but it was masterfully done.  So very well written, so very beautiful.

 



Author's Response:

Well, I can't say I enjoyed writing it but I'm so glad it is still being read and that it affected you. Really appreciate you leaving a review and thank you for your lovely compliments.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2013 8:18 PM Title: Chapter 5

I grieve with thee.

I grieve for Jim.

And oh, oh, how I grieve for me.

~AKO



Author's Response:

How poetic! I hope I haven't made you too despondent. It's more than 30 years since I first saw TWOK and I think I'd almost forgotten the effect it had on me, and so many others, at the time. After all we didn't know about ST III then.  But I've had to watch the end several times over in recent weeks to write this. And those scenes never lose their power. Thank you for letting me know how you feel.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2013 6:27 PM Title: Chapter 5

When I read that spock lived another hour or so after Jim left, I felt a kind of crawling horror and suddenly every element of this story became clear.  You put us right in Jim's head (which wasn't a nice place to be) and that is hard.  This is thoughtful, painful and really well written.



Author's Response:

When I first thought of this story and realised immediately  what I was going to write as the reveal that was my reaction too. Yet it felt so possible to me given everything we know about Vulcan physiology and impossibility of reaching Spock. My head wasn't a nice place to be either when I was writing much of this so it's sort of a relief that it's out there. Yet it's been strangely cathartic too. Thank you so much for the writing compliments. You're very kind and you made me smile.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2013 4:59 PM Title: Chapter 5

I like this fic very much it reminds me of the reality of love. It doesn't need to be passion it can just be steadfast. It is so bleak so captivating of the loneliness of a man who no longer knows what to do with himself and is unsure if he ever will.



Author's Response:

Oh that's exactly what I was aiming for. I think it would take a hell of a lot for JTK to become (briefly) directionless and lost like this but I think losing Spock together with the guilt we know is ever present would do it.  Thank you for taking the time to put your reaction into words. It makes writing worthwhile to know you've affected someone.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2013 1:52 AM Title: Chapter 4

dear god I like this story!  there are nuances, asides, tiny set pieces that make this stand out. Per your response to my earlier comment, Dijinn is one of my all time favorites.  It is probably a sin to like S/C  or K/C on a K/S site, but she always made it believeable.  I am not exactly sure where this is going but I'm in!



Author's Response:

I know what you mean re sinning but thought I'd take the risk since I do see this as primarily about K-S friendship with Chapel as a foil here. (I do have a fondness for this foil though.) Thank you so much for your kind comments. I know exactly where this is going, it's been in my head since I had the first glimmer of this story, and I promise it will get there very soon. 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2013 8:25 PM Title: Chapter 3

Very nice beginning.  I am into this story line and look forward to future chapters.



Author's Response:

Glad you like the story line. Many thanks for the encouraging words and future chapters on their way, I promise.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2013 5:00 PM Title: Chapter 2

My God, this is so beautifully written and it does what great fiction is supposed to do: it puts you IN the story!

(I so HATE WIPs *sobbing hysterically*)

~AKO

PS I wish I could give MORE stars!



Author's Response:

Oh that's a lovely review! Thank you. it's such a boost to hear from readers like you. And putting you in the story is exactly what I was hoping for. Promise to update very soon.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2013 4:42 AM Title: Prologue and chapter 1

Very nice and well written.  I don't mind Chapel at all. She gives a needed outsider's POV.  Will keep reading!



Author's Response:

Glad you don't mind Chapel. We're woefully short of decent female characters in TOS. I was never a big Chapel fan until I read her in Djinn's stories and realised - hey, here's a woman with qualifications, who has multiple degrees, qualified as a doctor in record time and then moved to Emergency Ops, and has known our guys since the beginning. How useful is that? Especially when they're not around to talk to each other. Thank you for the encouragement.

Reviewer: vixis Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 6:59 AM Title: Prologue and chapter 1

Fantastic and the personalities shine through. I really enjoyed it.



Author's Response:

Great to hear the personalities chime with your vision of our guys.  I hate it when it jars. And glad you're enjoying the story so far.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 12:32 AM Title: Prologue and chapter 1

This story line has a lot of potential.  I will look forward to future chapters.  Congratulations!



Author's Response:

Let's hope I can live up to the potential. It's been a different, and sometimes painful, experience writing this one.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2013 10:41 PM Title: Prologue and chapter 1

Shaping up to be definite tale to keep tabs on. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for the encouragement. I hope to post updates fairly frequently.

You must login (register) to review.