Reviews For Conduct Unbecoming
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2015 10:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

A very intriguing possibility

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2014 12:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

I just discovered this taut, powerful, perfectly crafted story and was blown away by it. Spock's inability to integrate his desire for Kirk and the need unleashed by their sexual relationship is perhaps the most plausible reason for his leaving for Gol. I and a few fan-friends have long speculated that Kirk's need for extreme sex became overwhelming for Spock toward the end of the five-year mission, and have found signs of that in the late third-season episodes (which a fan-friend calls the "end-game"). I think you are exactly right in this story to locate Kirk's need for extreme sex not in mere kinkiness but in the depth and enormity of his passion for Spock. 

I sense that this was a story that had to be written. I say that because its tight trajectory is driven by a clear vision and an uncomprromising logic that follows that vision to its end, as difficult as that may be. Thank you for writing this. It will stay with me for a long time.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this review.  It was a story that had to be written and I got a pile of well feces from some readers who thought spock was way out of character.  Everyone is entitled to an opinion and I always felt if I'd written him a bit better, I would have convinced them to my point of view.  As I already respect your writing, I am delighted we see eye to eye!

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2013 6:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is my favourite story of yours so far - I find your characterizations of Kirk and Spock to be very believable. I also loved that this is also such a fresh, original take on an old standard in K/S fanfiction - the why does Spock go to Gol story.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for you kind review.  Some stories just grab you by the neck and won't let you go until they're written.  I think it is my favorite as well if only because it does run off the boards a bit.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 3:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Well... there we go... :)

I've gotta say that I love the suicidal Spock trope.  I think there is a lot of canonical support for it.  The OCD type stuff was a good addition as well - it fits with what we know of his character, I think.  

Some very good exploration of how the K/S relationship is perceived on different sides.  And the bit about I-Chaya made mad sad - it's so pathetic the way he feels about a pet that died thirty years ago, but this is the reality of the sad, the lonely and the frightened.

Thanks for posting :)



Author's Response:

Thank YOU for reviewing!  I hate to write Spock as weak but I've always seen a streak of madness in him, whether it is because he is an alien and not human or because he is a human with an alien nature.  A very divisive nature.  

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 9:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

I didn't expect this. A very different take, as to why Spock decided to go to Gol. Jim can be very persistent when love is concerned. He really believes that love will conquer all..Jim has to realize that Spock is different. His human half is something buried deep in himself, but Jim brought that part of Spock to the surface, much more than he would have liked. This constant need of sex Jim has, and Spock not truly having a say...

Spock sees himself losing control, and wonders who he is really...a constant struggle to maintain a balance...and that balance is severly compromised. Spock truly felt, that his way of killing himself was the only way out. Now, it seems going to Gol, is his final destination.

Should Jim feel guilty for pushing Spock in that direction? Reading the story, I came to the conclusion that Jim is a very needy individual, and is deaf when others state what they wish...it must be that commanding presence in him...

I enjoyed the direction you took it..sometimes we have to look at it from a different view point...and you did just that..you stepped out of your comfort zone..

Well done.



Author's Response:

Thanks as always for your kind reviews.  It would have been easy to write Jim as the bad guy but I really tried to make his neediness sympathetic, wouldn't we all react the same way and try to draw emotion out of Spock if we could?  Well, in fanfiction, I guess we can.  

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 8:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think it's a great little story, sad and moving. I like how everyone's intentions intersect in ways they didn't intend, Jim's persistence turns into torture for Spock, McCoy's protectiveness stepping on Spock's notions of agency, and so on.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  You are the first one to comment on McCoy.  Article 134 is the real deal, btw.  I did quite a bit of research on it (and Article 125, repealed thank god) and what a knife's edge it would be to be the CMO faced with a choice between shooting down your friend and captain and or destroying both their careers.  

Reviewer: mary100859 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 6:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think that this is a very interesting point of view as to why Spock went to Gol and I think it was because he was not able to intergrate both sides of his nature so purging his emotions was all he could think of doing. I wished you would have taken the story to when her returned from Gol and show just how he had changed and than the after effects of merging with Veger did to him. I think that the merge with Verger made him realize that he had to intergate bothi sides of his nature if he were to survive at all. I think that it would be then that he would come back to Jim. Well I guess that would mean I am asking for a sequeal well I am but that is all up to you. I did love the story and I just wanted to cry for both Jim and Spock because they both love each other so much but at that point in his life Spock could not let him self return the love he fel for Jim then but I truly believe that after Veger they found their way back to each other. I would love to read more about this so again I ask if you might consider doing a sequeal.

Author's Response:

I totally agree with you about V-ger bringing Spock together.  I don't see a sequel to this but I have an idea for the Article 134 and how that might effect service in the 23rd century.  Thank you for your kind review  and thought provoking comments.  

Reviewer: Martiangrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 12:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a bit of a shocker for me, but a wonderful one. I'll admit, I have a thing for darker/troubled takes on their relationship. Though 9 times out of 10, Jim is usually the blameless, wronged party (at least that's how it seems with the Abrams-verse fics on the ff.net site). Honestly, I never thought of them having such a cultural misunderstanding like this, and I think the characterizations are great, because Jim isn't trying to be a bully, but is just used to being in command and having his partners being a lot more responsive. Jim never wants to hurt Spock intentionally (he believes he's helping his lover discover himself), and their tremendous love for each other keeps them trying to shift the blame to the other when the problem finally comes forth. Even though you may not have planned it, this piece is begging for a sequel! I just have to know how they cope during and post-TMP.



Author's Response:

sadly, no sequel is planned although this is part of my head canon so you would see elements of this in other stories.  I am glad I shocked you in a good way, I had serious doubts about posting this story which I believed was strong, but quite controversial, in that many wouldn't necessarily agree with the theory or might be put off by the style and description of Jim and Spock's relationship. Thank you for your review and cogent comments!

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 11:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Inflammatory. I'm not sure I identify with it fully but serious amounts of kudos for 'going there' because 'there' is a destination i hadn't known existed. It's fascinating and extraordinary to be confronted with 'a new place' - a previously unimagined country with a landscape rich and worthy of exploration. i'm very glad i read this. thought provoking in the extreme. i feel like climbing a pole and sitting atop it, cross legged and muttering to myself about the issues raised - mulliing it over - for several days. Well done.



Author's Response:

I think this must be my favorite review ever.  I am glad you don't necessarily identify with it but followed it to the 'destination' I intended, and reviewed anyway!  My purpose was to go 'somewhere' other than 'there'.  It is easy for me to write the easy and predictable but this one stepped far out of my comfort zone and I would join you on the pole, passing you a glass of pinot grigio and talking to you about the issues raised, for an hour, at least.  Thank you so much for your comments and review!

Reviewer: vixis Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 7:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing & far too short!



Author's Response:

Gawd, and I thought it was far too long!  Thank you for your review, I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 5:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

Fits with Bones holding Kirk back in TMP sickbay scene. At face value disturbing as I wonder would Jim push feeling on Spock unless this is the issue. Can you really Know another eapecially an alien really understand what loss of control does to a Vulcan. For Jim it is the whole point of sex for Spock that acceptance of his sensual identity is a bridge too far. 

Tension of the piece is amazing and contrasts to your first poSts. This is thought provoking

 

Am wondering if end of new movie will have Spock going to Gol it is the great unanswered trek questIon. 



Author's Response:

I am insanely pleased you noted the tension and how I might have improved from my first fics!  You have been so kind to review my stories from the beginning.  This one may have been as disturbing to write as to read.  i admit to being haunted by the issues.  I love your comment that Spock's acceptance of his sensual identity is a bridge too far.  Might have to steal that for a later fic.   Thank you so much for your comments and review!

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 5:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

It is harsh and believable, a remind that T'Pol addicted to  trellium-D .



Author's Response:

Oh, don't make me break out the Enterprise dvd!  Harsh, yes, thank you so much, as always.

Reviewer: ivycross Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of the most powerful pieces I have read. It never would have occurred to me that Spock would break down like that under Jim's attention, but the way you wrote this, it is completely plausible. The character's voices were strong and very believable. the whole thing was just exceptional well done and makes me rethink about why Spock went to Gol.



Author's Response:

this is about the nicest review I have ever had.  I wanted this to be powerful, so I am humbled and thankful for your comments.  One might quibble about why Spock went to Gol, but clearly, something did break him.  And I can't imagine who better than Jim.  Cheers!

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 4:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

An unusual and interesting point of view



Author's Response:

well, there you go.  thank you so much for reviewing it.  I understand it will not be to everyone's taste.

You must login (register) to review.