You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mythrissa Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2018 3:44 PM Title: Chapter 5

I found your exploration of the confusion that comes with trying to break away from heterosexual romantic and sexual narratives to be realistic and engaging. Thanks for another thoughtful and enjoyablefic.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2016 2:22 AM Title: Chapter 5

What a wonderful story!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2016 1:55 AM Title: Chapter 2

I loved this part; it's so different from the ascetic picture that's usually painted of Vulcans, and yet it seems at least as probable to me:  Our Vulcan friends take their sexual pleasure very seriously indeed, Jim-boy. Apparently it would be illogical to espouse celibacy, as the body obviously needs sexual release to maintain a proper chemical and hormonal balance, even outside of pon farr. Beyond that, they feel that the emotions associated with orgasm are a purification of the baser emotions such as lust, greed, jealousy, and so on. And you know that Vulcans never do anything by halves, Jimmy. Compared to a Vulcan, your longest session would probably be considered a meaningless quickie.

 

Reviewer: Kardisi Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2016 7:53 PM Title: Chapter 5

I loved the story, especially the part where Bones says " It's like this" hehe. I keep seeing that in my head. Bones is welcome in my head, so thanks for that.  Great Spock too. :) 

Reviewer: Eeriel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2015 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 5

AWW! So cute! 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2015 1:37 AM Title: Chapter 4

This line made me laugh so hard:  <i>“Lord, Jimmy, like he’s a tribble and you’re a love-starved spinster.”</i>

 

Reviewer: sporktrek Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 1:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

omfg Spock's confession at the end had me squirming around and smiling so hard. I love this, thank you!!!

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 3:05 AM Title: Chapter 5

Spock's description of Jim's place in his life is so beautiful, and it's true; love is like that.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 2:49 AM Title: Chapter 3

I like the confident, assertive Spock you've portrayed here, one who's out there meeting his own needs.  So many authors having him pining in silence for Jim, and I think Spock is stronger than that.  So thanks for this portrayal!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 2:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

Your premise here is weird; gay men are known for having lots of close female friends -- who better to complain about men with? :-)

 

Reviewer: lunael Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2013 11:01 PM Title: Chapter 5

That was a great story. I loved the bittersweet idea of eveybody knowing Jim loves Spok, but Jim himself remaining so obviously ignorant of his own feelings toward the vulcan. And McCoy was simply priceless in his knowledgeable doctor/trusted friend role, their discussions really add a nice touch to the whole story. An amazing one, at that. My only disappointment was that in ended perhaps a bit too soon - after so much thinking over and lusting about each other, I was kinda looking forward to some very liberating and tentative sex. But I loved the story anyway, you did a truly great job :)

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2013 1:51 PM Title: Chapter 5

Nice story.



Author's Response:

Thank you. And thank you for reading.

Best and warmest regards

Rae

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2013 1:48 PM Title: Chapter 5

Nice story.

Reviewer: Jenna Hilary Sinclair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2013 4:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

I read this one last night;  really, the re-emergence of Rae Trail has gotten me reading K/S again after a very, very long absence.  I love how, so often, Rae's stories have just one line that punches me in the gut, or makes me laugh out loud, or sums up a feeling so succinctly.  I always read "toward" those lines when involved with her stories. In the case of this story, it's when Jim asks McCoy if he's been flirting with Spock. Love it! And then again, when McCoy tells him that he loves Spock.  This is a slow story, so a reader must be patient, but it's so rewarding! 



Author's Response:

"Do I like reading Rae Trail?"

"It's like this, Jenna. Yes."

ROFLMAO! Thank you Jenna! I adore you!

Rae

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 4:42 AM Title: Chapter 5

This was wonderful. Seeing Jim slowly, oh so slowly, realize his love was fascinaing. Spock was pretty mesmerizing too



Author's Response:

VCVZ - I heartily thank you for you review.

Very best

Rae

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2013 12:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is the review I wrote in the LiveJournal Kirk/Spock community a couple of weeks ago:

This is a classic TOS story, a wonderful character study of Kirk that the author describes as 'pre-slash', though I'd argue it's only just! Back in 2002, it won a slew of 'Golden O' awards and rightly so.

The story details Kirk's dawning realization that a) Spock's gay, and b) he - Kirk - is in love with him, having apparently been the only one on board who was completely oblivious to both facts. It takes seeing an encounter between Spock and a (male) charismatic colony leader, and his emotional reaction to it, for Kirk to start questioning what, exactly, he actually feels for Spock.

This is a beautifully written piece that follows Kirk through the various stages of discovery from denial to acceptance, with wonderful characterisations of Kirk, Spock and McCoy, and a narrative that flows so beautifully, that the reader becomes immersed and won't come up for air until the end. At that point, believe me, you'll wish it continued into at least an epilogue!



Author's Response:

Holy Wow, Amanda,

Thanks. Double plus thanks. Triple double plus good thanks.

Rae

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 11:37 PM Title: Chapter 5

Wonderful story. I remember trying to read this one online somewhere, but I believe the link may have been broken. Thank you for posting it here. It's a very refreshing take on all three of our boys.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Cat God!

I am thrilled that you enjoyed it, and noticed the tongue-in-cheekiness of the doctor.

Best, Rae

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 10:47 PM Title: Chapter 5

AW pointed the direction to this and the only thing that comes to mind is the description masterful. It is refreshing an alluring to read such a mature and very masculine version of Kirk and Spock.  She was also correct about your characterisation of Bones. The idea that Bones would care for his charges on board ship not just medically but holistically seems logical. I also love how you portray Spock as sure of himself but unsure of Kirk's ability to commit.

The beauty of this fic is as a signpost to return to when exploring love. After reading the declaration you wrote for Spock it struck me as litmus paper for evaluating the difference between love and infatuation. To know such love is a precious gift.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your very kind words. I have learned that the ability to understand why we love isn't easy, but that to  understand that we actually do love is pvotal. As long as we are confident that we're not alone in the love, we have triumphed.

Warmest regards, Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 10:08 AM Title: Chapter 5

I discovered this story last year on kardasi.com and was riveted, so I was delighted to find it here now.

I have always been a fan of clueless Kirk and this story showed this so beautifully, the way he didn`t even realise he was flirting with Spock. I also loved that Bones was so knowledgable about Vulcan sexuality and so open and direct telling Kirk about it. And I was moved to tears when Spock told Jim how he felt about him.

I was so very sorry that the story had to end - I could have read on an on about what happened next...

Thank you for posting it here and I really hope you will be posting more of your work.



Author's Response:

Thank you for you very kind response! I haven't seen any feedback in a long time on these stories, and yours was the first... in 12 years, I think. Wow. You won't be sad to know that I had a tear in my eye as I read it.

Best

Rae

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2013 11:02 PM Title: Chapter 5

Ahhhhhhhh :)  *happy, satisfied sighs*

This was indeed a beautiful story.  I remember it from before the more I read, and I think it must have mellowed in the bottle, so to speak.  It was simply gorgeous.  Spock's declaration of love is fantastic - it is so beautiful and romantic but at the same time absolutely true to character.

Thank you so much for posting - I look forward to more of your stories on here... :D



Author's Response:

It's fantastic to me that you have memories of this story - I have been away from the fandom for so long that it feels brand new to me to see it up on line. I think I feel like you do, that I am remembering it. But 'simply gorgeous' earns you a big kiss on the cheek from me.

Best

Rae

You must login (register) to review.