You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2015 11:19 PM Title: Chapter 1

I feel really shocked by this fic. But it ireminds me of real life. Jim holding it together for the admiralmage and for the crew. This is the scene we never saw  those continuous points post death when the realisation that there is no return keeps hitting you. I'm glad that spot  was there to ease Jim's passage from Admiral to grieving bondmate and that he had McCoy to collect him. 



Author's Response:

Unfortunately, it is all very much real life that people must continue, even in the face of death.  It is easy but ineffective to beat one's head against the reality again and again, but it doesn't change anything.  In my mind, this is what Jim Kirk would do - continue on as the captain, the responsible person, even though every fiber of his being hurts.  But even heroes have limits, and sometimes grief is expressed because of other triggers.

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2013 5:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

I literally silently screamed, 'I don't wanna' before clicking the link anyway.

and now. I really regret clicking it.

...

... Oh man. Never thought i would see a day I cried over a bloody fictional dog... damnit.

but very much like it was for Jim... it wasn't just about Spot.

Well, you'd know. you wrote it.

;_;



Author's Response:

Hey, what can I say?  Sorry, I guess.  If it makes you feel better, the dog was not entirely fictional.  She was mine.  You know the rest.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2012 5:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

What irony that genesis is what brings him now to see these two deaths

That was so horrible. I can't imagine the pain.



Author's Response:

I decided to write a fourth story and hope that you will enjoy it.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2012 3:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

Begging the 4th story. You can not do anything for Spot,but you can bring Spock back.

This is too pain.

 



Author's Response:

Please don't be too sad.  I did not intend to have another story in this series but decided to add one more.  It will be posted when completed.  Thanks for your review.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2012 1:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

As someone who has eased many an animal into the next life, I have to say you handled this with diplomacy and kindness.  It breaks my heart, as it always does, even though fictional, Spot stands in for so many beloved animals that both leave us and are left.  I think the worst for me is their pain when they are left, and that is why this story made me cry.



Author's Response:

I understand what you are saying.  I released my Georgie about one year ago and thought of her and all my little doggies during the writing of these stories.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 11:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh god...  what have you done?  You've only gone and made me cry, and I genuinely cry over fanfiction only very rarely...  It seems like comparing the death of Spock, Kirk's bondmate, friend and colleague of about twenty years to a stray dog whom they had for a month or two would be really silly and demeaning, but it wasn't - it really worked.  This story ties up all the little threads, and shows us that it's not just about being the incredible, larger-than-life heroes, but just ordinary people who have laundry, pets, the occasional domestic and above all, all the same emotions that we have, but with the grief made even more painful by how much they loved each other in life...

And the reference to Scotty's nephew was an extra touch...  Wrapped things up nicely, and links Kirk and Spock to their other spacefaring compatriots. I often feel that in K/S fanfiction it seems as if K and S are in a bubble sometimes...

:D



Author's Response:

Gee, I didn't expect people to cry over this, even though I thought it would touch a few nerves.  I'm glad the story worked for you.  The thing people miss about the "incredible, larger-than-life heroes" is that we are all people with laundry and pets and private lives away from the limelight.  For me, part of the reason for writing the story was remembering my sweet Georgie who I put down this time last year.  Now part of Georgie can live with other people as well.  I hope you keep reading and enjoying.

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 5:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

Jeepers, you made me cry, like really, tears and everything!:)  Bit close to home I think.

Well writen though thank you. With a hint of a positive future too. Got anymore in your kit?



Author's Response:

Sorry I made you cry!  That wasn't my intent.  Thanks for your review.  I have a few stories and a poem backlogged that I wrote while I was trying to figure out this website (tech is not my thing), and I have several pieces I am working on, including a murder mystery, something new for me.  As long as I can produce and people are enjoying my work, I should be appearing here periodically.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 4:59 AM Title: Chapter 1

Um, that was just horribly sad. I thought it might be touching or something from the description but instead it was just really, really sad. T_T



Author's Response:

I am sorry you were disappointed.  For me, there was hope still in the story because we know despite Jim's devastation that Spock will come back to him later, even if not in this story.

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 2:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awe, how sad and very touching. Now, I demand a companion piece to lift my spirits that deals with the miracle of Spock not being dead, lol. Though, poor Spot will likely have no success with a Fal'tor Pan or however it's spelled. lol



Author's Response:

While I don't have a companion piece to lift your spirit at this moment, I do have other work both completed and in progress so hopefully there will be something there that will do the job.  I think I could do a resurrection story for Spock since it's canon, but I'm not sure what I can do for poor Spot.  Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 2:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh,poor Jim. His life is a hell in this story.



Author's Response:

Yeah, sometimes life does suck.  But we have the benefit of knowing that he has better days ahead, right?  Thanks for reading.

You must login (register) to review.