Reviews For Common Knowledge
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 8:21 AM Title: Chapter 2

So, I've had to go and relearn some philosophy, in particular Heraclitus, something I've not done for over 20 years; to say my brain is a little fried would be an understatment.

I kinda figured Kirk had told Saredin to ensure Spock gets to Gol for his safety.  I had a Clinical Lead once who said that "one should always trust one's gut", in such a upperclass British accent, I would laugh, but she was right, as is Kirk, when your radar pings you should always go with it. I cannot wait to find out what the Mila people are up to and how it affects Spock. 

As usual, superb writing.

 



Author's Response:

First of all, thank you for being so very kind and generous.  Secondly, I am hugely impressed that you figured where I was going with the Kirk/Saredin message and that you went back to Heraclitus for background reading - that's completely above and beyond the call of duty, especially as, if I recall correctly, you have some time off work just now so you shouldn't really be spending it on Greek philosophy, and I feel rather guilty.  I hadn't read Heraclitus for 20 years, either - in fact, nearer 25, and I had to go back and check a couple of things, sorry about frying your brain as well as mine.  Well, I have a British accent myself, though not an upper class one, and I agree about following your gut, it's probably one of the best lessons I've learned in adult life.  My response is now longer than your review!  Thank you again.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 5:27 AM Title: Chapter 2

Jane D doesn't write FF as I know it. FF can be breezy or brutal. I prefer that which elicits an emotional response, but I never expect it to offer a cognitive challenge. I haven't worked so hard since the last time I read "Heart of Darkness." I had to read these chapters twice, but it was worth it; and for the first time since college, decades ago, I wished to write margin notes--an up-til-now unperceived failing of online 'publishing'/reading.

 

The paragraph in which Spock contemplates his early study of Greek philosophy, and his course of thought on it, within the context of all else Jane weaves together, is remarkable. Kirk and Saredin both ponder original causation as Spock and McCoy separately wonder what accounts for a dramatic change they see in Kirk? Can 'intuition without logic only get him so far'? It's fun to go digging for the answers in a story like this, to try to follow the different threads. I hope people will make the mental effort needed to do the tale justice, but I won't be suprised if it garners fewer reviews than previous Jane stories. It isn't fluff.



Author's Response:

I am going to print this review out and keep it somewhere to remind myself in dark days that I once inspired it.  Thank you so much, and I entirely appreciate the point about an emotional response - I hope to do better further on in the story but it was something of a choice - I'd love to be pointed in the direction of any other piece about Heraclitus and/or Aristotle which managed to elicit an emotional response.  Obviously, for my next challenge...

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 2:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Jane, we really should quit meeting like this.  Again I am squinting at the smart phone because it's 1 a.m. and I'm half blind from doing a 13 hour Lord of the Rings movie marathon.  Sigh.  Headed in different directions, huh?  Well, I've learned enough to know that what appears to be what is going on is not necessarily what is actually going on with the boys when they get in your paws.  I will maintain my cool, my logic (such as it is), and my hope and ride this to the end.  Well done.  Maybe I'll get a story posted one day so you can read and not write.  No, bad idea.  Definitely a bad idea.



Author's Response:

I don't know about that, it's always nice to hear from you, though I am sorry both about your eyes and that I am clearly driving you nuts.  Thank you for sticking with me regardless, more soon...

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 2

Sorry I haven't been on here to review til now... good chapter, even though I'm ready to kick Spock - worst of all worlds indeed. Also, why is Kirk ignoring his intution? He never does that. Just because he's trying to compensate for Spock not being there...  idiots, the both of them.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, and I am sorry that I am taking more time over this book, but I promise I will update regularly, even if with slightly longer gaps.  

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2012 5:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

Logic of either planet. Both need to know themselves before reconnecting.  But what of the Mila and their interest in Vulcan research, are they telling the truth why is Kirk's intuition working overtime. Look forward to the next instalment



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - work in progress at the moment, but hoping to put some serious time in over the weekend.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2012 1:55 AM Title: Chapter 2

This is so well done, seriously.

We can see Jim and Spock going on two seperate journeys to know themselves and the way they go about it is so interesting! The way their minds work in making decisions is so intricate. They're striving to do and be better than they were which drives them along nicely.

I still wish they were together on the mission, but for their characters it can't be helped



Author's Response:

That is a very kind and generous sentiment considering how much I'm clearly upsetting you!  Thank you for being so lovely; it means a great deal.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2012 11:24 PM Title: Chapter 1

NO! Seperated? Not again!

WHY? Oh and he is going planetside soon too

SPOCK 

why is everyone always trying to kill him?



Author's Response:

I'm sorry.  But if everything were fine, I couldn't really write a story.  Thanks for joining me, anyway!

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 11:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ah, well I knew that the universe would deign to keep them apart for a little longer...  I have such bad feelings about this already...

Awesome story, of course!  



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you for being so kind, it's so nice to hear from you and you are always very nice about my writing even when it clearly winds you up!

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 6:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

I have no words to really describe what your writing does for me; it's so mature and wise.  I love many of the writers on this site, as they hone their skills; but your writing brings in a new (gown up)  dimension, which right now I can't find the superlatives to describe, having had a couple of drinks with colleagues after five ten hour days in a row. (four days off, yay)

I loved Jim's opening letter and could see him writing it with a smile as he descirbed his conversation with McCoy. 

And oh lordy, a cliff hanger.....

I'm looking forward to reading what you do with these two who really can't go backwards, can they?  By the way is not an inviation to rush!



Author's Response:

I'm honestly overwhelmed by what you said, probably one of the nicest things anyone's ever said to me, and after five ten hour days, too!  I do hope you're enjoying your four days off and having a deserved rest.  I have promised myself not to rush this time, that's my deal with the rest of my life, but I promise also that I won't leave it too long.  Take care.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 5:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

Super excited to see the sequel. I truly hope you'll enjoy writing it as much as we'll enjoy reading it. You lure us in, set us up comfortably, and then let in the villain.

Can't wait to see what Kirk writes to Saredin (if Saredin's character will further evolve in this story?); how Spock will respond,and how you'll bring him into the picture if he can't, as Kirk tells McCoy, arrive sans Constitution Class vessel for a ridiculously long time--Ah, but you're a clever one and we can't count on you, thankfully, to always navigate anticipated routes.

I wonder which of the three main characters you find easiest/hardest to write. In this chapter, I thought Bones sounds dead-on. I think you really get Kirk and Spock's voices down in dialog, but I wonder if you find it harder to do so as they 'scribe.'

Off to a great start. Thanks so much--you've made my week!



Author's Response:

As you know, I only wrote it to hear from you again.  And I hope you do enjoy it, because you have to take responsibility for me writing it, including to everyone else who reads it.  No pressure for either of us there, then.  I'll try to stay a step ahead of you, but you might have to wait for me from time to time.  Thank you  for liking McCoy here.  

Reviewer: DestinyTrek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 10:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you so much for taking the initiative of writing a sequel. Common Touch was spectacular and this shows just as much promise, if not more. Spock's humor of McCoy joining the crew of the Seleya was well-played.



Author's Response:

That's immensely kind - thank you so much for reviewing and for being so generous - "spectacular" - will file it away mentally to cheer myself up in times of need!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 5:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

What an amazing chapter. I am so pleased to see you continue where you left off.  The letters between them were humorous. Damn, HQ for thinking Jim has to be promoted, an Admiral....it truly isn't what Jim wants...and there is Spock...where will he go now....Gol?? 

That message Jim is going to write to Saredin...Hmmm. I wonder if he will try to convince him not to make Spock go to Gol....I wait for your update..

Brilliant my dear....words escape me.



Author's Response:

How nice of you, thank you, I hope you don't come to regret pressurising me into this!

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 4:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

So, I saw the title "Common Knowledge" in recent fics and wondered why it had updated because I was sure it was done. Then I read the summary and started squealing...

Thank you for writing this. I'm thrilled that there is more. Also, I'm already on the edge of my seat. Will they actually fight to be together like they want this time?

At any rate, I love their letters. They were very much in character and the chess game made me laugh.


As always, I must beg for more



Author's Response:

Hello again!  Thank you for such a lovely response, both to the fact of a sequel and to my chess game correspondence, which I really enjoyed writing, but it's more fun if it's read and appreciated.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 3:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Dear Jane, I was surprised to find this sequel to your previous story that I liked so well.  I had thought you might disappear into holiday land for a while and give yourself a good rest.  Circumstances keeping our boys apart, huh?  How come I think they are going to wind up together eventually?  Or is it just that it's what I want?  Looking forwrd to seeing more as usual and I will try not to let this get so personal as they boys' relationship sometimes gets with me.  But I will read regardless.  Regards.



Author's Response:

Not as surprised as I was, believe me.  And I am sorry if you would have preferred me to leave things as they were.  Blame Aname, it's entirely her fault.  On the other hand, it may be sad, but writing is my idea of a holiday and this way I get to hear from you again, which is always a pleasure.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2012 10:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

Sigh, you are the Queen of Cat-and-mouse Game.



Author's Response:

Sorry!  But thank you very much, as always, for keeping up with me.

You must login (register) to review.