Reviews For Common Knowledge
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2013 3:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hey, sorry I haven't read the most recent two chapters. I promised I haven't abandoned you, just swapped fandoms for a few weeks. Anyways, I'm giving up fanfiction for Lent, so no reviews until after Easter >.< I am missing this story though. I'll probably do a complete reread then. <3



Author's Response:

Very impressed that you are giving up anything for Lent.  And don't worry at all, hope you're enjoying whatever you're up to and whatever you're reading.  Take care!

Reviewer: Daybora Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2013 11:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yay, a happy ending, I wasn't sure it was going to happen. I love your writing style, all the lovely complex sentences.  I love your character voices, especially Kirk's, his growth thru the two stories I think is even more impressive than Spock's. Now that you're done, I going to reread them both back-to-back.   I can't wait to see what you write next!



Author's Response:

How lovely you are and thank you so much for the comment re Kirk, as I'm a Kirk fan so it's much appreciated.  And I'm hopelessly flattered that you want to reread them...  thank you again and take care.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 8:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

You're absolutely right! I'd forgotten Spock said it in that all important sickbay scene. And you out-geek me. Yay! <goes and stands in the corner feeling a little foolish>



Author's Response:

No, don't go and stand in the corner.  You were so lovely to review and I was so relieved to be right (I did check, after your review, doesn't take much to shake my self-belief).  Let's be geeks together.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2013 10:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

And so your great ST stortytelling continues. I knew you wouldn't let these two have any joy in their lives (I sometimes think all us Trek writers must have a slightly sadistic streak -- and maybe it's not just Trek writers). Two favourite sections (and it's hard to single them out): the dialogue with McCoy...

“Is that all?”

 Kirk turned, genuinely mystified.

 “What do you mean, is that all?  I’ve just gone through the laws of physics and direct orders from HQ – is there anything I’ve missed out?”

 “Just you, Jim.  Just you.  Was a time, someone suggested you take a six-month mission without Spock – your last, too, I figure – and you’d have found a way to wriggle round the laws of physics, let alone HQ.  You’re taking this pretty easy, seems to me.  Look – I’m not objecting to having a peaceful last mission without having every decent conversation reduced to three decimal places and none of my jokes appreciated.  Just curious, is all.”

 His blue eyes dwelt on Kirk’s, and Kirk deliberately looked away.

 “All things end, Doctor.”

 “Now I know something’s wrong.  You’re talking Vulcan.” 

Just so easy and believable. I love the way nothing jars when I'm reading our characters talk.

And then Kirk's letter to Spock... Same plaudits apply but with the additional kudos of hitting just the right note of 'so near and yet so far' with all Kirk's learned in CT. Oh the humanity...

 



Author's Response:

Hello again.  Thank you so much for this, it's really kind of you and hugely appreciated (especially from one Kirk fan to another).  However, I would like to point out, in answer to your first paragraph, that I am not at all sadistic, I'm a gentle loving soul who would happily have left both Kirk and Spock to get on with things without me (and, incidentally, stopped tormenting the readers of this archive) after I finished Common Touch, but I was ruthlessly flattered into writing a sequel by the CT reviewers, one in particular, so if anyone is sadistic, it's her and not me.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2012 10:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ha ha, I don't mean it as any criticism of you - this story's so brill I just assume it is some subtle characterisation whose meaning is yet to be revealed...



Author's Response:

Cool, I'll just keep quiet and let everyone go on thinking I'm more subtle than I am, then!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2012 1:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

Jane, I was again surprised to find another chapter posted on Christmas Day no less.  A regular Christmas giftie!

I am intrigued as to how you are going to unGol Spock (at least that is what I am pulling for) but will anxiously wait to see.  Stonn and Spock on the Enterprise without an explanation?  Ouch!  Kirk with the Golized Spock?  Ouch!  Reminds me of running into a friend you haven't seen for years that you have absolutely nothing in common with.  Awkward.

Continuing to look forward to your lovely story.  Hope you had a merry Christmas.



Author's Response:

I don't do Christmas, hence posting two chapters while I had some time off work.  But I hope you had a wonderful one and thank you so much for the review and for being so kind.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2012 8:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

No no, don't be upset :)  And don't do yourself down - you act so surprised when we say we enjoy your stories and you needn't, they are genuinely really good!!!  It's just that I try and leave constructive criticsm so that you can tweak and improve your craft for the next ones (of course it's easy to dispense advice - I never take my own in my stories anyway so feel free to ignore it XD )...  And also the story is yours so you needn't apologise for doing it your way! :D



Author's Response:

Didn't want to come across as upset, I genuinely appreciated what you said and agreed with it.  The rest of it was just British-speak for thank you very much!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 9:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoy reading what you post. Each thought you write for them, makes us think about them, what direction they should go, where their head is at. It truly is a journey of self-discovery.

The decision to go to Gol has a different feel. You state and I quote:  

Could he, Spock, go to Gol not because of his Vulcan heritage but because of his human blood – could he be the first human to achieve kolinahr? And what would that mean to the Accords, to the galaxy, to Vulcan? To Kirk? He wishes to find answers, but is thinking how it would be for him, being partly human. No where did I see you write Spock wishing to get rid of his human side which has plagued him for so long...he just wants to know more about himself, and since he has lived among Vulcans on the Seleya, with Humans on the Enterprise, the only place left to go is to return home...to seek understanding...Who am I? Where do I go from here? Jim will have to find his own answers... Your story is filled with so much, I wish I could analyze it in greater detail, and express my findings freely, but words prevent me from doing so...I wouldn't be able to do it justice... Thanks for the update, and everyone here waits eagerly for your next chapter.

Author's Response:

You are very noble to take such care over the review when I was worried I would bore everyone rigid.  Thank you so much for being so generous about the story. More soon....

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/10/2012 2:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Jane, we really should quit meeting like this.  Again I am squinting at the smart phone because it's 1 a.m. and I'm half blind from doing a 13 hour Lord of the Rings movie marathon.  Sigh.  Headed in different directions, huh?  Well, I've learned enough to know that what appears to be what is going on is not necessarily what is actually going on with the boys when they get in your paws.  I will maintain my cool, my logic (such as it is), and my hope and ride this to the end.  Well done.  Maybe I'll get a story posted one day so you can read and not write.  No, bad idea.  Definitely a bad idea.



Author's Response:

I don't know about that, it's always nice to hear from you, though I am sorry both about your eyes and that I am clearly driving you nuts.  Thank you for sticking with me regardless, more soon...

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2012 5:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

Logic of either planet. Both need to know themselves before reconnecting.  But what of the Mila and their interest in Vulcan research, are they telling the truth why is Kirk's intuition working overtime. Look forward to the next instalment



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - work in progress at the moment, but hoping to put some serious time in over the weekend.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2012 11:24 PM Title: Chapter 1

NO! Seperated? Not again!

WHY? Oh and he is going planetside soon too

SPOCK 

why is everyone always trying to kill him?



Author's Response:

I'm sorry.  But if everything were fine, I couldn't really write a story.  Thanks for joining me, anyway!

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 11:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

Ah, well I knew that the universe would deign to keep them apart for a little longer...  I have such bad feelings about this already...

Awesome story, of course!  



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you for being so kind, it's so nice to hear from you and you are always very nice about my writing even when it clearly winds you up!

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 6:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

I have no words to really describe what your writing does for me; it's so mature and wise.  I love many of the writers on this site, as they hone their skills; but your writing brings in a new (gown up)  dimension, which right now I can't find the superlatives to describe, having had a couple of drinks with colleagues after five ten hour days in a row. (four days off, yay)

I loved Jim's opening letter and could see him writing it with a smile as he descirbed his conversation with McCoy. 

And oh lordy, a cliff hanger.....

I'm looking forward to reading what you do with these two who really can't go backwards, can they?  By the way is not an inviation to rush!



Author's Response:

I'm honestly overwhelmed by what you said, probably one of the nicest things anyone's ever said to me, and after five ten hour days, too!  I do hope you're enjoying your four days off and having a deserved rest.  I have promised myself not to rush this time, that's my deal with the rest of my life, but I promise also that I won't leave it too long.  Take care.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 5:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

Super excited to see the sequel. I truly hope you'll enjoy writing it as much as we'll enjoy reading it. You lure us in, set us up comfortably, and then let in the villain.

Can't wait to see what Kirk writes to Saredin (if Saredin's character will further evolve in this story?); how Spock will respond,and how you'll bring him into the picture if he can't, as Kirk tells McCoy, arrive sans Constitution Class vessel for a ridiculously long time--Ah, but you're a clever one and we can't count on you, thankfully, to always navigate anticipated routes.

I wonder which of the three main characters you find easiest/hardest to write. In this chapter, I thought Bones sounds dead-on. I think you really get Kirk and Spock's voices down in dialog, but I wonder if you find it harder to do so as they 'scribe.'

Off to a great start. Thanks so much--you've made my week!



Author's Response:

As you know, I only wrote it to hear from you again.  And I hope you do enjoy it, because you have to take responsibility for me writing it, including to everyone else who reads it.  No pressure for either of us there, then.  I'll try to stay a step ahead of you, but you might have to wait for me from time to time.  Thank you  for liking McCoy here.  

Reviewer: DestinyTrek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 10:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you so much for taking the initiative of writing a sequel. Common Touch was spectacular and this shows just as much promise, if not more. Spock's humor of McCoy joining the crew of the Seleya was well-played.



Author's Response:

That's immensely kind - thank you so much for reviewing and for being so generous - "spectacular" - will file it away mentally to cheer myself up in times of need!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 5:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

What an amazing chapter. I am so pleased to see you continue where you left off.  The letters between them were humorous. Damn, HQ for thinking Jim has to be promoted, an Admiral....it truly isn't what Jim wants...and there is Spock...where will he go now....Gol?? 

That message Jim is going to write to Saredin...Hmmm. I wonder if he will try to convince him not to make Spock go to Gol....I wait for your update..

Brilliant my dear....words escape me.



Author's Response:

How nice of you, thank you, I hope you don't come to regret pressurising me into this!

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 4:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

So, I saw the title "Common Knowledge" in recent fics and wondered why it had updated because I was sure it was done. Then I read the summary and started squealing...

Thank you for writing this. I'm thrilled that there is more. Also, I'm already on the edge of my seat. Will they actually fight to be together like they want this time?

At any rate, I love their letters. They were very much in character and the chess game made me laugh.


As always, I must beg for more



Author's Response:

Hello again!  Thank you for such a lovely response, both to the fact of a sequel and to my chess game correspondence, which I really enjoyed writing, but it's more fun if it's read and appreciated.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 3:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Dear Jane, I was surprised to find this sequel to your previous story that I liked so well.  I had thought you might disappear into holiday land for a while and give yourself a good rest.  Circumstances keeping our boys apart, huh?  How come I think they are going to wind up together eventually?  Or is it just that it's what I want?  Looking forwrd to seeing more as usual and I will try not to let this get so personal as they boys' relationship sometimes gets with me.  But I will read regardless.  Regards.



Author's Response:

Not as surprised as I was, believe me.  And I am sorry if you would have preferred me to leave things as they were.  Blame Aname, it's entirely her fault.  On the other hand, it may be sad, but writing is my idea of a holiday and this way I get to hear from you again, which is always a pleasure.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/02/2012 10:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

Sigh, you are the Queen of Cat-and-mouse Game.



Author's Response:

Sorry!  But thank you very much, as always, for keeping up with me.

You must login (register) to review.