Reviews For Common Knowledge
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2014 3:27 AM Title: Chapter 10

Overwhelmed. Your rewriting of TMP was masterful. Many jobs around the house have gone undone the last few days. I really don't know what to say that can express my admiration for your work. At some point I think you used the expression of an over large hand finding a comfortable glove. That's how your wonderful ending was for me. Thank you. 



Author's Response:

That is more than lovely of you.  I'm walking on cloud 9.  I am, however, very sorry about the household jobs.  If it helps, I never do any at all and I am quite sure your squalor doesn't compare with mine.  Thank you again for making my day, truly.

Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2014 12:39 PM Title: Chapter 8

No immediate back up, his First Officer incapacitated, the VSA Sub-Commissioner dead and the Seleya unreachable.  HQ, the task force and the rest of the galaxy out of communication range and a deadly plague reaching out to Vulcan.  The Enterprise isolated.  No real gains for the mission so far, then, he reflected, but on the plus side it did look aesthetically pleasing.

 

So powerful. What writing. 



Author's Response:

Thank you again.  It's very nice to come back from work to messages like this!  A definitive improvement to the working day.  You are very kind.

Reviewer: lisbei Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 5:22 PM Title: Chapter 10

Yay for happy endings!


I spent all day yesterday reading both these stories and I needed to dwell on them a bit - I love the reason you gave for Gol (canon never explained this to my satisfaction), and I was so glad Spock never completed the kolinahr.


You've really nailed their characters - and I loved every chapter.

 



Author's Response:

You are very kind and lovely, thank you.  I think myself canon is often unkind to Spock in pursuit of a good story line.  I may have taken up a serious amount of your time recently, so I hope you've been having a lovely weekend.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2013 3:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hey, sorry I haven't read the most recent two chapters. I promised I haven't abandoned you, just swapped fandoms for a few weeks. Anyways, I'm giving up fanfiction for Lent, so no reviews until after Easter >.< I am missing this story though. I'll probably do a complete reread then. <3



Author's Response:

Very impressed that you are giving up anything for Lent.  And don't worry at all, hope you're enjoying whatever you're up to and whatever you're reading.  Take care!

Reviewer: Daybora Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2013 11:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yay, a happy ending, I wasn't sure it was going to happen. I love your writing style, all the lovely complex sentences.  I love your character voices, especially Kirk's, his growth thru the two stories I think is even more impressive than Spock's. Now that you're done, I going to reread them both back-to-back.   I can't wait to see what you write next!



Author's Response:

How lovely you are and thank you so much for the comment re Kirk, as I'm a Kirk fan so it's much appreciated.  And I'm hopelessly flattered that you want to reread them...  thank you again and take care.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2013 3:36 PM Title: Chapter 10

Dear Jane, I have again read your lovely words twice, once to get to the conclusion of this lovely story and again to put it in perspective.  I love this story.  My favorite type of story, I believe, is about relationships because what made ST special to me from the beginning were the relationships.  You do relationship fic beautifully.  In a previous response, you questioned my statement that I would read your fic twice so I'll tell you now that when I have sufficient uninterrupted time I intend to read both stories from beginning to end again because I find them that satisfying.  I will continue to do the happy dance any time I see your name on future posts because I am truly a fan of your writing.  And thanks for the happy ending.  Life doesn't always give us happy endings so I love when it happens in what I read.



Author's Response:

Not sure I ever had a fan before - thank you for being a constant source of friendly comment and kind reviews; I know I took you places you didn't always want to go but I am very glad I gave you what you wanted in the end.  Good luck with your own writing and thank you so much, again, for everything.

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2013 9:23 AM Title: Chapter 10

Brilliantly, beautifully, intelligently crafted.  That's all that needs to be said really.  I hope I get to read more of your work in future. 



Author's Response:

It is certainly all that needs to be said - it's more than could possibly have been warranted and truly appreciated.  You in particular have been so kind throughout this series and I do hope I've conveyed how much that has meant to me.  Look after yourself down under.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2013 6:54 AM Title: Chapter 10

That was beautiful. 

They figured it out in the end. Not everything and not perfectly, but they figured it out.

I'll never really know with Gol. It has so many negative and positive connotations it makes my head spin.

Spock's exchange with T'Pau left me feeling speechless! He got it. He knows thyself

May you have an unlimited supply of Guava Juice, Live Long and Prosper, and obviously...

Thanks for the story! :)



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed it and that I made up for chapter 9!  Thank you again for being so kind.

Reviewer: Aname Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/07/2013 3:43 AM Title: Chapter 10

Bitter sweet to see this story come to a close.

When Spock suggested Kirk re-engage in competitive chess and I found it surprisingly touching, I realized that the tease/counter tease relationships among K, S, Mc function not only to keep them on familiar and balanced terms, by alternately bringing one another down to size, they also allow them to demonstrate affection, understanding of, and respect for one another. I always learn something about these characters from reading your stories.

"...the chain of command which had bound them and separated them had been tested--shaped and beaten and worked under fire into its own unique shape--but never quite broken..." ...One of the best sentences I've read in a Trek story, fan fic. or other; stiking imagery...and "Spock called it balance"....

'Conventional happy endings' may not be on the table for these two, but as this chapter in their story closes it's heartening to think they may yet lay claim to some unconventional happiness.

All my thanks, appreciation, and gratitude.

 



Author's Response:

Aname, you've been more than an inspiration and you have written more than reviews.  You and I know how much of all of this is yours not mine and I will miss hearing from you.  Wishing you your own balance, always - Jane

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2013 10:17 PM Title: Chapter 10

Ah, it's finished. And I'm torn between a huge appreciation of a wonderful tale so satisfyingly concluded...

 

And then, as though wanting to be clear, as though Kirk had finally earned the accolade of trust with words, he added “No uncertainty at this point as to the method by which I will be re-joining the ship should present any obstacle to measures you may be considering adopting in relation to the re-stocking of certain items on the ship’s inventory of beverages.”

(trust with words, just perfect)

...and a deep dismay that you've gone and bloody finished it! So now what are we supposed to look forward to?

Great resolution of the cliffhanger we were all squealing about, lovely banter and interplay with McCoy, nice that Saredin and Kirk became friends and, best of all, my favourite starship captain gets to sail off into the sunset on a sea of guava juice and Spockiness. About time.... Until the next time you get your hands on these two. (She says hopefully and in full realisation that you may be due a rest and some laurel crushing).

 



Author's Response:

It's less that I'm resting and more that I'm doing all the work I should have been doing when I was writing Common Knowledge.  But thank you - truly - for all the wonderful reviews and support; always difficult to convey how much this means but you know because you write yourself.  I think you should write the next one.  Take care and be well.  PS  Perversely so nice to have the word "bloody" in a review, definitely a first, it's so quintessentially British; no one else could written it.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 6:02 AM Title: Chapter 9

What!!?!

 "If you can buy me maybe five minutes, I can probably get to him...Within three point seven minutes...the shuttlecraft Columbus was destroyed." SHIT

noooo

AND A VACCINE? I was looking forward to that chess game!



Author's Response:

Hi, thanks for reviewing.  You sounded so disappointed I waited to reply until I finished the story.  I hope the ending made up for the Columbus...  Thanks so much again.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 8:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

You're absolutely right! I'd forgotten Spock said it in that all important sickbay scene. And you out-geek me. Yay! <goes and stands in the corner feeling a little foolish>



Author's Response:

No, don't go and stand in the corner.  You were so lovely to review and I was so relieved to be right (I did check, after your review, doesn't take much to shake my self-belief).  Let's be geeks together.

Reviewer: louiseb Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 6:36 AM Title: Chapter 9

Hooray! Chapter 9. That's made my Friday evening. And to have so much of it taken up with Kirk Spock dialogue is a real delight. You do this so so well. My sympathies are still firmly with Kirk but then I'm always biased in his direction and now I'm questioning my judgement right alongside our Captain. Genius. How do you do that? I love the way you challenge your readers philosophically even while you drag us along with some great plotting. And what a cliffhanger! Oh please please don't leave us all dangling too long.

 

Footnote: (Imagine tiny unreadable font from this point). Adopts geeky voice... Ah hem...In The Enemy Within it's actually McCoy who says intelligence protects us from fear not Spock. How do I know this? Well, apart from the sad fact that I watched the entire three seasons of TOS last year almost back to back (and realised I'd never actually seen some of them in my first burst of Trekkieness back in the seventies), TEW is one of my favourite episodes and I've written my own take on it which necessitated uncountable rewatchings of said episode. I'll get my coat.*

 

*To our American buddies, that's a catchphrase over here and Jane will get it. Oh God, I just wrote a footnote to my footnote. Kill me now.



Author's Response:

Well, we have a lot in common here.  Firstly, footnotes on footnotes - my particular preference is writing in numbered paragraphs, so I appreciate a srtuctured piece of text.  Secondly, coming from the right side of the pond, of course.  Thirdly, Kirk - you and I come from the same place on this, and I push the intellectual boundaries on the relationship to compensate, precisely because I'm aware of where my default emotional sympathies lie.  I'm disproportionately glad it works for you, since you're probably exactly the audience I need to persuade.  Fourthly, I'm a TOS fan but I'm no Vulcan - no eidetic memory and I do check my facts before I write.  You're entirely correct about McCoy, but I think Spock said the same thing, a couple of times, in that episode.  I could have given credit to McCoy as well, here, but it wasn't really relevant, so I am hoping you and he will both forgive me.  Thank you so much for this review, it means a lot.

Reviewer: Aname Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 3:53 AM Title: Chapter 9

Whoa nelly! Shamefully lured into believing this might be a quick fix chapter, what with McCoy's quick turn around vaccine and Spock's light banter with Scotty. Then the tension began to build and I was in for a penny and a pound and wondering about the cultural differences between the two, Kirk and Spock, and whether or not there can be any right or wrong when an extraordinary relationship must span a cultural divide and find a common language in order to communicate, maintain balance, and move forward.

And the cliffhanger..., well, that was a nice touch!

Nobody does it better, Ms. D.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for getting all of this and I'm afraid a significant part of the research for this chapter went into establishing whether "in for a penny" would resonate with an American reader across the divide.  Google assured me it would, which is why I took the risk, glad it paid off.  Always lovely to hear from you in any language.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2013 1:59 AM Title: Chapter 9

Whew!  You are not one of those authors, Jane, whose work I can anticipate, which is both interesting and sometimes a pain in the butt.  When I finished the chapter the first time, I just sat and stared, totally surprised by its ending.  I read it again.  The ending didn't change.  I can't say that happens to me very often.

I am hoping Kirk is not gone although he appears to be thoroughly gone.  Will be looking forward to the next installment with a hankie, ready to throw myself weeping upon my pillow yet again.



Author's Response:

I'm sure cliffhangers are cheating, somehow, and not a very grown-up way to write, but with this sort of chapter-by-chapter serialisation, they are (as you will have figured) almost irresistible to me.  I am very flattered that anyone would read any of these chapters more than once for any reason - thank you and thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2013 9:36 PM Title: Chapter 9

gah, cliffhanger!!!

Oh jeez, why can't these two just have a normal relationship and be like normal people?  no actually don't answer that.... grrrrr.

Great chapter!



Author's Response:

But I would have nothing to do if they did!  Well, that's not quite accurate - if they did, I'd have no excuse for not looking after my family and actually doing my job.  Thanks so much for reviewing.

Reviewer: Aname Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2013 4:58 AM Title: Chapter 8

Enjoyed this chapter immensely. Of course, I enjoy them all... So drawn into Spock's drama, I nearly suffered an identity crisis, and felt slightly woosey when the imaginary railing gave way. You take us into the minds of these characters as no one else does. Spock's reaction to Kirk's 'self-discovery through mental devastation' suggestion could hardly be otherwise. And yet, how can Kirk possibly help him, but to offer his friendship (albeit, awkwardly, given their history and current uncertain standing). So interesting, too, that Kirk so soon comes to question whether indeed Spock is still Spock and still someone he'd find as compelling without his Vulcan attributes. 

Excellent story telling. You never make it easy or simple. 

On the medical stuff, I've no issue. It'd seem sensible to assume that the bio-engineered virus is in part neurotoxin. Perhaps the Vulcan brain can repair itself (as humans can, to a degree); perhaps he'll need Bones, or a cure offered from the injuring party.

Many, many thanks, Jane. You are a real crowd pleaser and a wonderful writer.



Author's Response:

I think, as I've said before, you are better at reviews than I am at chapters.  When I grow up, I'm going to make casual use of terms like "neurotoxin" and then people will think I know what I'm talking about.  Thank you more than I can say for your encouragement and support and for all the effort you go to in leaving this feedback.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2013 1:22 AM Title: Chapter 8

So, we killed the Vulcan half, let's see if we can take out the human - yikes!

 

Anyways, in response to your reply to my comment last chapter, I would like to point out, that I  think it's great you're taking inspiration from the movies. It might help me predict some things, but I'm still on the edge of my seat over whether the boys will ever get their act together. In other words, I can't say you're predictable at all.

 

Also, I continue to get surprised with Saredin, but I think it's great that your characters are learning not to judge each other. Great job, looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Hello again, and thank you so much, this is really kind.  I should say, in turn, in response to your second paragraph, that I hope I didn't sound defensive, because I really appreciated your review.  I understand that unpredictability is of value from the reader's perspective and that it's therefore a compliment and I appreciate it very much, but what I was trying to say, I guess, is that my primary aim is authenticity rather than unpredictability and that the latter is a bonus.  

I remember having to win you over to Saredin in CT, so I'm glad you're still being surprised!  See you soon.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 5:03 PM Title: Chapter 8

Hmm, so Kirk misses Spock and wants to be pals with Saredin?  Can't say I blame him - Spock's not exactly very approachable right now.  And speaking of Spock, I really enjoyed his internal monologue - it was very thoughtful and revealing.  Obviously you've some psychological insight into our favourite human/vulcan hybrid!

Look, I know you said you didn't want to hear anything about the medical side of things... but I just have a bit of a query.  Surely if Spock was injected with a chemical which disrupts the cortex/endocrine connection, wouldn't normal functioning resume once the chemical was eliminated from his body?  Or does this hydroxwhateverthehellitwas cause some sort of permanent damage to his synapses or something?  Or is the virus lying dormant in his body so he needs the drug to be continually administered to keep him alive?  I don't think you really explained this (or if you did I didn't notice - could be my fault, sorry!).  Anyway, it's not a criticism as such - just a little confusion which I'm sure you can work the answer of into the next chapter if necessary...

Still enjoying this story :D



Author's Response:

Hi, thank you so much for the comments on Spock's internal monologue.  Re the medical side of things - the sensible thing to do would be to suggest you don't take me too seriously and refer you to my disclaimer and say that I am not now, nor have ever been within a million miles of medical training and that I don't even pretend to know what I'm talking about and am only prepared to do the necessary research if it were my day job!  However, what I envisaged is that the damage to Spock's mental powers was caused by the virus, not by McCoy's treatment.  McCoy's injection of hydroxymethimazole (and I really cannot believe I am writing this as though trying to persuade anyone it's an even half-baked medical theory) was supposed to intervene to suspend the connection to the cortex sufficiently long to stop the virus killing Spock.  It killed Stonn, because the connection was wholly essential for his survival in a way it wasn't for Spock's.   There is another point to be made here, but it would be a spoiler, so if you're really interested, come back and ask me in a couple of chapters' time.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 9:10 AM Title: Chapter 3

I had to go back and see where I had left off, and here I am finishing chapter three. What an amazing, well ordered mind you have, you managed to think far ahead, and create this intricate plot, that now seems to fall into place. Jim is so restless at his desk job, and now that he has pieced the final puzzle, he has never felt such purpose and conviction...

So, he is pleased beyond words he's getting his ship back, but also shocked that Saredin requested him. Plus, there is this business about Spock. Will he leave Gol now to join Jim by his side. Will Jim allow it, possibly jeopardizing his life.

Brilliant chapter, so very well weaved together, coming full circle.

Forgive me for replying so late to your story. I have many more chapters to read, but need to have no distractions while reading, which is not often the case. So bear with me, I will get to the others. Thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

Hello again, thank you so much, how kind of you.  I must find a way of telling my husband I have an amazing, well ordered mind.  Absolutely no forgiveness necessary;  so glad you are enjoying it.

You must login (register) to review.