Reviews For Our Natures
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Chanel Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/15/2013 11:39 AM Title: Chapter 14

Great story!!!

Reviewer: AuroraMoon Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2012 5:38 PM Title: Chapter 14

Nice ending... everything was resolved in a highly logical manner. ^_^

Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: AuroraMoon Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2012 7:14 AM Title: Chapter 1

The whole thing about Vulcans being accepting... I tend to think of it as being more than wishful thinking.

After all, they are an alien race, not the Amish. Sure they're total prudes when it comes to sex and stuff... but they're also a telepathic race.

So being a telepathic race, it makes sense that they would emphasize the compatibility of minds above all else, espeically that of the body.

Of course there are writers out there who likes to imply m-preg too by saying that since Vulcan is such a harsh place to live, that it might end up with an imbalance of one sex outnumbering the other sex from time to time. So Nature compensates for this by having the Vulcans have "backup reproductive systems" in their bodies.
In such a world, even though not exactly canon, it would be illogical to discriminate against gay or bisexual people.

But that's just me.

Reviewer: Kitsune-chan Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2012 8:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

Awesome that you wrote the poetry! I have no sense of rhythm, so I wouldn't be able to make it sound good in Vulcan either -sweatdrops- I could probably give an "awkward translation" without providing the original 'text' though


Technically I'm bi, but I greatly prefer women (and find things like excessive chest hair/ bulging muscles off-putting in guys), and I've never actually slept with a man. I like erotica, though, and although I prefer femslash over slash, there aren't many popular shows with two female leads, or many double genderswaps in fandoms with male leads... I also don't particularly like het (as bad as slash tends to be about stereotyping roles, het is worse).


I think people having Vulcans magically have no prejudices is more wishful thinking than blindness. I mean, most people like to think that centuries from now we'll be finally past all this bullshit. A lot of fiction is wish fullfilment, too, especially fanfiction. I mean, think about how many 'soulmates', 'best orgasm ever's and 'happily ever after's there are (and how pretty much everyone in slash fics has an 8-inch cock, when the average is closer to 4), plus how many people completely ignore or show a lack of understanding of fraternization rules. Also, most fanfiction (and most romance, period) utterly fails to paint an accurate picture of any relationship.


It's kinda funny, but it's fairly easy to tell when a sex scene's written by an actual gay guy in slash or a lesbian in femslash. Mostly in the little details, but also somewhat in how a topic's handled.

Reviewer: Kitsune-chan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/04/2012 11:22 PM Title: Chapter 11

Loving this. Their altered names threw bit a bit at first, but I quickly got used to it. There isn't nearly enough (good) femslash in any fandom, but especially Star Trek. I like how you write the sex scenes. T'Vai's awesome, too. I also really, really loved the poetry. [Vulcan reminds me of Arabic in some aspects (gorgeous language, pain in the ass to pronounce), although also of Japanese. Both have wonderful poetry that translates wierdly and is best in the original.] Where'd you find the poetry?

Also I'm really curious what's going to be done about T'Vai's koon-ut-kal-i-fee (sp?). Can't decide if I want it to follow the original Amok Time or go off in another direction entirely... Another direction would be cool, though.

Love how you wrote Lia, too, and how it's genuinely a sacrifice for her to tie herself to T'Vai (most people write Jim as randomly no longer wanting to be highly sexual, usually combined with "we are soulmates!") but T'Vai's utterly worth it. More realistic, plus I think sweeter. Also liked how T'Vai's following a male Pon Farr more than female. And, yeah, I think Vulcan society would be pretty homophobic, what with their "sex outside of reproduction is illogical; illogical=evil" thing, instead of how people tend to write it, where they're magically accepting of it despite being complete prudes and all...


Anyways, enough rambling. Please update soon!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  The K/S cliches that you mentioned - Kirk being eager to give up women and Vulcans not being homophobic - are two things that really bother me about the genre and that I changed very deliberately, so I'm really glad that you feel the same way, and that you get what I was trying to do.  I feel like a lot of slash doesn't paint an accurate picture of gay relationships or gay subculture because it's all written by straight women, and I wanted to change that as much as I could.  If the sex scenes feel natural, it's because I'm a lesbian.  Are you too?  Or am I the only lesbian who likes K/S?

I wrote the poetry.  I am not a poet, but writing poetry in a fake language and in awkward translation was easy.  I can't make the meanings and the sounds pretty at the same time, but I can do them separately.  And yeah, I've always thought the Vulcan language sounds like Arabic.  I see the Vulcans as mostly a mix of Arabic, Chinese, and Ancient Greek.  It's interesting to think about why the creators of Star Trek might have drawn from those cultures to make the Vulcans.

Reviewer: AuroraMoon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2012 8:11 PM Title: Chapter 11

I like this story so far. although I have to say it doesn't feel like a true gender-bend story. instead, it feels like a random female human and Vulcan put into Jim Kirk and Spock's place to live though what they did... Still enjoyable though.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the favorable rating.  Yeah, you caught me - these characters are not really Kirk and Spock.  But Kirk and Spock have never really been round characters, right?  They're archetypes.  That's why Star Trek fanfiction works so well, and why the characters can be played by different actors.  The basics of the characters are timeless, classic, but there's also a lot there to play with.  I wanted to write a lesbian K/S story that honored the tropes of the genre, but I didn't want to have Kirk and Spock go through a gender-reversing force field or something.  That seems like it would have been too silly.  I also wanted the freedom to change a few plot points, updating the story and making it a more plausible (How does McCoy not know?!  Is he a real doctor, or what?)  Rough equivalent characters seemed to be the best solution.  I hope it reenforces the idea that K/S is a timeless love story, like how Romeo and Juliet can be redone as West Side Story.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 8:34 AM Title: Chapter 5

Love all the twists you are throwing in here. It really heightens the adrenaline for me. This shit is downright scary and I don't know what's going to happen next. I mean, I know how the episode goes, but still. The chokehold really works, perhaps reminiscent of All Our Yesterdays when Spock goes off on McCoy? Beats soup thrown at a wall.



Author's Response:

Thanks.  I'm glad you're liking it so far.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 8:30 AM Title: Chapter 4

meh, he sounds like a douchebag. Joe Kennedy tried to get his ex wife to annul his marriage so he could marry his 2nd wife in the Roman Catholic Church and fulfill his political ambitions.


Guess what?


She told him no. Not just no, but hell no. They had two kids and she refused to make them bastards in the eyes of the church.


You know what? In the end, it didn't even matter that much.

I guess the idea is that Vulcans at their first pon farr are still kind of like teenagers in adult's bodies and maybe are a bit immature and naive in their conception of the world and still very responding to authority. Frustrating to watch, though.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 8:23 AM Title: Chapter 2

I don't know why, but the fact that you've changed the names and the characterizations slightly make this story seem fresh somehow. I really feel the terror of the situation that T'Vei is in, although I don't really know her well enough to understand why she's been in denial for several years about her link. I like the captain although i'm a bit thrown by the constant use of her first name.

You must login (register) to review.