Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 8:09 PM Title: Chapter 12

What an evil, evil place to stop. <Glares>

I sincerly hope you update soon - especially because I may be somewhere without internet this coming weekend. (So, don't think I've abandoned reading if I don't review very quickly).


Anyways, that had to be a really hard thing for Kirk to say, but he's right, isn't he. They can't have what they used to have back. They can build something new, it might even be better, but they can't ever be the same. That's kind of one of the main themes of this piece. And I think you're absolutely right in it's execution.


Still, I want to know what happens next, espeically as regards Spock's reaction to a perceived rejection. Please update =)



Author's Response:

I was on a long car journey last week when I suddenly realised I could end the chapter at that particular point, and I must admit it made me laugh out loud, it's the sadist in me.  Am not giving away the ending, but I'm in mid-chapter.  Not sure about the weekend.  Thank you very much for writing.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 7:36 PM Title: Chapter 12

Aaargggh yet again!  Jane, dear, you are making me crazy.  I am sitting here with tears in my eyes all ready for the big reconciliation, and Kirk says no.  No?  NO?  You're killing me with the cliffhangers.  Please, please, please, I want the boys together again...but I'll read whatever you post!!!!!  Write faster!!!!!



Author's Response:

I am really sorry.  Well, sort of.  There's a wonderful power about writing and being in charge.  It almost makes up for the fact that I haven't had time to do anything else recently.  Thank you for reading and reviewing, even if it's clearly driving you nuts.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 7:11 AM Title: Chapter 11

Wow. Quite a chapter. I'm kind of surprised to see that Spock's outgrown his place on the Enterprise, but it really works well in this fic and I'm impressed that you managed it.

 

This line had me smiling for quite a while too:

"The trouble was that if you were charged with moderating the dialogue at the most sensitive peace talks in living memory, with literally billions of lives dependent on success, you couldn’t really afford to take time to consider the possible meaning of issuing apparently irrational orders which were then obeyed without question or explanation by your former commanding officer"

Good job.

 



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you!  It's so lovely having specific feedback on text like that.  Thank you so much for staying with the story and for bothering to keep leaving reviews.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 11

ya!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 10:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Mmh I am beginning to wonder when in the TOS universe this fits, as this influences the possibilities of what direction is possible. The elements woven here are complex and it is much better a fic than many published tales. A study in diplomacy versus leadership subject matter crucial to later TOS movies. A tale of a changing relationship and the interbank struggles of two men. Looks like Spock is in the zone at the moment.  Sometimes a fic can express our dreams, but this lookeof at the reality of two men changing and to a degree moving apart. This reflects the changes at the end of the movie sequence with Spock moving forward Nd Jim Stuck in his predudices. It is the tension of War versus peace. Also your exposition of Jims projection of his frustration on Kor was something we all do but so rarely see compiled in a fic. 



Author's Response:

I may be beginning to answer your question with the chapter I've just posted and the next which I'm currently writing.  Of course, the story doesn't quite fit with canon whatever I do, and I am hoping that people are happy to read it or read into it whatever they want.  Thank you for such a thoughtful review and for being so encouraging.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:23 PM Title: Chapter 11

Oh cool!  That's an unexpected ending :)  By the way, I really hope Mike Harding doesn't die...  I kind of get the feeling that he's going to, but I could be wrong.

I have to say, I found the jumping between perspectives in this chapter and Spock's monologues a little confusing, but otherwise it is a great story!  I am hanging on to your every word, of course :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for enjoying it and sorry for the confusion - I probably ought to get someone to beta-read my stories but I'm not that organised.  Anyway, if you've survived the confusion this long, the end is nigh.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:12 PM Title: Chapter 11

And some actual progress is making itself known.

The trallphori plant was an interesting tidbit.

It feels like something big is going to happen soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you, sorry if it felt like forever, just had to get to where I am now.  And thank you for liking the trallphori!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:10 PM Title: Chapter 11

Arrgh!  I begin to see that Spock is not returning to the Enterprise, and I had been pulling for the old status quo.  I really, really love these guys together.  But write on and I'll keep reading because I really love this story and plan to reread it in entirety when you are finished.  Good work!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much; I do sympathise, but the end is in sight...

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 11:30 PM Title: Chapter 10

Gah!  Queen of cliffhangers strikes again!!!  Totally loving this story, of course :)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much.   Just posted another cliffhanger, specially for you...

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 10:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

Agree with Aname: you pack so many original ideas into each chapter.

This chapter is a peculiar mix of softness and sadness, regret and hope.

 



Author's Response:

That's a lovely review, thank you very much!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 5:15 AM Title: Chapter 10

Spock reflected that it had been strange that one of the most difficult adjustments to make on transfer from the Enterprise to the Seleya had been the absence of the expression of gratitude on the Vulcan ship. One does not thank logic, his father had said to his mother, years ago now in the Enterprise sickbay, of all places. But Spock had become accustomed to it, nevertheless. Like other things.

This little paragraph made me realize how Spock has come a long way. McCoy founds it a travesty, that all the hard work to try to make Spock more Human, has been eradicated. What's left in his place is a walking computer. It's amazing how we get accustomed to a different environment. The same could be said for languages. You begin to speak like the natives if you stay long enough. Deep down, I think Spock has enjoyed seeing a different side of himself.

It truly felt that he was glued to Jim's side. To know that he can stand on his own two feet, surely makes him feel good about his capabilities. There are so many wonderful key points to mention, but I don't want to spam your review box. Brilliant, as always. Update when time permits.



Author's Response:

If you and Aname added your reviews together, they would significantly exceed the length of my chapters, and that's not a complaint, it comes from a place of being deeply flattered and appreciative.  Thank you so much!  More soon...

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 5:04 AM Title: Chapter 10

Okay, I've said, 'best K-S spat ever,' and now I'll add, 'best Spock POV' in a long time. Don't know if I've said it before, but you pack so many original ideas into each chapter--Spock's rumination on how the relationship with Kirk made him feel, his lack of enthusiasm for serving aside him again (and the maliability of both men's thoughts & feelings... very original, complicated ideas, and such authentic musings for a complicated friendship.

Hope the surgery went well and will afford all the desired benefit. Thanks for a great story and very considerate updating!



Author's Response:

Surgery was a bit like being run over by a gang of midget warriors with spears aiming for my eyes, but your review was a great compensation, particularly because I listened to what you said about my POVs earlier so am really pleased you liked this one.  Thank you so much.

Reviewer: omega111 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 2:14 AM Title: Chapter 10

Poor Jim. It seems he is far more motivated to rebuild their friendship than Spock is. Can't wait to see what happens next.



Author's Response:

Thank you, it's incredibly flattering that anyone can "not wait" to see what happens next and it's hugely motivating and really kind of you to bother to write.

Reviewer: AppropriatelyAmbitious Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2012 11:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your updates are one of the highlights of my week. This chapter left me feeling a bit melancholy....very interested to see where you go from here! Thank you for continuing to write so regularly, and so beautifully.



Author's Response:

Ah, that's a two-way thing.  Your reviews are one of my highlights.  Thank you so much for this and I will update very soon.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2012 9:36 PM Title: Chapter 10

Saredin is just full of surprises in this chapter, isn't he? I'm curious to see what choice Spock will make, but I'm pretty sure with all the powers that be converging against Kirk it's going to make him far more interested in leaving them to deal with their problems themselves.

 

Also, come on Spock. even a heavily encripted "hello" is better than nothing



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for staying with me.  Not giving anything away but will update very soon, am writing the last chapters somewhat simultaneously.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2012 3:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is just such good writing!  I spent Veteran's Day weekend squinting into my smart phone reading the chapter you'd just released because my laptop was down and there was no other way for me to read it.  I enjoyed every squinty moment!  Yet it is painful to see the boys looking at one another, seeing the same things from their own POV, and both missing it.  Sometimes there are social and cultural differences that are hard to overcome.

But I must disagree with Tydomin about one thing.  I don't see this as Spock trying to get in on the good side of Sarek again.  I see it as his accepting an assignment, something that could impact the future of the Federation, even at a considerable negative impact to himself.  That is what we call service.  We honor our veterans and soldiers for this service, and we should honor Spock.

Pretty please, Jane, can I have more?



Author's Response:

Thank you for such a kind review.  I was particularly sorry that I made you squint because I achieved a lifelong ambition this week and had laser eye surgery, which has taken me out of circulation for longer than I thought.  But hoping to post in the next day or so (though you might prefer me to do so when I can't see what I'm writing) and thank you very much for being such a faithful reader.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/14/2012 6:14 PM Title: Chapter 9

When will you post another chapter? I'm checking every 12 hours. I mean, I know, genius can't be rushed... but I'm addicted. Help.



Author's Response:

Huge smile on my face.  How totally lovely of you to be addicted.  I hope you won't be disappointed... I'm aiming for this weekend.  Could be earlier or later but think/hope not.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2012 2:10 AM Title: Chapter 9

I don't know what to say

 

I feel emotionally drained

 

I'm going to rest for a bit

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2012 9:28 AM Title: Chapter 9

Wow, such a packed 45 minute trip and I loved Jim's final stand...am really looking forward to what happens next.



Author's Response:

46.4 minutes.  Thank you!  It is so kind of you to keep leaving reviews and I will try to keep earning them.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2012 6:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm late in the game...what can I possibly say when pretty much all has been said before me. That speech between them felt so visual...It had to be read, like a tennis match, faster and faster...such drama....

I have to tell you honestly, when I saw friendship story, I thought I wouldn't like it,   because we are so spoiled reading slash. But, this...this is just as exciting. 

You have truly went beyond on how we perceive these characters. But, it isn't far-fectched. I could seriously envision this. This spat between them, almost taking their friendship for granted...now let us see what lies beneath it all...

Let us unravel, who Jim and Spock really are...and what do they mean to each other. 

And girl, you are doing just that...

Update at your own pace...listen to Tydomin. She is a smart cookie...



Author's Response:

Thank you, everyone is so amazingly kind.  I am so glad you are enjoying it, and if I've overcome your disappointment re slash content, I take that as a real compliment.  Pressure re updating comes from within, really.  I know, I need help.

You must login (register) to review.