Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 6:02 AM Title: Chapter 13

great chapter, love how they come full circle. Kirk has learned a lesson here.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for sticking with me all the way through.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 3:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

I see no reason to stop, now, Jane D:) Here's hoping you go catch up on whatever you've been neglecting, and that we'll hear more from you, soon.

The last chapter was amazing. Again, you accomplised things I've never seen done in fandom, and which I suspect only you could articulate. I suspect we've all found ourselves deciding with someone our futures together or apart, and being torn between choosing the course we know to be best and the one we aren't prepared to ache for. You're right. Kirkk made the wrong choice. So did Spock, and he'll make another wrong choice, won't he? Ow! I hope your choice is to carry on, keep doing what you do so remarkably well. You can't be done with these guys, can you (even with Saredin?), or with us, right? Heartfelt thanks, gratitude, appreciation.



Author's Response:

You do realise, don't you, that if I wrote a sequel to Common Touch, I'd inevitably start with an idiosyncratic jolt?  You are my favourite person and I will miss hearing from you.  Thank you more than you know.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 10:33 PM Title: Chapter 13

Well, I for one can honestly say that it was a pleasure and not a trial to stick with this story.  It's true that I didn't always like what you made happen, but we don't always get what we want and that shouldn't affect our enjoyment - I enjoyed TWOK, even though Spock died, because it was a good story!  Yours was a good story.  The plot was so intricately woven, with lots of little references to canon and fanon and maybe even some apocrypha, your treatment of the characters was so sensitive and insightful, and for the most part your writing style and accuracy was exemplary.  I look forward to anything more that you may write! Well done, and a hearty thank you.  :D



Author's Response:

I felt the same way about TWOK myself, and am honoured to be mentioned in the same breath, especially as I realise a lot of what I wrote probably failed the feelgood factor test, so thank you for being so nice.  I really appreciate what you wrote.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 9:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

A Fic based on mature dialogue could not have ended any other way. Now both try a different path and return but for reasons way beyond starfleet and the service. Logic and Starfleet can but keep them apart. Only one thing can bring them together. Would love you to tackle the Antonia years. 



Author's Response:

I am hiding behind the sofa from any too immediately tempting suggestions of further writing - hm, the Antonia years...  Thank you very very much for all your generous support while I got through this.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 9:04 PM Title: Chapter 13

I could go on and on about how much I enjoyed this story but then I would be repeating myself.  I will just thank you for writing such a clear, concise, emotional rendition of Kirk and Spock.  I hope you continue to write in this fandom.  It was grand!



Author's Response:

That's a really lovely thing to say and I truly appreciate it - thank you not only for thinking it but for bothering to write it.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 8:03 PM Title: Chapter 13

Lucky Chapter 13!  Thank you, Jane, for a happy ending (although in some ways I hate to see your story end).  Although it is a little ambiguous, I am sure that Spock will find his way back home to the Enterprise in four months come hell or high water.  Your story has touched me in ways I find hard to articulate, has reminded me of my beloved friend who I lost so long ago, had made me rethink those life paths that brought us together and eventually separated us.  That is the mark of good fiction, girl.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

You mentioned your friend before.  I hope I haven't stirred up painful memories.  If it helps (which it won't) in my experience life paths usually point the way they do for a reason.  I hope that you have held on to the good memories.  And thank you so much for your company while I was writing this.  You have always been so kind and encouraging.

Reviewer: Carleen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 4:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

awesome reviews! what did you expect? of course, Jim said no. that's just his first response... plenty of time for more conversation 8)

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review - am now posting the rest of the conversation!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 9:29 AM Title: Chapter 12

No...No....So this is what the readers have been surprised about. Jim saying no to Spock, about being his science officer, again. 

Let's go back a bit first...I truly appreciated the description of Jim's experiences of the time he spent living on the farm in Iowa. Going down memory lane...all the little things his brother and himself did. 

Jim truly needed this time for himself...to remember the past, but to focus on the future...what lies ahead.

This paragraph, you nailed it perfectly, on how Jim thinks of Spock. 

And then he thought how odd it was that the common factor was cold – the bitter freeze of the Iowa winter and the endless chill of space, and how different it must be for Spock, who had returned to the heat of the desert from which he had come. Yet one more difference between them which he had, perhaps, never fully taken into account. Perhaps that had been the essence of what he had got wrong, he thought. He had mentally adopted Spock as a kind of extension of himself, perhaps of his family, but Iowa would be utterly alien to Spock. They had complemented each other so very perfectly that he had ended up treating Spock and himself on one level as the same, had overlooked their vast differences.

 

Yes, Jim does think of Spock as an extension of himself...perhaps Spock thinks the same as well. The time apart I find was good for them, despite the heated arguments it provoked. You have to realize they are not one individual, but two living, breathing individuals. Spock does not regret taking position as Captain of the Seleya. It showed him that he was capable to succeed without the shadow of Jim Kirk. Now, many would be surprised at Jim's response to Spock's request to be his science officer. But, when you think about it, I find it illogical for someone who has gone so far on his own, to go backwards instead of forward. Spock may be surprised by Jim's response, but deep down, I wasn't. It feels like Spock is playing with Jim's emotions..Jim went through hell, when Spock left, and now he wants to start over, like it was before. You can never go back...but maybe I'm wrong... I'll have to wait and see...great cliffhanger.

Author's Response:

I am hugely touched that you have gone to such lengths to review the last 2 chapters; thank you so much.  Just posting the last chapter now, so thank you for sticking with me all the way through.  We could have a competition about which of us has done the most work on the story! 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 8:52 AM Title: Chapter 11

Another interesting chapter. I love this line: And it was at that moment, standing across the table from Skallon at the peace conference, that for the first time in his life Spock suddenly realised that there was no Vulcan native word or translation of the word intuition and he was so struck by this that he stared at Skallon for ten point five seconds, as though not understanding where he was.

We so often think of Spock with Kirk, that it is hard for him, to explain to others (Vulcans I mean)how to see things in a different light. Spock had spent so long a time in Jim's shadow, that it began to rub off on Spock. How do you explain intuition, when there is no word for it in Vulcan. I adore you comparison to the plant. It is native to it's home planet, taking it out of its element, is shocking. But, it isn't impossible for it to thrive.

How nice to see Kor again. Love the fist fight between them. Words do often scar more than a physical confrontation. Jim was indeed fighting more than one person, down on that planet. I'm almost surprised though, while he kept thinking of Spock, that he would lose his train of thought, but he was so focused, and deep down angry about what had been happening...it felt so damn good, to beat the crap out of Kor...

Now, it's off to the wedding.

Excellent chapter, thanks for updating.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 5:22 AM Title: Chapter 12

WOW! AGH! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! You have got to be kidding me!

This one took me by surprise: the cliffhanger--holy cow!--and the fact that you continue to reveal skill heretofore unforeseen. It's believable, too: actually hard to imagine Kirk responding otherwise, given the circumstance. I feel like I just took a sucker punch. I hope you realize you must keep writing--and not just for our (your loyal readers') sake.



Author's Response:

Actually, if I kept writing, it would be for the pleasure of hearing from you.  I read this review with a big smile on my face; I reckon it's the first time you've been anything but calm and cool and collected.  You are more than a loyal reader; you've been a wonderful reader.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 12

THE BEGINNING FELT LIKE A SOOTHING BALM ON AN OLD HURT BUT THEN YOU TAKE MY HEART AND RIP IT TO PIECES!

NO?

WHAT THE FUCK DO YOU MEAN NO?

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 3:57 AM Title: Chapter 11

The paragraph beginning, "The trouble was..." is either a little convoluted or I'm not the sharpest tack in the box. I had to read it three times. That said (and I have to add a little constructive crit. now and then, lest I appear to be an overly effusive Jane D fangirl), I love what you did with that Trallphori, my dear. I'd like to know how you came about developing that allegory--WELL DONE! I also like the fact that you have Kirk not understanding Spock so well. You give these guys room to grow, and portray their friendship as something sufficiently complicated as to seem real. I do hope you don't burn-out, because you are the brightest light yet buring in this genre.



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you for liking my trallphori.  And for being so nice.  When I've finished, I may go back and edit all the bits you think are unclear.

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 6:03 PM Title: Chapter 12

Well, they're coming to some kind of understanding.....
I understand why Kirk said no.

Author's Response:

I figured it would be a love/hate chapter ending.  Though it seems to have been more hate/hate.  Thanks for putting up with me.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 9:24 AM Title: Chapter 12

"But no."

Whaaaaaat? I can almost understand but can not accept. 



Author's Response:

Nearly at the end.  Thank you for bearing wtih me all the way!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 7:19 AM Title: Chapter 12

wow... I mean, I kind of understand... but kinda don't



Author's Response:

I promise I will put you out of your misery soon...

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 4:35 AM Title: Chapter 12

Woo, kinda expected that "No" but still ...

Fantastic writing, so cerebral and intricate..love it.



Author's Response:

What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much (you are obviously a very intelligent and discerning person to have both figured out what I was going to write and also to have realised how cerebral my writing is) - seriously, it was really kind.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 1:02 AM Title: Chapter 12

oh, god damn them both for being so noble.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your forbearance!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 11:17 PM Title: Chapter 12

Whaaaaaat.

This is the most intriguing twist ever. How are you going to resolve this what direction next.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for continuing to review.  The answer to your last question is "with difficulty" but I'm working on it.

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 9:09 PM Title: Chapter 12

Oh my god! This is awsome n suspenseful! Need updates ASAP! 



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you!  Later this week, I think...

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 12

Aaaargh!!!  Why did you say that, Jim???  (actually, I think I know - but STILL!)

Another great chapter.  Wow, what a ride!  :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for being nice (I think) - everyone else is just cross with me!  I do appreciate you sticking with it.

You must login (register) to review.