Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2014 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 11

I'm finding this hard to read. I can't cope with misunderstandings. I never could read Wuthering Heights! I'm almost skimming in my search for a successful resolution. Do you realise that this is far better than most published pro novels?



Author's Response:

Oh, you made my day.  Thank you so much!  You are doubly kind - to think so and to tell me so.  Have a huge smile on my face, my family will think I've been drinking.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 8:52 AM Title: Chapter 11

Another interesting chapter. I love this line: And it was at that moment, standing across the table from Skallon at the peace conference, that for the first time in his life Spock suddenly realised that there was no Vulcan native word or translation of the word intuition and he was so struck by this that he stared at Skallon for ten point five seconds, as though not understanding where he was.

We so often think of Spock with Kirk, that it is hard for him, to explain to others (Vulcans I mean)how to see things in a different light. Spock had spent so long a time in Jim's shadow, that it began to rub off on Spock. How do you explain intuition, when there is no word for it in Vulcan. I adore you comparison to the plant. It is native to it's home planet, taking it out of its element, is shocking. But, it isn't impossible for it to thrive.

How nice to see Kor again. Love the fist fight between them. Words do often scar more than a physical confrontation. Jim was indeed fighting more than one person, down on that planet. I'm almost surprised though, while he kept thinking of Spock, that he would lose his train of thought, but he was so focused, and deep down angry about what had been happening...it felt so damn good, to beat the crap out of Kor...

Now, it's off to the wedding.

Excellent chapter, thanks for updating.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 3:57 AM Title: Chapter 11

The paragraph beginning, "The trouble was..." is either a little convoluted or I'm not the sharpest tack in the box. I had to read it three times. That said (and I have to add a little constructive crit. now and then, lest I appear to be an overly effusive Jane D fangirl), I love what you did with that Trallphori, my dear. I'd like to know how you came about developing that allegory--WELL DONE! I also like the fact that you have Kirk not understanding Spock so well. You give these guys room to grow, and portray their friendship as something sufficiently complicated as to seem real. I do hope you don't burn-out, because you are the brightest light yet buring in this genre.



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you for liking my trallphori.  And for being so nice.  When I've finished, I may go back and edit all the bits you think are unclear.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 7:11 AM Title: Chapter 11

Wow. Quite a chapter. I'm kind of surprised to see that Spock's outgrown his place on the Enterprise, but it really works well in this fic and I'm impressed that you managed it.

 

This line had me smiling for quite a while too:

"The trouble was that if you were charged with moderating the dialogue at the most sensitive peace talks in living memory, with literally billions of lives dependent on success, you couldn’t really afford to take time to consider the possible meaning of issuing apparently irrational orders which were then obeyed without question or explanation by your former commanding officer"

Good job.

 



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you!  It's so lovely having specific feedback on text like that.  Thank you so much for staying with the story and for bothering to keep leaving reviews.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 11

ya!

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:23 PM Title: Chapter 11

Oh cool!  That's an unexpected ending :)  By the way, I really hope Mike Harding doesn't die...  I kind of get the feeling that he's going to, but I could be wrong.

I have to say, I found the jumping between perspectives in this chapter and Spock's monologues a little confusing, but otherwise it is a great story!  I am hanging on to your every word, of course :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for enjoying it and sorry for the confusion - I probably ought to get someone to beta-read my stories but I'm not that organised.  Anyway, if you've survived the confusion this long, the end is nigh.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:12 PM Title: Chapter 11

And some actual progress is making itself known.

The trallphori plant was an interesting tidbit.

It feels like something big is going to happen soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you, sorry if it felt like forever, just had to get to where I am now.  And thank you for liking the trallphori!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 8:10 PM Title: Chapter 11

Arrgh!  I begin to see that Spock is not returning to the Enterprise, and I had been pulling for the old status quo.  I really, really love these guys together.  But write on and I'll keep reading because I really love this story and plan to reread it in entirety when you are finished.  Good work!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much; I do sympathise, but the end is in sight...

You must login (register) to review.