Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 2:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hope 3rd time's a charm. Haven't been able to post tonight. So, no review (getting used to this?), but... (I tried PM, few days ago--maybe lost in cyber space).

Jane, were I an agent of any account, I'd find a way to get you paid for what you've been doing; what we've all delighted in, so completely. I enjoy your stories far too much to be thrown by a charismatic jolt. I'll leave navigation to you; toss in a few backseat comments, and enjoy the ride to wherever you care to twist, turn, or "jump." I like all of your suggestions for future stories (just, please write when time allows it). I am also a family person; so I appreciate the time quandry.

As I've indicated, I'll enjoy whatever you wish to write, but I'd love to see this story finished--I keep imagining what might happen within the 4 months which might make us regard Gol (I've a kink for canon) as perhaps not even a bad choice, given circumstances. I'd have Spock make the choice of his own volition, though; not as a result of Saredin's persuasion. Also a first for me, in fandom, I'm not ready to be done with an OC. Compelling Vulcans, other than Spock, are grossly under-represented in all of Trekdom.

There are many good Gol stories, but all seem centered on K/S tension sending Spock off. You have the opportunity and imagination to, as you've continually done, give us something new and unpredictable (citing more Jane D trademarks), and it feels as though you've set the stage for another good story--guess this is why it seems unfinished, to me.

Whatever you write, whenever you write, I'll be more than thrilled to hear from you again.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 2:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

What Aname said...We are your followers ...no pressure though...lol



Author's Response:

In the same spirit, what I said to Aname (below)!

Reviewer: Phoenix in Shadow Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 3:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing fanfiction, extremely mature and you handled their emotions, words, actions, and reactions with precision.  I read it all the way through and you have no idea the inner joy I experienced when Kirk called Spock "Commander" once more.



Author's Response:

Thank you hugely for bothering to write something so nice - I always like feedback on particular bits of text and I tend to write Kirk using "Commander" much more than other alternatives when addressing Spock, so it was really hard for me to write so much of Common Touch when that particular title was off limits!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 9:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this story so much, and it was sad to see it end. You brought us on a journey of self-discovery for these two, and even perhaps for ourselves. I thank you so much for sharing this, and I'm sharing it to others in return. That is how much you have moved us with your words. It needs to be shared. 

This review will be a short one, for I can find nothing more to say, that hasn't already been said. 

May the muse be with you always.  



Author's Response:

You are a very kind person, thank you.  And a very belated thank you for your email - I will have a look now I have the odd bit of spare time.  Thanks for all your reviews.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 9:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

*very* nicely done, indeed!  an' I'd not say I hated any part of it -- perhaps, I'd have enjoyed another chapter or two  -- but this is the story the Muse sparked for you and this is one I have very much enoyed, now it's done. 

delicate and intricate, and so very true of both of them.  I could sit and watch this on skullvision and it fit so well.  much love for the reconciliation and planned return, just all of this.  beautiful work.



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you, that is a really kind review and is truly appreciated.  I'd have enjoyed writing another chapter or two as well, am feeling a tad bereft but think I stopped at the right place.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 3:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

I see no reason to stop, now, Jane D:) Here's hoping you go catch up on whatever you've been neglecting, and that we'll hear more from you, soon.

The last chapter was amazing. Again, you accomplised things I've never seen done in fandom, and which I suspect only you could articulate. I suspect we've all found ourselves deciding with someone our futures together or apart, and being torn between choosing the course we know to be best and the one we aren't prepared to ache for. You're right. Kirkk made the wrong choice. So did Spock, and he'll make another wrong choice, won't he? Ow! I hope your choice is to carry on, keep doing what you do so remarkably well. You can't be done with these guys, can you (even with Saredin?), or with us, right? Heartfelt thanks, gratitude, appreciation.



Author's Response:

You do realise, don't you, that if I wrote a sequel to Common Touch, I'd inevitably start with an idiosyncratic jolt?  You are my favourite person and I will miss hearing from you.  Thank you more than you know.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 9:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

A Fic based on mature dialogue could not have ended any other way. Now both try a different path and return but for reasons way beyond starfleet and the service. Logic and Starfleet can but keep them apart. Only one thing can bring them together. Would love you to tackle the Antonia years. 



Author's Response:

I am hiding behind the sofa from any too immediately tempting suggestions of further writing - hm, the Antonia years...  Thank you very very much for all your generous support while I got through this.

Reviewer: Carleen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 4:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

awesome reviews! what did you expect? of course, Jim said no. that's just his first response... plenty of time for more conversation 8)

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review - am now posting the rest of the conversation!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2012 10:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Mmh I am beginning to wonder when in the TOS universe this fits, as this influences the possibilities of what direction is possible. The elements woven here are complex and it is much better a fic than many published tales. A study in diplomacy versus leadership subject matter crucial to later TOS movies. A tale of a changing relationship and the interbank struggles of two men. Looks like Spock is in the zone at the moment.  Sometimes a fic can express our dreams, but this lookeof at the reality of two men changing and to a degree moving apart. This reflects the changes at the end of the movie sequence with Spock moving forward Nd Jim Stuck in his predudices. It is the tension of War versus peace. Also your exposition of Jims projection of his frustration on Kor was something we all do but so rarely see compiled in a fic. 



Author's Response:

I may be beginning to answer your question with the chapter I've just posted and the next which I'm currently writing.  Of course, the story doesn't quite fit with canon whatever I do, and I am hoping that people are happy to read it or read into it whatever they want.  Thank you for such a thoughtful review and for being so encouraging.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 10:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

Agree with Aname: you pack so many original ideas into each chapter.

This chapter is a peculiar mix of softness and sadness, regret and hope.

 



Author's Response:

That's a lovely review, thank you very much!

Reviewer: AppropriatelyAmbitious Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2012 11:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Your updates are one of the highlights of my week. This chapter left me feeling a bit melancholy....very interested to see where you go from here! Thank you for continuing to write so regularly, and so beautifully.



Author's Response:

Ah, that's a two-way thing.  Your reviews are one of my highlights.  Thank you so much for this and I will update very soon.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2012 3:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is just such good writing!  I spent Veteran's Day weekend squinting into my smart phone reading the chapter you'd just released because my laptop was down and there was no other way for me to read it.  I enjoyed every squinty moment!  Yet it is painful to see the boys looking at one another, seeing the same things from their own POV, and both missing it.  Sometimes there are social and cultural differences that are hard to overcome.

But I must disagree with Tydomin about one thing.  I don't see this as Spock trying to get in on the good side of Sarek again.  I see it as his accepting an assignment, something that could impact the future of the Federation, even at a considerable negative impact to himself.  That is what we call service.  We honor our veterans and soldiers for this service, and we should honor Spock.

Pretty please, Jane, can I have more?



Author's Response:

Thank you for such a kind review.  I was particularly sorry that I made you squint because I achieved a lifelong ambition this week and had laser eye surgery, which has taken me out of circulation for longer than I thought.  But hoping to post in the next day or so (though you might prefer me to do so when I can't see what I'm writing) and thank you very much for being such a faithful reader.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2012 6:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm late in the game...what can I possibly say when pretty much all has been said before me. That speech between them felt so visual...It had to be read, like a tennis match, faster and faster...such drama....

I have to tell you honestly, when I saw friendship story, I thought I wouldn't like it,   because we are so spoiled reading slash. But, this...this is just as exciting. 

You have truly went beyond on how we perceive these characters. But, it isn't far-fectched. I could seriously envision this. This spat between them, almost taking their friendship for granted...now let us see what lies beneath it all...

Let us unravel, who Jim and Spock really are...and what do they mean to each other. 

And girl, you are doing just that...

Update at your own pace...listen to Tydomin. She is a smart cookie...



Author's Response:

Thank you, everyone is so amazingly kind.  I am so glad you are enjoying it, and if I've overcome your disappointment re slash content, I take that as a real compliment.  Pressure re updating comes from within, really.  I know, I need help.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2012 8:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

Update slowly the best Fics are worth waiting for. The number and length of reviews is an indication of how much we all rate this excellent saga. I like your more masculine perspective, and the realism of human Vulcan interaction. Somehow it seems to connect with the TMP image of something huge that went down and divided the two men. I don't see Spock running from emotion but entering Gol in despair at his own foolishness and maybe what the Seleya crew cost him. 

I love Kirk's declaration of what Spock means to him. Ball now in Spock's court. Your choice to misinterpret now because I have said all I can. 

Heavy stuff and more realism than I can possibly convey my appreciation for



Author's Response:

Maybe, but the amount of appreciation you convey is more than enough to make me feel deeply appreciated, so thank you very much.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2012 11:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh by the way, I saw in some of the other reviews that you're feeling pressured to update because of all the nice things we say...  don't let us get to you!  Spockaholic has the most awesomest of awesome story ever, and I think she updates less than once a year but we're all still reading :)  Don't feel you need to skimp on quality to churn out chapters!  (I think the quality's great, personally, but you know what I mean)

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2012 2:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

They still have not talked! Please update when you can.

Damn,Spock! Kirk did not ask moon but you call him "Jim". 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2012 8:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

I was so pleased that you updated. I find that when you write we seem to think we know just by their reactions but not their thoughts that, that is how they feel. Seeing Spock, not bothering to look at Jim, in fact being quite angry, almost glad that Tal beat the crap out of him. 

I adore the key points you bring up..The Incidents, the Decision, and the Shoulder...you capitalize it because it is important. 

I feel like Jim and Spock think they know what each other are thinking, but deep down they don't..and there like missing  the boat...

Such miscommunication, it isn't funny, like having your wires crossed.  

Spock wishing that Jim would touch him in sickbay, and he didn't...So Jim doesn't truly care..and the reverse could be said for Jim...Spock didn't want me to touch him on the shoulder, damn, he's gotten all Vulcan on me...

Yes, they truly need to clear the air, and finally communicate. 

The truth will finally come forth.  

Side note...I was thrilled to find out, that I had known about Spock hearing Jim and Saredin's little discussion, but kudos to you, remembering that Jim didn't know about this fact, because he was with Tyree. Now, that is being very observant. 

Spock didn't heal properly, and had to go and save Jim's ass. Oh, I don't blame Spock now for being upset, not having trust in his so-called friend to get the job done. Jim is off again to be the hero...

Okay, one last thing...your title....Common Touch...it speaks volumes. 

Update when you can.



Author's Response:

Thank you for being so nice and for enjoying it and in particular for liking the title - you're the first!

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2012 3:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

Greata281;Love your calm and affectionate voice.



Author's Response:

Two of my favourite words.  I love the idea of being calm and affectionate.  Thank you!

Reviewer: AppropriatelyAmbitious Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2012 9:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, it seems impossible but somehow you have managed to raise the tension up a notch even higher! Poor Kirk, what with Spock's seemingly sudden self-acceptance, you're starting to convince even me that his relationship with Spock was one sided...Ouch. I am kind of hoping we get to see Spock's perspective, again, soon? Your writing just gets better and better!



Author's Response:

What a lovely thing to say; thank you so much; you are really kind.  Trying to keep up with reviewers and I know that it's horrible waiting for chapterrs, but it's worth writing them just for the pleasure of hearing from everyone.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2012 9:25 PM Title: Chapter 1

You know, I have this feeling that nothing's gonna work until Kirk and Spock are working together... but what do I know?  Let's wait and see :)  

You must login (register) to review.