Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2014 3:40 AM Title: Chapter 13

I've just read this for the second time, about a year after the first time.  I forced myself to wait a year, so I could come to the story freshly, without remembering too many of the details.  (Er, that should be taken as evidence of the spotty memory of my poor 56-year-old brain, not as any indication that your story isn't memorable.)

I still adore this story.  I love the journey you take each of them on, the lessons they learn, the growth they achieve.  The characters feel very like the characters we know from the show, and yet yours have so much more depth, so much more interiority.  Ah, Jane!  You write such wonderfully grown-up stories about these characters.  Thank you for your entrancing work.

 



Author's Response:

Well, you just made my evening after a fairly long week when I needed someone to put a smile on my face.  You are amazingly kind and encouraging.  I wouldn't write any of this, though, without the support and feedback of readers like you, truly. (Don't you find, though, and maybe it's a time of life thing because you are not much older than I am, that it's actually possible to forget not just someone else's writing but your own, and you go back and read a story and have no recolletion of writing large chunks of it!)  Have a wonderful Christmas.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 5:36 AM Title: Chapter 13

What a wonderfully deep and thoughtful story!  I'm glad that Jim has learned to appreciate Spock all the more and that Spock has learned more self-acceptance.

You write very well.  I especially like the way you balance plot/adventure elements with character growth and self-reflection, such that each feeds into the other.  I hope that you will continue to write such stories; yours are among the very best I've ever read.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for all these reviews.  It's very kind of you to take the trouble to write.  It's late at night and I've had a couple of drinks so I am not going to go back and try to figure out what I got wrong with Starfleet/Federation politics (am quite sure I got loads wrong) but I apologise for anything that interfered with the suspension of disbelief; I know that can be very irritating.  I'm honestly so happy you enjoyed my writing. thank you again and have a lovely Christmas.

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2013 1:27 PM Title: Chapter 13

Excellent analysis of difficult relationships under terrible stress. Humans and Vulcans; Kirk and Spock. I enjoyed it immensely. 



Author's Response:

Haven't looked at this site in a while; many apologies because I am always so grateful for reviews and didn't see this one.  Thank you very much indeed - both for reading and for bothering to review; it's much appreciated.

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2012 9:21 AM Title: Chapter 13

So, I've been on holiday and here I am home to find this wonderful piece of writing at an end.  I've just read the last two chapters and again got caught up in the prose and Kirk's contemplation then their long. long conversation as they, finally, communicate.

I really hope you have offerings in the future because as much as I love a good romp, I also love slow, contemplative expositions where conflict both internal and between protagonists is laid bare and dealt to with realism. I think anyone who spends a lot of time in their head will recognise the internal monologues, the self doubt, the anger they each felt at themselves and each other. You wove a beautiful story to the end where the trust they have in each other is healed but still tentative. Thank you



Author's Response:

How lovely of you to write such a positive and thoughtful review - it is enormously appreciated.  If I am honest, I had absolutely no intention of writing anything else because I had vague ideas of getting my life back instead, but everyone has been so incredibly nice that my resolve is crumbling somewhat (possibly bad news for all the people out there who are hoping desperately I pack up and go home).  Thank you again for everything.  I hope you had a lovely holiday.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 7:23 AM Title: Chapter 13

Because he had always intended to come back...

it was not logical...

Commander...

These lines just about killed me 


This was just brilliant! I love the ending! These are two intelligent beings with differing mindsets and point of views, obviously they need to talk before returning to where they were always meant to be! I adored this story



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I'm so glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your patience from the beginning...

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 6:50 PM Title: Chapter 13

 

Great,guava juice willl not be waste, in four months.

Thank you for these elegant stories.

 



Author's Response:

I think fresh guava juice might be unappetising after 4 months, but I am not an expert.  Thank you for following the piece and for "elegant" - a first for me.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 4:18 AM Title: Chapter 13

Wow. I wasn't expecting that. And I love what Spock said about preference. He's certainly correct if you give the individual the right to choose their own path. And I agree that Bones (and all the bridge crew really) will be happy to have Spock back regardless of the political ramifications.


I like to think too, that Kirk's doing the right thing trusting Spock to come back this time.


Anyways, there was much squealing when Spock asked for a drink (I remember those categories at the beginning) and the reminder that Spock was only ever acting captain made me smile.

 

Don't know if you'd consider a sequel. If your muse is up to it, I certainly wouldn't say no, but I'm happy with the ending as is. Great job.



Author's Response:

How nice of you - it's particularly appreciated in a long haul like this has been when people remember at the end the pointers you left at the beginning.  You're another person who has stuck with me for a long time; thank you so much for the gift of your time and attention.

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 1:52 AM Title: Chapter 13

Okay, Jane, this isn't a review, it's an embarrassing, public plea: serve up another idiosynchratic jolt and you won't have to miss hearing from me. Are you going to leave us as you left Kirk... or will you clue us in on your plans, as they appeal to us, for the future?



Author's Response:

Deeply touched and amused (I thought you didn’t like idiosyncratic jolts?) – well, I acknowledge myself to be hopelessly in your debt, so here are my “plans”, such as they are:  I conceived Common Touch exactly as I wrote it so the truth is I have absolutely no idea what happens next, although of course I do have a view on whether Spock goes to Gol (I thought a strength of the piece would be that everyone would decide for themselves); I emjoyed writing it more than I can begin to say: I have (as you will have figured) an obsessive streak which cannot leave things unfinished and this means I fail at the balanced thing of writing at a moderate pace and keeping real life on track - in writing CT I virtually abandoned family, friends and a more than full time job; another reason for finishing it quickly was that I am committed to another writing project from January (though external deadlines should mean a much less intense level of activity); I would love to go on writing ST as well but I would need to figure out how to do so with sanity and also what to write.  On which last note, assuming that (a) I can be bought with flattery (b) I can come up with some ideas (c) you are serious and not an undercover agent sent to wreak havoc in my life and (d) you aren't letting yourself in for huge disappointment second time round, do you have a view about what this story should look like?  A sequel?  To fit in with canon (given that we’re getting close to TMP territory) or something off at a tangent?  Or a completely fresh story?   

Reviewer: pyramonte Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 11:54 AM Title: Chapter 13

This is, without a doubt, my favourite story of all time. And I have easily read hundreds of fanfictions in my time, believe you me.

I didn't laugh, but I did cry, and I read all of it in one night (I stayed up till dawn for this, just so you know how committed I actually was).

I love this story and I love you for writing it. Thank you.



Author's Response:

And I love you for writing such an amazing review.  I am rather overwhelmed by it, actually; it has given me a huge amount of pleasure, but I'm also rather horrified I cost you a night's sleep and hope you are making up for it.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 6:02 AM Title: Chapter 13

great chapter, love how they come full circle. Kirk has learned a lesson here.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for sticking with me all the way through.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 10:33 PM Title: Chapter 13

Well, I for one can honestly say that it was a pleasure and not a trial to stick with this story.  It's true that I didn't always like what you made happen, but we don't always get what we want and that shouldn't affect our enjoyment - I enjoyed TWOK, even though Spock died, because it was a good story!  Yours was a good story.  The plot was so intricately woven, with lots of little references to canon and fanon and maybe even some apocrypha, your treatment of the characters was so sensitive and insightful, and for the most part your writing style and accuracy was exemplary.  I look forward to anything more that you may write! Well done, and a hearty thank you.  :D



Author's Response:

I felt the same way about TWOK myself, and am honoured to be mentioned in the same breath, especially as I realise a lot of what I wrote probably failed the feelgood factor test, so thank you for being so nice.  I really appreciate what you wrote.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 9:04 PM Title: Chapter 13

I could go on and on about how much I enjoyed this story but then I would be repeating myself.  I will just thank you for writing such a clear, concise, emotional rendition of Kirk and Spock.  I hope you continue to write in this fandom.  It was grand!



Author's Response:

That's a really lovely thing to say and I truly appreciate it - thank you not only for thinking it but for bothering to write it.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/24/2012 8:03 PM Title: Chapter 13

Lucky Chapter 13!  Thank you, Jane, for a happy ending (although in some ways I hate to see your story end).  Although it is a little ambiguous, I am sure that Spock will find his way back home to the Enterprise in four months come hell or high water.  Your story has touched me in ways I find hard to articulate, has reminded me of my beloved friend who I lost so long ago, had made me rethink those life paths that brought us together and eventually separated us.  That is the mark of good fiction, girl.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

You mentioned your friend before.  I hope I haven't stirred up painful memories.  If it helps (which it won't) in my experience life paths usually point the way they do for a reason.  I hope that you have held on to the good memories.  And thank you so much for your company while I was writing this.  You have always been so kind and encouraging.

You must login (register) to review.