Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2012 9:29 AM Title: Chapter 12

No...No....So this is what the readers have been surprised about. Jim saying no to Spock, about being his science officer, again. 

Let's go back a bit first...I truly appreciated the description of Jim's experiences of the time he spent living on the farm in Iowa. Going down memory lane...all the little things his brother and himself did. 

Jim truly needed this time for himself...to remember the past, but to focus on the future...what lies ahead.

This paragraph, you nailed it perfectly, on how Jim thinks of Spock. 

And then he thought how odd it was that the common factor was cold – the bitter freeze of the Iowa winter and the endless chill of space, and how different it must be for Spock, who had returned to the heat of the desert from which he had come. Yet one more difference between them which he had, perhaps, never fully taken into account. Perhaps that had been the essence of what he had got wrong, he thought. He had mentally adopted Spock as a kind of extension of himself, perhaps of his family, but Iowa would be utterly alien to Spock. They had complemented each other so very perfectly that he had ended up treating Spock and himself on one level as the same, had overlooked their vast differences.

 

Yes, Jim does think of Spock as an extension of himself...perhaps Spock thinks the same as well. The time apart I find was good for them, despite the heated arguments it provoked. You have to realize they are not one individual, but two living, breathing individuals. Spock does not regret taking position as Captain of the Seleya. It showed him that he was capable to succeed without the shadow of Jim Kirk. Now, many would be surprised at Jim's response to Spock's request to be his science officer. But, when you think about it, I find it illogical for someone who has gone so far on his own, to go backwards instead of forward. Spock may be surprised by Jim's response, but deep down, I wasn't. It feels like Spock is playing with Jim's emotions..Jim went through hell, when Spock left, and now he wants to start over, like it was before. You can never go back...but maybe I'm wrong... I'll have to wait and see...great cliffhanger.

Author's Response:

I am hugely touched that you have gone to such lengths to review the last 2 chapters; thank you so much.  Just posting the last chapter now, so thank you for sticking with me all the way through.  We could have a competition about which of us has done the most work on the story! 

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 5:22 AM Title: Chapter 12

WOW! AGH! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! You have got to be kidding me!

This one took me by surprise: the cliffhanger--holy cow!--and the fact that you continue to reveal skill heretofore unforeseen. It's believable, too: actually hard to imagine Kirk responding otherwise, given the circumstance. I feel like I just took a sucker punch. I hope you realize you must keep writing--and not just for our (your loyal readers') sake.



Author's Response:

Actually, if I kept writing, it would be for the pleasure of hearing from you.  I read this review with a big smile on my face; I reckon it's the first time you've been anything but calm and cool and collected.  You are more than a loyal reader; you've been a wonderful reader.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 4:32 AM Title: Chapter 12

THE BEGINNING FELT LIKE A SOOTHING BALM ON AN OLD HURT BUT THEN YOU TAKE MY HEART AND RIP IT TO PIECES!

NO?

WHAT THE FUCK DO YOU MEAN NO?

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 6:03 PM Title: Chapter 12

Well, they're coming to some kind of understanding.....
I understand why Kirk said no.

Author's Response:

I figured it would be a love/hate chapter ending.  Though it seems to have been more hate/hate.  Thanks for putting up with me.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 9:24 AM Title: Chapter 12

"But no."

Whaaaaaat? I can almost understand but can not accept. 



Author's Response:

Nearly at the end.  Thank you for bearing wtih me all the way!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 7:19 AM Title: Chapter 12

wow... I mean, I kind of understand... but kinda don't



Author's Response:

I promise I will put you out of your misery soon...

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 4:35 AM Title: Chapter 12

Woo, kinda expected that "No" but still ...

Fantastic writing, so cerebral and intricate..love it.



Author's Response:

What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much (you are obviously a very intelligent and discerning person to have both figured out what I was going to write and also to have realised how cerebral my writing is) - seriously, it was really kind.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2012 1:02 AM Title: Chapter 12

oh, god damn them both for being so noble.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your forbearance!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 11:17 PM Title: Chapter 12

Whaaaaaat.

This is the most intriguing twist ever. How are you going to resolve this what direction next.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for continuing to review.  The answer to your last question is "with difficulty" but I'm working on it.

Reviewer: trekkie1701 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 9:09 PM Title: Chapter 12

Oh my god! This is awsome n suspenseful! Need updates ASAP! 



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you!  Later this week, I think...

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 12

Aaaargh!!!  Why did you say that, Jim???  (actually, I think I know - but STILL!)

Another great chapter.  Wow, what a ride!  :)



Author's Response:

Thank you for being nice (I think) - everyone else is just cross with me!  I do appreciate you sticking with it.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 8:09 PM Title: Chapter 12

What an evil, evil place to stop. <Glares>

I sincerly hope you update soon - especially because I may be somewhere without internet this coming weekend. (So, don't think I've abandoned reading if I don't review very quickly).


Anyways, that had to be a really hard thing for Kirk to say, but he's right, isn't he. They can't have what they used to have back. They can build something new, it might even be better, but they can't ever be the same. That's kind of one of the main themes of this piece. And I think you're absolutely right in it's execution.


Still, I want to know what happens next, espeically as regards Spock's reaction to a perceived rejection. Please update =)



Author's Response:

I was on a long car journey last week when I suddenly realised I could end the chapter at that particular point, and I must admit it made me laugh out loud, it's the sadist in me.  Am not giving away the ending, but I'm in mid-chapter.  Not sure about the weekend.  Thank you very much for writing.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2012 7:36 PM Title: Chapter 12

Aaargggh yet again!  Jane, dear, you are making me crazy.  I am sitting here with tears in my eyes all ready for the big reconciliation, and Kirk says no.  No?  NO?  You're killing me with the cliffhangers.  Please, please, please, I want the boys together again...but I'll read whatever you post!!!!!  Write faster!!!!!



Author's Response:

I am really sorry.  Well, sort of.  There's a wonderful power about writing and being in charge.  It almost makes up for the fact that I haven't had time to do anything else recently.  Thank you for reading and reviewing, even if it's clearly driving you nuts.

You must login (register) to review.