Reviews For Common Touch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2014 3:40 AM Title: Chapter 13

I've just read this for the second time, about a year after the first time.  I forced myself to wait a year, so I could come to the story freshly, without remembering too many of the details.  (Er, that should be taken as evidence of the spotty memory of my poor 56-year-old brain, not as any indication that your story isn't memorable.)

I still adore this story.  I love the journey you take each of them on, the lessons they learn, the growth they achieve.  The characters feel very like the characters we know from the show, and yet yours have so much more depth, so much more interiority.  Ah, Jane!  You write such wonderfully grown-up stories about these characters.  Thank you for your entrancing work.

 



Author's Response:

Well, you just made my evening after a fairly long week when I needed someone to put a smile on my face.  You are amazingly kind and encouraging.  I wouldn't write any of this, though, without the support and feedback of readers like you, truly. (Don't you find, though, and maybe it's a time of life thing because you are not much older than I am, that it's actually possible to forget not just someone else's writing but your own, and you go back and read a story and have no recolletion of writing large chunks of it!)  Have a wonderful Christmas.

Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2014 5:46 AM Title: Chapter 11

I'm finding this hard to read. I can't cope with misunderstandings. I never could read Wuthering Heights! I'm almost skimming in my search for a successful resolution. Do you realise that this is far better than most published pro novels?



Author's Response:

Oh, you made my day.  Thank you so much!  You are doubly kind - to think so and to tell me so.  Have a huge smile on my face, my family will think I've been drinking.

Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/07/2014 7:05 AM Title: Chapter 4

Heartbreaking. 

Reviewer: Geriatricfool Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/07/2014 5:37 AM Title: Chapter 2

The parting of Kirk and Spock made me cry. And seldom have I read Kirk so sympathetically drawn. Thank youyou

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 5:36 AM Title: Chapter 13

What a wonderfully deep and thoughtful story!  I'm glad that Jim has learned to appreciate Spock all the more and that Spock has learned more self-acceptance.

You write very well.  I especially like the way you balance plot/adventure elements with character growth and self-reflection, such that each feeds into the other.  I hope that you will continue to write such stories; yours are among the very best I've ever read.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for all these reviews.  It's very kind of you to take the trouble to write.  It's late at night and I've had a couple of drinks so I am not going to go back and try to figure out what I got wrong with Starfleet/Federation politics (am quite sure I got loads wrong) but I apologise for anything that interfered with the suspension of disbelief; I know that can be very irritating.  I'm honestly so happy you enjoyed my writing. thank you again and have a lovely Christmas.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 4:16 AM Title: Chapter 8

Argh!  They're both idiots!  If only they'd freaking TALK to each other, this could all be avoided.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 3:43 AM Title: Chapter 5

I don't quite understand.  Starfleet is the military and exploration arm of the Federation.  The Kliingons and Romulans can't declare war on Starfleet; they can only declare war on the Federation.  And Vulcan IS a member of the Federation; they're a FOUNDING member of the Federation.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2013 2:55 AM Title: Chapter 2

Oh, my.  What an interesting dilemma you've created for poor Spock.  And, angel that he is, how like him to do the thing that's personally difficult but likely to be for the greater good.

I love the way you give us Kirk's feelings and internal dialogue without making him a sappy, non-Kirk-like character.

 

 

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2013 1:27 PM Title: Chapter 13

Excellent analysis of difficult relationships under terrible stress. Humans and Vulcans; Kirk and Spock. I enjoyed it immensely. 



Author's Response:

Haven't looked at this site in a while; many apologies because I am always so grateful for reviews and didn't see this one.  Thank you very much indeed - both for reading and for bothering to review; it's much appreciated.

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2012 9:21 AM Title: Chapter 13

So, I've been on holiday and here I am home to find this wonderful piece of writing at an end.  I've just read the last two chapters and again got caught up in the prose and Kirk's contemplation then their long. long conversation as they, finally, communicate.

I really hope you have offerings in the future because as much as I love a good romp, I also love slow, contemplative expositions where conflict both internal and between protagonists is laid bare and dealt to with realism. I think anyone who spends a lot of time in their head will recognise the internal monologues, the self doubt, the anger they each felt at themselves and each other. You wove a beautiful story to the end where the trust they have in each other is healed but still tentative. Thank you



Author's Response:

How lovely of you to write such a positive and thoughtful review - it is enormously appreciated.  If I am honest, I had absolutely no intention of writing anything else because I had vague ideas of getting my life back instead, but everyone has been so incredibly nice that my resolve is crumbling somewhat (possibly bad news for all the people out there who are hoping desperately I pack up and go home).  Thank you again for everything.  I hope you had a lovely holiday.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 7:23 AM Title: Chapter 13

Because he had always intended to come back...

it was not logical...

Commander...

These lines just about killed me 


This was just brilliant! I love the ending! These are two intelligent beings with differing mindsets and point of views, obviously they need to talk before returning to where they were always meant to be! I adored this story



Author's Response:

Thank you so much - I'm so glad you enjoyed it and thank you for your patience from the beginning...

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 2:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hope 3rd time's a charm. Haven't been able to post tonight. So, no review (getting used to this?), but... (I tried PM, few days ago--maybe lost in cyber space).

Jane, were I an agent of any account, I'd find a way to get you paid for what you've been doing; what we've all delighted in, so completely. I enjoy your stories far too much to be thrown by a charismatic jolt. I'll leave navigation to you; toss in a few backseat comments, and enjoy the ride to wherever you care to twist, turn, or "jump." I like all of your suggestions for future stories (just, please write when time allows it). I am also a family person; so I appreciate the time quandry.

As I've indicated, I'll enjoy whatever you wish to write, but I'd love to see this story finished--I keep imagining what might happen within the 4 months which might make us regard Gol (I've a kink for canon) as perhaps not even a bad choice, given circumstances. I'd have Spock make the choice of his own volition, though; not as a result of Saredin's persuasion. Also a first for me, in fandom, I'm not ready to be done with an OC. Compelling Vulcans, other than Spock, are grossly under-represented in all of Trekdom.

There are many good Gol stories, but all seem centered on K/S tension sending Spock off. You have the opportunity and imagination to, as you've continually done, give us something new and unpredictable (citing more Jane D trademarks), and it feels as though you've set the stage for another good story--guess this is why it seems unfinished, to me.

Whatever you write, whenever you write, I'll be more than thrilled to hear from you again.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 6:50 PM Title: Chapter 13

 

Great,guava juice willl not be waste, in four months.

Thank you for these elegant stories.

 



Author's Response:

I think fresh guava juice might be unappetising after 4 months, but I am not an expert.  Thank you for following the piece and for "elegant" - a first for me.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 4:18 AM Title: Chapter 13

Wow. I wasn't expecting that. And I love what Spock said about preference. He's certainly correct if you give the individual the right to choose their own path. And I agree that Bones (and all the bridge crew really) will be happy to have Spock back regardless of the political ramifications.


I like to think too, that Kirk's doing the right thing trusting Spock to come back this time.


Anyways, there was much squealing when Spock asked for a drink (I remember those categories at the beginning) and the reminder that Spock was only ever acting captain made me smile.

 

Don't know if you'd consider a sequel. If your muse is up to it, I certainly wouldn't say no, but I'm happy with the ending as is. Great job.



Author's Response:

How nice of you - it's particularly appreciated in a long haul like this has been when people remember at the end the pointers you left at the beginning.  You're another person who has stuck with me for a long time; thank you so much for the gift of your time and attention.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 2:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

What Aname said...We are your followers ...no pressure though...lol



Author's Response:

In the same spirit, what I said to Aname (below)!

Reviewer: Aname Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2012 1:52 AM Title: Chapter 13

Okay, Jane, this isn't a review, it's an embarrassing, public plea: serve up another idiosynchratic jolt and you won't have to miss hearing from me. Are you going to leave us as you left Kirk... or will you clue us in on your plans, as they appeal to us, for the future?



Author's Response:

Deeply touched and amused (I thought you didn’t like idiosyncratic jolts?) – well, I acknowledge myself to be hopelessly in your debt, so here are my “plans”, such as they are:  I conceived Common Touch exactly as I wrote it so the truth is I have absolutely no idea what happens next, although of course I do have a view on whether Spock goes to Gol (I thought a strength of the piece would be that everyone would decide for themselves); I emjoyed writing it more than I can begin to say: I have (as you will have figured) an obsessive streak which cannot leave things unfinished and this means I fail at the balanced thing of writing at a moderate pace and keeping real life on track - in writing CT I virtually abandoned family, friends and a more than full time job; another reason for finishing it quickly was that I am committed to another writing project from January (though external deadlines should mean a much less intense level of activity); I would love to go on writing ST as well but I would need to figure out how to do so with sanity and also what to write.  On which last note, assuming that (a) I can be bought with flattery (b) I can come up with some ideas (c) you are serious and not an undercover agent sent to wreak havoc in my life and (d) you aren't letting yourself in for huge disappointment second time round, do you have a view about what this story should look like?  A sequel?  To fit in with canon (given that we’re getting close to TMP territory) or something off at a tangent?  Or a completely fresh story?   

Reviewer: Phoenix in Shadow Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 3:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing fanfiction, extremely mature and you handled their emotions, words, actions, and reactions with precision.  I read it all the way through and you have no idea the inner joy I experienced when Kirk called Spock "Commander" once more.



Author's Response:

Thank you hugely for bothering to write something so nice - I always like feedback on particular bits of text and I tend to write Kirk using "Commander" much more than other alternatives when addressing Spock, so it was really hard for me to write so much of Common Touch when that particular title was off limits!

Reviewer: pyramonte Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 11:54 AM Title: Chapter 13

This is, without a doubt, my favourite story of all time. And I have easily read hundreds of fanfictions in my time, believe you me.

I didn't laugh, but I did cry, and I read all of it in one night (I stayed up till dawn for this, just so you know how committed I actually was).

I love this story and I love you for writing it. Thank you.



Author's Response:

And I love you for writing such an amazing review.  I am rather overwhelmed by it, actually; it has given me a huge amount of pleasure, but I'm also rather horrified I cost you a night's sleep and hope you are making up for it.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 9:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this story so much, and it was sad to see it end. You brought us on a journey of self-discovery for these two, and even perhaps for ourselves. I thank you so much for sharing this, and I'm sharing it to others in return. That is how much you have moved us with your words. It needs to be shared. 

This review will be a short one, for I can find nothing more to say, that hasn't already been said. 

May the muse be with you always.  



Author's Response:

You are a very kind person, thank you.  And a very belated thank you for your email - I will have a look now I have the odd bit of spare time.  Thanks for all your reviews.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2012 9:13 AM Title: Chapter 1

*very* nicely done, indeed!  an' I'd not say I hated any part of it -- perhaps, I'd have enjoyed another chapter or two  -- but this is the story the Muse sparked for you and this is one I have very much enoyed, now it's done. 

delicate and intricate, and so very true of both of them.  I could sit and watch this on skullvision and it fit so well.  much love for the reconciliation and planned return, just all of this.  beautiful work.



Author's Response:

Ah, thank you, that is a really kind review and is truly appreciated.  I'd have enjoyed writing another chapter or two as well, am feeling a tad bereft but think I stopped at the right place.

You must login (register) to review.