Reviews For After the Fire
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 2:30 AM Title: A Painful Confrontation or Two

Question, after the Event when Spock overheard Kirk telling truth to McCoy, and is devastated, why did not Bones care enough to go to Spock while they were still on the ship and see how he was doing?  I assume you are writing Original Trek? Bones and Spock were friends. I am disappointed in McCoy.


Ok, you write well, because, when Kirk tells Amanda, Spock, "Overreacted," .....before she gets to respond....I am yelling out.... "OVERREACTED!?  Overreacted, Kirk?!"  Lol!

even in the conversation Kirk has with Amanda....it is still, All About Him! His feelings, His Losses. His excusing himself for what he has done. There really is not, yet, any deep acknowledgement of Spock's Loss, hurt, feelings. In fact...is Kirk this shallow, this selfish, this incapable of really connecting with another?

ohhhhhh....great moment between Sarek and Spock! Great writing!

 

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 2:28 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

You are a good writer, I guess I just can not agree that Spock should have been casted into the villain role and Kirk the helpless victim role throughout most of the story. But I am assuming, as a Writer and a Trek fan, you like to hurt Kirk.

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 2:22 AM Title: A Loss of Trust

Sort of getting tired of the poor me, Kirk Stuff in your story.

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 1:08 AM Title: A Distressing Choice

Soooooooo after everything to this point.....as the Writer, you managed to flip the story and make it Spock who becomes, yet again in the World of Trek fan Fiction, the Bad Guy. You make him do this long confession to Kirk about how terrible his Vulcan inner self became, after PonFar, how his baser instincts and pride took over, how he deliberately became the dominating partner, and on and on....basically to make "Poor Jim" the victim and to sanitize the fact that Kirk was having side romps. By the way, if they were still on board the Enterprise, how, when and where did Kirk manage to have all those Quickies...and with who? His crew?

Then, lo and behold, along comes Carol Marcus, and Spock Loses it one final time....and off he goes to Gol, abandoning poor Kirk.

for this Reader, very disappointing.  Why could you not have just allowed Kirk's actions alone be the reason Spock was driven to Gol?  Is it so impossible to think Readers could accept Kirk as the one at fault?  

well, on with the story.

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 12:22 AM Title: A First Attempt to Mend What's Broken

Again, not liking this Kirk.....or McCoy....all about JIM's issues, Bones is only allowing Kirk to stay infantile in his behaviors, a co-dependent relationship!

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2019 12:06 AM Title: A Painful Confrontation or Two

Question, after the Event when Spock overheard Kirk telling truth to McCoy, and is devastated, why did not Bones care enough to go to Spock while they were still on the ship and see how he was doing?  I assume you are writing Original Trek? Bones and Spock were friends. I am disappointed in McCoy.


Ok, you write well, because, when Kirk tells Amanda, Spock, "Overreacted," .....before she gets to respond....I am yelling out.... "OVERREACTED!?  Overreacted, Kirk?!"  Lol!

even in the conversation Kirk has with Amanda....it is still, All About Him! His feelings, His Losses. His excusing himself for what he has done. There really is not, yet, any deep acknowledgement of Spock's Loss, hurt, feelings. In fact...is Kirk this shallow, this selfish, this incapable of really connecting with another?

ohhhhhh....great moment between Sarek and Spock! Great writing!

 

Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2019 11:30 PM Title: A Painful Confrontation or Two

Ok, you write well, because, when Kirk tells Amanda, Spock, "Overreacted," .....before she gets to respond....I am yelling out.... "OVERREACTED!?  Overreacted, Kirk?!"  Lol!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2018 3:05 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Wow. Just..wow. Couldn’t put it down.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2017 8:02 PM Title: A Loss of Trust

This is kind of striking.  Is Kirk taking no responsibility for the fact that this whole shitstorm started when HE was unfaithful to Spock. So what if Spock tried to make amend and changed his mind. Spock realized after Carol Marcus that he was changing because of Kirk's infidelities and didn't like what he was changing into. It made sense as hard as it was. And if he loved Spock SO much why then did he have 14 liaisons in three year. That was beyond excessive.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/22/2015 6:49 AM Title: A Simple Feeling

I think this was a very interesting rewrite of the sickbay scene. It's probably the most interesting I've read so far. 

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2013 3:49 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Wow, this was a fantastic story, you did it perfectly. So heart wrenching - especially the part where Spock comes back, then turns around and heads right back to Vulcan! So much grief and time lost from such simple, everyday misunderstandings.  Just like us humans. 

So glad it had a happy ending (sort of- grateful we all know what happens after TWOK - that scene where he tucks the goblet into Spock's casket had me in tears!)

Thank you so much for writing this and sharing it with us.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2013 6:34 PM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Such a powerful story.You have done an amazing job.Well done!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2013 10:17 PM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Nice story tying in a couple of the movies.  I enjoyed the "behind the scenes" feel of some of the narrative and have been entertained overall by your work.  Thanks for a pleasant afternoon read.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 9:09 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

You made me look at ritual in a new way. I've always thought of it as a method of social control, but this was a ritual intended for healing. Very thought provoking.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 9:05 AM Title: A Loss of Trust

wallowing in a floodtide of uxorious emotion


I think I've died and gone to heaven.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/31/2013 8:49 AM Title: A Confrontation with the Unknown

Really love how you rewrote the movie to make more sense. Wow, starfleet officers troubleshooting (rather than seemingly hours of unconvincing weird sfx shots?). Say it ain't so...

Reviewer: Martiangrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 11:58 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Wow, that was truly epic! Ending was a surprise for me. Wonderful work as always.

Reviewer: pintospirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 6:05 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Yay. Yeah we all know how it's gonna turn out.

Reviewer: Ambient Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2013 5:05 AM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Bravo. Standing ovation! 

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2013 8:47 PM Title: A Love that Lasts for Life--and Beyond

Yay! Another job well done! It was a wild and bumpy ride! Lol

You must login (register) to review.