Reviews For Two Words
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: HeronS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2017 7:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

This story follows onto one of the better star trek paperbacks Ishmael. It's a great depiction of Spock's struggle with his human and Vulcan side - I especially enjoyed his interactions with the Vulcan elder Trae.



Author's Response:

Belated thanks for commenting!  Reading "Ishmael" got me back into writing K/S fic after a long hiatus.  I kept getting K/S thoughts while reading the book, particularly the scene were Kirk find Spock, and just had to write them down.  I'm glad you liked it.  :-)

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2016 4:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

Mmm... That was ..... Sore & pretty.

Reviewer: fandomlucky Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2014 1:57 AM Title: Chapter 1

I read this story before I read the pronovel, and I loved it. After just finishing "Ishmael," I went back to read your story and it was all the more powerful. Spock was written wonderfully, and I enjoyed your exploration of Trae. Thank you for the lovely read. 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your feedback - I'm glad you enjoyed it - especially since you read it again after reading Ishmael.  :-)  I'm glad you liked my exploration of Trae; and that you liked my portrayal of Spock.

Reviewer: Akaiii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2014 4:22 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow... This was so beautiful....

Jim's emotional pain is like a living thing....This touched me deeply.

 

 



Author's Response:

Belated thanks for your wonderful feedback - I'm glad you enjoyed it.  :-)

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2013 8:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

I believe Ishmael is one of the best pro novels, and your continuation is just as good. You capture Spock's desperate search for belonging on Vulcan, in Seattle, and in Starfleet. I really liked the way Trae shows Spock that he will not find it on Vulcan. And then Jim shows him where he has found it already.  All in all, I loved this story.

Did you notice that Paladin, from Have Gun Will Travel, is the chess player in San Francisco? Gene Roddenbury wrote some of the best episodes before he got started on Star Trek. 

Thanks again for such a wonderful story. 



Author's Response:

Belated thanks (too much RL last year) - I'm glad you enjoy my story and thanks for the observation on Trae and how Jim showed him his true home.  :-)  Yes, I loved the fact that Paladin is the chess player - there are so many great in-jokes in Ishmael.

Reviewer: Rhaegal Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/14/2012 12:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is beautiful! A perfect ending to the book.

Reviewer: mazaher Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/21/2012 10:35 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love the fine, deep characterization. How at the end they go toward each other in delicate, considerate steps, without assuming that what they feel will be enough, by itself, to bridge every difficulty. It is a story of freedom and of choice, honor and duty and love and how they can stand side by side. Thank you for a masterful work.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.  Reading the original novel, I was struck by how important the theme of community was to the storyline.  I wanted to carry that forward in this piece, while exploring everything else they mean to each other, including acknowledging the dangers and complexities of their lives.

Reviewer: bluefeathers Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/17/2012 12:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely continuation of the novel. Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it - thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 5:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

One word: Magnificent. I could imagine every scene you described with perfect clarity. Thank you for the great read on this otherwise boring as hell Saturday...lol.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the review - I'm glad it was so vivid to you.  :-)

Reviewer: ster julie Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 11:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this book, mostly for the story, but also for the pictures the author "painted" with words.  You captured the feel of Barbara Hambly's writing style in the first half of your story and made it truly your own in the end.  Well done!  



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed it.  :-)   I absolutely immersed myself in the book, rereading it several times while I was working on this story (which took quite awhile as I was working on a longer piece at the same time, and I kept going back and forth between the two pieces.)

Reviewer: Alwaysand Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 7:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

Thanks for this story. As a child I adored watching Star Trek, as a teen I loved the show Here come the Brides and when I read Ishmael as a young woman I was thrilled to have both stories together. Your story brought back that happy feeling. I still have my battered old copy of Ishmael. Thanks again for a great story.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your review!  I loved "Ishmael" and after one of my re-reads this story caught hold of me and wouldn't let me go.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 3:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

I read this on Live Journal first.  Loved the book.  Love your sequel!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much - I'm glad you enjoyed it so much.  :-) 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 2:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

 

Your story is fantastic as always. I can hear their voice, watch their faces, and feel their feeling.

Thank you for sharing.

 

Author's Response:

Thanks for your review - I'm glad my story felt so real to you.  :-)

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2012 2:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was so THEM. They are the ones who risk themselves. They are the ones who fight. They are each others love. They are each others refuge. I loved this!

Author's Response:

Thanks for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed it!  Risk and refuge is such a major part of who they are to each other.

You must login (register) to review.